Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:51:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818385 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 07:17:12 AM
 #261

I'm running 2 6990s (both with the OC switch on the overclocked position, but no further OCing) on a single-core Sempron 140. With cgminer, one card gets the expected performance, but the other one is incredibly low (40-50Mhash per GPU). I'm using an intensity of 9 as suggested in the original post for 6990s.

This is the exit output:

 GPU 0: [395.7 Mh/s] [Q:91  A:85  R:3  HW:0  E:93%  U:5.55/m]
 GPU 1: [395.6 Mh/s] [Q:92  A:96  R:1  HW:0  E:104%  U:6.20/m]
 GPU 2: [39.4 Mh/s] [Q:12  A:5  R:0  HW:0  E:42%  U:3.13/m]
 GPU 3: [46.4 Mh/s] [Q:13  A:10  R:0  HW:0  E:83%  U:5.95/m]

Your CPU might be the limiting factor.  Take out the card that is performing as it should and see if the second card performs normally or not.  If not, try installing that GPU where the one that was performing normally was.  If it performs as it should, then that card is being installed into a lower bandwidth PCI-E slot (not all full length slots are 16x wired, check your motherboard manual).  If it still does not perform as it should then you may have a defective card.

Edit: Power supply could also be an issue, what brand/model and how many watts?

Hope this helps.

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
1480971078
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480971078

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480971078
Reply with quote  #2

1480971078
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:17:56 AM
 #262

The CPU will NOT be the limiting factor if he's on linux. If on Windows, yeah, sucks to have that single-core semprom.
Lightspeed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:20:56 AM
 #263

I donated .5 btc to one of the developers who hangs out in ozcoin... great app

thanks

Overclocking = money? Greatest full time hobby ever!
1AR2eheP4nckS3tuzZHG6ARYndeddxmeDg
Departure
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:40:21 AM
 #264

I have never been able to get this miner working, added the -D flag to show results before windows error saying it has stopped working....

Code:
C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\cgm>cgminer -o http://mineco.in:3000 -u xxxxx -p
 xxxxxx -I 8 -D
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] X-Roll-Ntime found
[2[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Successfully retreived and deciphered work from pool 0 h
ttp://mineco.in:3000
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Pool 0 http://mineco.in:3000 active                 011-07
-20 16:35:4
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Init GPU thread 0          7]
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] List of devices:
[2011-07-20 16:35:47]   0       Cayman                  Long-po
[2011-07-20 16:3l5:47]  1       Cayman
[2011-07-20 16:35:47]   2       Cayman
[20lin11-07-20 16:35:47]        3       Cayman
[2011g activated for ht-07-20 16:35:47]         4       Cayman

[2011-07-20 16:35:47]   5       Cayman
[2011-07-20 16:3tp://mineco.in:305:47] Selected 0: Cayman
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Preferred 0vector width reported 4
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Max work gr0oup size reported /LP
256
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] No binary found, generating from source

[2011-07-20 16:35:47] Patched source to suit 2 vectors
[2011-07-20 16:35:47] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BITALIGN

[2011-07-20 16:35:47] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BFI_INT

[2011-07-20 16:35:48] binary size 0 : 0

C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\cgm>

Any Suggestions?

dikidera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 08:40:39 AM
 #265

Just a heads up for a few people.

Cgminer does not appear to support target rewrites. I have checked the code and the target is derived from midstate and "data" from the getwork. Thus when the pools send you diff 1 work, cgminer ignores that and mines with full difficulty and since the gpu miner code does not check if the hash meets the difficulty, it sends a result anyway. This is why some people have reported they get less shares with cgminer.

For proof, go into findnonce.c and in the precalc function add
Code:
printf("nbits %d", blk->nbits);
somewhere, compile and run, it will print the nbits of the current target.

I'd categorize this as a serious flaw. Miners still submitted work, but far less than usual. In the long run, people earned waay less than they should have.

