Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:33:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824956 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 08:33:00 AM
 #861

Thanks!

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
1481304813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304813
Reply with quote  #2

1481304813
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481304813
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304813

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304813
Reply with quote  #2

1481304813
Report to moderator
dostortugas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 11:35:47 AM
 #862

Long story short! hallelujah!

The "thread restarting" works finally! Even with only one thread becoming sick the miner restarts properly!

I tested every git update against it to keep ck posted and finally - 5 mins ago I could confirm a restart!
Having a buggy card is at least good for testing!

Code:
13:24 <@chem|st> restarted itself
13:25 <@ckolivas> and working fine?
13:25 <@ckolivas> normal rate and both threads??
13:25 <@chem|st> both threads but one is slower than the other
13:25 <@chem|st> ok balances now
13:25 <@ckolivas> sweet mother of god \o/
13:25 <@chem|st> \o/
13:25 <@ckolivas> halleluyah
13:26 <@chem|st> that was a very long progress to get this shit working fine!
13:26 <@chem|st> good work buddy!
13:26 <@ckolivas> thanks man
13:26  * ckolivas weeps
13:26 <@ckolivas> tears of joy

Please consider some juice for the hard work, sweat and depression ck had with it: 148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq

19mX5f3YzMSWpDmEwznJNkPBnMSjcTGjPc
Ghostofkobra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167



View Profile
August 16, 2011, 02:18:27 PM
 #863

Hi,
I noticed that i now get a lot of longpoll errors from slush's pool (for some reason) but BTCGuild seems to be working fine.
However i noticed that it wasnt obvious which pool it was that was giving me the error in a multipool setup so i would appreciate if you incorporated this small change in the next release.

diff old_main.c main.c
3795c3795
<                                       "longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s");
---
>                                       "longpoll failed for %s, sleeping for 30s",lp_url);

It just turns this:
   longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s
into this:
   Longpoll failed for http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332/LP, sleeping for 30s


Best
/GoK

Coin Reaper @ http://coinreaper.com - Your expressway to FREE Bitcoins!
Bunny Run @ http://bunnyrun.us and win every time. No Bets required
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 06:35:09 PM
 #864

Do 'SICK' GPU's ever get restarted? Sometimes I get 'Thread 3 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 1 declared SICK!' and mining stops on that GPU. If I restart it manually, work resumes just fine, so I guess it cgminer should try to restart the GPU automagically? I waited 3 minutes and the GPU was not restarted, maybe there is a bigger timeout?

Edit: When it gets marked as DEAD, it does get restarted immediately.
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 08:00:59 PM
 #865

Thanks for the cpu-only client.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 09:45:51 PM
 #866

Hi,
I noticed that i now get a lot of longpoll errors from slush's pool (for some reason) but BTCGuild seems to be working fine.
However i noticed that it wasnt obvious which pool it was that was giving me the error in a multipool setup so i would appreciate if you incorporated this small change in the next release.

diff old_main.c main.c
3795c3795
<                                       "longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s");
---
>                                       "longpoll failed for %s, sleeping for 30s",lp_url);

It just turns this:
   longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s
into this:
   Longpoll failed for http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332/LP, sleeping for 30s


Best
/GoK

Good idea. Though I might just put the pool number rather than the whole URL because the URL can be quite long leading to a very long log message. ?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 16, 2011, 09:48:34 PM
 #867

Do 'SICK' GPU's ever get restarted? Sometimes I get 'Thread 3 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 1 declared SICK!' and mining stops on that GPU. If I restart it manually, work resumes just fine, so I guess it cgminer should try to restart the GPU automagically? I waited 3 minutes and the GPU was not restarted, maybe there is a bigger timeout?

Edit: When it gets marked as DEAD, it does get restarted immediately.
Yes indeed, that's what I've spent weeks working on to get right. To restart it if it can only. The 5 minutes was a nominal choice based on the theory that if it gets sick, giving it a few minutes to cool down will make it more likely to respond. Note that if it gets sick a LOT, you may benefit from decreasing the intensity and sacrificing a few MH just to get a more stable throughput (eg -I 7 instead of Cool.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
tomek74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 10:05:15 PM
 #868

./configure works fine, but
make for cgminer 1.5.5 fails now with the following error on Mac mini Lion 10.7:

Code:
ld: warning: ignoring file x86_64/libx8664.a, file was built for archive which is not the architecture being linked (x86_64)
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_CalcSha256_x64", referenced from:
      _scanhash_sse2_64 in cgminer-sha256_sse2_amd64.o
  "_CalcSha256_x64_sse4", referenced from:
      _scanhash_sse4_64 in cgminer-sha256_sse4_amd64.o
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
tomek74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 11:07:17 PM
 #869

./configure works fine, but
make for cgminer 1.5.5 fails now with the following error on Mac mini Lion 10.7:

Code:
ld: warning: ignoring file x86_64/libx8664.a, file was built for archive which is not the architecture being linked (x86_64)
Undefined symbols for architecture x86_64:
  "_CalcSha256_x64", referenced from:
      _scanhash_sse2_64 in cgminer-sha256_sse2_amd64.o
  "_CalcSha256_x64_sse4", referenced from:
      _scanhash_sse4_64 in cgminer-sha256_sse4_amd64.o
ld: symbol(s) not found for architecture x86_64
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer] Error 1

After uninstalling yasm (with sudo port uninstall yasm) it compiles and runs fine.
tomek74
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 16, 2011, 11:55:36 PM
 #870

Oh, it is not really working for me. I am still having difficulties with cgminer on Mac mini. It shows 4124 Megahash/s which is not realistic on my Mac mini. (DiableMiner shows me 48350 khash/sec)
During 17 minutest there were still 0 accepted shares.

