Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:59:16 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824267 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 12:21:24 PM
 #1101

I will as soon as the battery is charged and I'm off work. Until then, I was mainly trying to point out the segfault and the somewhat misleading message about the thread being idle for 60s.
(I kinda assume that the GPU is refusing to start because of being on battery, perhaps even because the battery was low; it works fine otherwise.)
Ah right, yes that is misleading and needs attending to at some stage.
* ckolivas adds it to the list of 2^32 things he needs/wants to do.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481263156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263156
Reply with quote  #2

1481263156
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263156
Reply with quote  #2

1481263156
Report to moderator
1481263156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263156
Reply with quote  #2

1481263156
Report to moderator
1481263156
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263156

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263156
Reply with quote  #2

1481263156
Report to moderator
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 12:30:33 PM
 #1102

* ckolivas adds it to the list of 2^32 things he needs/wants to do.

I see you need some more work... :-P
Seriously, though, it isn't really important to me, so take your time. As I said, just pointing stuff out.

* ancow goes back to writing test cases... *puke*

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
xcooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145


View Profile
August 26, 2011, 02:14:16 PM
 #1103

Error with 6970 + 5870.. cgminer will not use both cards together.
1.5.8 crashes on me if the window has focus and I hit "ctrl ctrl (number of pc)" on my keyboard to use my kvm to switch pc's. If I click on the desktop so that cgminer does not have focus, then it never crashes.

Also I have 1 6970 and 3 5870's in one computer and cgminer will not use the 6970. It does however use the other 5870's provided I exit after the first run and do not delete the bin files before relaunching cgminer.

Edit: It only creates one bin file. The cypress one. Never creates the Camen one.

If there are 4 GPU's in a computer (all the same GPU type) only the last two start up and the other 2 give errors complaining about zero length bin files. If I exit cgminer and remove the line that deletes the .bin file from the folder, and start cgminer back up it works ok with all 4 GPU's. (Again running on Windows 7:

Also on Windows if you try to enable or disable a GPU from within cgminer it stops responding and the window shuts down.

Am I posting these bugs in the correct place?

Yeah, having the same issues with 6970+5870

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2011, 03:20:37 PM
 #1104

Found the problem. It has to do with the fact that I hadn't changed to the cgminer directory when I was still on battery:
Code:
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Testing pool http://127.0.0.1:8336                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Popping work to stage thread                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Popping work to work thread                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Successfully retrieved and deciphered work from pool 0 http://127.0.0.1:8336                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Pushing pooltest work to base pool                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Pool 0 http://127.0.0.1:8336 active                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Pushing ping to thread 0                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Init GPU thread 0                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Discarded 0 stales that didn't match current hash                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] List of devices:                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Pushing work to getwork queue                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02]   0       Redwood                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Selected 0: Redwood                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Popping work to stage thread                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Preferred vector width reported 4                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Max work group size reported 256                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Unable to open phatk110817.cl or
                                                       $��/home/XXX/bin/phatk110817.cl for reading                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Failed to init GPU thread 0                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Init GPU thread 1                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] List of devices:                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02]   0       Redwood                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Selected 0: Redwood                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Preferred vector width reported 4                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Max work group size reported 256                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Unable to open phatk110817.cl or
                                                       $��/home/XXX/bin/phatk110817.cl for reading                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] Failed to init GPU thread 1                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] 2 gpu miner threads started                    
[2011-08-26 16:24:02] 0 cpu miner threads started, using SHA256 '4way' algorithm.                    

The problem is that cgminer uses whatever crud malloc returns and simply appends the path of the install directory. The following patch fixes this for me:
Code:
--- cgminer-git/main.c  2011-08-26 10:18:44.314759040 +0200
+++ cgminer_build/main.c        2011-08-26 16:31:27.905487304 +0200
@@ -4495,7 +4495,7 @@
        sigaction(SIGINT, &handler, &inthandler);
 
        opt_kernel_path = malloc(PATH_MAX);
-       strcat(opt_kernel_path, CGMINER_PREFIX);
+       strcpy(opt_kernel_path, CGMINER_PREFIX);
 
        // Hack to make cgminer silent when called recursively on WIN32
        int skip_to_bench = 0;

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
phase
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
August 27, 2011, 04:50:45 AM
 #1105

Hmm, Ubuntu 64bit binaries were working fine for me on Linuxcoin up until now, 1.6.0 won't start. Is this because of the make install changes? Do I have to run make install from the directory, even for the binary release? And where do the files end up, where do I put configuration files, and what about newer versions? Will these automatically overwrite the previous binary from now on?
The LT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 04:57:49 AM
 #1106

I have a small request, if I may.

