Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2023, 08:46:51 AM *
News: Mixers will no longer be allowed after Jan 1
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 2120 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4665035 times)
Ivan166
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 107


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:19:02 AM
 #1681

Posted info about monero reddit giveaway in Russian thread.


i download 32bit binaries and i have problem file not valid for win32 , anyone know to fix this ?


It seems you use Windows XP.
I don't sure that 32-bit wallet can work under Win XP.
Try it on Win 7 or Eight.

That doesn't look like an OS issue. I know of no binaries that are valid on a 32-bit Windows 7 or Windows 8 system that are invalid on an XP system.

mozurt, are you sure that you have downloaded 32-bit binaries?

Monero is your money privacy.
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
1701506811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1701506811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1701506811
Reply with quote  #2

1701506811
Report to moderator
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:22:01 AM
 #1682

i download 32bit binaries and i have problem file not valid for win32 , anyone know to fix this ?



Double check you definitely downloaded 32 bit binaries and for the love of god please dont use XP for any crypto or any other security related stuff.
mozurt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 286
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:22:21 AM
 #1683

Posted info about monero reddit giveaway in Russian thread.


i download 32bit binaries and i have problem file not valid for win32 , anyone know to fix this ?


It seems you use Windows XP.
I don't sure that 32-bit wallet can work under Win XP.
Try it on Win 7 or Eight.

That doesn't look like an OS issue. I know of no binaries that are valid on a 32-bit Windows 7 or Windows 8 system that are invalid on an XP system.

mozurt, are you sure that you have downloaded 32-bit binaries?

yeah i download from : mega.co.nz/#!LZIGlI7Z!poO1z7XIFIYkMLLH9Y82Uo055Ov-IgEVVdrItHR5h78
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:25:20 AM
 #1684

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".

Okay,

First off you have to create that folder in $AppData$\Roaming\bitmonero then you can put your downloaded blockchain in there.

To mine you have to type start_mining [number of threads] in the simplewallet.exe windows not in the bitmoneod.exe

e.g start_mining 4

Then you can use show_hr in bitmonerod.exe

If it says daemon busy when you try and start mining it is because the blockchain is still syncing.
srwt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:27:27 AM
 #1685

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".



Still no answer Sad
Also, x64-version of bitmonerod says this (x32 works well):

2014-May-14 14:24:58.138501 Initializing p2p server...
2014-May-14 14:24:58.154101 ERROR c:\temp\bytecoin\git\bitmonero-master\src\p2p\net_node.inl:77 Exception at [node_server::init_config], what=invalid signature
2014-May-14 14:24:58.169701 ERROR c:\temp\bytecoin\git\bitmonero-master\src\p2p\net_node.inl:203 Failed to init config.
2014-May-14 14:24:58.185301 ERROR ..\..\src\daemon\daemon.cpp:148 Failed to initialize p2p server.
2014-May-14 14:24:58.200901 Mining has been stopped, 0 finished

I've run that two daemons on Windows 7 x64.

dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:33:21 AM
 #1686

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".



Still no answer Sad
Also, x64-version of bitmonerod says this (x32 works well):

2014-May-14 14:24:58.138501 Initializing p2p server...
2014-May-14 14:24:58.154101 ERROR c:\temp\bytecoin\git\bitmonero-master\src\p2p\net_node.inl:77 Exception at [node_server::init_config], what=invalid signature
2014-May-14 14:24:58.169701 ERROR c:\temp\bytecoin\git\bitmonero-master\src\p2p\net_node.inl:203 Failed to init config.
2014-May-14 14:24:58.185301 ERROR ..\..\src\daemon\daemon.cpp:148 Failed to initialize p2p server.
2014-May-14 14:24:58.200901 Mining has been stopped, 0 finished


lol, I answered it above...
srwt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:34:58 AM
 #1687

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".

Okay,

First off you have to create that folder in $AppData$\Roaming\bitmonero then you can put your downloaded blockchain in there.

To mine you have to type start_mining [number of threads] in the simplewallet.exe windows not in the bitmoneod.exe

e.g start_mining 4

Then you can use show_hr in bitmonerod.exe

If it says daemon busy when you try and start mining it is because the blockchain is still syncing.

Thank you.
Why is this written on http://monero.cc/getting-started/#installing-monero:
"./bitmonerod --start-mining MRO_address --mining-threads number_of_threads
This line above is the only one you have to know for mining. Be it on your computer on another computer. You don’t even need your wallet open to mine".

