Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2014, 07:41:01 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 156
  Print  
Author Topic: Blockchain.info - Bitcoin Block explorer & Currency Statistics  (Read 234853 times)
hazek
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile

Ignore
December 28, 2012, 12:40:07 PM
 #1741

Some suggestions:

In the Send Money menu, any field where an amount of bitcoins can be entered, please make these fields bigger so we can see at least 13 digits. Right now it's really annoying how I can only see around 3 or 4 while my amount is typically accurate down to a satoshi which means at least 9 digits..

Also when sending anonymous please give us the option to specify from which addresses we want to send the coins like we can under "Custom", and change it in both places to give us an option to select which address to spend from first if the amount is less than what the multiple selected addresses contain. (oh and show a tip that one can select more addresses by holding down ctrl)

One more is for Import/export, where you can click paper wallet and it displays the paper wallet for all your addresses and their private keys.. a warning would be nice that it's about to do that.

And one final suggestion: for entering the second password when it opens up the keyboard, wouldn't it make sense to disable the ability to just type the password and also always display the keys at random so a mouse or keyboard tracking malware can't get the password?

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
1398411661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398411661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398411661
Reply with quote  #2

1398411661
Report to moderator
1398411661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398411661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398411661
Reply with quote  #2

1398411661
Report to moderator
1398411661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398411661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398411661
Reply with quote  #2

1398411661
Report to moderator
Buy a Blade, Get a 5-Chip Free!
Start Mining with GAWMiners.com
24/7 Live Phone & Tech Support
Free Hosting & Electricity for 1 Year!

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398411661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398411661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398411661
Reply with quote  #2

1398411661
Report to moderator
1398411661
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398411661

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398411661
Reply with quote  #2

1398411661
Report to moderator
sunnankar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile

Ignore
December 29, 2012, 08:14:03 PM
 #1742

The escrow function seems to be gone. Will it return? https://blockchain.info/wallet/escrow

The escrow feature was removed because not enough people were using it. I think maybe it was just too confusing/not well documented enough.

Is escrow coming back? It's a really important feature of Bitcoin, I'm sorry it was removed from My Wallet just because of user complexity.
We actually really need it.

Not enough people were using it probably because it was new. But Bitcoin is moving along and those who have learned how to use it are now teaching others. Removing this critical functionality for babysitting purposes is really not that helpful in stimulating Bitcoin adoption.

Is this issue of Escrow going to be revisited? I think it is extremely important for Blockchain.info to have this feature and I am being increasingly asked about this by individuals I am introducing Bitcoin to.

And they need an easy interface to use and the other clients are not nearly as easy as Blockchain.info. Teaching them how to use other clients is not any fun.

Stephen Gornick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 31, 2012, 10:49:23 AM
 #1743

The charts normally can be accessed using "&format=json" to get the raw data.

Currently that causes a warning to be displayed "Unknown Exception".

For example:
 - http://blockchain.info/charts/market-cap?timespan=all&format=json

But the chart works:
 - http://blockchain.info/charts/market-cap?timespan=all

salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 31, 2012, 03:56:37 PM
 #1744

blockchain.info appears to not allow wallet logins at this time.  I've tried from a couple different browsers and the iOS app.  After clicking the "login now" button, it grinds away for a bit before returning to the originating page.  Clearing the browser cache makes no difference.

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
chrisrico
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 425


View Profile

Ignore
December 31, 2012, 03:58:52 PM
 #1745

blockchain.info appears to not allow wallet logins at this time.  I've tried from a couple different browsers and the iOS app.  After clicking the "login now" button, it grinds away for a bit before returning to the originating page.  Clearing the browser cache makes no difference.

The site looks to be partially down. At the bottom you can see this:

Quote
Status: Not Connected (0 Nodes Connected)

I first noticed something was wrong because my client knew about 2 blocks that blockchain.info didn't...
giantdragon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036


View Profile

Ignore
December 31, 2012, 04:25:48 PM
 #1746

I also noticed, wallet does not works! Sad

Stephen Gornick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246



View Profile WWW

Ignore
December 31, 2012, 07:01:26 PM
 #1747

I first noticed something was wrong because my client knew about 2 blocks that blockchain.info didn't...

The issue appears to have been resolved now.

[Edit: The Twitter account had addressed the issue in their status update:

Quote
Apologies for the downtime. Looking into it now.
- https://twitter.com/blockchain/status/285788380099391489 ]

[Edit2:

From another thread:

Sorry everyone one server crashed, should be fully functional now, have a great new year.
  ]

piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 03, 2013, 07:15:07 AM
 #1748

All PingIt and Bank Deposits should be clear now.

I am going to close all zendesk tickets regarding PingIt and Bank deposits, if any users are still having problems with orders please create a new ticket. The following surnames have orders with incorrect reference numbers that I have not been able to resolve: LOOR, SMITH, KING, BAKER - please contact me.

