Bitcoin Forum
August 04, 2020, 12:27:31 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805264 times)
Papipapito
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
October 10, 2011, 01:47:36 PM
 #821

Hello

Here my mini-ring

Housing in a mini Datacenter of my Work

2 Machines,

1- Pentium 4 with a 5830 @ 900/300
2- Core 2 Duo with Gigabyte 6950 oc unlocked @900/300 and 5850 @900/300

For controlling  a APC power Switch

Total 1.12GH/s

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6057/6230223571_0bc2d070c5.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6231/6230223763_40ddc4bf2c.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6177/6230223981_831d41ae5f.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6102/6230224487_7c76b8a29b.jpg

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6159/6230224867_f55a0da9c4.jpg
1596500851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1596500851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1596500851
Reply with quote  #2

1596500851
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Buy this account on March-2019. New Owner here!!


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2011, 12:01:51 AM
 #822

Voting Starts Tomorrow for the Bitcoin Mining Rig Builders Competition!!!! Dont miss out on your chance to get free Bitcoins and be crowned best Bitcoin Mining Rig Builder in the World!!!!

http://btcnetwork.com/coinconnect/groups/profile/645/coinconnect-guildminers-bitcoin-mining-rig-builders-competition-25-btc-in-prizes

trippp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 12, 2011, 02:58:59 PM
 #823

2 Machines,

1- Pentium 4 with a 5830 @ 900/300
2- Core 2 Duo with Gigabyte 6950 oc unlocked @900/300 and 5850 @900/300

Why don't you stick all three cards in one of them? No spare PCIe-slots?
Papipapito
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
October 13, 2011, 01:15:54 PM
 #824

2 Machines,

1- Pentium 4 with a 5830 @ 900/300
2- Core 2 Duo with Gigabyte 6950 oc unlocked @900/300 and 5850 @900/300

Why don't you stick all three cards in one of them? No spare PCIe-slots?

Hello

The cost of Electricity is 0€ (datacenter of my work)
Cost of Pentium 4 machine 0,1€ (obsolete machines of my work)


The mobo of core2 support a pci x1, but the case of to small for 3 cards, and the machine without case not is possible ,  solution... other machine. and the next card mount into other Pentium 4 a 0.01€ cost , the AC power is the 300W but the 5830 work fine.

michaelmclees
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 14, 2011, 02:36:26 PM
 #825



Mining Litecoins!   Grin
mikethebodacious
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10



View Profile
October 15, 2011, 02:14:57 AM
 #826

One of three rigs:

-AMD Sempron 140 CPU
-G-Skill 2GB DDR3 RAM
-Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 (great motherboard, cheap and has good PCI-E layout)
-Western Digital 80GB Hard Drive (WD800JD)
-AMD Radeon HD 5970s (the new OEM ones that came out, solid overclockers)
-Cougar GX-1050 (great efficiency and rail design, only has 6 PCI-E cables though)





I have 3 Scythe Slipstream 120mm 1900RPM fans blowing cold air down on the GPU chips, they make a huge difference in VRM temps so the cards don't throttle down.  These fans are quite amazing, great price, great CFM, and acceptable dBA (nowhere near my 5970s @ 70% fan speed).  I also have a Honeywell table fan circulating the air.  The whole rig and cooling solution only uses 700 watts so mining is still profitable, for long-term mining I focused on energy efficiency first and foremost (even over cooling or hash rate).  This rig does 1520MH/sec (380 MH/sec for each GPU core).  It sure doesn't look pretty but it gets the job done, the mobo is laying on some computer case sides from junked computers I found by the dumpster  Shocked

Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 19, 2011, 08:37:47 AM
 #827

Wow cool that is a nice setup - where do you intake/exhaust the power supply fans though?  How many psu are you using?

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 08:54:44 AM
 #828

The Catfish Bitcoin Mining Shelf Rig Mk II - nearly complete:



Remaining things to do - remove CD-ROM (was only there for installing Linux on the three boards), screw in another wooden support for the hard drives, secure the PSUs where they currently sit (under the temporary boarding that the HDs sit on), and add two front doors - open mesh (like a rabbit hutch) or perspex frame with a single row of PC case fans horizontally down the centre, to blow air *onto* the top of the GPUs.

