Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 06:54:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 274 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridcoin (GRC) - first coin utilizing BOINC - Official Thread  (Read 550654 times)
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2014, 03:22:17 PM
 #1461

I just noticed Gridcoin is writing HUGE debug log files in the Appdata Roaming Gridcoin directory. For example: debug.log which might be a backup is 4,505 KB and debug2.log which is being added to in real time is now 2,328,818 KB - over 2.3 gig and growing. I don't think I've ever turned on logging when running Gridcoin.

Also, I notice that recent versions have added a line to gridcoin.conf that says UpdatingLeaderboard=false which might explain why the leaderboard screens show nothing on my system for the last few days. My old backup gridcoin.conf files don't have that line and I'm pretty sure I did not insert it manually, but my head is spinning with all the

I apologize for the slow response; still out of town due to a family member emergency;
Yes, the debug.log is too big; it has some unnecessary garbage in there to debug the cpumining issue; We will remove that ASAP; in the next week keep deleting it before you boot; Sorry for the inconvenience.
Regarding that key in the config; Gridcoin will update it automatically; if your SQL is not syncing delete the SQL folder and start over; It seems to be working now.

Thanks,
Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
1510988040
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510988040

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510988040
Reply with quote  #2

1510988040
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510988040
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510988040

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510988040
Reply with quote  #2

1510988040
Report to moderator
1510988040
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510988040

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510988040
Reply with quote  #2

1510988040
Report to moderator
1510988040
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510988040

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510988040
Reply with quote  #2

1510988040
Report to moderator
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2014, 03:28:15 PM
 #1462

New Version Available:
7.7.5/1.1.5.6: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we fix the bug where the CPU Miners outstanding amount owed is not being updated; therefore outstanding payments are not correct.
Note: The Next Payment Amount is still too small, and continuing to bloat the wallet, but we cannot fix this until everyone upgrades to this version; we will
fix that in 1.1.5.7, ASAP.

** Please move to this version if you are poolmining as soon as possible, as it is a prerequisite for us to fix the cpumining outstanding payment amount value **




 

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1305


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 03:54:41 PM
 #1463

I just noticed Gridcoin is writing HUGE debug log files in the Appdata Roaming Gridcoin directory. For example: debug.log which might be a backup is 4,505 KB and debug2.log which is being added to in real time is now 2,328,818 KB - over 2.3 gig and growing. I don't think I've ever turned on logging when running Gridcoin.

Also, I notice that recent versions have added a line to gridcoin.conf that says UpdatingLeaderboard=false which might explain why the leaderboard screens show nothing on my system for the last few days. My old backup gridcoin.conf files don't have that line and I'm pretty sure I did not insert it manually, but my head is spinning with all the

I apologize for the slow response; still out of town due to a family member emergency;
Yes, the debug.log is too big; it has some unnecessary garbage in there to debug the cpumining issue; We will remove that ASAP; in the next week keep deleting it before you boot; Sorry for the inconvenience.
Regarding that key in the config; Gridcoin will update it automatically; if your SQL is not syncing delete the SQL folder and start over; It seems to be working now.

Thanks,
Grid


Cool - thanks for that. I'll test the new version now that I know what's up.
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 19, 2014, 04:28:54 PM
 #1464

I think ever since the network hashrate increased to 100 mhash there are a lot more stales now. I think because there is a lot more people hashing there is a greater chance that someone else discovers the block before you do. So if someone else beats you to it, you get a stale. I think the sleep algo will improve that because instead of competing so much, you can do Boinc work while there others are hashing, and then when your turn comes you won't get as many stales. I think that is the way the sleep algorithm for Gridcoin will work.

Hello guys!  I'm using the guiminer scrypt with r9-290 and got for 24 hours mining 6 accepted and 15 stale, is that normal? If not how to reduce the stale rate? Both GPU are at intensity 18 and 24550 concurrency
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1305


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 05:06:19 PM
 #1465

New Version Available:
7.7.5/1.1.5.6: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we fix the bug where the CPU Miners outstanding amount owed is not being updated; therefore outstanding payments are not correct.
Note: The Next Payment Amount is still too small, and continuing to bloat the wallet, but we cannot fix this until everyone upgrades to this version; we will
fix that in 1.1.5.7, ASAP.

