Bitcoin Forum
September 17, 2021, 11:18:33 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 ... 2110 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4650597 times)
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 03:16:32 AM
 #1761

http://moneropool.com/ - is this valid pool?
It doesn't work yet.
1631877513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631877513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631877513
Reply with quote  #2

1631877513
Report to moderator
1631877513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631877513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631877513
Reply with quote  #2

1631877513
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1631877513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631877513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631877513
Reply with quote  #2

1631877513
Report to moderator
parker928
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 04:07:36 AM
 #1762

just curious, how many blocks do you guys think a machine with an i5 4670k could find in a week?

I have a couple of gpu rigs but the cpu's aren't doing anything

an i5 4670k
an edit: AMD sempron 145
an A8 vision AMD laptop processor
and 5x Dell M6300 dual core?
i had these machines on darkcoin up till now but i believe monero is a superiors currency compared to darkcoin and would rather use our computing power to generate this one

my grandfather is a systems programmer for IBM as well as a former microsoft coder...and I am a miner...we have tons of cpu power around here...

anyone willing to help me figure out if i should put the time into mining this coin or not? est blocks per week with all these machines?

Or do you even want me too =P
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 15, 2014, 04:47:29 AM
 #1763

just curious, how many blocks do you guys think a machine with an i5 4670k could find in a week?

I have a couple of gpu rigs but the cpu's aren't doing anything

an i5 4670k
an edit: AMD sempron 145
an A8 vision AMD laptop processor
and 5x Dell M6300 dual core?
i had these machines on darkcoin up till now but i believe monero is a superiors currency compared to darkcoin and would rather use our computing power to generate this one

my grandfather is a systems programmer for IBM as well as a former microsoft coder...and I am a miner...we have tons of cpu power around here...

anyone willing to help me figure out if i should put the time into mining this coin or not? est blocks per week with all these machines?

Or do you even want me too =P

An i5-4670K would manage about 20-25 H/s. This would get you a little less than 1 block per week (~14-15 MRO/week). You're not competing against GPUs and this coin is younger so this is probably more profitable.
wzttide
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 05:23:33 AM
 #1764

No trading fees on https://www.swaphole.com
parker928
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 05:30:30 AM
 #1765

just curious, how many blocks do you guys think a machine with an i5 4670k could find in a week?

I have a couple of gpu rigs but the cpu's aren't doing anything

an i5 4670k
an edit: AMD sempron 145
an A8 vision AMD laptop processor
and 5x Dell M6300 dual core?
i had these machines on darkcoin up till now but i believe monero is a superiors currency compared to darkcoin and would rather use our computing power to generate this one

my grandfather is a systems programmer for IBM as well as a former microsoft coder...and I am a miner...we have tons of cpu power around here...

anyone willing to help me figure out if i should put the time into mining this coin or not? est blocks per week with all these machines?

Or do you even want me too =P

An i5-4670K would manage about 20-25 H/s. This would get you a little less than 1 block per week (~14-15 MRO/week). You're not competing against GPUs and this coin is younger so this is probably more profitable.

you mean 25 hashes right not kilohashes or megahashes? so only 25 math problems solved per second? are these math problems much more difficult than X11 math or scrypt math?

so would you estimate with all the above hardware i could reasonably expect to solve 2 blocks per week?
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 15, 2014, 06:02:35 AM
 #1766


you mean 25 hashes right not kilohashes or megahashes? so only 25 math problems solved per second? are these math problems much more difficult than X11 math or scrypt math?

so would you estimate with all the above hardware i could reasonably expect to solve 2 blocks per week?

Yes, just hashes per second. The total network hashrate is only about 300 kH/s. The proof of work here is intentionally much slower (memory bound) than X11 or scrypt in order to favor CPUs.

