Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:30:04 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 ... 389 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1621894 times)
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 03:28:43 AM
 #1041

Why not linux Smiley

Never used Linux before.  Yes, paid for my Windows licenses, sorry.  Rather not try to crack 7 and again it's the case of legitly using these systems for business purposes other than mining potentially that I want to look out for.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
1480854604
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854604

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854604
Reply with quote  #2

1480854604
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 03:45:13 AM
 #1042

Why not linux Smiley

Never used Linux before.  Yes, paid for my Windows licenses, sorry.  Rather not try to crack 7 and again it's the case of legitly using these systems for business purposes other than mining potentially that I want to look out for.
Sorry, I didn't imply that you ought to crack Windows, but rather that Linux would be more ideal Wink

Of course if you use them for gaming occasionally, then Windows might make sense. Dual booting is also a possibility.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:02:40 AM
 #1043

Why not linux Smiley

Never used Linux before.  Yes, paid for my Windows licenses, sorry.  Rather not try to crack 7 and again it's the case of legitly using these systems for business purposes other than mining potentially that I want to look out for.
Sorry, I didn't imply that you ought to crack Windows, but rather that Linux would be more ideal Wink

Of course if you use them for gaming occasionally, then Windows might make sense. Dual booting is also a possibility.

Oh, fair enough Wink.  True.  Could game on them or dual boot perhaps.   Thanks for the suggestions.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 04:10:02 AM
 #1044

Love your photos, The-Real-Link. What kind of camera do you have? Clearly no cell phone pics for you! Smiley

Electricbees
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


We are bees, and we hate you.


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:39:50 AM
 #1045

Love your photos, The-Real-Link. What kind of camera do you have? Clearly no cell phone pics for you! Smiley


Agreed! This picture really makes me wish I still had my acrylic panel cases... Deadly red glow to keep the family awake at night.
It's a clean machine, and it looks pretty rad. Cheesy

Donations are welcome!
1BEES19ds5gEnRBoU1qNFPfjRXe94trMG3
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 04:44:11 AM
 #1046

Agreed! This picture really makes me wish I still had my acrylic panel cases... Deadly red glow to keep the family awake at night.
It's a clean machine, and it looks pretty rad. Cheesy

Heh. Cases are for the rich. All of my computers except one server and my laptop are parts screwed/taped/glued/otherwise attached to wood/scrap metal frames. I wish I had some nice cases.   Sad

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
Electricbees
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


We are bees, and we hate you.


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 05:10:01 AM
 #1047

Agreed! This picture really makes me wish I still had my acrylic panel cases... Deadly red glow to keep the family awake at night.
It's a clean machine, and it looks pretty rad. Cheesy

Heh. Cases are for the rich. All of my computers except one server and my laptop are parts screwed/taped/glued/otherwise attached to wood/scrap metal frames. I wish I had some nice cases.   Sad
A friend of mine has his gaming computer screwed down to an old school lunch-tray he found...
Cases are indeed for the rich.

Donations are welcome!
1BEES19ds5gEnRBoU1qNFPfjRXe94trMG3
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 05:58:46 AM
 #1048

Love your photos, The-Real-Link. What kind of camera do you have? Clearly no cell phone pics for you! Smiley

Thanks very much Wink

Canon 5D Mark II + some L lenses.  Not rich - just carefully appropriate what limited funds I do have toward things that sadly, tend to cost a lot of money haha.  

No I do do wedding photography though so that does help pay for the toys.

Thanks for the comment on the red glow too.  Before I swapped my push/pulls to H80s, I had lots of red glowing there (the AIO waterblocks do make me slightly miffed that I lose the aesthetics though).



Here's how it used to be:


Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 08:55:16 AM
 #1049

@ The-Real-Link
I can somewhat understand why someone would want to use cases..  while it costs money and increases temps, it definitely improves Feng Shui and makes moving things around a bit easier. But why on earth would you equip every machine with a keyboard and monitor? And a HDD?

