Bitcoin Forum
August 24, 2017, 01:26:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 [156] 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 ... 898 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] [XMG] MAGI | CPU mining | mPoW | mPoS | [MagiPay]  (Read 1536011 times)
Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:01:30 PM
 #3101

multiple thread thing might be about windows, as it works well on linux.

That's it precisely. The problem with multiple threads seems to be unique to Windows 64 bit and appears to be something to do with processor scheduling of posix threads. From my researches into this, it would appear that if the source code used boost-threads instead of pthreads then the problem would go away. However, I am no expert on such things and I have a workaround anyway so there is really no need to re-write the code and install additional compiler libraries to support boost-threads.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503537994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503537994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503537994
Reply with quote  #2

1503537994
Report to moderator
1503537994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503537994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503537994
Reply with quote  #2

1503537994
Report to moderator
1503537994
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503537994

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503537994
Reply with quote  #2

1503537994
Report to moderator
aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:45:58 PM
 #3102

multiple thread thing might be about windows, as it works well on linux.

That's it precisely. The problem with multiple threads seems to be unique to Windows 64 bit and appears to be something to do with processor scheduling of posix threads. From my researches into this, it would appear that if the source code used boost-threads instead of pthreads then the problem would go away. However, I am no expert on such things and I have a workaround anyway so there is really no need to re-write the code and install additional compiler libraries to support boost-threads.

If you have a workaround though then what we can do is simply include my scripts to make the multiple windows silent except for the one with output and upon termination it closes all the processes.

It's kinda easy to make work, I have something similar in simplicity although I didn't think to automate process termination. As it stands for mine everything is silent and to close you have to run another script. It's not terrible though.

I guess my biggest concern is that it appears your miner was meant to be made as user friendly as possible but if I can't get it to run, odds are most other people can't either. I don't mind working to help rewrite this with VBS. Batch scripting is a lot harder to read when it's as lengthy and formatted as yours. Batch scripting also doesn't have as many features either. For instance you can't utilize WMI whereas I can with VBS.

The biggest problem with ease of use right now is definitely in how you are authenticating with stratum. For the life of me I cannot get it to authenticate.
Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:50:17 PM
 #3103

Still not sure why my pool login is needed. Stratum only requires Pool URL, Pool worker name and worker password.

If you say so, but that is at variance with the instructions provided by Noncepool and Suprnova.

http://magi.nonce-pool.com/index.php?page=gettingstarted
https://xmg.suprnova.cc/index.php?page=gettingstarted

Also, the generic miner if I recall only utilizes SSE2 and no further instruction sets.

Nope and you have not done your homework. It supports AVX, AVX2 and XOP provided that the CPU and operating system support them. Take a look at the documentation provided with the source code at https://github.com/noncepool/m7magi-cpuminer and then re-read what I said earlier about CPU architectures and instruction sets. I have done my homework.

I can assist with rewriting it to be simpler\making it more user friendly. I even have a way to have you have your multiple instances vs multiple threads run silent as well as including a script to kill the silent tasks in the background.

Go right ahead. I had a few ideas myself about bundling the whole thing up, but also have a life with other things to do in my spare time. What I have works fine on everything I tried it on, so anything more is window-dressing imho. You still have not specified what your problem was at runtime with automine.bat and neither has the other person who said "it doesn't work".

As for why multiple instances runs faster than multiple threads that tells me the thread management in minerd is pretty shitty and that windows' built in thread scheduling is more efficient.

The problem is not really the fault of the minerd code. It runs fine under Linux, which is what it was developed for. The fault is more to do with the Cygwin compiler for 64 bit Windows and its iimitations with handling pthreads. The 32 bit Windows version does not exhibit the problem, but is very much slower as it does not support the more advanced instruction sets. 64 bit versions compiled using Msys/Mingw64 do not exhibit the problem as much as Cygwin, but still benefit from being started as multiple instances. Personally, I find that I can't get Mingw64 to install (it appears to be broken and all I get is an error message that says "res: ERROR" which is useless) and Mingw32 is a complete pain that needs libcurl shoe-horned into it with nothing being easy and straightforward. Mingw is such a pain in the butt that I have wasted more than enough of my spare time with it now and have abandoned it permanently. Now while I was writing this, I just successfully compiled a 32 bit Cygwin version of minerd with the new algorithm and will now go and test it.

aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:54:45 PM
 #3104

Also, the generic miner if I recall only utilizes SSE2 and no further instruction sets.

Quote
Nope and you have not done your homework. It supports AVX, AVX2 and XOP provided that the CPU and operating system support them. Take a look at the documentation provided with the source code at https://github.com/noncepool/m7magi-cpuminer and then re-read what I said earlier about CPU architectures and instruction sets. I have done my homework.

Any IF statements in the source I found that relate to using SSE or ANY optimizations appears to be commented out. It could very well be using x87 for all I can tell from that source.