I'm not familiar with the other CPUs listed -- if combined they're about equal to 1-1.5 i5-4670K's, then you can expect 2 blocks per week. The easiest thing to do is just test the hashrates, sum them up, and calculate your average blocks per day using the formula: Hashrate / (Diff/60) * 24 * 60 blocks per day, with each block giving about 16.9 MRO.
huhliki.k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 06:21:11 AM
Last edit: May 15, 2014, 06:35:37 AM by huhliki.k
 #1767

Please developers pools to make another port for connection (not 5555)
For example port: 8336
georgeandy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 15, 2014, 09:05:54 AM
 #1768

A big dump in cryptonote.exchange.
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 09:09:54 AM
 #1769

A big dump in cryptonote.exchange.


You mean someone sold some coins about 4 hours ago?

Theres an exchange thread if you want to narrate on the goings on with the exchange.
noodle_dam
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 531
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 15, 2014, 11:07:16 AM
 #1770

I am baffled by the complete lack of instructions for the software associated with this coin. Can someone put some instructions on how to get started with the wallet and mining? I am sure there is something within one of these 80+ pages but do we all have to reinvent the wheel?

seriously man...sooo frustrating...

What are you having trouble with and I can likely help, its not that difficult but I agree it takes a moment to learn rather that a copy paste qt.

Getting a Mac wallet up and running. Sending coins from the exchange to this wallet.

dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 12:09:49 PM
 #1771

Right,

now the pools have started appearing can we ascertain whos running which ones.

There's ;

http://moneropool.com  

http://mon.hashharder.com/

and

http://cryppit.com/

If anyone can put the pools to names that would be great.

Also to anyone who's looking to join a pool at the moment it seems that they are in testing and thus not paying out. Just a warning.

 
David Latapie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Monero Core Team


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 12:25:48 PM
 #1772

Why is this written on http://monero.cc/getting-started/#installing-monero:
"./bitmonerod --start-mining MRO_address --mining-threads number_of_threads
This line above is the only one you have to know for mining. Be it on your computer on another computer. You don’t even need your wallet open to mine".

This is daemon, not wallet.
1. You can mine either from the daemon or from the wallet
2 mining from the daemon seem to reduce the amount of "daemon is busy" message on the wallet, making it usable again
3. having one recipe for both local machine and remote machine means simpler starting

1. the current devs are not the devs of the technology. it is adopted from Bytecoin. Bytecoin (go to bytecoin.org) is the first implementation of cryptonight developed by a seperate organization that is called cryptonote.
We've grown beyond that Smiley We are actively fixing things from the Bytecoin code.

I'm getting 10% increased mining hash rate on my windows machine by running it in a linux virtual machine.
Those are the basic steps:
1) Install Oracle VM VirtualBox (https://www.virtualbox.org/)
2) Create a virtual machine for Ubunto (set the processors to maximum available. Give it at least 12 GB HDD)
3) Download Ubuntu (http://www.ubuntu.com/download) and install it in the VirtualBox
4) In the VM Ubunto window menu -> Devices -> Insert Guest Additions CD Image... Install and restart (needed to adjust the screen resolution or otherwise you won't see most of the screen)
5) In a terminal run the following script:
Code:
cd ~ && wget https://www.dropbox.com/s/3pclp7sm94edmxl/install_monero.sh && chmod +x ./install_monero.sh && ./install_monero.sh
This will install and compile everything needed for monero to run and will compile monero too.
6) Download a recent blockchain from the OP for fast synchronization and copy it to the .bitmonero folder (Crtl + H to show hidden files and folders)
7) Start mining with 10% additional hash rate on your Widows based PC

Tip me some MRO: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX

I would suggest Mac OS X users try the same thing. I've been running Ubuntu on VirtualBox for the last couple weeks on three of my Macs with a 20% increase in hash rate. Oddly enough the fourth machine runs faster with a native mac build, so try it both ways...
Thanks for these valuable information!