Even if you are new to linux, you really want to check out BAMT:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28967.0

The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 08:59:42 AM
 #1050

@ The-Real-Link
I can somewhat understand why someone would want to use cases..  while it costs money and increases temps, it definitely improves Feng Shui and makes moving things around a bit easier. But why on earth would you equip every machine with a keyboard and monitor? And a HDD?

Even if you are new to linux, you really want to check out BAMT:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28967.0

Heard BAMT is pretty neat so may look into that.  Even though all the systems are together now, you have to keep in mind I built one at a time and I couldn't guarantee they'd be near each other in the early stages so I'd have to monitor each one on it's own and to set up the OS and such.  Again, complete rigs that could be used for things outside of mining.  Guess I'm also a bit of a tidy person...not neat freak - just tidy Wink.  The monitors aren't super expensive though so no biggie.  Maybe in the future if I do more rigs I'll have just the systems but again if they're used in different places at once or by anyone outside of us techies here, they'd probaby like a monitor IMO.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 05:10:25 PM
 #1051

@ The-Real-Link
I can somewhat understand why someone would want to use cases..  while it costs money and increases temps, it definitely improves Feng Shui and makes moving things around a bit easier. But why on earth would you equip every machine with a keyboard and monitor? And a HDD?

Even if you are new to linux, you really want to check out BAMT:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28967.0

Heard BAMT is pretty neat so may look into that.  Even though all the systems are together now, you have to keep in mind I built one at a time and I couldn't guarantee they'd be near each other in the early stages so I'd have to monitor each one on it's own and to set up the OS and such.  Again, complete rigs that could be used for things outside of mining.  Guess I'm also a bit of a tidy person...not neat freak - just tidy Wink.  The monitors aren't super expensive though so no biggie.  Maybe in the future if I do more rigs I'll have just the systems but again if they're used in different places at once or by anyone outside of us techies here, they'd probaby like a monitor IMO.

Couldn't you just buy a monitor, keyboard, mouse, extra ram, aftermarket CPU cooler, etc if/when it is no longer used as a rig?  Still they look very nice.

While the monitors may be "cheap". Cheap" monitor, case, keyboard, mouse, aftermarket CPU cooler, extra RAM, higher end CPU, HDD, etc = lot of non-hashing cost.  Could have built 4 3x5970 rigs for that price.  That is why they are called "rigs" Smiley



vs


malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 07:53:33 PM
 #1052

Teh-Real-Link... very neat.. and nice.. but are you using these PCs for anythings aside from mining? If the answer is no you could have saved a ton of money with:

1) buying second hand hardware
2) using linux (if you are inexperienced with non-windows systems, BAMT is the best way to go for mining - you can start mining within less than a quarter of an hour at most)
3) cheap 1, max. 2 core low-end cpu with a box cooler
4) no case or improvised one (can cost $0-10).
5) less ram (2 GB for win7 64-bit, 1 GB for other OS'es)
6) LCDs, keyboards, hdds (you can use a 4 GB memory stick) etc.
7) cheaper motherboards (but not cheapest, best if there is at least ATX 24-pin connector and EPS12V 8-pin) - something with 1-2 PCI-E x16 slots and 3-4 PCI-E x1 slots + extenders = saved $$$ and lower temperatures.
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 09:59:19 PM
 #1053

  Ah gotcha.  Thanks for the suggestions.  Again guess I'm just used to complete systems, I'm afraid.

  The extra hardware (not counting the palty discount on RAM and not factoring in HDD) for all the monitors, CPUs, KB/mice, and CPU coolers only amounts to about $420 over the baseline as-low-as-you-can-go-on-Newegg prices - at this rate, the price of one 5970.  Well, again, as low as *I* wanted to go on prices.  Now, aside from the fact that at the moment, the only system that has a UD7 that could take a 3rd 5970 in it, I was debating on having to swap the LEPA G900 for one of the 1,200w units (looking at about 700w load for the system and 2 cards already so a third would put that wattage very close to, if not over, the limit).  