Can a version string be added to the syslog output? Right now it starts with "Testing pool" and it would be really handy to start with "cgminer v.1.6.0 started". It already has a version string in the ncurses interface so it should be a trivial addition.

Thank you,
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 04:58:55 AM
 #1107

Hmm, Ubuntu 64bit binaries were working fine for me on Linuxcoin up until now, 1.6.0 won't start. Is this because of the make install changes? Do I have to run make install from the directory, even for the binary release? And where do the files end up, where do I put configuration files, and what about newer versions? Will these automatically overwrite the previous binary from now on?
No it should just work from the directory like it always did. HOWEVER if you have old .cl files in /usr/bin it might be using those. If you do make install with the binary version it will end up in /usr/bin (that's why I included the entire build tree this time instead of a stripped down tarball).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
phase
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
August 27, 2011, 07:57:38 AM
 #1108

No it should just work from the directory like it always did. HOWEVER if you have old .cl files in /usr/bin it might be using those. If you do make install with the binary version it will end up in /usr/bin (that's why I included the entire build tree this time instead of a stripped down tarball).

OMG what a total fail! I just downloaded and unpacked, copied my configuration and started with the usual scripts... Tried fiddling with config, then your suggestions, didn't work. Unfortunately, I failed to notice that I had downloaded the *source* release, no wonder the new terminal stays blank... Cheesy Nice going phase Cool Thanks though! Works like a charm!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 08:34:23 AM
 #1109

No it should just work from the directory like it always did. HOWEVER if you have old .cl files in /usr/bin it might be using those. If you do make install with the binary version it will end up in /usr/bin (that's why I included the entire build tree this time instead of a stripped down tarball).

OMG what a total fail! I just downloaded and unpacked, copied my configuration and started with the usual scripts... Tried fiddling with config, then your suggestions, didn't work. Unfortunately, I failed to notice that I had downloaded the *source* release, no wonder the new terminal stays blank... Cheesy Nice going phase Cool Thanks though! Works like a charm!
We all have days like this  Cheesy

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 27, 2011, 04:59:01 PM
 #1110

Code:
  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                             
  682 user      39  19 1915m  37m  11m S  389  0.5   4944:21 /opt/cgminer/bin/cgminer --algo auto --cpu-threads 4 --gpu-threads 1 ...

I noticed this already with 1.5.3, which I left running for awhile and got like 29g VIRT at some point, but now the history repeats itself with 1.6.0. It really looks like if there were a memleak somewhere that is not fixed. It's not a ncurses thing, I am still running the text interface, because the WINCH bug is back again in 1.6.0. Also, this doesn't manifest itself if CPU mining is disabled and doesn't depend on which algorithm exactly one does use.

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 09:45:13 PM
 #1111

Code:
  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                             
  682 user      39  19 1915m  37m  11m S  389  0.5   4944:21 /opt/cgminer/bin/cgminer --algo auto --cpu-threads 4 --gpu-threads 1 ...

I noticed this already with 1.5.3, which I left running for awhile and got like 29g VIRT at some point, but now the history repeats itself with 1.6.0. It really looks like if there were a memleak somewhere that is not fixed. It's not a ncurses thing, I am still running the text interface, because the WINCH bug is back again in 1.6.0. Also, this doesn't manifest itself if CPU mining is disabled and doesn't depend on which algorithm exactly one does use.
Ah, knowing it's only with cpu mining will help. I'll investigate further.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2011, 09:45:51 PM
 #1112

Found the problem. It has to do with the fact that I hadn't changed to the cgminer directory when I was still on battery:

The problem is that cgminer uses whatever crud malloc returns and simply appends the path of the install directory. The following patch fixes this for me:
Code:
--- cgminer-git/main.c  2011-08-26 10:18:44.314759040 +0200
+++ cgminer_build/main.c        2011-08-26 16:31:27.905487304 +0200
@@ -4495,7 +4495,7 @@
        sigaction(SIGINT, &handler, &inthandler);
 
        opt_kernel_path = malloc(PATH_MAX);
-       strcat(opt_kernel_path, CGMINER_PREFIX);
+       strcpy(opt_kernel_path, CGMINER_PREFIX);
 
        // Hack to make cgminer silent when called recursively on WIN32
        int skip_to_bench = 0;
Well spotted, thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Tasty Champa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 05:08:29 AM
 #1113

Is ask rate and scan time the same thing?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2011, 09:22:03 AM
 #1114

Is ask rate and scan time the same thing?
There is no official terminology for any of this stuff, but I'm assuming what ask-rate is, I guess the answer is yes.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 10:08:09 AM
 #1115

Couple of observations:

1) Since cgminer is unusable with older curses, maybe make a compile-time switch to disable them completely? Especially now that there is a monitor option etc.
2) ./configure doesn't fail if no curses development files were detected, but compilation fails subsequently.