Monero: the first crytocurrency to bring bank secrecy and net neutrality to the blockchain.HyperStake: pushing the limits of staking.
Reputation threadFree bitcoins: reviews, hints…: freebitco.in, freedoge.co.in, qoinpro
David Latapie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Monero Core Team


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 01:05:10 PM
 #1773

It wouldn't build for me on Arch x64, either. Ask David Latapie for binaries, I think that's about the only way you'll get this running.
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B7RQILpPGrQbaEFiQm5KVTFOZm8&tid=0B7RQILpPGrQbYnF2OTA4NklrWmc It is called test-arch because I do not know if it works on Ubuntu (I'd prefer to have only one set of binaries for all linuxes if it doesn't impact the performance).
These binaries have been compiled by Wolf0, our resident Arch expert Smiley

That might work but its only for 13.10 ubuntu.... and they should state that, does not work on 12.04
That's why I asked Quanttek to consider modifying the script for adding commands for upgrading gcc (provided gcc is the limiting factor).

anyone willing to help me figure out if i should put the time into mining this coin or not? est blocks per week with all these machines?
1. Install monero, start hashing, get the hashrate (show_hr on bitmonerod, it doesn't seem to work on simpleminer)
2. Go to #monero and type !bmrcalc X, where X is your hashrate. You will get an estimate of your gains

Monero: the first crytocurrency to bring bank secrecy and net neutrality to the blockchain.HyperStake: pushing the limits of staking.
Reputation threadFree bitcoins: reviews, hints…: freebitco.in, freedoge.co.in, qoinpro
David Latapie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Monero Core Team


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 01:16:35 PM
 #1774

Also the original command can be simplified to:
Code:
cd ~ && wget https://www.dropbox.com/s/3pclp7sm94edmxl/install_monero.sh && bash install_monero.sh
Done. I just notified Quanttek for the rest.

I can't find a download button and when I use wget https://github.com/zone117x/cryptonote-easy-miner/blob/master/CryptoNoteMiner/bin/Release/cryptnote-easy-miner-latest.zip, I get a 26kb archive that I cannot unzip. Thoughts?
(plus, is it 32, 64 or both?)

Monero: the first crytocurrency to bring bank secrecy and net neutrality to the blockchain.HyperStake: pushing the limits of staking.
Reputation threadFree bitcoins: reviews, hints…: freebitco.in, freedoge.co.in, qoinpro
jioy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:59:11 PM
 #1775

the cpu only?I am interested
proximator
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:00:30 PM
 #1776

the cpu only?I am interested

Yes, there is few coins that are CPU driven
BCN, MRO, FMC and QuazarCoin I think

TheSmurfsCoin : Twg352pqJhXd2s8ktuRLFP5jkh9BraaWBP
proximator
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:08:11 PM
 #1777

I tried the merge mining BCN/FMC or MRO/FMC but does not work
Is anyone had this issue before ?

TheSmurfsCoin : Twg352pqJhXd2s8ktuRLFP5jkh9BraaWBP
dreamspark
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:08:17 PM
 #1778

MROcoin is doing well, with so many great things to come.

Yes, its one of the most exciting coins due to the anon features and other advantages.

How many other coins have got their own exchange within a few weeks of launch.
David Latapie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


Monero Core Team


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 02:15:09 PM
 #1779

the cpu only?I am interested

Yes, there is few coins that are CPU driven
BCN, MRO, FMC and QuazarCoin I think
These are CryptoNote coins. Other are available on http://cpucoinlist.com/

Monero: the first crytocurrency to bring bank secrecy and net neutrality to the blockchain.HyperStake: pushing the limits of staking.
Reputation threadFree bitcoins: reviews, hints…: freebitco.in, freedoge.co.in, qoinpro
policymaker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

Crypto Currency Supporter


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:56:01 PM
 #1780

Hello,

so I have downloade the testing GUI wallet, and the cpu miner to mine in moneropool. I have a C2D6600, so everythings painfull slow for now(unless I commit other rigs as well), but seems to be running.

I canno understand one thing though, I am running cryptominer which generated a wallet/address for me. How can I use that in the gui wallet, since it looks like it wont locate it and try to make me a new address?

Last but not least how can I get an estimation on coins earned(not expecting much but still interested to know)

thank you

XCurrency Price Speculation Topic
Coin Control Basic guide                                                                XChat address/private/instant/absolute: XSKu1fpwvRcAekfK91qVHi51Tgz4ckoA91
XChat public key: zcfx74j4fFK9hW7rQniTvLyDyXd9SyRCrncP9vdukbVT
Pages: « 1 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 ... 2110 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!