This is daemon, not wallet.


equipoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 794
Merit: 1000


Monero (XMR) - secure, private, untraceable


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2014, 10:39:38 AM
 #1688

^You could make the daemon to mine sending the command from the wallet you want to have the mining income to. This way you don't need to type the address, because the wallet knows it. You just type "start_mining number_of_threads".

About me | zRMicroArray - phase 2 - Gene Expression Analysis software | [Weed Like to Talk - Bulgaria] Start a wave of cannabis seminars in Europe | Monero weighted average price stats: moneroprice.i2p
BTC: 1KoCX7TWKVGwqmmFw3CKyUSrKRSStueZar | NMC: NKhYEYpe1Le9MwHrwKsdSm5617J4toVar9 | XMR (Tip me a beer OpenAlias Monero address): tip.changetheworldwork.com
[XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:43:26 AM
 #1689

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".

Okay,

First off you have to create that folder in $AppData$\Roaming\bitmonero then you can put your downloaded blockchain in there.

To mine you have to type start_mining [number of threads] in the simplewallet.exe windows not in the bitmoneod.exe

e.g start_mining 4

Then you can use show_hr in bitmonerod.exe

If it says daemon busy when you try and start mining it is because the blockchain is still syncing.

Thank you.
Why is this written on http://monero.cc/getting-started/#installing-monero:
"./bitmonerod --start-mining MRO_address --mining-threads number_of_threads
This line above is the only one you have to know for mining. Be it on your computer on another computer. You don’t even need your wallet open to mine".

This is daemon, not wallet.


That is a linux command.

Yes you don't need to use simple wallet to start mining but its the easiest and if your just mining on your personal computer there is no need to use that command with the adress just

start_mining <number of threads>

is all you need.

It comes in useful when you have more than one system mining but you want it to all go to the same address.

the equivalent windows command is something like

start_mining <address> <number of threads>

in the bitmonerod.exe window.
srwt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:51:11 AM
 #1690

I don't have ".../AppData/bitmonero" folder, what should I do? In what place blockchain.bin should be placed?
Also, with "show_hr" command I got "Mining is not started". I'm starting by bat-file from "getting started".

Okay,

First off you have to create that folder in $AppData$\Roaming\bitmonero then you can put your downloaded blockchain in there.

To mine you have to type start_mining [number of threads] in the simplewallet.exe windows not in the bitmoneod.exe

e.g start_mining 4

Then you can use show_hr in bitmonerod.exe

If it says daemon busy when you try and start mining it is because the blockchain is still syncing.

Thank you.
Why is this written on http://monero.cc/getting-started/#installing-monero:
"./bitmonerod --start-mining MRO_address --mining-threads number_of_threads
This line above is the only one you have to know for mining. Be it on your computer on another computer. You don’t even need your wallet open to mine".

This is daemon, not wallet.


That is a linux command.

Yes you don't need to use simple wallet to start mining but its the easiest and if your just mining on your personal computer there is no need to use that command with the adress just

start_mining <number of threads>

is all you need.

It comes in useful when you have more than one system mining but you want it to all go to the same address.

the equivalent windows command is something like

start_mining <address> <number of threads>

in the bitmonerod.exe window.


I understand now, thanks.
Don't you know why I can't sync it with downloaded blockchain.bin? I get this error:

2014-May-14 14:45:11.430632 Initializing core...
2014-May-14 14:45:11.430632 Loading blockchain...
2014-May-14 14:45:11.446232 ERROR C:\temp\bytecoin\git\bitmonero-master-32bit\sr
c\common/boost_serialization_helper.h:82 Exception at [unserialize_obj_from_file
], what=invalid signature
2014-May-14 14:45:11.461832 Can't load blockchain storage from file, generating
genesis block.

2014-May-14 14:45:12.631834 Blockchain initialized. last block: 0, d679.h5.m45.s
12 time ago, current difficulty: 1

dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 11:13:39 AM
 #1691

[snip]

Where are you placing it? What bit version is your PC?
georgeandy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 14, 2014, 11:21:18 AM
 #1692

When the GUI wallet can lanch?
When the pool can come out?
I can't mining anything with my I3 CPU Cry Cry Cry Cry
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 11:24:27 AM
 #1693

When the GUI wallet can lanch?
When the pool can come out?
I can't mining anything with my I3 CPU Cry Cry Cry Cry

There is a GUI wallet being tested, feel free to test it if you like.