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 10:17:14 AM
 #1116

Another couple:

1) So what does more exactly longpoll do and how to enable it with cgminer? I was under impression that it should be enabled by default, unless I specify --no-longpoll, but somehow it doesn't work for me on Slush pool. Shall I add LP to the pool URL?

2) So what's the best kernel for Radeon 5xxx ATM, shall I add -k phatk for optimum performance?

P.S. I really want to kill AMD, upgraded to latest Debian testing and the 10.7 or 10.8 or whatever they are consume 100% CPU. Argh...

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2011, 10:20:28 AM
 #1117

Another couple:

1) So what does more exactly longpoll do and how to enable it with cgminer? I was under impression that it should be enabled by default, unless I specify --no-longpoll, but somehow it doesn't work for me on Slush pool. Shall I add LP to the pool URL?

2) So what's the best kernel for Radeon 5xxx ATM, shall I add -k phatk for optimum performance?

P.S. I really want to kill AMD, upgraded to latest Debian testing and the 10.7 or 10.8 or whatever they are consume 100% CPU. Argh...
I believe slush doesn't have longpoll. cgminer detects it by default and tries to enable it. Luckily cgminer is very good at minimising rejects even without longpoll.

Best kernel is likely phatk, and I'm pretty sure it will use that anyway by default.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2011, 01:43:15 PM
 #1118

P.S. I really want to kill AMD, upgraded to latest Debian testing and the 10.7 or 10.8 or whatever they are consume 100% CPU. Argh...
I know what you mean. You can get the old package versions from here: http://snapshot.debian.org/package/fglrx-driver/1:11-6-3/

I really haven't noticed a difference in either gaming or mining performance, and this way the CPU usage is minimised, so I see no reason not to downgrade.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 04:09:51 PM
 #1119

I found some temporarily fix to reduce the cpu consumption in windows...
use this tool http://www.adsciengineering.com/StartAffinity/
to set the affinity of cgminer to one core. Use quotes on your cgminer cmdline and the id you would set in the taskmanager.


Or is there a way to actually get rid of it yet?

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
August 28, 2011, 07:57:58 PM
 #1120

I never had any compile errors form cgminer so this is the first one:

Code:
In file included from sha256_sse2_i386.c:21:
...
mv -f .deps/cgminer-sha256_sse4_amd64.Tpo .deps/cgminer-sha256_sse4_amd64.Po
gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson -I./lib -I./lib  -DHAS_YASM -g -O2 -MT cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.Tpo -c -o cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o `test -f 'sha256_sse2_i386.c' || echo './'`sha256_sse2_i386.c
/usr/lib/gcc/i686-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.5/include/xmmintrin.h:32:3: error: #error "SSE instruction set not enabled"
sha256_sse2_i386.c:25: error: expected ‘)’ before ‘*’ token
sha256_sse2_i386.c:50: error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘g_4sha256_k’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:51: error: expected ‘=’, ‘,’, ‘;’, ‘asm’ or ‘__attribute__’ before ‘sha256_consts_m128i’
sha256_sse2_i386.c: In function ‘scanhash_sse2_32’:
sha256_sse2_i386.c:62: error: ‘__m128i’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:62: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
sha256_sse2_i386.c:62: error: for each function it appears in.)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:62: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘m_4w’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:63: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘m_4hash’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:64: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘m_4hash1’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:65: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘offset’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:72: error: expected specifier-qualifier-list before ‘__m128i’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:80: error: ‘m_4hash’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:84: error: ‘m_4w’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:87: error: ‘m_4hash1’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:90: error: ‘sha256_consts_m128i’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:92: error: ‘offset’ undeclared (first use in this function)
sha256_sse2_i386.c:105: error: ‘union <anonymous>’ has no member named ‘m’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:106: error: ‘union <anonymous>’ has no member named ‘i’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:114: error: ‘union <anonymous>’ has no member named ‘m’
sha256_sse2_i386.c:115: error: ‘union <anonymous>’ has no member named ‘i’
make[2]: *** [cgminer-sha256_sse2_i386.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/blah/cgminer-1.6.0'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/blah/cgminer-1.6.0'
make: *** [all] Error 2



While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!