  Now CPU-wise ok I might be $120 over from getting cheapo single cores.  When I bought an X3 and saw that the two cards pegged it to 100%, I wasn't sure if it was just a bug compared to the CPU being powerful enough to keep the cards fed.  I think now it is rather the former and if a single core is really good enough to mine with then that's good to know.  But why spend 66% of the cost of a quad CPU on something that would suck for pretty much every other task except mining?  Can't BOINC on a single, nor render or anything for any decent efficiency.  Maybe my thought is just flawed but then again I thought I was building pretty "cheap" compared to previous systems I've had.  This thread still has shown me that no, you can go cheaper (much cheaper) Smiley.  Oh well, live and learn.

  Again these were originally intended to run at home where I could barely keep temps at decent levels (IMO, mid-70s and below) with two cards, let alone 3.  Now that they're in a cooler location I could probably spend a bit of time to swap things out if I had to.  I have all 5970s working away at the moment though so until I can do more builds or get more cards, I might be losing 200MH due to temps overall at the moment (ideal VS current setup).

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 10:14:13 PM
 #1054


  Now CPU-wise ok I might be $120 over from getting cheapo single cores.  When I bought an X3 and saw that the two cards pegged it to 100%, I wasn't sure if it was just a bug compared to the CPU being powerful enough to keep the cards fed.  I think now it is rather the former and if a single core is really good enough to mine with then that's good to know. 

CPU usage bug depends from cards, drivers and system you're using, if you are using linux you will probably be able to avoid this bug but if windows is a must then in the task manager you can change cpu affinity for your miner and make it run only on one core so CPU usage falls to 50% (assuming no other cpu resource consuming apps are not running in the background).
On 12.1 drivers with 2.6 sdk I noticed lower hashrates when miner was using 100% of core0 on Q9300 @ 1.8GHz. Only when I let it use all 4 cores would it return back to 'normal' speed.
No such issue on previous drivers (11.5, 2.3 sdk)
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 10:18:29 PM
 #1055


  Now CPU-wise ok I might be $120 over from getting cheapo single cores.  When I bought an X3 and saw that the two cards pegged it to 100%, I wasn't sure if it was just a bug compared to the CPU being powerful enough to keep the cards fed.  I think now it is rather the former and if a single core is really good enough to mine with then that's good to know.  

CPU usage bug depends from cards, drivers and system you're using, if you are using linux you will probably be able to avoid this bug but if windows is a must then in the task manager you can change cpu affinity for your miner and make it run only on one core so CPU usage falls to 50% (assuming no other cpu resource consuming apps are not running in the background).
On 12.1 drivers with 2.6 sdk I noticed lower hashrates when miner was using 100% of core0 on Q9300 @ 1.8GHz. Only when I let it use all 4 cores would it return back to 'normal' speed.
No such issue on previous drivers (11.5, 2.3 sdk)

Ahh, thanks.  Right now I have affinity turned off for all cards on all systems and none are using the CPU at all.  I don't think it's actively affecting my hashrates though - I'm right in line where I'm pretty sure I should be.  I mean, sure I could experiment and see if it improves things for sure but I'm not seeing anything detrimental at the moment (just 100% utliization).

Edit, oh global affinity via task manager, not GUIminer?  Got it.  Will try that.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 10:18:52 PM
 #1056

 Ah gotcha.  Thanks for the suggestions.  Again guess I'm just used to complete systems, I'm afraid.

  The extra hardware (not counting the palty discount on RAM and not factoring in HDD) for all the monitors, CPUs, KB/mice, and CPU coolers only amounts to about $420 over the baseline as-low-as-you-can-go-on-Newegg prices - at this rate, the price of one 5970.  Well, again, as low as *I* wanted to go on prices.  Now, aside from the fact that at the moment, the only system that has a UD7 that could take a 3rd 5970 in it, I was debating on having to swap the LEPA G900 for one of the 1,200w units (looking at about 700w load for the system and 2 cards already so a third would put that wattage very close to, if not over, the limit).  