** Please move to this version if you are poolmining as soon as possible, as it is a prerequisite for us to fix the cpumining outstanding payment amount value **
 

I'm solo GPUmining. This version appears to have lost the ability to find the cgminer0 folder within the Appdata Roaming Gridcoin folder. The mining module console finds no instance, even though the files all seem intact. The configuration tab offers me a chance to make a new instance but warns that it will replace the old one, and since the old one looks fine I chickened out from doing it.

The wallet seems fine but no mining takes place.

Edit: Update - I renamed the existing cgminer0 folder to I could try creating a new instance from the configuration tab. The Device Id looks OK (Tahiti). I get the warning that it will replace the cgminer0 folder. When I OK that, an error message appears - "Conversion from string '''' to type 'Long' is not valid" - error while creating CGMiner instance. So - no miner, no mining.


Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2014, 05:35:42 PM
 #1466

New Version Available:
7.7.5/1.1.5.6: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we fix the bug where the CPU Miners outstanding amount owed is not being updated; therefore outstanding payments are not correct.
Note: The Next Payment Amount is still too small, and continuing to bloat the wallet, but we cannot fix this until everyone upgrades to this version; we will
fix that in 1.1.5.7, ASAP.

** Please move to this version if you are poolmining as soon as possible, as it is a prerequisite for us to fix the cpumining outstanding payment amount value **
 

I'm solo GPUmining. This version appears to have lost the ability to find the cgminer0 folder within the Appdata Roaming Gridcoin folder. The mining module console finds no instance, even though the files all seem intact. The configuration tab offers me a chance to make a new instance but warns that it will replace the old one, and since the old one looks fine I chickened out from doing it.

The wallet seems fine but no mining takes place.

Edit: Update - I renamed the existing cgminer0 folder to I could try creating a new instance from the configuration tab. The Device Id looks OK (Tahiti). I get the warning that it will replace the cgminer0 folder. When I OK that, an error message appears - "Conversion from string '''' to type 'Long' is not valid" - error while creating CGMiner instance. So - no miner, no mining.






That seems extremely strange and I haven't heard this from anyone; one thing you can do is rollback to the prior EXE and test it; but first: Im using cgm0 and its finding mine; also that string conversion bug only happens if you leave a field blank on the mining config screen; try pulling up each card instances config, verify every field is filled in and click save, then do the create new instance; it should be working.

Good luck,
Grid

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
hamiltino
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


P2P The Planet!


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 05:41:01 PM
 #1467

Cgminer0 doesnt show anything on the mining module for me only Cgminer1. However they are both hashing, so i just let it be.

stacking coin
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1305


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 05:52:51 PM
 #1468

that string conversion bug only happens if you leave a field blank on the mining config screen; try pulling up each card instances config, verify every field is filled in and click save,


Yikes - my fault. I forgot that I had to fill them in. Haven't done it in so long that I thought they would come in from a table on your end. I'll proceed (more carefully) with the next steps. I still can't yet account for the original disappearing miner instance though.

Edit: update - a bit more detail - if I use the "Load Defaults for" feature it fills in the table so that's why I thought you would supply the data. However, whether I use that or enter data manually I still get the string conversion error when I press the "Create CG Miner instance" button, after which all the fields are blanked out again.

I'll keep digging.

Edit: update - I went back to version 64 (which used to work) and it no longer finds a cgminer instance. The error is almost certainly on my end, I now think.

Still digging.

Edit: update - The plot thickens. I had renamed gridcoin.conf so that the program could generate a fresh one. That didn't happen - the program apparently needs to find one to update. Once I gave it one to find things look better but the cgminer error has taken a new twist. The mining module window appeared and seemed normal. After the usual delay, a DOS-style window appears briefly (the cgminer), as it always did, but in the moment it is visible I think I saw a message that it was going to close. Normally, I would bring it back with the "Show CG Miner" button, but that does not work in this case. I see a new message at the bottom of the mining module window: "Process has exited, so the requested information is not available."