Pools are nearing completion, it has taken a while due to not being a copy paste coin.
srwt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 11:53:57 AM
 #1694

[snip]

Where are you placing it? What bit version is your PC?

1) Into C:\\%my_username%\AppData\Roaming\bitmonero
2) Windows Server 2008 R2 x64

Sorry, I've cleaned all those files, started all again, and now it seems to me daemon is synchronizing. About 2 days left now, 27 days were earlier.
Hope it would be synced well.
P.S. No, it freezed on synchronization, lol.

Quanttek
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 12:45:49 PM
 #1695

I am baffled by the complete lack of instructions for the software associated with this coin. Can someone put some instructions on how to get started with the wallet and mining? I am sure there is something within one of these 80+ pages but do we all have to reinvent the wheel?

seriously man...sooo frustrating...

As above stated , just go to monero.cc and read the Getting started page

Enthusiast. Neither trader, nor miner and also no big investor.
Community Manager for Monero
PM if you need mine to exchange or anti-cheat algorithm for node-cryptonote-pool
nakaone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 12:54:44 PM
 #1696

When the GUI wallet can lanch?
When the pool can come out?
I can't mining anything with my I3 CPU Cry Cry Cry Cry

it is probably a language thing, and it is by no means meant personal, but this behaviour of members not participating on the development is horrible. monero is one of the most promising projects out there and sometimes development needs time. I am not a developer and I am simply freeriding their time and effort spent - the last thing I would do is complaining about the development speed.

By this I want to say thank you for the effort and time spent by the developers. kudos to the team for the impressive improvements until now - never forget this coin is three weeks old. 
alphacenturion
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 01:14:12 PM
 #1697

Im now trying to sync the blockchain but its taking a while.

I have a question - on the setup video on monero.cc it says you choose your wallet name? How is it I then see 95 character addresses?

The coin is looking promising - cant wait for the pools to be setup as my cpu is an i3 and I shouldnt imagine Ill be getting much with the hash. GPU mining will be good.
Keyboard-Mash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 01:21:03 PM
 #1698

I have a question - on the setup video on monero.cc it says you choose your wallet name? How is it I then see 95 character addresses?

That's just a file name you're picking, so you can keep track of the files. Inside the files are keys and your 95 char addresses.
emontmon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 01:42:23 PM
Last edit: May 14, 2014, 02:14:00 PM by emontmon
 #1699

Im now trying to sync the blockchain but its taking a while.

I have a question - on the setup video on monero.cc it says you choose your wallet name? How is it I then see 95 character addresses?

The coin is looking promising - cant wait for the pools to be setup as my cpu is an i3 and I shouldnt imagine Ill be getting much with the hash. GPU mining will be good.

I think a lot of people feel that the train has left the station. there are many things you could do.
1. buy monero on exchange
2. get a better computer
3. mine with what you have and be patient.

3 week old currency. you are getting in on the ground floor. Some questions here or concerns can be read from the original post.
1. the current devs are not the devs of the technology. it is adopted from Bytecoin. Bytecoin (go to bytecoin.org) is the first implementation of cryptonight developed by a seperate organization that is called cryptonote.
2. apparently from the anonymous developers (we do not know who they are. There were/are some rumors for possible cicada 3301 connection but this is not confirmed. Please review Bytecoin thread for this. There are two bytecoin threads (one is cryptonight algorithm, the other is a bitcoin clone. )
3. totally new tech and things have to be build from the ground up. Original work for pools, exchanges and such.
4. This is not a litecoin, bitcoin clone. This is new algorithm called cryptonight and intended to be cpu only. (some think it may be cracked in future, to this no one currently invloved knows. the current devs are volunteers.
5. As this is not a GPU coin, and its intention is mass adoption ( i am gathering this from the developers mission statement), then hopefully no gpu will be able to adopt it.

from what little I understand, gpus (asics) can do simple tasks repetitively very well. CPU are poor at this, however CPU's perform complex tasks very well and gpu (asics) can not. This technology takes advantage of the uniqueness of cpu.

to others that are more knowledgeable please correct above post.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 1197



View Profile
May 14, 2014, 02:10:07 PM
 #1700

One small correction

Bytecoin.org is the first implementation of cryptonight developed by a seperate organization that is called cryptonote.

The relationship between cryptonote and bytecoin is not clear. On the cryptonote web site they portray the two as separate groups who don't necessarily communicate much. Little if any other information is available.

Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 2120 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!