Here is the configuration I use with the other miners

Start ivy.exe -a m7mhash -o stratum+tcp://mine2.magi.nonce-pool.com:4090 -u aceoyame.1 -p notgivingit -t 4

Note that I only have my username of my worker and my password? There is not a 3rd\4th input needed

Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:09:46 PM
 #3105

If you have a workaround though then what we can do is simply include my scripts to make the multiple windows silent except for the one with output and upon termination it closes all the processes.

That function is already built in to the Setup.bat, as I already pointed out. It asks you a question about this and the default answer is for the output from all the minerd processes to be displayed in one window. Closing that one window terminates all miner processes. I already thought about that. There is also a small tweak that will display the output from all the miner processes AND the monitor program in one window, but I did not document that.

The biggest problem with ease of use right now is definitely in how you are authenticating with stratum. For the life of me I cannot get it to authenticate.

Maybe that is because you insist on doing it the wrong way Cheesy At least you have now told me that the problem you are getting is to do with stratum authentication. Are you saying that if you just run automine.bat without any parameters or other tweaks/patches that it fails to connect with a stratum authentication error? Are you using the minerd.exe provided with the package? My tip would be to edit the failover.bat file to remove the line that says "@echo off" and run it up again. This should display the actual command line that is being used to start minerd.exe - the problem has to be there.

aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:19:43 PM
 #3106

If you have a workaround though then what we can do is simply include my scripts to make the multiple windows silent except for the one with output and upon termination it closes all the processes.

That function is already built in to the Setup.bat, as I already pointed out. It asks you a question about this and the default answer is for the output from all the minerd processes to be displayed in one window. Closing that one window terminates all miner processes. I already thought about that. There is also a small tweak that will display the output from all the miner processes AND the monitor program in one window, but I did not document that.

The biggest problem with ease of use right now is definitely in how you are authenticating with stratum. For the life of me I cannot get it to authenticate.

Maybe that is because you insist on doing it the wrong way Cheesy At least you have now told me that the problem you are getting is to do with stratum authentication. Are you saying that if you just run automine.bat without any parameters or other tweaks/patches that it fails to connect with a stratum authentication error? Are you using the minerd.exe provided with the package? My tip would be to edit the failover.bat file to remove the line that says "@echo off" and run it up again. This should display the actual command line that is being used to start minerd.exe - the problem has to be there.

I can't get it to be Aceoyame.1 at all in any of the configurations I tried in myminer.bat At worse it can be malicious as it tried mining as you when misconfigured or if you run the wrong file. If you have the first value after automine.bat as null, in this case "" it sets a username of spexx and mines as that

Why not just do it the normal way and allow someone to specify a worker ID? All you need to do is store a variable.

Edit: Simply running automine.bat produces the same result. Why are you including logic to mine as you in the miner?
Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:44:32 PM
 #3107

Any IF statements in the source I found that relate to using SSE or ANY optimizations appears to be commented out. It could very well be using x87 for all I can tell from that source.

Your ivy.exe was compiled from the same source as my generic miner, just a different compiler and more specific optimization flags were used. I had no idea that instruction set optimizations had been commented out. It is not my code, I am not a C++ programmer and have not been through it. That might explain some of my benchmark findings actually Smiley

Here is the configuration I use with the other miners

Start ivy.exe -a m7mhash -o stratum+tcp://mine2.magi.nonce-pool.com:4090 -u aceoyame.1 -p notgivingit -t 4

Note that I only have my username of my worker and my password? There is not a 3rd\4th input needed

Ok good. You have a login name of aceoyame and a worker name of 1 with a password of notgivingit. You do not have my recommended configuration of an alphabetic workername, or multiple alphabetic worker names with a numeric suffix, numbered consecutively. If you go through my Setup.bat, you should enter your login name as aceoyame, your worker name as 1 and your worker number should be blank, otherwise it will get screwed and probably assume your worker names to be something like 11, 12, 13 etc which would explain the stratum authentication errors. I strongly recommend that you set up your pool worker names as Worker0, Worker1, Worker2 etc - one for each minerd process (i.e. one for each CPU core in your computer). Having a single worker with multiple miners pointing at it is the wrong way to do it and requires the use of the "extranonce" parameter to work properly, which is another can of worms that I did not want to get into. As always it is a case of RTFM. Follow my instructions/recommendations to the letter and don't try to get clever and it will most likely work just fine.

Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:47:03 PM
 #3108

Edit: Simply running automine.bat produces the same result. Why are you including logic to mine as you in the miner?

Oh for goodness sake RTFM. This is documented in the read.me as well as the automine.bat file header.

djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 05:49:52 PM
 #3109

Any IF statements in the source I found that relate to using SSE or ANY optimizations appears to be commented out. It could very well be using x87 for all I can tell from that source.