Getting closer. Still digging. Probably my error, not yours. Sigh.

Edit: update - On an impulse, I asked it to create a cgminer instance again. "Success" reported, miner window appeared, everything looks normal. Now I just have to bring it all up to the latest version again without breaking anything.

Edit: final update (I promise). Everything is fine now. The cgminer version is 3.4.0 so I know it's updated (I had been using 3.1.0 for Gridcoin since I started). The cause of the original problem remains a puzzle but is probably on my end. "When you're up to your ass in alligators, it's hard to remember that your original objective was to drain the swamp." Sorry for the hassle!


Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 10:03:31 PM
 #1469

The reason it was likely exiting from the DOS window for you before was that there was no cgm session profile. Once you created a new one you were good to go.
I accidentally took out my cgm profile when I was doing cleanup in the folder the other day and had the same issue. A few clicks later and all was well again.

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
Inrideo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 10:36:08 PM
 #1470

Is there a reason why transactions over a certain number of coins seem to get lost without confirmations?
I haven't really had any luck with transactions larger than 200 coins. Anything bigger I need to restore my wallet from backup and rescan.

I imagine this isn't limited to gridcoin, being part of a common wallet.

Gridcoin :: GGEijprFRgB8LFVDLbdKQK9CcysFXAXRop
traderman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 12:09:54 AM
 #1471

Your wallet file must be corrupt or something is wrong on your end, I have sent very large amount of GRC to other people and I have never had problems.

Is there a reason why transactions over a certain number of coins seem to get lost without confirmations?
I haven't really had any luck with transactions larger than 200 coins. Anything bigger I need to restore my wallet from backup and rescan.

I imagine this isn't limited to gridcoin, being part of a common wallet.
zulzedd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 12:31:03 AM
 #1472

I got real problem. After upgrade of my wallet to v 1.1.5.5 (later to 1.1.5.6), while mining in pool i getting zero rewards. I also sent funds to other wallet (because of big wallet.dat size) and then deleted my old wallet.dat file. After this i mined for 20 hrs, got nothing so i decided to reinstall wallet totally. I did this, restored same wallet from backup, and now, after ~6 hours, i still not receiving any rewards from pool mining. What can be wrong? Thanks!
http://i.imgur.com/Syz7zXg.png
johnatx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 01:30:58 AM
 #1473

zulzedd, I transferred to a new wallet and found 0 block after mining overnight for a good 14 hrs. Then I restarted the wallet and miner, and found 2 blocks in 6 hrs. Since then only 2 blocks in the last 24 hrs. I guess it is harder to restart poolmining again with a new GRC address. Also difficulty is going higher which makes it more difficult ...
zulzedd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 01:47:41 AM
 #1474

zulzedd, I transferred to a new wallet and found 0 block after mining overnight for a good 14 hrs. Then I restarted the wallet and miner, and found 2 blocks in 6 hrs. Since then only 2 blocks in the last 24 hrs. I guess it is harder to restart poolmining again with a new GRC address. Also difficulty is going higher which makes it more difficult ...
Thank you for answer! But. As you can see on screenshot i actually found 1 block (and 1 Rejected). Before reinstalling wallet i found 3 blocks and got zero payments. So problem definetly not in diff, which now is 2.55 and i normally mined in pool before with even greater diff and received revards every 15-25 mins.
zulzedd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 03:15:33 PM
 #1475

It's near 24 hours and zero revards.

http://i.imgur.com/zITAkDq.png
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 03:21:30 PM
 #1476

New Version Available:
7.7.7/70/1.1.5.7: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we correct the cpumining next payment amount and outstanding amount owed and resolve most of the bloated wallet issue.

Please upgrade ASAP as this version will only work correctly after 51% upgrade.

Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 03:25:08 PM
 #1477

New Version Available:
7.7.7/70/1.1.5.7: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we correct the cpumining next payment amount and outstanding amount owed and resolve most of the bloated wallet issue.

Please upgrade ASAP as this version will only work correctly after 51% upgrade.


