Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2020, 09:18:49 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 ... 88 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac / Terminus R606 (BM1387) Official Support Thread  (Read 48074 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (1 post by 1 user deleted.)
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1509


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
February 13, 2019, 04:37:52 PM
Last edit: February 14, 2019, 10:58:33 PM by frodocooper
 #321

Can you mine any other coins besides BTC with the NewPac?

As long as the coin uses the SHA256D algo, yes. By definition no ASIC chip can be re-programmed for other uses.

- For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself -    My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate:  HaggsFIN trip to Canaan
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
1600636729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600636729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600636729
Reply with quote  #2

1600636729
Report to moderator
LEADING CRYPTO SPORTSBOOK & CASINO F U N . F A S T . F A I R . PROUD
PARTNER
OF
CRYPTO
EXCLUSIVE
CLUBHOUSE
FAST &
SECURE PAYMENTS
20+ DAILY
PRICE
BOOSTS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1600636729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600636729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600636729
Reply with quote  #2

1600636729
Report to moderator
1600636729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1600636729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1600636729
Reply with quote  #2

1600636729
Report to moderator
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 590


View Profile
February 13, 2019, 07:15:27 PM
 #322

So it turns out that one of my sticks has died.  Cry 

Came home after work today and its reading zero. Tried swapping ports with other sticks and the problem follows the stick. If I unplug it and plug it back in while cgminer is running then it will start to hash around 200mh then fall off back to zero every time.

I can't see any burnt components at all and even a sniff test doesn't smell like the classic burnt circuitry.

Any ideas anyone?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Morlok8k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 25


View Profile
February 14, 2019, 01:15:59 AM
Last edit: February 14, 2019, 11:00:04 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), vapourminer (1)
 #323

2 things to try:
  • adjusting the voltage knob on the stick
  • underclocking the stick

I had a 2pac that I had to underclock.  I found that it was stable for about a week with "--gekko-2pac-freq 45"  after a while that week turned into a few days, then a few hours.  I went as far down as "--gekko-2pac-freq 25" to try to reach some stability, which helped for a while, but it doesn't last long anymore, so i took it out of service.  but i got months of underclocked hashing power instead of 0 hash from that stick.

Anywho, an example of the command i used for that:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1 --gekko-serial "GS-10019785" --gekko-2pac-freq 25

yes, the "--suggest-diff 1" is not a typo.  The pool will kick it up to a difficulty of 3 after a few minutes when running at 25.
Also, concerning "--gekko-serial "GS-10019785" ", the hyphen replaces the D of GSD.  D refers to the 2pac, C for the Compac, H for the Newpac, etc.     Wont find any sticks otherwise, from what i can tell.  Also, change the serial number to yours, of course!
but using the serial number is great, as you can run a separate cgminer instance.  Just start it first so it gets locked out of the 2nd cgminer instance.

If you really want to play around with underclocking and finding that sweet spot, check this out:

Code:
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1HpnRjN2ru4NhYFrZFsXe3JXCyJWW9fDeh.2pac -p x --suggest-diff 1  --gekko-start-freq 25 --gekko-step-freq 1 --gekko-step-delay 3600 --gekko-serial "GS-10019785" --gekko-2pac-freq 100

This sets our maximum frequency to 100, but starts at 25. after an hour (3600 seconds), it will jump up to the next supported frequency (its like 6.25 or  something, if i remember correctly) by rounding the 1 from "--gekko-step-freq 1" up to that minimum.  Anyways, so for hour 1, it runs at 25, then for hour 2 it runs at 31.25, hour 3 at 37.5, hour 4 at 43.75, hour 5 at 50, ..., hour 9 at 93.75, and hour 10 and beyond at 100.  play with the values as you see fit.  i recommend logging it to a file so you can see when it failed.

