Bitcoin Forum
September 17, 2021, 11:22:25 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 2110 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency  (Read 4650597 times)
policymaker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

Crypto Currency Supporter


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 09:54:24 PM
 #1741

I really really want to engage in this altcoin community, but I find the command lines and such quite confusing, so much looking forward to official gui releases, wallet/miner

Yeah, if you can't use a shell, you'll want to wait a bit on this one.

its not like im an inexperienced windows user, but I feel rather uncomfy when we are dealing with command lines, unstable soft like windows and real investments. Is the gui wallet under testing fully functional? can you save ur monero even though its experimental?

XCurrency Price Speculation Topic
Coin Control Basic guide                                                                XChat address/private/instant/absolute: XSKu1fpwvRcAekfK91qVHi51Tgz4ckoA91
XChat public key: zcfx74j4fFK9hW7rQniTvLyDyXd9SyRCrncP9vdukbVT
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1631877745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631877745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631877745
Reply with quote  #2

1631877745
Report to moderator
equipoise
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 794
Merit: 1000


Monero (XMR) - secure, private, untraceable


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2014, 10:02:34 PM
 #1742

^It's just a wrapper over the bitmonerod.exe and simplewallet.exe. It should be as safe as those are, because it's just sending commands to them (they should be in the same folder or otherwise it crashes) and the real work is done by them.

About me | zRMicroArray - phase 2 - Gene Expression Analysis software | [Weed Like to Talk - Bulgaria] Start a wave of cannabis seminars in Europe | Monero weighted average price stats: moneroprice.i2p
BTC: 1KoCX7TWKVGwqmmFw3CKyUSrKRSStueZar | NMC: NKhYEYpe1Le9MwHrwKsdSm5617J4toVar9 | XMR (Tip me a beer OpenAlias Monero address): tip.changetheworldwork.com
[XMR] Monero - A secure, private, untraceable cryptocurrency: 4AyRmUcxzefB5quumzK3HNE4zmCiGc8vhG6fE1oJpGVyVZF7fvDgSpt3MzgLfQ6Q1719xQhmfkM9Z2u NXgDMqYhjJVmc6KX
ibleed100s
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2014, 10:03:33 PM
 #1743

well finally got it running but i cannot get connected to anything.....

2014-May-15 08:02:14.900614 [P2P9]Connecting to 107.158.233.98:18080(white=1, last_seen: never)...
2014-May-15 08:02:19.909031 [P2P9]Connect failed to 107.158.233.98:18080
2014-May-15 08:02:19.909347 [P2P9]Connecting to 64.22.111.2:18080(white=1, last_seen: never)...
2014-May-15 08:02:24.916446 [P2P9]Connect failed to 64.22.111.2:18080
2014-May-15 08:02:24.916770 [P2P9]Connecting to 107.158.233.98:18080(white=1, last_seen: never)...
2014-May-15 08:02:29.919603 [P2P9]Connect failed to 107.158.233.98:18080
2014-May-15 08:02:29.920138 [P2P9]Failed to connect to any of seed peers, continuing without seeds


dont understand?? problem after problem
dga
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 511


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2014, 10:20:08 PM
 #1744

I really really want to engage in this altcoin community, but I find the command lines and such quite confusing, so much looking forward to official gui releases, wallet/miner

Yeah, if you can't use a shell, you'll want to wait a bit on this one.

its not like im an inexperienced windows user, but I feel rather uncomfy when we are dealing with command lines, unstable soft like windows and real investments. Is the gui wallet under testing fully functional? can you save ur monero even though its experimental?

Well, I'm not trying to be mean when I say this, but this is pre-alpha software. Monero may one day make it big with some work, but it has some seriously massive bugs.

As for the GUI wallet, I would trust the CLI tools far more than I would trust it. Why? Because it's had even less time to mature than Monero has (even though I'm sure it is less complex), and more importantly, it uses the same CLI tools anyway. Adding that layer of indirection just means more can go wrong.

All that being said, I have bought a LOT of Monero, relative to the amount of money I have, and I am considering buying more.

Just make absolutely sure you have a copy of your wallet stored securely.  It's even more important with Monero than bitcoin-based stuff -- I have corrupted my wallet.bin and wallet.keys several times.

I keep a spare copy of it on another directory on my computer, and another copy remotely.  That seems to work pretty well thus far.

dga
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 511


View Profile WWW
May 14, 2014, 10:25:40 PM
 #1745


Just make absolutely sure you have a copy of your wallet stored securely.  It's even more important with Monero than bitcoin-based stuff -- I have corrupted my wallet.bin and wallet.keys several times.

I keep a spare copy of it on another directory on my computer, and another copy remotely.  That seems to work pretty well thus far.

How did you corrupt it?

I was ssh'd into the machine with the wallet, left the wallet open, and then (by closing my laptop and going somewhere else), let the ssh session get terminated.

Some of those corruptions may have been when I was trying to un-stick the merge-mined blocks (fix now committed by NoodleDoodleNoodleDoodle), but some of them were when just looking at the wallet.