The aim is to get a furniture-like modular piece that can be moved anywhere and vents the majority of the hot air upwards, where it could be collected in an airbox and extracted using an extractor fan (or used to heat the house).

This one is consuming 2000W at the wall and is running really cool for air - haven't started overclocking in earnest yet but there's loads of headroom to come. I've finally come to a design I'm satisfied with, and will be rebuilding my Mk I Shelf Rig into the same design (I've got another two boards and 12 cards to use)...

Catfish my man Smiley Looking nice indeed. Them cards look really close, sure heat isnt a issue..... What are them cards? i can see the wood blocking some of the air holes on some of them completly (to the left), I can see issues man Smiley

YOu got me itching want make another one now Smiley
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 510



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2011, 07:42:36 AM
 #829



It's brand new, only mined about 300 shares on it so far. Smiley

250 MH/s and 17 W. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=40058.msg584606#msg584606

m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 09:44:58 AM
 #830



It's brand new, only mined about 300 shares on it so far. Smiley

250 MH/s and 17 W. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=40058.msg584606#msg584606

I dont know anything about these things (not much anyways, is it ASIC?FPGA? heard a few acranims). Can you lead me to some info on this kind of thing as im very interested but dont understand how it all works etc. I want to know Smiley

Thanks Wink
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 510



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2011, 07:26:26 PM
Last edit: October 21, 2011, 10:15:41 AM by fizzisist
 #831


I dont know anything about these things (not much anyways, is it ASIC?FPGA? heard a few acranims). Can you lead me to some info on this kind of thing as im very interested but dont understand how it all works etc. I want to know Smiley

Thanks Wink

It's an FPGA miner. There are two FPGAs on the board (Spartan 6 LX150-3) and they communicate with the computer over USB. We designed this board and will be selling it very soon.

^^ With similar curiosity - I have two questions only:

1. How much does a complete kit cost (i.e. board, heatsinks, necessary special cables, etc.)?

2. Can I run the mining software on a pool without needing to know VHDL or assembly-level code?

Actually, there's a third question. Assuming that this is an FPGA board, and from the hash rate you quote, it sounds like a fairly decent spec FPGA - how much does the software licence cost in order to load the BTC Miner gate logic onto the FPGA? I don't know much about this level of engineering, but have heard many stories about requiring proprietary software to load your own 'code' onto the FPGA itself, and that this proprietary software costs an absolute fortune.

Good questions!

1. The basic board is $610 $580, including heatsinks. You need only a USB mini B cable and a spare Molex "peripheral" power connector, or a basic AC adapter (aka wall wart). The boards along with cables and power supplies will be for sale on Cablesaurus.com.
2. Running the software is as easy as running phoenix or similar mining software. You just have to download the code and plug it in. Right now, the software isn't as slick as phoenix or especially GUI miner, but that should get better with time.
3. You only need an expensive software license if you want to develop new VHDL/Verilog code. The Xilinx software will synthesize the source code into a "bitstream" that is loaded onto the FPGA. The bitstream is the equivalent of a binary for a computer. As long as someone else will build the bitstream for you (we will), you have no need for the expensive software.

The best place for information is the thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=40058.0

m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 08:59:04 AM
Last edit: October 21, 2011, 04:53:10 PM by m3sSh3aD
 #832

So yours is basically 2 of these on 1 card?

http://shop.ztex.de/product_info.php?products_id=66&language=en

There excellent little things but there massivly expensive even with there small ££££ per joul/hour. Weird this popped up as a friend of mine messaged me yesterday about using a JTAG'd xbox 360 with these things. It as a very powerful 3 core processor that workd simalar to the G4/G5 PowerPC chip also which is what catfish was saying be interesting use.

