Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:35:03 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825279 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 03:12:40 AM
 #1041

So I worked on fixing bugs only in this quick release, especially with the performance regression in there. Interestingly, 6970s didn't mind at all having the 4K output buffers, but other cards did.

Version 1.5.8 (download links in first post):

- Minimise how much more work can be given in cpu mining threads each interval.
- Make the fail-pause progressively longer each time it fails until the network
recovers.
- Only display the lagging message if we've requested the work earlier.
- Clean up the pool switching to not be dependent on whether the work can roll
or not by setting a lagging flag and then the idle flag.
- Only use one thread to determine if a GPU is sick or well, and make sure to
reset the sick restart attempt time.
- The worksize was unintentionally changed back to 4k by mistake, this caused a
slowdown.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:
Pool switching should be fixed, performance should be better. GPU SICK/DEAD confusion should be fixed.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319303
Reply with quote  #2

1481319303
Report to moderator
huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
August 23, 2011, 04:33:54 AM
 #1042

@ckolivas: Hi! Great work as usual. I just have a suggestion, maybe you can put the change log into the first page/first post since it's where each one of us turn into.

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
Endeavour79
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 05:06:38 AM
 #1043

Thanks for your work ckolivas, unfortunately the 6970s performance problem still exists. No change..

NSW, Australia - Rigs, Mining, Pools - Local help needed? Send me a message!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 05:08:54 AM
 #1044

Thanks for your work ckolivas, unfortunately the 6970s performance problem still exists. No change..

Whatever that is, it's something else... Whatever it is... seems to be related to your move to the new phatk kernel. My 6970s on the other hand, like it a lot. Something to do with you mixing cards perhaps? Really no idea offhand

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 05:42:04 AM
 #1045

Pool switching should be fixed, performance should be better. GPU SICK/DEAD confusion should be fixed.

GPU SICK/DEAD is fixed - thank you for the quick response. Smiley
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 06:54:08 AM
 #1046

1.5.8 keeps crashing on me at random times.. and then i cant restart it without a reboot.

mooo for rent
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 06:56:17 AM
 #1047

1.5.8 keeps crashing on me at random times.. and then i cant restart it without a reboot.

If it requires a reboot, then that's NOT cgminer but the driver that's crashing. A few people have found their overclocks have had to be relaxed with the latest versions of phatk. Personally I fixed all my instability issues by tossing out the 11.8 and 11.7 drivers and going back to 11.6.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 12:00:16 PM
 #1048

Conman, can you tell me how to get pkg-config? I did the usual: mingw-get install pkg-config, but no dice.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 12:04:42 PM
 #1049

Conman, can you tell me how to get pkg-config? I did the usual: mingw-get install pkg-config, but no dice.
See: http://www.mingw.org/wiki/FAQ
for: How do I get pkg-config installed?

It's still not easy to get it compiling under mingw32, but at least the dependencies are sorted out.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 01:12:01 PM
 #1050

Partially because of my laziness, i will stay with what i've got for now. I.e 1.5.3

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
miscreanity
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 03:18:20 PM
 #1051

Multiple 69xx; Linux 2.6.38; Cat 11.6/SDK 2.4; cgminer 1.5.8 == fantastic.

I wasn't thrilled with Cat 11.7/8 processor usage and saw no discernible performance improvement with SDK 2.5 over 2.4. The 1.5.8 build maintains the same Mhash/s but utility is about 0.5% higher over several hours. No changes have been made to clock speeds or any other hardware settings since 1.5.3.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 04:29:15 PM
 #1052

I found some hardware that I can reproduce the slowdown on and have found the offending change. It was actually unintentional. I've pushed the fix to git and it will be in the next version.

Thank you for the fix. I lost about 14% with the update to cgminer-1.5.7
Running  Gentoo Linux, vid card is 6950, x11-drivers/ati-drivers-11.6 and ati-stream-sdk-v2.3  

EDIT: cgminer-1.5.8 is about 3% slower
EDIT: cgminer-1.5.8 is back to normal 371Hhs

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 09:52:32 PM
 #1053

Would it be possible to not have cgminer try to restart a SICK gpu?  Doing so locks my machine completely.  This is the last thing I see:


[2011-08-23 16:50:05] Accepted 0427cc9b GPU 0 thread 3 pool 0
[2011-08-23 16:50:36] Thread 2 idle for more than 60 seconds, GPU 2 declared SICK!

[2011-08-23 16:50:36] Attempting to restart GPU
[2011-08-23 16:50:36] Thread 2 still exists, killing it off
[2011-08-23 16:50:36] Thread 5 still exists, killing it off

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
August 23, 2011, 10:56:17 PM
 #1054

1.5.8 keeps crashing on me at random times.. and then i cant restart it without a reboot.

