Bitcoin Forum
August 04, 2020, 12:19:30 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805264 times)
ifinta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 652
Merit: 109



View Profile WWW
December 07, 2011, 06:20:38 AM
Last edit: December 07, 2011, 06:44:20 AM by ifinta
 #901

And I tryed a Cloud http://www.cloud.hu/hu too Smiley It need at home a very little place Smiley And no risks Smiley And scalable Smiley



valaki@bitpc:~$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32500,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 156431,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : false,
    "genproclimit" : 5,
    "difficulty" : 1090715.68005127,
    "hashespersec" : 0,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1322876119,
    "keypoolsize" : 111,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
valaki@bitpc:~$ ./bitcoind setgenerate true 5
valaki@bitpc:~$
valaki@bitpc:~$
valaki@bitpc:~$ ./bitcoind getinfo
{
    "version" : 32500,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 156431,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : 5,
    "difficulty" : 1090715.68005127,
    "hashespersec" : 2748965,
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1322876119,
    "keypoolsize" : 106,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
valaki@bitpc:~$

Please visit our projects on this forum: Charm, Dorothyum and Vortexledger (an open ledger for "No" Money, for barter)
1596500370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596500370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596500370
Reply with quote  #2

1596500370
Report to moderator
1596500370
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596500370

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596500370
Reply with quote  #2

1596500370
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2011, 04:12:07 PM
 #902

You're all doing it wrong.  Grin

I kid, I kid.  I've actually taken down my 3.8GH/s setup and sold off most of my parts, after which I built:






But of course it wouldn't be worthwhile without the sexy lights:




This is definitely a game-centric rig:

3x XFX 6950 @ 845/1325
Phenom II 1090T 6-core @ 3.9ghz
Gigabyte 990FXA-UD5
8GB DDR3-1600
2x 120gb SSD in raid-0 (1GB/s!)

I don't do much mining with it, but it'll get ~1.1GH/s all spun up.  At < 40dB.  At < 50C.  Cheesy


Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 510



View Profile WWW
December 09, 2011, 09:48:06 PM
Last edit: December 09, 2011, 11:52:56 PM by fizzisist
 #903

Here it is, 16 x X6500 FPGA Miners for theoretically 4.2 GH/s. With rejects, it looks more like 3.8 GH/s. 258 W measured at the wall.




This whole system is quiet. I have 4 120 mm fans cooling the whole thing. They're all running at full speed, but could probably even be slowed down a bit.

cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 09, 2011, 10:03:57 PM
 #904

That is pretty frakkin' sweet.

Have you had any issues with the OS addressing that many USB devices?  It looks like you've got a fairly good hub which probably presents itself as such to the OS, I've had some crappier hubs that start to complain when you multiplex >4 devices..

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
pazor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 09, 2011, 11:30:43 PM
 #905

hello,

become fpga mining reallity?
tell us your  experience with this type of mining please !

...and you spend a lot of money for your equipment...

regards
pazor

treuhand-Dienst gewünscht? - frag per PM an
BTC 174X17nR7vEQBQo4GXKRGMGaTmB49Gf1yT
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 510



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2011, 12:02:36 AM
Last edit: December 30, 2011, 11:35:44 AM by fizzisist
 #906

That is pretty frakkin' sweet.

Have you had any issues with the OS addressing that many USB devices?  It looks like you've got a fairly good hub which probably presents itself as such to the OS, I've had some crappier hubs that start to complain when you multiplex >4 devices..

Thanks, and no the OS seems to handle it fine. The worst I've seen is that the bus is a bit bogged down, but that could probably be fixed by polling the FPGAs for nonces a little less often.

become fpga mining reallity?
tell us your  experience with this type of mining please !

...and you spend a lot of money for your equipment...

Yes! This system is built using the boards that we (fpgamining.com) designed, produced, and are currently selling. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=40058.0

An honest review of this type of system should probably be written by someone other than me, since I'm far from impartial. Hopefully some of our customers will write about their experiences. I'll also try to write up some of the things I learned, so that others can learn from my mistakes. Smiley

The price is $580 per board at single quantity. There are bulk pricing discounts, though, which you can find in that thread.

Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1496
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 10, 2011, 05:24:55 PM
 #907

Can you please tell me how much do you estimate this setup cost you?
It's quite magnificient and quite a job!

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 10, 2011, 10:49:48 PM
 #908

Can you please tell me how much do you estimate this setup cost you?
It's quite magnificient and quite a job!

  first link in his signature.

  And yes, very sexy. =)  eventually I will get around to posting some pics of the few cards I housed in Capri Sun boxes. Cool

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 510



View Profile WWW
December 10, 2011, 11:19:15 PM
 #909

Can you please tell me how much do you estimate this setup cost you?
It's quite magnificient and quite a job!

Cost for you to build this system today:

16 X6500s at $550 each: $8800
Power supply (I used this one): $65
4 120 mm fans at $15 each: $60
Various Molex splitters and adapters: $20
16 USB cables: $50
USB hubs: $30

Total: $9025 / 4.2 GH/s or 2.12 $/MH

A lot of those extra things you probably have sitting around already, or you could find better deals.

The next price break above that is at 25 units. You could still run that many boards off of a single supply (400W) so your overhead cost would only be slightly higher.