Your ivy.exe was compiled from the same source as my generic miner, just a different compiler and more specific optimization flags were used. I had no idea that instruction set optimizations had been commented out. It is not my code, I am not a C++ programmer and have not been through it. That might explain some of my benchmark findings actually Smiley

Here is the configuration I use with the other miners

Start ivy.exe -a m7mhash -o stratum+tcp://mine2.magi.nonce-pool.com:4090 -u aceoyame.1 -p notgivingit -t 4

Note that I only have my username of my worker and my password? There is not a 3rd\4th input needed

Ok good. You have a login name of aceoyame and a worker name of 1 with a password of notgivingit. You do not have my recommended configuration of an alphabetic workername, or multiple alphabetic worker names with a numeric suffix, numbered consecutively. If you go through my Setup.bat, you should enter your login name as aceoyame, your worker name as 1 and your worker number should be blank, otherwise it will get screwed and probably assume your worker names to be something like 11, 12, 13 etc which would explain the stratum authentication errors. I strongly recommend that you set up your pool worker names as Worker0, Worker1, Worker2 etc - one for each minerd process (i.e. one for each CPU core in your computer). Having a single worker with multiple miners pointing at it is the wrong way to do it and requires the use of the "extranonce" parameter to work properly, which is another can of worms that I did not want to get into. As always it is a case of RTFM. Follow my instructions/recommendations to the letter and don't try to get clever and it will most likely work just fine.
no offense but when you give explanation put a few spaces in your paragraph, don't write one sentence of 5 lines...
I almost felt asleep in the middle (actually I haven't been able to read it to the end...  Grin)

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:51:54 PM
 #3110

Any IF statements in the source I found that relate to using SSE or ANY optimizations appears to be commented out. It could very well be using x87 for all I can tell from that source.

Your ivy.exe was compiled from the same source as my generic miner, just a different compiler and more specific optimization flags were used. I had no idea that instruction set optimizations had been commented out. It is not my code, I am not a C++ programmer and have not been through it. That might explain some of my benchmark findings actually Smiley

Here is the configuration I use with the other miners

Start ivy.exe -a m7mhash -o stratum+tcp://mine2.magi.nonce-pool.com:4090 -u aceoyame.1 -p notgivingit -t 4

Note that I only have my username of my worker and my password? There is not a 3rd\4th input needed

Ok good. You have a login name of aceoyame and a worker name of 1 with a password of notgivingit. You do not have my recommended configuration of an alphabetic workername, or multiple alphabetic worker names with a numeric suffix, numbered consecutively. If you go through my Setup.bat, you should enter your login name as aceoyame, your worker name as 1 and your worker number should be blank, otherwise it will get screwed and probably assume your worker names to be something like 11, 12, 13 etc which would explain the stratum authentication errors. I strongly recommend that you set up your pool worker names as Worker0, Worker1, Worker2 etc - one for each minerd process (i.e. one for each CPU core in your computer). Having a single worker with multiple miners pointing at it is the wrong way to do it and requires the use of the "extranonce" parameter to work properly, which is another can of worms that I did not want to get into. As always it is a case of RTFM. Follow my instructions/recommendations to the letter and don't try to get clever and it will most likely work just fine.
no offense but when you give explanation put a few spaces in your paragraph, don't write one sentence of 5 lines...
I almost felt asleep in the middle (actually I haven't been able to read it to the end...  Grin)

orly? Is that why my 20 machines pointing at my one worker ID works fine? I have 40 machines split between two users ID's.

As for saying to RTFM do you expect people to do that? They are going to simply click whatever they think is the right file and get going. I am already working on a script to try to package things easier.

I am taking simplicity-myr and cutting it way the hell down for now
111magic
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 06:30:50 PM
 #3111

FYI:
Give-away in China; first target has almost been reached.
At the moment there are various pieces written for other websites.
I myself am in agreement with companies for adding new services.
The XMG thread (other languages​​) are almost all updated.


  Coin MAGI  . XMG  
Coin Source : Trust Verified    [ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ]
  ♓ XMG 97XBFXZX5Ce77BQWGbg5N5ygCyqmwGJ1Z8
  ANN THREAD MAGIPAY FAQ FORUM
BTC 14eLeLUHi8sSt4u7aQK8qxpzizPjL9LV7Y
Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 06:59:50 PM
 #3112

Is that why my 20 machines pointing at my one worker ID works fine? I have 40 machines split between two users ID's.

Oh that works. It gives very little indication of any problem, but if you are very observant you will spot it. You need to study further to see why it doesn't work just fine.

As for saying to RTFM do you expect people to do that?

Yes. Why didn't you? When you couldn't get it working, you still didn't RTFM. Excuse me while I go bang my head against a brick wall Cheesy

They are going to simply click whatever they think is the right file and get going.