Deposits will remain disabled until the end of the Japanese bank Holiday on the 4th. 12:00 AM Tonight (3rd Jan) the site will be going down for approximately 30 mins - 1 hour maintenance.

hazek
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile

Ignore
January 03, 2013, 03:52:45 PM
 #1749

Piuk, any chance you get the time to address my post above? Thanks in advance!

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
kokojie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


tblob.org


View Profile

Ignore
January 03, 2013, 05:05:43 PM
 #1750

The blockchain.info site has been intermittently slow or down for me, is anyone else experiencing this?

If my post has been helpful, send me some love -> BTC: 1kokojUapmWqCqPw3Ch2rjcVh57tJEzka | PPC: PDyXAgA8eH47gokVW6zVZPSuu15aao5nZF | LTC: LRDpNJM5nkXFBDoxWRCk5hicvT7TrXQZ3c
The Big List of Bitcoin | My reputation | Free 20GB cloud storage from copy.com
piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 03, 2013, 05:11:11 PM
 #1751

Piuk, any chance you get the time to address my post above? Thanks in advance!

Will do tomorrow.

The blockchain.info site has been intermittently slow or down for me, is anyone else experiencing this?

Maintenance taking a bit longer than expected: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=134461.0

hazek
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile

Ignore
January 03, 2013, 05:56:12 PM
 #1752

Piuk, any chance you get the time to address my post above? Thanks in advance!

Will do tomorrow.

Much appreciated, thanks!

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 05, 2013, 02:34:12 AM
 #1753

Finally got round to implementing the changes to logging.

- All wallet ip addresses are now hashed.
- Still recording the hashed ip the wallet was created with and the hashed ip it was last updated with. This cannot be disabled.
- Access logs remain disabled.
- You can now choose to enable or disable more detailed logging in [Account Settings]. This is much better from a security standpoint and includes actions taken by admins. For example if you submit a two factor authentication request and it is approved you will see "admin (piuk) approved two factor reset request" in the logs. I am still the only admin at present. Logging is disabled by default.

Enabled:



Disabled:



piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 05, 2013, 03:10:42 AM
 #1754

In the Send Money menu, any field where an amount of bitcoins can be entered, please make these fields bigger so we can see at least 13 digits. Right now it's really annoying how I can only see around 3 or 4 while my amount is typically accurate down to a satoshi which means at least 9 digits..

I have doubled the width of the value field on the custom send form and added an extra 20px to the quick send form. (Changes will show the when the next update is deployed).

Also when sending anonymous please give us the option to specify from which addresses we want to send the coins like we can under "Custom", and change it in both places to give us an option to select which address to spend from first if the amount is less than what the multiple selected addresses contain. (oh and show a tip that one can select more addresses by holding down ctrl)

This makes sense. However It might be easier to add a checkbox to the custom send form to make the transaction anonymous rather than duplicating the form.

One more is for Import/export, where you can click paper wallet and it displays the paper wallet for all your addresses and their private keys.. a warning would be nice that it's about to do that.

Can do.

And one final suggestion: for entering the second password when it opens up the keyboard, wouldn't it make sense to disable the ability to just type the password and also always display the keys at random so a mouse or keyboard tracking malware can't get the password?

I think this should be left to the user to decide rather than forcing a particular way. My second password would take a while to type using the onscreen keyboard I might be tempted just to disable it instead if it was an inconvenience.

Thanks for the suggestions.

paraipan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 05, 2013, 03:21:14 AM
 #1755

Great service piuk, I use it daily but have a small issue, my fees are set to normal but sometimes the coins get sent without any fees. It happens randomly so I can't reproduce the issue so you can check.

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
sunnankar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile

Ignore
January 05, 2013, 07:00:24 AM
 #1756

I encountered a particularly nasty bug or effect and tracking it down and correcting it is going to be extremely annoying.

I needed to send an exact amount of bitcoins and bitcents to a particular address. I input the address into Blockchain.info's search and brought up the destination wallet. Then I clicked Request Payment and input via copy/paste the exact amount of bitcoins and bitcents to send. The QR code changed and I scanned it with the iPhone Blockchain app.

I verified it was sending to the destination address the exact amount of bitcoins and bitcents (YYY.YYY70658). Then I clicked send payment. It actually sent (YYY.YYY707) to the destination address. It rounded up .00000042. My initial thought was the Blockchain app rounded it but perhaps there is something a little deeper at play. For example, when I have the two different wallet send amounts in Google Docs and subtract the actual sent from the proposed sent then Google Docs thinks the difference in the amounts is 0.0000004199999 repeating and not .00000042.

I thought it may have been an error with the display of the wallet amounts but verified it on blockexplorer.com also. It did send the wrong amount contrary to what was displayed on the screen before send payment was clicked.