I need to play with the voltage settings on my bad stick, so i haven't tossed it yet - maybe my voltage is just too high and needs to come down.  I just haven't had the chance to really play with it.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 590


View Profile
February 14, 2019, 08:34:08 AM
 #324

Morlok8k thanks for the help. I cant seem to get the serial options to work though. Started the single instance with all the sticks and noticed that it says that particular stick only has one chip now  Roll Eyes

I copied your second line of code to my file and changed just the relevant parts and no joy. Looks like I will have to get another stick.

sidehack did you want me to return the dead one to you for further analysis or for parts?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1593

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 14, 2019, 03:55:51 PM
 #325

If you bought it directly from me, sure. Otherwise you need to discuss it with the reseller.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
419mining
Copper Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 187
Merit: 110

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2019, 04:02:41 PM
 #326

If you bought it directly from me, sure. Otherwise you need to discuss it with the reseller.

Were taking care of it.

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Morlok8k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 25


View Profile
February 14, 2019, 07:02:51 PM
 #327

...and I just remembered that the frequency scaling stuff doesn't work on the Newpac.  (I assume its a Newpac?)
*slaps forehead*
Not sure why the serial part isn't working though.

but yeah, if its only showing one chip, that's a bad sign.  good luck with your return/replacement!
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 590


View Profile
February 14, 2019, 07:20:01 PM
 #328

Yea i took out all the freq stepping info and tried just the serial option but no success. Its just sat on my desk awaiting replacement. Shoutout to 419mining again for superb customer service. Its s shame im on the other side of the pond and cant walk in the store lol.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 187
Merit: 110

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2019, 01:42:02 AM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #329

Yea i took out all the freq stepping info and tried just the serial option but no success. Its just sat on my desk awaiting replacement. Shoutout to 419mining again for superb customer service. Its s shame im on the other side of the pond and cant walk in the store lol.

You could, but it would be a long walk...

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 590


View Profile
February 15, 2019, 10:58:14 AM
Last edit: February 16, 2019, 12:00:29 AM by frodocooper
 #330

You could, but it would be a long walk...

Yea im not all that great at swimming either  Cheesy

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
dfib
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 15, 2019, 10:24:27 PM
Last edit: February 16, 2019, 12:01:20 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2), vapourminer (1)
 #331

I wish 419mining was within walking distance too.  My wallet is happy they aren't.

I picked up a NewPac to play with so my son could see what mining bitcoins was all about.  
We received a NewPac yesterday and had a seamless Raspberry Pi install thanks to the directions on this thread.
It's fun to play with overclocking, so I've been pushing it a bit without a powered hub.  
The NewPac has been running great on the pi @225MHz and averaging just over 50 GH/sec.  250MHz causes immediate zombie (guessing power limit is reached?)
Small 40mm USB fan for active cooling and the heatsink is barely room temperature.  

40mm USB fan link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07CNJ4DYX/

Setup with temporary pi base: https://i66.photobucket.com/albums/h263/dfib/Mobile%20Uploads/20190215_151727_zpsrinv2sk7.jpg

Now I have to talk myself out of ordering a hub and a bunch more NewPacs!
Pi0Miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 18, 2019, 08:09:14 PM
 #332

New miner her, just bought 2 x NewPac in addition to the 2Pac I already got last week.  I'm enjoying the potential modding possibilities here as a pet project and wanted to ask if anyone can share experience in replacing the heatsink or other fun mods?  I would rather not try to drill a hole in aluminum, I'm a horrible driller and have an old corded drill.  I think my options are either a single hole or using thermal adhesive compounds, not sure if there is enough surface area on the chip to hold a bigger heatsink.

My experiment is putting these stick miners completely on mini solar panels with the Pi Zero W and see what they can do.  So far I have the Pi Zero W with the current 2Pac running at around 4-5w at the wall,  waiting for solar panel and meter (and NewPacs) to measure more accurately DC draw.