P.S
Conman is aware of this, however is reluctant to fix it. The excuse was "It sends shares, doesn't it?"
Ryu.Hayabusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:01:54 AM
 #266

The CPU will NOT be the limiting factor if he's on linux. If on Windows, yeah, sucks to have that single-core semprom.

Why not on linux if you're saturating the bus(HT) of the CPU? 

If I was able to help you out, please consider donating.  Any amount is greatly appreciated! Smiley         
LTC LYxUfCXVHVkBv2S8H21NK6UnFnXmNaVqv6   XRP rHAYiZ3f7QGLa4qsVPjLsVEmwUQ9nSMq86
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 09:17:49 AM
 #267

IF you want, i can compile a version specific to your semptron 140 with all the optimizations.

Just need to know if you have unlcoked it ? im asumming am3 ? Which would mean SSE4a is supported.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 11:09:24 AM
 #268

I have never been able to get this miner working, added the -D flag to show results before windows error saying it has stopped working....

Code:
[2011-07-20 16:35:48] binary size 0 : 0

C:\Users\xxxxx\Desktop\cgm>

Any Suggestions?
When I've seen this bug before, those who had it reported that it got better after a reboot. Why, I don't know. Something to do with leaving the GPU in some indeterminate state from old code maybe. Make sure you delete any filenames with .bin in their name on the next boot before running it if it hasn't started successfully please.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 12:07:20 PM
 #269

Btw, forgot to mention this doesn't seem to be working on Windows. And should the run time output include hash rate per thread? I only see per device.
The runtime summary only happens if the program exits cleanly. Windows just doesn't like me and the program has to be killed instead of stopped at this stage which is why you never get that summary. The hash rate per thread will add no useful information since the work is spread precisely evenly between each thread going to the same CPU.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 12:22:47 PM
 #270

Thanks for this great program!  I'll be sure to donate as soon as I start generating some decent bitcoin.

I had an issue with the (now) older version 1.2.8 where it would crash on startup when a system had more than 4 NVIDIA GPUs available (Windows 7 64-bit).  I'll test it again with the new version.


One issue I see with the new 1.3.1 version is with the --load-balance option with 2 pools, it continually repeats that new block detected before longpoll.  One pool is bitcoin while the other is namecoin if that makes a difference.  Running 2 instances separately this message does not occur.

Thanks for positive feedback Smiley Don't know about the nvidia gpus thing, sorry.

You can't mix bitcoin and namecoin in the same instance as the blocks won't match and it will continue to think every work item is from a new block. That's how it detects new blocks without a longpoll.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 12:48:36 PM
 #271

ck, installed latest Catalyst, sdk 2.1, Ubuntu 10.04.3 x86_64, ATI FirePro V5700, compiles fine, when run:

Quote
cgminer version 1.3.1 - Started: [2011-07-20 14:45:22]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 0  LW: 0  LO: 0  RF: 0  I: 0
 Connected to http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 as user xxx
 Block xxx  started: [2011-07-20 14:45:22]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [0.0 Mh/s] [Q:0  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-20 14:45:24] Attempting to restart thread 0, idle for more than 60 seco
nds

Segmentation fault

Any idea?

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 01:03:00 PM
 #272

ck, installed latest Catalyst, sdk 2.1, Ubuntu 10.04.3 x86_64, ATI FirePro V5700, compiles fine, when run:

Quote
cgminer version 1.3.1 - Started: [2011-07-20 14:45:22]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 TQ: 1  ST: 1  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 0  NB: 0  LW: 0  LO: 0  RF: 0  I: 0
 Connected to http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 as user xxx
 Block xxx  started: [2011-07-20 14:45:22]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [0.0 Mh/s] [Q:0  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-20 14:45:24] Attempting to restart thread 0, idle for more than 60 seco
nds