  Now CPU-wise ok I might be $120 over from getting cheapo single cores.  When I bought an X3 and saw that the two cards pegged it to 100%, I wasn't sure if it was just a bug compared to the CPU being powerful enough to keep the cards fed.  I think now it is rather the former and if a single core is really good enough to mine with then that's good to know.  But why spend 66% of the cost of a quad CPU on something that would suck for pretty much every other task except mining?  Can't BOINC on a single, nor render or anything for any decent efficiency.  Maybe my thought is just flawed but then again I thought I was building pretty "cheap" compared to previous systems I've had.  This thread still has shown me that no, you can go cheaper (much cheaper) Smiley.  Oh well, live and learn.

  Again these were originally intended to run at home where I could barely keep temps at decent levels (IMO, mid-70s and below) with two cards, let alone 3.  Now that they're in a cooler location I could probably spend a bit of time to swap things out if I had to.  I have all 5970s working away at the moment though so until I can do more builds or get more cards, I might be losing 200MH due to temps overall at the moment (ideal VS current setup).

Well you learned stuff so that is always a good thing.

Buying a more powerful CPU "just in case" is not good economic sense.  I can see the desire to have cased rigs and going w/ dual 5970s is a good choice in that respect.


BTW the goal isn't "cheap".  My 2.2 GH/s rigs have a $260 PSU.  Hardly "cheap".  It is efficient.
As in what combination of equipment gives me the optimal MH/W, MH/$ and uptime.

The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 10:44:53 PM
 #1057

Ok experimented with affinity.  Oddly enough it does not change the hashrate of AMD cards.  It did however, drop my Nvidia's from 130MH or so to 6MH when I set affinity to one core.  No idea why.

Not skimping on the PSU for sure as you said.  No you're right that cheapest is not the best.  I feel I've just been as efficient for MH/$ that I could be.  Of course I could be more efficient as well.  Thanks.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Qu4k3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 11:07:31 PM
 #1058

Ok experimented with affinity.  Oddly enough it does not change the hashrate of AMD cards.  It did however, drop my Nvidia's from 130MH or so to 6MH when I set affinity to one core.  No idea why.

Not skimping on the PSU for sure as you said.  No you're right that cheapest is not the best.  I feel I've just been as efficient for MH/$ that I could be.  Of course I could be more efficient as well.  Thanks.
Are you using cudaminer with your 580?

I have a 570 mining with cudaminer (GUIminer) at 125 MH/s downclocked to 732 MHz. It's an OCd version @ 810 MHz (stock clock) reaches 140 MH/s.
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 16, 2012, 11:12:14 PM
 #1059

Ok experimented with affinity.  Oddly enough it does not change the hashrate of AMD cards.  It did however, drop my Nvidia's from 130MH or so to 6MH when I set affinity to one core.  No idea why.

Not skimping on the PSU for sure as you said.  No you're right that cheapest is not the best.  I feel I've just been as efficient for MH/$ that I could be.  Of course I could be more efficient as well.  Thanks.
Are you using cudaminer with your 580?

I have a 570 mining with cudaminer (GUIminer) at 125 MH/s downclocked to 732 MHz. It's an OCd version @ 810 MHz (stock clock) reaches 140 MH/s.

The directory shows:  guiminer\miners\puddinpop\rpcminer-cuda.exe so I presume that's what you mean, yeah.  Currently this second at 132 MH/sec @ 825 core.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Qu4k3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
February 16, 2012, 11:20:23 PM
 #1060

I have to played with flags to find a good balance between hashrate and desktop lag.

my flags are: -aggression=4 -gpugrid=480 -gputhreads=960

You can set aggresion higher, I think default is 6.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_Hardware_Comparison


Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 ... 389 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!