Which is one of the reasons why if you just start automine.bat it works right out of the box. Same thing with XMGminer.bat and Myminer.bat too.

I am already working on a script to try to package things easier.

I am taking simplicity-myr and cutting it way the hell down for now

That's good. I look forward to seeing the finished article and would be very happy to test it out. I have no problem with somebody taking the ideas and producing a slick Windows app for it. If you can find a way of collecting all the required information to start mining without asking a single question of the user, then it will be truly remarkable Cheesy Clairvoyant mode Cheesy

Meanwhile, I have 64 bit and 32 bit versions of minerd with the new algo compiled and tested, ready to go.

aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 07:04:53 PM
 #3113

Quote
That's good. I look forward to seeing the finished article and would be very happy to test it out. I have no problem with somebody taking the ideas and producing a slick Windows app for it. If you can find a way of collecting all the required information to start mining without asking a single question of the user, then it will be truly remarkable Cheesy Clairvoyant mode Cheesy


Good thing I already have something damn near close to a single click for a much more complicated coin

http://myriadplatform.org/simplicity/

Also there's a GUI update coming later that I could bring over

http://myriadplatform.org/simplicity-gui-update/
Spexx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Mining Co-operative


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 07:31:48 PM
 #3114

no offense but when you give explanation put a few spaces in your paragraph, don't write one sentence of 5 lines...
I almost felt asleep in the middle (actually I haven't been able to read it to the end...  Grin)

Rofl Cheesy Cheesy

Grammar Nazi would like to point out there was no sentence spanning five lines anyway Wink Plenty of full stops and correct use of the apostrophe too!

djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 08:18:46 PM
 #3115

no offense but when you give explanation put a few spaces in your paragraph, don't write one sentence of 5 lines...
I almost felt asleep in the middle (actually I haven't been able to read it to the end...  Grin)

Rofl Cheesy Cheesy

Grammar Nazi would like to point out there was no sentence spanning five lines anyway Wink Plenty of full stops and correct use of the apostrophe too!
not grammar nazi, as english isn't my mother tongue, just someone who thinks that ultra-dense text are completely unreadable (or at least unpleasant) especially on an international forum. Stop trying to make people blind  Grin

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
aceoyame
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 08:45:06 PM
 #3116

Here is the first release of Simplicity-XMG

Feel free to provide feedback and let me know of any bugs. Here is the Repo https://github.com/aceoyame/Simplicity-xmg

Use the download zip option to download simplicity. Instructions for what to do are in the repo as well

Edit: Just wanted to say it isn't as feature packed as Simplicity-MYR since XMG does not have P2Pool or electrum yet but I am working towards getting us those.

This is a stopgap for now. It also uses existing miners and will be updated with new ones after the hard fork. I have been in contact with the appropriate people for that
111magic
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 08:53:03 PM
 #3117

Enormously proud of this community!
I've never seen so many developments and cooperation.
It really is exellent to see.
Keep it up.
The marketing side of Magi is working hard to expand the possibilities and the community of XMG.

Thank you for your work Aceoyame!!!


  Coin MAGI  . XMG  
Coin Source : Trust Verified    [ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ]
  ♓ XMG 97XBFXZX5Ce77BQWGbg5N5ygCyqmwGJ1Z8
  ANN THREAD MAGIPAY FAQ FORUM
BTC 14eLeLUHi8sSt4u7aQK8qxpzizPjL9LV7Y
hollowframe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 10:51:03 PM
 #3118

innovation everywhere. This needs to be on top !
joelao95
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 980


Coin of the Magi!


View Profile
October 25, 2014, 04:34:58 AM
 #3119

Here is the first release of Simplicity-XMG

Feel free to provide feedback and let me know of any bugs. Here is the Repo https://github.com/aceoyame/Simplicity-xmg

Use the download zip option to download simplicity. Instructions for what to do are in the repo as well

Edit: Just wanted to say it isn't as feature packed as Simplicity-MYR since XMG does not have P2Pool or electrum yet but I am working towards getting us those.

This is a stopgap for now. It also uses existing miners and will be updated with new ones after the hard fork. I have been in contact with the appropriate people for that
Thanks for the work, aceoyame, just had a try, works great.


  Coin MAGI  . XMG   
Coin Source : Trust Verified    [ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ]
  ♓.NΣTWORK-DΣPΣNDΣNT  RΣWARDING SYSTΣM  ※ 
  ANN THREAD MAGIPAY FAQ FORUM
.CPU Mining   PoS-II   PoM   Unique Block Reward 
JimmyTaylor
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2014, 05:37:00 AM
 #3120

What's next?

Coin Magi the First M7M coin defeating botnets and benefiting community at large. join irc for rain of xmg https://kiwiirc.com/client/irc.freenode.net/#magi
Pages: « 1 ... 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 [156] 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 ... 898 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!