Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:57:40 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 390 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1625950 times)
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 12:07:20 PM
 #281

We are witnessing the birth of skynet.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481291860
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291860

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291860
Reply with quote  #2

1481291860
Report to moderator
Aqualung
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 12:16:51 PM
 #282



this just got here 3 hours ago
omg!!
Sapphire is gonna be rich!!)) I think they sold all of their radeons 58xx))
ps... maybe our community should write a letter to Sapphire and ask them to produce more 58xx devices?))
pps... i wonder what is in the second box in the top right corner??

used to be a miner
Crs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 12:31:55 PM
 #283

got to love this thread (aka free bump.)

If my post has been useful, you might want to donate: 1V7zr2jmQQXS5gv2kKNpUkgG6qmDffTZp
Tolsi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178



View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 02:25:49 PM
 #284

5850+6870

Like what am I doing? 1FzSgYpLG4fpy2Q9fKXQsuLxHN81m4P3dR
Adam
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:20:11 PM
 #285

Got two computers setup like this so far.



Worthless cases can't fit 4x gpus, so they get relegated to table status.

trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 05:40:27 PM
 #286

Got two computers setup like this so far.



Worthless cases can't fit 4x gpus, so they get relegated to table status.

can you give a breakdown of the hardware used? and temps?
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 06:28:29 PM
 #287

shivansps, could you please describe how you have those Antec PSU configured to work together?
Thank you.

bridged the green cable of both psu

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:15:38 PM
 #288

shivansps, could you please describe how you have those Antec PSU configured to work together?
Thank you.

bridged the green cable of both psu

with something like this?

borito4
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 07:35:20 PM
 #289

shivansps, could you please describe how you have those Antec PSU configured to work together?
Thank you.

bridged the green cable of both psu

with something like this?


This.

http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=1141
1C2AUjVqnY4TMC9D7ZGQ4aPurbLrLz2q2g
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 08:02:48 PM
 #290

My 120MH/s rig in action:


My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
LegitBit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:08:32 PM
 #291

My 120MH/s rig in action:


How much did that cost you? Did you have to build it?

Donate : 1EiAKUmTVtqXsaGLKQQVvLT9DDnHsT7jTZ (Block Explorer)
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:08:59 PM
 #292

My 120MH/s rig in action:


Great!!

What kind of FPGA is this? And, it seems to be a pci-e 1x board, while do you access it from a serial (?) cable?

Best regards.

spiccioli.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 08:19:45 PM
 #293

How much did that cost you? Did you have to build it?

http://www.digilentinc.com/Products/Detail.cfm?NavPath=2,400,795&Prod=XUPV5
Totally not worth it. $2000, or $750 for academic purposes (which these aren't). Only do this if you have such a board anyway for other things, to make some use of it in the time that it would otherwise be idle.

Great!!

What kind of FPGA is this? And, it seems to be a pci-e 1x board, while do you access it from a serial (?) cable?

Best regards.

spiccioli.

This is an XC5VLX110T-1FF1136 running at 120MHz. If you want to build a dedicated mining board, I'd suggest placing a shitload of XC6SLX150 chips on it, and much less unused peripheral stuff.

And yes, it has PCIe 1x, but I didn't bother with that (neither from the FPGA nor PC side), RS232 is just easier and simply fast enough (roughly 3% bandwith utilization at 115200 baud).

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 08:45:34 PM
 #294

This is an XC5VLX110T-1FF1136 running at 120MHz. If you want to build a dedicated mining board, I'd suggest placing a shitload of XC6SLX150 chips on it, and much less unused peripheral stuff.

so, those chips are $152 each

what is the board to put a shitload of them on? Has anyone tried this with more than one fpga chip? does it scale fully?
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 08:52:28 PM
 #295

so, those chips are $152 each

Yeah, roughly, depending on the exact model and quantity. Don't forget the cost of the board though.

what is the board to put a shitload of them on?

You'll need to build one. Design and order a 4layer PCB containing the neccessary voltage regulators, clock generation and means of communication (JTAG, and maybe I²C, RS232 or USB?).

Has anyone tried this with more than one fpga chip? does it scale fully?

There are already some people running multi-FPGA mining setups. And yes, it does scale fully (~190MH/s per chip, can possibly be optimized even further), and if you also account for the PCB manufacturing and assembly costs, even more than that.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
trueimage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
June 07, 2011, 11:08:01 PM
 #296

You'll need to build one. Design and order a 4layer PCB containing the neccessary voltage regulators, clock generation and means of communication (JTAG, and maybe I²C, RS232 or USB?).

There are already some people running multi-FPGA mining setups. And yes, it does scale fully (~190MH/s per chip, can possibly be optimized even further), and if you also account for the PCB manufacturing and assembly costs, even more than that.

Build my own board? hrmm I could probably figure it out, eventually, as I do have some experience in other similar projects. But, there is no one that sells one?
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 07, 2011, 11:15:30 PM
 #297

There are readily made FPGA clusters of course, but they usually include a lot of features that you don't need (like high speed interconnects between the individual FPGAs), and you often won't even find prices for them, as this kind of stuff is usually in the >$100k range.

Building your own one (if your have the experience) might be as "cheap" as $10k per 6GH/s or something in a 3U case.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
Atoth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 03:30:36 AM
 #298


Yes it is a MSI 890FXA-GD70 Smiley I have another identical setup like this coming in the mail for a 2nd rig.
Atoth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 08, 2011, 03:33:34 AM
 #299

I thought I knew which board that was, but I can't seem to find it right now. Another one you might consider is this one.

What I really want to know is, how do you secure the fan on top of the video cards? Surely it isn't just lying there?!?

Yes its just laying there on top Smiley And no rattling either! It sits nice and snug.
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
June 08, 2011, 03:35:59 AM
 #300

I thought I knew which board that was, but I can't seem to find it right now. Another one you might consider is this one.

What I really want to know is, how do you secure the fan on top of the video cards? Surely it isn't just lying there?!?

Yes its just laying there on top Smiley

And it doesn't move around and eventually fall off?

15UFyv6kfWgq83Pp3yhXPr8rknv9m6581W
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ... 390 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!