If it requires a reboot, then that's NOT cgminer but the driver that's crashing. A few people have found their overclocks have had to be relaxed with the latest versions of phatk. Personally I fixed all my instability issues by tossing out the 11.8 and 11.7 drivers and going back to 11.6.


Hmm I have no problem with phatk 2.1 or 2.2 or the diablo builds any date with my other software

and i threw out 11.8 and 11.7 a while ago and went back to straight old 11.6 no B included.

but thanks for the info I will play with clocks a little(i'm also barely overclocked.. i dont like pushing it that hard)

mooo for rent
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2011, 11:09:50 PM
 #1055

1.5.8 keeps crashing on me at random times.. and then i cant restart it without a reboot.

If it requires a reboot, then that's NOT cgminer but the driver that's crashing. A few people have found their overclocks have had to be relaxed with the latest versions of phatk. Personally I fixed all my instability issues by tossing out the 11.8 and 11.7 drivers and going back to 11.6.


Hmm I have no problem with phatk 2.1 or 2.2 or the diablo builds any date with my other software

and i threw out 11.8 and 11.7 a while ago and went back to straight old 11.6 no B included.

but thanks for the info I will play with clocks a little(i'm also barely overclocked.. i dont like pushing it that hard)
Decreasing intensity can help as well. It's the combination of the latest phatk kernel and the high intensity in cgminer that pushes cards to their limit. You may find the reduction in hash rate to be insignificant but the stability to increase. Try -I 7 instead of 8.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 12:02:17 AM
 #1056

I'm using -I 4 and I get hardware errors with 1.5.8
like 300 hardware errors when I was at the gym and some accepted

changing kernels (as in killing 1.5.8 and starting 1.5.6) also locks up my computer :/

I'll use the newer version a little bit more and investigate
I just rebooted and got two more hardware errors while posting and I'm kinda giving up

sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 02:26:56 AM
 #1057

OK, I'm going to try cgminer in Linux via Linuxcoin and using Smartcoin to manage the windows/screens.

I noticed that Linuxcoin the release version comes with cgminer 1.5.5. What is the best way to upgrade it to 1.5.8 on Linuxcoin?

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
phase
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 05:33:01 AM
 #1058

OK, I'm going to try cgminer in Linux via Linuxcoin and using Smartcoin to manage the windows/screens.

Shocked No way! You mean you're actually going to put in some effort yourself to get it working the way you want to? Wink No, seriously, I'm also running it on Linuxcoin, same resolution, if it's of any help: you should be able to fit 4 windows next to each other on the same screen easily.

I noticed that Linuxcoin the release version comes with cgminer 1.5.5. What is the best way to upgrade it to 1.5.8 on Linuxcoin?

Best way: Download source & compile it.
Easiest: Download 64bit Ubuntu binary from first post, works like a charm.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
August 24, 2011, 06:40:43 AM
 #1059

OK, I'm going to try cgminer in Linux via Linuxcoin and using Smartcoin to manage the windows/screens.

Shocked No way! You mean you're actually going to put in some effort yourself to get it working the way you want to? Wink No, seriously, I'm also running it on Linuxcoin, same resolution, if it's of any help: you should be able to fit 4 windows next to each other on the same screen easily.

I noticed that Linuxcoin the release version comes with cgminer 1.5.5. What is the best way to upgrade it to 1.5.8 on Linuxcoin?

Best way: Download source & compile it.
Easiest: Download 64bit Ubuntu binary from first post, works like a charm.

I'm trying lol.

Yeah I got it thanks. I used the Ubuntu binary and put it in /usr/bin along with the .cl files.

Gonna try smartcoin first as it has gpu temps and I can toggle between the screens for more detail.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
August 24, 2011, 09:48:08 AM
 #1060

I'm using -I 4 and I get hardware errors with 1.5.8
like 300 hardware errors when I was at the gym and some accepted

changing kernels (as in killing 1.5.8 and starting 1.5.6) also locks up my computer :/

I'll use the newer version a little bit more and investigate
I just rebooted and got two more hardware errors while posting and I'm kinda giving up
For the record, when I went from 1.5.3 to 1.5.6 it would consistentsy lock up my GPU (and pretty much my computer) within an hour (sometimes in minutes) until I lowered my OC settings.  I am now getting a higher MHash/s and higher efficiency with lower OC settings.  This was true on a multi-day run with 1.5.6 (over the weekend, so at least three days) and appears to be holding true for 1.5.8 (installed yesterday) as well.  Giving up may not be to your advantage in the long run.
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!