Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:33:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1622278 times)
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
February 05, 2012, 05:42:48 AM
 #1021

Pending an RMA, and limited in my abilities to properly fix it by warranty seals on the screws that hold the cooler, I decided to keep my dead-fan 5870 mining until I get an RMA number:



Cheesy


+1 .... you are the best )))


Hahahhahaha!  love it

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
1480934012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934012
Reply with quote  #2

1480934012
Report to moderator
1480934012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934012
Reply with quote  #2

1480934012
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934012
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934012

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934012
Reply with quote  #2

1480934012
Report to moderator
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 05, 2012, 09:39:29 PM
 #1022


(full res @ http://ompldr.org/vY243eg/2012-02-05_13-10-55_578.jpg)


5x 5870 @ 950/300 running Phoenix 1.7.5 on BAMT (Debian 6). Motherboard is a GA-EP45-UD3P w/ PCIe extenders from Cablesaurus. PSU is a OCZ ZX1250W. Case is custom.

~435 MH/s each, ~2175 MH/s total. Cards run @ ~50C with ambient ~15C.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
yjacket
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 202


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 11:10:17 PM
 #1023


(full res @ http://ompldr.org/vY243eg/2012-02-05_13-10-55_578.jpg)


5x 5870 @ 950/300 running Phoenix 1.7.5 on BAMT (Debian 6). Motherboard is a GA-EP45-UD3P w/ PCIe extenders from Cablesaurus. PSU is a OCZ ZX1250W. Case is custom.

~435 MH/s each, ~2175 MH/s total. Cards run @ ~50C with ambient ~15C.

How long do fans last at 100%?
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 12:30:06 AM
 #1024


How long do fans last at 100%?

I don't run them at that level normally; I was just seeing how low I could get the temps. They run ~55C at 70% fan and ~60C at 50%.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2012, 03:43:08 AM
 #1025

I just had to screencap this:



This is the most leet thread in existence!

Global BTC
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 01:48:56 PM
 #1026

PS: Invest in a big box of smoke pellets like these:

They are great for working out what your airflow is doing.

Is that really wise? Is the smoke "clean" or does it leave residues? I would love to see some pictures of someone testing the airflow of a mining rig with smoke.

MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:05:35 PM
 #1027

PS: Invest in a big box of smoke pellets like these:

They are great for working out what your airflow is doing.

Is that really wise? Is the smoke "clean" or does it leave residues? I would love to see some pictures of someone testing the airflow of a mining rig with smoke.
The smoke didn't leave any residue on my fan blades or the inside of my case so I assume it is safe, they are usually used for testing cooker vents and such things like that.
If/when I have to test it again I will record a video but it won't be for some time now as everything is setup and working perfectly.

fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2012, 09:43:39 PM
 #1028

How about dry ice?

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:52:52 PM
 #1029

How about dry ice?

Thats what I use. Just drop some in a bowl of water and good to go. No messy residue either.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
February 13, 2012, 09:58:42 PM
 #1030

Dry ice is pretty hard to come by in the UK, well at least that's what I've found. I don't seem to be able to get it from any local shops or via any kind of mail order.

cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2012, 08:30:55 PM
 #1031

This is an open air system I have been developing for awhile and its finally to the point where I am ready to share it with the community.

The rig cases are made from a wire shelving system you can buy from walmart. I build the bases for the motherboard out of 2 x 4s. Parts of the wire frames are stapled to the wood base for stability.

Cooling is provided by the NY Winter (actually very mild this year), I built an awning over the outside of the window and have two layers of screen to prevent snow/rain from getting in with a window fan in the middle to blow in the cool air, the big fan on the side blows the fan a crossed the back of the rigs.