I'm very happy to see the leaderboard factor dynamically changing for milky way; I see some huge credits accumulating on milky way and noticed our factor went from .5 to .29!  So it is getting harder to exploit; so it's working as designed.  Very cool.


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
Gridcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 03:29:32 PM
 #1478

It's near 24 hours and zero revards.

http://i.imgur.com/zITAkDq.png

Are you in the "listminers" pool list?  I see 2 accepted blocks.  Check to see if that number is reflected in the "Payments:" field.  That increments every time you find a block.  Check that your wallet hour is equal to some other people in the list with the same wallet hour.  If you are not pool mining let us know; Ive never seen 0 credit for a non pool mining accepted transaction unless it was an orphan.

BTW, you can actually query your 2 mined blocks with queryanalyzer; find out the height in the last 24 hours
select * from blocks where height > 40000 and boinchash like '%mygrcaddress%'


Gridcoin: scientia humana libertas
zulzedd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
January 20, 2014, 04:10:58 PM
 #1479

Quote
Are you in the "listminers" pool list?  I see 2 accepted blocks.  Check to see if that number is reflected in the "Payments:" field.  That increments every time you find a block.  Check that your wallet hour is equal to some other people in the list with the same wallet hour.  If you are not pool mining let us know; Ive never seen 0 credit for a non pool mining accepted transaction unless it was an orphan.

BTW, you can actually query your 2 mined blocks with queryanalyzer; find out the height in the last 24 hours
select * from blocks where height > 40000 and boinchash like '%mygrcaddress%'

I switched to solo mining 10 minutes ago, now switched back to poolmining and here what i got for my wallet:
Code:
"Payment #" : 1,
"Payment Comment" : "Shares:199.00,Block:50933,TimeSpan:58144",
"Block Hour" : 23,
"Wallet Hour" : 16,
"Current Hour" : 16,
"Boinc Hash" : "0e189bd3b88ce04a65ed3afd0860593c,1,100,CRD_V,POOL_MINING,Fw2Kd6yXyge52WVVcPbiggGKNWTUwCvXeP,68,2053:2068:1615,0292222026F425100D67DB26D5F3D2588A0F7123,403e17c7ffe18655ac3cdb6b24f87c3e6b79ed58254674be31b3a89d04017535\\1:0e189bd3b88ce04a65ed3afd0860593c\\100\\2026\\3\\535381\\Enigm_564_115788:LHC@h_37_10313498:Aster_1109_69453:World_154_2718938:roset_170_1668308\\1390175140\\2\\434725",
"Shares" : "199.00",
"Account" : "Fw2Kd6yXyge52WVVcPbiggGKNWTUwCvXeP",
"Payments" : 2.00000000,
"Compensation" : "0.793883"
I can see 2 other miners with "WalletHour": 16

Executing this query returns no results:
Code:
select * from blocks where height > 40000 and boinchash like 'Fw2Kd6yXyge52WVVcPbiggGKNWTUwCvXeP'
No results for this too:
Code:
select * from blocks where boinchash like 'Fw2Kd6yXyge52WVVcPbiggGKNWTUwCvXeP'
UPD.
Restarted wallet and BOINc, got 1 payment:

http://i.imgur.com/QbzuKpT.png

UPD2. While posted UPD. this transaction dissapeared 0o

UPD3. It's back again
UPD4. No new transactions for now (after ~2 hrs).
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1305


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 04:58:07 PM
 #1480

New Version Available:
7.7.7/70/1.1.5.7: Upgrade from RPC: Yes

* In this version we correct the cpumining next payment amount and outstanding amount owed and resolve most of the bloated wallet issue.

Please upgrade ASAP as this version will only work correctly after 51% upgrade.


I just used the upgrade feature and was very impressed by how far you've come with it. I last tried it (instead of MSI) some weeks ago and got nowhere, but this time it went very smoothly. It took down my other running version of cgminer (3.10.0 running some ASICS) as a side-effect, but seemed perfect except for that. The elegant fonts make it fun to watch! Gridcoin is getting pretty slick these days.
Pages: « 1 ... 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 [74] 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 ... 274 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!