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1167



View Profile
May 14, 2014, 11:05:35 PM
 #1746

Would love to set my miners at this pool have about 25 machines, but cannot seem to get ubuntu 12.04 to run this software for some reason... still stuck cannot figure out why....

anyone successfully installed on 12.04? if so please get me the commands to make this work.
What are your errors?


i have alot of errors when i do make -j4

But i just checked i installed boost 1.55 but it still showing

#define BOOST_LIB_VERSION "1_48"

How do i remove bost 1.48 completely and install it fresh because that might be the cause.

and if i have 32 threads on my cpu. would my make -j32  be that?? confused
Did you compile boost from source? If so

Code:
rm -rf bitmonero/build
make -j4 BOOST_ROOT=/path/to/boost1.55

If you installed it with apt-get, try

Code:
sudo apt-get remove libboost-all-dev libboost-dev
sudo apt-get autoremove

More issues. I don't know if it is necessary to build boost with mpi (though if you are going to install it system wide that might be a good idea) but if so you need to add mpi to the apt-get install earlier in the script.
eddywise
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253
Merit: 250

Let's Boolberry


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 12:38:08 AM
 #1747

In testing

http://mon.hashharder.com/index.html#

Code:
simpleminer --pool-addr=mon.hashharder.com:5555 --login=address --pass x


I wona know how did I add the mining-threads?
Code:
--mining-threads=3
or
Code:
--mining-threads 3
or
Code:
t=3
does not work at all

Boolberry : @eddywise                                                                                                                                                                                                                       DRK:XqTbkj1hpCWBpBSvbWtzBRu5PxzJ2KoA3F                                                                                                                                                                                   BTC:1FZYvzY4cPLwwZmU8rGPM7xGYjfjiZUmuZ  Once desperately want, now desperate to forget
cubydu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 12:41:10 AM
 #1748

How use threads with simpleminer ?

I took a quick look at the code I think you just need to run multiple copies. Run it as many times as you want threads. Unless I missed something.



Yeah, multithreading is on the TODO list, but we also hope to have a proper cpuminer fork out soon too.

eddywise
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253
Merit: 250

Let's Boolberry


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:00:52 AM
 #1749

How use threads with simpleminer ?

I took a quick look at the code I think you just need to run multiple copies. Run it as many times as you want threads. Unless I missed something.



Yeah, multithreading is on the TODO list, but we also hope to have a proper cpuminer fork out soon too.

OH no,should it be fix soon?

Boolberry : @eddywise                                                                                                                                                                                                                       DRK:XqTbkj1hpCWBpBSvbWtzBRu5PxzJ2KoA3F                                                                                                                                                                                   BTC:1FZYvzY4cPLwwZmU8rGPM7xGYjfjiZUmuZ  Once desperately want, now desperate to forget
cubydu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 01:10:46 AM
 #1750

Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash

VAR1="1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8"  # 8 core cpu

for a in $VAR1; do { ./simpleminer --pool-addr=mon.hashharder.com:5555 --login=4AqWKmfKGGshBuG6qHEM5KNTmZwY3Vqn4Ev2KioFSmokNe3vjWamkxmJnYCpySpATnHQAdnxSKJ2BWmRuVjBps3R5xYhCzP --pass x; } & done;
WAITPIDS="$WAITPIDS "$!;...; wait $WAITPIDS
echo "Script has finished"

Exit 1

zeetak
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 12


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 01:37:27 AM
 #1751

All that being said, I have bought a LOT of Monero, relative to the amount of money I have, and I am considering buying more.

As have I, wolf. As have I.
emontmon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:07:50 AM
 #1752

how do I use the pool
it says to download a wallet and simple miner. do I have to use that one or the one i have already created and have been solo mining on.

also, do run bitmonerod locally or just open run the simpleminer.

this is my command: simpleminer --pool-addr=mon.hashharder.com:5555 --login=45zQuFfmbwC6o4aq7vVxXUbwUE31FEywxehsVmGY5C4o9ZgaPXZDnVm347ECvwT75gVPnVBAkHNKMDMiQ8Sz7NHrKsGD9J1 --pass x
also as above, I am curious how to add threads.

surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:12:20 AM
 #1753

Why does anyone want to use a pool that doesn't work yet?  Huh
emontmon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:15:33 AM
 #1754

i am trying to contribute. that little that my contribution maybe.
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:17:00 AM
 #1755

Simpleminer is going to be replaced by cpuminer soon, and that has an option for number of threads. Until then, just launch multiple instances of simpleminer.
33zer0w0lf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 02:22:20 AM
 #1756

Why does anyone want to use a pool that doesn't work yet?  Huh
I don't, but will when a working functional pool is up.

http://www.extremepool.org (BCN) (MRO) (QCN) (XDN) (BBR) (AEON) (ORION) (DSH) (CRR) (INF8)
coinfusion
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 02:26:15 AM
 #1757

Hey devs, slow_hash.c is very hungry for stack space -- it segfaults when hashing the genesis block with a mingw-64bit build.  I noticed you increased the stack size limit with MSVC in the makefile, so it would be a good idea to place the equvalent inside the MINGW conditional -- set(CMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS "${CMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS} -Wl,--stack,10485760")

Alternatively, you could place long_state on the heap since it wouldn't slow things down much at all.
33zer0w0lf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
May 15, 2014, 02:58:03 AM
 #1758

Simpleminer is going to be replaced by cpuminer soon, and that has an option for number of threads. Until then, just launch multiple instances of simpleminer.

do you run one instance per core?

http://www.extremepool.org (BCN) (MRO) (QCN) (XDN) (BBR) (AEON) (ORION) (DSH) (CRR) (INF8)
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 03:02:29 AM
 #1759

Simpleminer is going to be replaced by cpuminer soon, and that has an option for number of threads. Until then, just launch multiple instances of simpleminer.

do you run one instance per core?
Yeah.
Buratino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1151
Merit: 1003


View Profile
May 15, 2014, 03:08:27 AM
 #1760

http://moneropool.com/ - is this valid pool?

Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 ... 2110 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!