Segmentation fault

Any idea?
Looks like it never got the threads started. Grab a fresh tarball, uninstall sdk2.1 and install sdk2.4 perhaps. The phatk kernel in it may no longer be compatible with 2.1.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:06:56 PM
 #273

Small observation (compiled from git)

1.3.0-5 uploads more shares/m @ U: 13/M

1.3.1 uploads @ U:10.1/M

1.3.1 does have a higher MH/s than 1.3.0-5

According to the pool stats 1.3.0-5 gives ~860 MH/s and 1.3.1 gives ~760 MH/s as they base the their MH/s calcs off the shares uploaded.

dostortugas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:17:56 PM
 #274

Hi,

for JSON a sensible multi-host config would look like this:

{

connections: [
   {url: "http://foo.example.org:8332", username: "bar", password: "baz"},
   {url: "http://bar.example.org:8332", username: "baz", password: "quux"}
],

}

did you get a multihost config to work?

I try to make a new example-conf.json but

I don't... cgminer says no server specified

Code:
{"config":
        [
                {
                "url": "http://mining.eligius.st:8337",
                "user": "user",
                "pass": "pass"
                },
                {
                "url": "http://useast.btcguild.com:8332",
                "user": "user2",
                "pass": "pass2"
                },
                {
                "url": "http://pit.x8s.de:8337",
                "user": "user3",
                "pass": "pass3"
                }
        ]
}


19mX5f3YzMSWpDmEwznJNkPBnMSjcTGjPc
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:34:18 PM
 #275

1.3.1 compiles fine, but I get segfault if I run it with basic pool options. Runs ok without pool info. Also prints out number of gpus with -n option. Any thoughts?

Calibre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:48:14 PM
 #276

I have a problem getting 1.3.1 running on Windows. I'm starting using the following parameters:

Code:
cgminer -o http://deepbit.net -u myusername -p mypass -D

And get the following response:

Code:
[2011-07-20 14:09:44] JSON decode failed(1): '[' or '{' expected near '<'
[2011-07-20 14:09:44] Received kill message

Followed by a "This program has stopped working" message in Windows. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and have SDK 2.4.

Any idea what could be wrong?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 02:51:31 PM
 #277

I have a problem getting 1.3.1 running on Windows. I'm starting using the following parameters:

Code:
cgminer -o http://deepbit.net -u myusername -p mypass -D

And get the following response:

Code:
[2011-07-20 14:09:44] JSON decode failed(1): '[' or '{' expected near '<'
[2011-07-20 14:09:44] Received kill message

Followed by a "This program has stopped working" message in Windows. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit and have SDK 2.4.

Any idea what could be wrong?
-o http://pit.deepbit.net:8332

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Calibre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 02:56:54 PM
 #278

Thank you!

Further along the road, but still bombing out with a "This program has stopped working" error:

Code:
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/listenChannel
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Successfully retreived and deciphered work from pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 active
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Init GPU thread 0
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] List of devices:
[2011-07-20 15:55:04]   0       Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04]   1       Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Selected 0: Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Preferred vector width reported 4
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Max work group size reported 256
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] No binary found, generating from source
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Patched source to suit 2 vectors
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BITALIGN
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BFI_INT
[2011-07-20 15:55:05] binary size 0 : 0

Then boom!  Undecided
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 02:57:28 PM
 #279

Running 1.3.0 on Fedora 14 x86.. Had it hang last night, and no either awareness of the hang, and/or no attempt at recovery.. Here's what I saw on the screen:

Quote
cgminer version 1.3.0 - Started: [2011-07-19 22:47:23]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [(5s):647.3  (avg):1086.5 Mh/s] [Q:3254  A:3033  R:5  HW:0  E:93%  U:15.21/m]
 TQ: 0  ST: 0  LS: 0  SS: 0  DW: 2  NB: 22  LW: 0  LO: 0  RF: 0  I: 9
 Connected to http://x.x.x.x:xx/ as user xxx
 Block 00011b498db7e0db5082d5ff0cb5d1ef  started: [2011-07-20 02:03:16]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 GPU 0: [361.4 Mh/s] [Q:1076  A:1007  R:1  HW:0  E:94%  U:5.08/m]
 GPU 1: [363.0 Mh/s] [Q:1084  A:1026  R:1  HW:0  E:95%  U:5.15/m]
 GPU 2: [362.1 Mh/s] [Q:1094  A:1000  R:3  HW:0  E:91%  U:5.02/m]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[2011-07-20 02:04:53] Share 8ebbdcf8 accepted from GPU 1 thread 10
[2011-07-20 02:04:58] Share 73c5c9f9 accepted from GPU 0 thread 6
[2011-07-20 02:05:05] Share 54452047 accepted from GPU 0 thread 9
[2011-07-20 02:05:07] Share 22cc6c6f accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-20 02:05:08] Share 7b2a4075 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-20 02:05:09] Share da4bf061 accepted from GPU 1 thread 7
[2011-07-20 02:05:13] Share 2406795e accepted from GPU 2 thread 5
[2011-07-20 02:05:13] Share 08250b9c accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-20 02:05:23] Share fa3eada8 accepted from GPU 1 thread 7
[2011-07-20 02:05:30] Share df9407d0 accepted from GPU 1 thread 7
[2011-07-20 02:05:32] Share 891499dc accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-20 02:05:34] Share 37f3e9b8 accepted from GPU 0 thread 6
[2011-07-20 02:05:37] Share 9837a519 accepted from GPU 1 thread 4
[2011-07-20 02:05:42] Share 1337dd1c accepted from GPU 0 thread 9
[2011-07-20 02:05:46] Share fa18714a accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-20 02:05:47] Share 27eb7a1e accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-20 02:05:48] Share 59d02639 accepted from GPU 0 thread 3
[2011-07-20 02:05:54] Share 3773b873 accepted from GPU 0 thread 0
[2011-07-20 02:05:59] Share 30e7df8c accepted from GPU 1 thread 7
[2011-07-20 02:06:02] Share 0761b69f accepted from GPU 2 thread 2
[2011-07-20 02:06:18] Share 5b1257d2 accepted from GPU 1 thread 7
[2011-07-20 02:06:22] Share d0d5bdc5 accepted from GPU 1 thread 1
[2011-07-20 02:06:37] Share c0ecc4f0 accepted from GPU 1 thread 10
[2011-07-20 02:06:37] Share a1c01ee9 accepted from GPU 2 thread 11
[2011-07-20 02:06:45] Share 72d7a8ee accepted from GPU 2 thread 5
[2011-07-20 02:06:52] Share b07c920f accepted from GPU 2 thread 5
[2011-07-20 02:06:53] Share 2ce34d13 accepted from GPU 2 thread 5
[2011-07-20 02:06:55] Attempting to restart thread 0, idle for more than 60 seconds
[2011-07-20 03:15:18] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-20 03:15:18] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-20 05:26:19] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-20 05:26:19] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-20 05:27:38] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-20 05:27:38] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work
[2011-07-20 07:38:38] LONGPOLL received after new block already detected
[2011-07-20 07:38:38] New block detected on network before longpoll, waiting on fresh work

Ideas?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2011, 03:00:06 PM
 #280

Thank you!

Further along the road, but still bombing out with a "This program has stopped working" error:

Code:
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/listenChannel
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Successfully retreived and deciphered work from pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 active
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Init GPU thread 0
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] List of devices:
[2011-07-20 15:55:04]   0       Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04]   1       Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Selected 0: Cayman
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Preferred vector width reported 4
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Max work group size reported 256
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] No binary found, generating from source
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] Patched source to suit 2 vectors
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BITALIGN
[2011-07-20 15:55:04] cl_amd_media_ops found, patched source with BFI_INT
[2011-07-20 15:55:05] binary size 0 : 0

Then boom!  Undecided

Reboot?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!