I intended to send it from one of the two active addresses in the wallet but inadvertently left the default app selected to Any Address. Nevertheless, even if that were a contributing factor by pulling inputs  from multiple addresses the problem is in rounding up the amount sent. That output amount to the destination address should not be changed. Additionally, there was no verification of inputs and outputs like the browser based.

Suggestions:
1. Perhaps the app and web browser should display all 8 bitcents for all amounts. This rounding is problematic for usability.

2. Perhaps there should be an input/output verification with the iPhone app?

hazek
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile

Ignore
January 05, 2013, 09:21:49 AM
 #1757

In the Send Money menu, any field where an amount of bitcoins can be entered, please make these fields bigger so we can see at least 13 digits. Right now it's really annoying how I can only see around 3 or 4 while my amount is typically accurate down to a satoshi which means at least 9 digits..

I have doubled the width of the value field on the custom send form and added an extra 20px to the quick send form. (Changes will show the when the next update is deployed).

Also when sending anonymous please give us the option to specify from which addresses we want to send the coins like we can under "Custom", and change it in both places to give us an option to select which address to spend from first if the amount is less than what the multiple selected addresses contain. (oh and show a tip that one can select more addresses by holding down ctrl)

This makes sense. However It might be easier to add a checkbox to the custom send form to make the transaction anonymous rather than duplicating the form.

One more is for Import/export, where you can click paper wallet and it displays the paper wallet for all your addresses and their private keys.. a warning would be nice that it's about to do that.

Can do.

And one final suggestion: for entering the second password when it opens up the keyboard, wouldn't it make sense to disable the ability to just type the password and also always display the keys at random so a mouse or keyboard tracking malware can't get the password?

I think this should be left to the user to decide rather than forcing a particular way. My second password would take a while to type using the onscreen keyboard I might be tempted just to disable it instead if it was an inconvenience.

Thanks for the suggestions.

And thank you for implementing them! You are one hell of a builder, blockchain.info is becoming quite the masterpiece.

BTW I noticed one more thing.. "My transactions" doesn't correctly display my history. I'm not sure about this but it seems like it shows only those tx that are associated with addresses that I didn't archive. Not only that but also for instance I see a tx that says I received x btc when the truth is I sent y btc from another address that I have now deleted entirely and x was merely the change that went back to my wallet to a brand new address..

If you can't fix this because obviously you don't know which addresses are in my wallet, maybe you could clarify this somewhere on the my transactions page where instead of "Transactions Summary of your recent transactions" it could say something like "Transactions Recent activity on your active addresses" or just scratch "My transactions" and change it to "Recent activity" and scratch "Transactions" and change it "Address activity"

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
davout
Staff
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148


1davout


View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 06, 2013, 10:51:26 PM
 #1758

I encountered a particularly nasty bug or effect and tracking it down and correcting it is going to be extremely annoying.

[...]

I intended to send it from one of the two active addresses in the wallet but inadvertently left the default app selected to Any Address. Nevertheless, even if that were a contributing factor by pulling inputs  from multiple addresses the problem is in rounding up the amount sent. That output amount to the destination address should not be changed. Additionally, there was no verification of inputs and outputs like the browser based.
I reported this one a while ago. The mobile app rounds sent amounts to six decimal places. I think it should be considered a serious issue because it can mess up a lot of use cases where sending an exact amount is important.

(The Google docs thing is irrelevant, the reason it displays weird amounts is because it's internally handling floating point data types which are suited to represent approximations but not exact values.)

piuk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910



View Profile WWW

Ignore
January 07, 2013, 12:25:01 AM
 #1759

- sign and verify message added to JSON RPC api (credit to Mike Hearn)
- Improvements to the javascript verify message functionality.
- Bug fixes to JSON RPC when using ruby and python libraries.
- Improvements to polish translations.

I verified it was sending to the destination address the exact amount of bitcoins and bitcents (YYY.YYY70658).

Thank you for the bug report, Davout reported this issue previously. It will take a while to get a fix out so in the meantime users of the iphone app should be careful sending values less than 0.01 BTC.

Great service piuk, I use it daily but have a small issue, my fees are set to normal but sometimes the coins get sent without any fees. It happens randomly so I can't reproduce the issue so you can check.

Thank you for the feedback. Fees are calculated based on the priority of the transaction which should mirror how Bitcoin-Qt calculates it https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees. Is there a specific transaction that you think should have included a fee but didn't? If the fee policy is set to generous a 0.001 BTC fee is guaranteed to be included.

address that I have now deleted entirely and x was merely the change that went back to my wallet to a brand new address..

This is expected behaviour since once an address is deleted the client no longer has a record of it so thinks the address belongs to an external wallet. I could see how it could be confusing though. Perhaps the sub-header would be better changed to "Transactions involving your active addresses".

c0dex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 151



View Profile

Ignore
January 07, 2013, 01:12:32 AM
 #1760

I've been having a problem today where I attempt to log into my wallet, but the SMS authentication code is never sent to my phone ... so I am unable to login!

Pages: 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 156
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!