Code:
localhost:cgminer thomas$ ./cgminer -o http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u name.name-p password -I 8
[2011-08-17 01:47:41]
Summary of runtime statistics:
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Started at [2011-08-17 01:30:37]                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Runtime: 0 hrs : 17 mins : 3 secs                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Average hashrate: 4124.6 Megahash/s                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Queued work requests: 11733                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Share submissions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Accepted shares: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Rejected shares: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Hardware errors: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Efficiency (accepted / queued): 0%                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Utility (accepted shares / min): 0.00/min
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Discarded work due to new blocks: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Work items generated locally: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] New blocks detected on network: 19
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Summary of per device statistics:
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41]  GPU 0: [4394.3 / 4124.6 Mh/s] [Q:11732  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]    
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 12:01:04 AM
 #871

Oh, it is not really working for me. I am still having difficulties with cgminer on Mac mini. It shows 4124 Megahash/s which is not realistic on my Mac mini. (DiableMiner shows me 48350 khash/sec)
During 17 minutest there were still 0 accepted shares.

Code:
localhost:cgminer thomas$ ./cgminer -o http://api2.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u name.name-p password -I 8
[2011-08-17 01:47:41]
Summary of runtime statistics:
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Started at [2011-08-17 01:30:37]                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Runtime: 0 hrs : 17 mins : 3 secs                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Average hashrate: 4124.6 Megahash/s                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Queued work requests: 11733                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Share submissions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Accepted shares: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Rejected shares: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Hardware errors: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Efficiency (accepted / queued): 0%                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Utility (accepted shares / min): 0.00/min
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Discarded work due to new blocks: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Stale submissions discarded due to new blocks: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Work items generated locally: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] New blocks detected on network: 19
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41] Summary of per device statistics:
                    
[2011-08-17 01:47:41]  GPU 0: [4394.3 / 4124.6 Mh/s] [Q:11732  A:0  R:0  HW:0  E:0%  U:0.00/m]    
19 new blocks in 17 minutes? That doesn't even sound like bitcoin...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Tx2000
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 05:40:34 AM
 #872

Apologize if it was already addressed or noted somewhere but I cannot seem to find it.  Is it possible to set Intensity per GPU?  If not, would that be something difficult to add?  I like being able to manage each GPU individually and in my case, one of my GPUs isn't always a dedicated miner while the other is.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 05:52:29 AM
 #873

Apologize if it was already addressed or noted somewhere but I cannot seem to find it.  Is it possible to set Intensity per GPU?  If not, would that be something difficult to add?  I like being able to manage each GPU individually and in my case, one of my GPUs isn't always a dedicated miner while the other is.
Unfortunately there is not a way to do that at the moment. In the readme you'll see it recommends running 2 instances of cgminer selecting which GPUs to use. Use one instance in dynamic mode and the other with a set intensity.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:12:41 AM
 #874

I might have detected a memory leak in 1.5.5. After ~8 hours of work, cgminer got oom-killed. I restarted the process and I'm taking ps snapshots every 10 minutes to see if I'm right. I'll be back Smiley.
ovidiusoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
August 17, 2011, 06:15:13 AM
 #875

Yes indeed, that's what I've spent weeks working on to get right. To restart it if it can only. The 5 minutes was a nominal choice based on the theory that if it gets sick, giving it a few minutes to cool down will make it more likely to respond. Note that if it gets sick a LOT, you may benefit from decreasing the intensity and sacrificing a few MH just to get a more stable throughput (eg -I 7 instead of Cool.

Only happened twice in 4-5 hours, so I think I'm ok. It's 5 minutes then... I need patience... or a command line switch? Smiley

Edit: confirmed, it restarts after 5 minutes. An option would be nice - my GPUs cool down way faster than that, and I think that's the case with most miners, most of them have extra fans and cooling.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 06:46:36 AM
 #876

New phatk and poclbm kernels in git tree for those who've been waiting for them.

Hopefully new release just around the corner with that Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 07:18:02 AM
 #877

Too good to pass up a new release even with only 2 real changes.

Version 1.5.6 (you all know where by now - links in first post).

Executive summary: New faster phatk kernel (2.2) courtesy of phateus porting it (thanks!) and with my own custom modifications on top. Fixed multiple pool longpoll management.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 07:35:32 AM
 #878

Too good to pass up a new release even with only 2 real changes.

Version 1.5.6 (you all know where by now - links in first post).

Executive summary: New faster phatk kernel (2.2) courtesy of phateus porting it (thanks!) and with my own custom modifications on top. Fixed multiple pool longpoll management.
From all of us... *Hugs*   Grin

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 17, 2011, 08:08:13 AM
 #879

I've noticed something strange about the Windows version of cgminer.  With only GPU mining enabled, there are 6 instances of the program running; 5 of which are using 1,216K of memory and 0% CPU.  Is there a purpose for these threads or is your miner having accidental child processes?

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
Ghostofkobra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167



View Profile
August 17, 2011, 08:12:02 AM
 #880

Hi,
diff old_main.c main.c
3795c3795
<                                       "longpoll failed, sleeping for 30s");
---
>                                       "longpoll failed for %s, sleeping for 30s",lp_url);
Best
/GoK

Good idea. Though I might just put the pool number rather than the whole URL because the URL can be quite long leading to a very long log message. ?

That works just fine,

Thanx
/GoK

Coin Reaper @ http://coinreaper.com - Your expressway to FREE Bitcoins!
Bunny Run @ http://bunnyrun.us and win every time. No Bets required
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 [44] 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!