Some discoveries of interest are the Pi 3b has a current limit,  was only able to go to 143Mhz before power maxed out, on the Pi Zero I actually got it to hit 300Mhz and was drawing 12w from the wall.  Got scared was gonna burned out my Pi Zero and turned it back down,  but interesting nevertheless that the Pi Zero will pull a lot more power and apparently as much as you can give it.  That's why a larger passive heatsink is something I'm pursuing.  Also, found out the Pi 3b has a controllable USB HUB, you can use uhubctl to turn off power to the port.  My plan was to put some solar panels on the back of my car and program a pi to automatically turn on/off mining as it detects open Wifi signal, or go into power saving mode by turning off the ASIC.

If anyone has any experience or suggestions to share, would appreciate it.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 590


View Profile
February 18, 2019, 09:42:15 PM
Last edit: February 19, 2019, 01:09:55 AM by frodocooper
 #333

I used to have a raspi3 setup with 3x 2pacs and a couple of USB hubs. All powered from an atx psu. It was better to run the power from two USB ports to one stick.

https://imgur.com/a/JmYOV

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439
Merit: 293


www.amazon.com/shops/MinersSupply


View Profile WWW
February 19, 2019, 11:49:27 PM
 #334

Can you mine any other coins besides BTC with the NewPac?

Like others have mentioned, the NewPac can only mine SHA256 algorithm coins/assets, like Bitcoin. BUT, what you can do, is use these sticks to mine on a "multi-pool" to receive payouts in almost any coin asset out there. Better yet, do some research, find a new, young, upcoming project that you believe in, and get paid out in their coin/token/asset while the value and difficulty are low (speculation). Then, just sit on the accumulated coins/tokens/assets until the price goes up. Rinse, wash, repeat..


GekkoScience Products on Amazon Prime 1-DAY SHIPPING 
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 12


View Profile
February 21, 2019, 08:51:57 PM
Last edit: February 22, 2019, 10:27:25 AM by frodocooper
 #335

I have 11 Units that were running. and stopped all together.

I tried or Raspberry Pi, The other with my UDDO on the PI they stopped hashing in a few hours.   one the UDDO, it worked for a few days.

not sure why they all stop?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1593

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 21, 2019, 11:12:02 PM
Merited by gt_addict (1)
 #336

Maybe it's God telling you to stop buying stickminers.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 12


View Profile
February 22, 2019, 05:02:51 PM
Last edit: February 23, 2019, 12:03:28 AM by frodocooper
 #337

I change to Kano.is and the nonce stopped.

The miners stopped again.  I have no clue why?

Code:
Worker Name: Work Diff :Last Share Shares :Diff :Share Rate «Elapsed :Invalid Block % :Hash Rate
bronxnua.1 442 27min 14,256 6,304,808 0GHs 2m 14s 0.850% 0.000% 0GHs
Total: 1 (0 active workers) 14,256 6,304,808 0GHs 0.850% 0.000% 0GHs
Morlok8k
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 25


View Profile
February 22, 2019, 10:09:16 PM
Last edit: February 23, 2019, 12:04:15 AM by frodocooper
 #338

quick question:

I haven't played with it yet, but i just discovered

Code:
--gekko-newpac-vcore 400

is the default setting in cgminer.  I looked though this whole forum topic, and nobody has mentioned it - only using the potentiometer to adjust vcore.

should i adjust it higher to get a better overclock?  was it only for pre-production newpacs (i.e not valid for production units)? ...etc?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 1593

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 22, 2019, 10:30:46 PM
 #339

There might exist a prototype with software voltage setting and the like, for which this flag is relevant, but it has no effect on production sticks.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 12


View Profile
February 22, 2019, 10:52:03 PM
Last edit: February 23, 2019, 12:04:39 AM by frodocooper
 #340

What are the default for the miner Vcore.  in my UDDO, I am able to got to .cgminer and get in the conf file for cgminer to make the changes.  In PI i can get into .cgminer and the conf file is not there?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 ... 88 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!