Specs:
3 x MSI 890FXA-GD70 Motherboards
3 x AMD Sempron 2.7 Ghz single core CPU
3 x Crucial BallistiX 2GB DDR3 Ram Memory
3 x Corsair 1000watt 80 Plus PSU
3 x Sata HDD
6 x PCIe16 Extenders (3 Powered w/Molex connector)
3 x PCIe1>16 Extenders
15 x Radeon HD 5870

Windows 7 x64 w/ CCC 11.9 SDK 2.5 CGMINER 2.2.6

Clocks 950/180 - Fans @ 50% - Average Temp 58.5c


(stats example from one of the rigs)

Total Hashrate 6500 mhash/sec








The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 15, 2012, 11:30:34 PM
 #1032

  Ok I'll post now that things are completed here.  Time to go down the rabbit hole - sorry for the photo spam on the post btw Wink.  

  So, mining?!  Sure!  "Let's go!" I said.  Had some funds set aside I knew I could put into this.  The plan, like any, was brilliant!  Now, on the other hand, I'm not quite geeky enough to do headless Linux miners or crate+cardboard machine setups so alas, for me a case, Windows, and GUIminer will have to do.  Not quite as cost-effective but it's what I know I could do.  Since I'm an Evangelion fan, I wanted to compliment my main rig with others (miners) named after angels so thought it'd be fun at any rate.  

-------------------------

  Ramiel Build:

  Thought I'd start things off right with a 4-way card system (since my main GPUs have always been Nvidia).  Budget allowed for a quad setup of 6770s being efficient.  

  Parts:
  AMD Athlon X3
  ASUS generic DVD Burner
  A WD Raptor 150GB I had as a backup drive that I could wipe and use.
  Hyper 212 Cooler
  2x4GB Corsair Vegeance RAM
  4x HIS 6770s
  Corsair 500R Black (best mid tower I could find with side fans for cooling and enough expansion slots at a good price with good quality build).
  LEPA G900 PSU
  2x 140mm Aerocool Shark Blue Fans
  6x 120mm Aerocool Shark Blue Fans
  1x 120mm black (leftover) Corsair fan
  1x 200mm Cooler Master Side Fan
  Cyberpower 900w UPS Backup
  Acer 18.5" LCD (just a basic budget monitor)
  Cheapo Pixxo KB/Mouse Combo
  Rosewill USB wireless adapter
  Windows 7 Pro x64  

  Mistake #1 Wink

  Had an ASUS Sabertooth that didn't accept 3 cards.  It was a good board but only after trying the layout, I realized it didn't work...  Whoops.  Replaced with a Gigabyte UD7.

  Everything was progressing well Smiley

  But then...
  Mistake #2

  Seeing as how I've not worked with this case before (and board), Gigabyte puts their supplimentary power connector at an odd right angle to the mainboard (and on a board as large as the UD7, it literally is a quarter inch from the 500R's case slant).  Just a heads up that if you use this combo, the connector CAN NOT be connected without cutting the case.

  4 hours later (I have limited tools available, alas, and that case steel powdercoat was surprisingly very tough to punch through).  

  

  

  After a few warm-up tests though, the singular side fan was swapped to the two 140mm fans for more air flow.

  Mistake #3
  TEMPS.  OH MY THE TEMPS!

  I don't have screenshots or photos of them but the midde cards simply could not keep up at 100% fan - these simple cards at only ~110w I thought wouldn't dump that much heat but no... upper 80s C was normal.  Time to revise things again.

  

  Good news now is that the temps are under control, the cards have airflow and things are stable.  Sliders are maxed in AB (though with the OC boost they seem to crash past 1,000mhz pretty quick).  But really, for a system costing far above $1k now, I can't be happy with only 600MH now can I?

  Post below for part 2 so as to not spam with one large entry...

  

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 15, 2012, 11:59:25 PM
 #1033

  Ramiel Part 2!

  Nope, had to fix this problem.  Thankfully my favorite etailer had a solution on sale for the time.  Yay for twin 5970s!

  5970s *do* clear the cages in a 500R, albeit barely.
  

  After a lot of testing and burning in, I found clocks where the cards and temps would be to my liking.  Any higher core and the stock voltage was not enough.  I also did various tests with my KAW and Overvolt to see how high the cards could go.  Found out though that even though they could get to 900+core, the heat and fans simply was too high and the system went from ~700 watts to 1,000.  Enough of a power increase that with efficiency factored in, I could not push the PSU any higher I think.  Obviously they were backed down to what the image below shows and it's been running great since.
  