25 X6500s at $535 each: $13,375
Power supply: $65
Fans: $90
Various Molex splitters and adapters: $30
25 USB cables: $75
USB hubs: $40

Total: $13,675 / 6.6 GH/s or 2.05 $/MH

You will also need a host computer to run the system, but you most likely already have that and the performance requirements on that computer are quite low.

Note that those $/MH are based on 266 MH/s for each X6500. I have every reason to believe that we will reach higher hashrates with improvements to the software and firmware in the future.

aTg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 11, 2011, 10:08:35 AM
Last edit: December 12, 2011, 11:41:39 AM by aTg
 #910

Here it is, 16 x X6500 FPGA Miners for theoretically 4.2 GH/s. With rejects, it looks more like 3.8 GH/s. 258 W measured at the wall.

This whole system is quiet. I have 4 120 mm fans cooling the whole thing. They're all running at full speed, but could probably even be slowed down a bit.

Great, I love you to start out FPGA clusters, there is only one possible criticism, it is wasteful to use a USB cable when two cables are only useful around the connector, I mean the input and output data, it may reduce the cost with the use of two simple normal pins and wires between the PCB and the hub.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1007


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 11, 2011, 05:58:59 PM
Last edit: December 11, 2011, 11:37:04 PM by DeathAndTaxes
 #911

Great, I love you to start out FPGA clusters, there is only one possible criticism, it is wasteful to use a USB cable when two cables are only useful around the connector, I mean the input and output data, it may reduce the cost with the use of two simple normal pins and wires between the PCB and the hub.

Off the shelf is usually cheaper than custom.

If you create a custom wiring interface then you need a custom built hub.  It is unlikely to be cheaper than a usb hub and usb cables.  A 12 port hub is <$2.00 per port and usb cables in bulk are less <$1 ea.  So cost becomes <$3.00 per unit (likely <$2.00 if you look hard enough).  Maybe it is wasteful/overkill but it is unlikely any custom solution no matter how spartan will be cheaper than $3.00 per unit.  Even if it is you are splitting pennies when you look at total system cost.
ifinta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 652
Merit: 109



View Profile WWW
December 11, 2011, 07:46:46 PM
Last edit: December 20, 2011, 07:41:04 PM by ifinta
 #912

My rig: koeppeloeppe
4x5850 (1550 MHash)




I stopped my rig. I have new ideas...

Greencoin (ZC)

Please visit our projects on this forum: Charm, Dorothyum and Vortexledger (an open ledger for "No" Money, for barter)
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
December 12, 2011, 08:50:47 PM
 #913

@ifinta

Please, do not add 3 page long quote to your one line reply.
Qu4k3r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2011, 03:50:38 PM
 #914

My rig:
Sempron 140
ASRock  970 Extreme4

GPU0: Sapphire HD5830 Xtreme @900/600, 285 MH/s
GPU1: Sapphire HD5830 Xtreme @900/300, 285 MH/s
GPU2: HIS HD5670 IceQ @880/500, 100 MH/s

Total: 670 MH/s

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/7619/dsc0190ncv.jpg

http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/9004/granja2d.jpg
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 08:12:57 PM
 #915

My rig:
Sempron 140
ASRock  970 Extreme4
This seems like a work in progress, is that card in mid-air secure ?

Tip: You only needed one resistance for dummy plug and btw they are not needed anymore. (with updated drivers)
Tip2: Try raising your 5830 to 960-975 mhz
Qu4k3r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 14, 2011, 08:54:02 PM
 #916

This seems like a work in progress, is that card in mid-air secure ?
Yes, it's secure, it won't fall down unless an earthquake occurs.

http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2274/dsc0185sk.jpg

Tip: You only needed one resistance for dummy plug and btw they are not needed anymore. (with updated drivers)
Tip2: Try raising your 5830 to 960-975 mhz

Thanks for the tip about resistance, but if don't use dummy plug then I can't set frequencies with afterburner, I'm running 11.11 version driver.

5830 @950MHz reaches 300 MH/s, but GPU Temp#2 will be 73~74ºC, not 68~69ºC like now which is confortable for me.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 09:05:58 PM
 #917

5830 @950MHz reaches 300 MH/s, but GPU Temp#2 will be 73~74ºC, not 68~69ºC like now which is confortable for me.
To improve efficiency you should raise your clock as much as a given voltage allow.

Below 85c there is nothing to worry about long term.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2011, 04:33:29 PM
 #918

Below 85c there is nothing to worry about long term.

Hmmm for me it's more like below 70C and 50% fanspeed. But to each his own.

cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 16, 2011, 04:40:56 PM
 #919

Below 85c there is nothing to worry about long term.

Hmmm for me it's more like below 70C and 50% fanspeed. But to each his own.

Temperature variation is the real card killer.   I'd agree with anything < 80-85C, but some cards just don't stay that cool even standing alone with good ventilation and room-temperature ambient environments.

It's more important to make sure your temperatures aren't swaying significantly on a regular basis, the (small) expansion/contraction will eventually stress the metals in your GPU, leading to reduced life.

A stable 80C is far better than swinging between 60C and 80C every day.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
ifinta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 652
Merit: 109



View Profile WWW
December 20, 2011, 07:42:31 PM
 #920

@ifinta

Please, do not add 3 page long quote to your one line reply.

I removed some text/picture... Thanks for a hint.

Please visit our projects on this forum: Charm, Dorothyum and Vortexledger (an open ledger for "No" Money, for barter)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!