Im a little over my head but im following Smiley

@Catfish - I just noticed how close the cards are means that your extenders are REALLY close, wont you suffer from interfierence? I did with mine a little and had to sort it out with some 'protection/shielding' on the cables. Just a thought if you get some unusal readings on any of the cards Wink
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 23, 2011, 09:33:35 PM
 #833

MSI Big Bang Marshal B3 w/ 8x 5870's running BAMT 3.2GHs


stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 04:53:34 PM
 #834

MSI Big Bang Marshal B3 w/ 8x 5870's running BAMT 3.2GHs




Temperature and noise must be insane... Looks like meltdown to me if run on full power Smiley

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb"
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 06:50:16 PM
Last edit: October 25, 2011, 01:23:32 PM by likuidxd
 #835

MSI Big Bang Marshal B3 w/ 8x 5870's running BAMT 3.2GHs

whats the price per slot ?

Not quite sure what you mean by this

likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2011, 06:54:05 PM
Last edit: October 25, 2011, 01:23:53 PM by likuidxd
 #836

MSI Big Bang Marshal B3 w/ 8x 5870's running BAMT 3.2GHs



Temperature and noise must be insane... Looks like meltdown to me if run on full power Smiley

Noise is insane, fans are at 75%. GPU cores hover at only 60C though, not bad! There are 3 3000rpm fans at the intake of the cards. They do run at full power +, the 5870's are clocked at 900/600 and output is power is ~ 1550W, 124V & 15A. Still tweaking a lot to get power consumption down on the board, cpu and ram but for now I'm pretty satisfied at 2.06 Hashes per watt

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2011, 04:34:22 AM
Last edit: October 25, 2011, 04:46:20 AM by Transisto
 #837

Please remove images when using quotes.

Noise is insane, fans are at 75%. GPU cores hover at only 60C though, not bad! There are 3 3000rpm fans at the intake of the cards. They do run at full power +, the 5870's are clocked at 900/600 and output is power is ~ 1550W, 124V & 15A. Still tweaking a lot to get power consumption down on the board, cpu and ram but for now I'm pretty satisfied at 2.06 Hashes per watt
This is a really neat setup.

My 5870 2gb run cool at 40% fan speed,

To spread the card I suggest that you use a smaller heatsink and place a GPU over it, then add a 2nd extender to the card on the right, (use shielded extender and provide 12v to it)
Did you feed any riser with 12v ?



likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 25, 2011, 01:34:01 PM
Last edit: October 25, 2011, 07:37:20 PM by likuidxd
 #838

Please remove images when using quotes.

Noise is insane, fans are at 75%. GPU cores hover at only 60C though, not bad! There are 3 3000rpm fans at the intake of the cards. They do run at full power +, the 5870's are clocked at 900/600 and output is power is ~ 1550W, 124V & 15A. Still tweaking a lot to get power consumption down on the board, cpu and ram but for now I'm pretty satisfied at 2.06 Hashes per watt
This is a really neat setup.

My 5870 2gb run cool at 40% fan speed,

To spread the card I suggest that you use a smaller heatsink and place a GPU over it, then add a 2nd extender to the card on the right, (use shielded extender and provide 12v to it)
Did you feed any riser with 12v ?


I don't feed any risers with 12v molex. I may use a lower profile heatsink later, that was one I had sitting around. I can lower the fan speeds 25% and get on 5-8 degrees higher, but it is in my utility room so I really don't notice it.

Why add a second powered riser? I've been curios as to what these are used for.

Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1001



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2011, 08:44:59 PM
 #839

Why add a second powered riser? I've been curios as to what these are used for.
I'm really curious to see what would happen in the long run.

Touch the single 12v wire going to your motherboard connector to see if it's hot,
 It may be providing ~45 watt per GPU, or 30 amp on one wire. (rated for ~8amp)

(45w according to http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 using 5970)

I personally use powered extender when going past 5 gpus.
likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 25, 2011, 09:01:50 PM
 #840

Why add a second powered riser? I've been curios as to what these are used for.
I'm really curious to see what would happen in the long run.

Touch the single 12v wire going to your motherboard connector to see if it's hot,
 It may be providing ~45 watt per GPU, or 30 amp on one wire. (rated for ~8amp)

(45w according to http://blog.zorinaq.com/?e=42 using 5970)

I personally use powered extender when going past 5 gpus.

I'll check it out when I get home, you've got me curious now. This board does allow me to run 2, 8 pin 12V ATX power. I don't have the second plugged in right now, never thought about it

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!