  

  Finally as can be seen, I ripped out the drive cages to help the airflow.  It's dropped temps by a couple degrees overall.  The HDD has foam sticky pads on the bottom to keep it proped off the case floor.
  

--------------

  

  Thanks for letting me share my building experience and what I'd hope is a pretty clean (IMO) mining rig.  It may not be the most efficient in terms of price but I'm happy with the challenge it presented and feel the investment will pay back eventually.  Currently getting ~1.5GH/sec with it.  The only heads up is that with pets and so much case airflow, that the system would need practically a blow-out every week for the dust it'd gather.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:28:39 AM
 #1034

  Sachiel System Wink

  Primary changes are the following:

  Lepa G900 to Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1200w (thought was to do tri-card systems).
  Gigabyte UD7 (bought UD3's on accident but it'll now work out for the better I've learned).
  HDDs > Intel 40GB SSDs.  Really, the price now is almost the same with HDDs being at increased prices with the flooding.
  RAM 2x 4GB Corsair > 2x2GB Kingston generics.  Don't really need 8GB for mining.
  AMD Quad Core Athlon IIs (the 3 core was at 100% so thought quad would help.  Guess it's just a bug though).
  Windows 7 Home x64

  Just a heads up again that the UD3 for whatever reason has *no* additional PCIe power requirement.  I asked Gigabyte techs about this concern and they said the board is Rev. 1.1 and has enough power delivery built in to where this is not necessary.  Thus, no conflict with the 500R panels.

  

  This rig has 2 5970s total - just never shot it again once it was all together.  Hashing is the same as the other.

  

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:39:23 AM
 #1035

  Israfel System:

  More of the same, except red ^_^

  Time to do my duty to lend to the laughter of this thread.  At this point I'm running out of places (and to a lesser extent, power) to put these around at home.  Thus:

    Thanks Dog Crate!

  

  At this point after extended discussions, it was considered best for me to move the operation off-site.

  Systems are now at a climate controlled facility with power-use included with the rent Smiley

  

  

  

  

  Power was a dedicated 20A (which these systems easily made the breaker angry)... so I had them install another 20.  Electrician was AWESOME though and gave me 2-20s!  The room is now wired for 60A so I have room to expand if the coolling keeps up.

  Temps of all systems are generally mid-to-upper-60s at 70-75% fan.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 12:41:18 AM
 #1036

... Lots of Images ...

So that looks really clean, but I'm curious as to why you even bothered with cases?  Seems like they just trap heat and get in the way when you want to do any maintenance.

The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:49:25 AM
 #1037

... Lots of Images ...

So that looks really clean, but I'm curious as to why you even bothered with cases?  Seems like they just trap heat and get in the way when you want to do any maintenance.

Thanks.  You know I'll be honest.  Thought running a system without a case would A. be more at risk for issues with exposed parts.  B. Thought that cooling the cards would be less efficient since fans would have to be placed / tied on / etc. to force air-cool the cards.  C. Don't really have any place that I'd consder safe  at home where I could leave bare components run without issues.  D.  Again, pets and stuff.  E.  I guess it kinda scared me really.  I mean I can see otherwise that plenty of people have done it in this thread without issue but I've not tried it.  F.  I also run a computer business so these rigs can be donated / repurposed / etc. should mining tank.  I'm sure the average person would buy a clean system but it could be parted-out if necessary.

In terms of maintenence, there really isn't any now (finally).  Uptime so far is upwards of 10 days at a time barring Windows updates (haven't had a single BSOD with all 3 systems at all).  Temps and systems are rock solid and are remotely managed.  At the CC facility, they gather what, a fifth or sixth of the dust as fast as at home?  Probably could let them run for 2 months there before even a single cleaning.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 12:57:19 AM
 #1038


  Melchior (aka the original) system:

  Repurposed this one for mining as well instead of folding.  Two 5970s as well.

  Bottom card is one of two GTX 580s with an AXP.

 

 

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:04:14 AM
 #1039

You paid for a windows license? I don't even

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 02:38:59 AM
 #1040

Why not linux Smiley

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 [52] 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!