Bitcoin Forum
June 29, 2024, 11:15:25 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 [422] 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 ... 1240 »
  Print  
Author Topic: CCminer(SP-MOD) Modded GPU kernels.  (Read 2347503 times)
induktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 710
Merit: 502



View Profile
January 06, 2016, 02:05:19 AM
 #8421

Doesn't work in any of my rigs, probably a driver issue:

Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -q -d POWER -i 0

==============NVSMI LOG==============

Timestamp                           : Wed Jan  6 03:03:10 2016
Driver Version                      : 346.59
Attached GPUs                       : 3
GPU 0000:01:00.0
    Power Readings
        Power Management            : N/A
        Power Draw                  : N/A
        Power Limit                 : N/A
        Default Power Limit         : N/A
        Enforced Power Limit        : N/A
        Min Power Limit             : N/A
        Max Power Limit             : N/A
    Power Samples
        Duration                    : N/A
        Number of Samples           : N/A
        Max                         : N/A
        Min                         : N/A
        Avg                         : N/A

and when I issue a change in any of the cards:
Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -pl 60 -i 1
Changing power management limit is not supported for GPU: 0000:02:00.0.
Treating as warning and moving on.
All done.

 Sad
GPU are all 750Ti  (gigabyte and EVGA FTW)

BTC addr: 1vTGnFgaM2WJjswwmbj6N2AQBWcHfimSc
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1114


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 04:53:55 AM
 #8422

Doesn't work in any of my rigs, probably a driver issue:

Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -q -d POWER -i 0

==============NVSMI LOG==============

Timestamp                           : Wed Jan  6 03:03:10 2016
Driver Version                      : 346.59
Attached GPUs                       : 3
GPU 0000:01:00.0
    Power Readings
        Power Management            : N/A
        Power Draw                  : N/A
        Power Limit                 : N/A
        Default Power Limit         : N/A
        Enforced Power Limit        : N/A
        Min Power Limit             : N/A
        Max Power Limit             : N/A
    Power Samples
        Duration                    : N/A
        Number of Samples           : N/A
        Max                         : N/A
        Min                         : N/A
        Avg                         : N/A

and when I issue a change in any of the cards:
Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -pl 60 -i 1
Changing power management limit is not supported for GPU: 0000:02:00.0.
Treating as warning and moving on.
All done.

 Sad
GPU are all 750Ti  (gigabyte and EVGA FTW)


Works on my 750ti with driver 352.63.

AKA JayDDee, cpuminer-opt developer. https://github.com/JayDDee/cpuminer-opt
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5226770.msg53865575#msg53865575
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
dominuspro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 06:41:49 AM
 #8423

Doesn't work in any of my rigs, probably a driver issue:

Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -q -d POWER -i 0

==============NVSMI LOG==============

Timestamp                           : Wed Jan  6 03:03:10 2016
Driver Version                      : 346.59
Attached GPUs                       : 3
GPU 0000:01:00.0
    Power Readings
        Power Management            : N/A
        Power Draw                  : N/A
        Power Limit                 : N/A
        Default Power Limit         : N/A
        Enforced Power Limit        : N/A
        Min Power Limit             : N/A
        Max Power Limit             : N/A
    Power Samples
        Duration                    : N/A
        Number of Samples           : N/A
        Max                         : N/A
        Min                         : N/A
        Avg                         : N/A

and when I issue a change in any of the cards:
Code:
root@room2:~# nvidia-smi -pl 60 -i 1
Changing power management limit is not supported for GPU: 0000:02:00.0.
Treating as warning and moving on.
All done.

 Sad
GPU are all 750Ti  (gigabyte and EVGA FTW)


Probably a driver issue or maybe it has something in common with coolbits 28...
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 08:13:00 AM
 #8424

The cryptomining blog has compared release 74 with release 78 on a gtx 970 card x86 build(compute 5.2):

blakecoin +8%
lyra2 +6%
quark +3.8%
lyra2v2 +1.3%
x11 +0.2%

I have done alot of work to reach these speeds with cuda 7.5 ( 41 commits):

https://github.com/sp-hash/ccminer/commits/windows

But I am not done...

x13, x15, qubit and neoscrypt are still behind.


Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 09:30:11 AM
Last edit: January 06, 2016, 09:41:16 AM by sp_
 #8425

On AMD you probobly undervolted your cards to get them to use less power. On Nvidia you change the TDP of the card. You can do it in software with the nvidia-smi tool, or modify the bios. (voids warranty)
yes I modded the bios myself, 0.8V, stable at 860Mhz, 1250 mem (sapphire 7950 dual X oc)
are you saying that i can run under linux, before loading ccminer, a nvidia-smi sentence that will change in real time the TDP of every card??? WOW!!! I thought that the only way was modifying the BIOS!, do you have any link / tuto or hint how to?, I will get right on it!.

To modify your bios to change the TDP you can follow these steps:

http://cryptomining-blog.com/1014-how-to-increase-the-geforce-gtx-750-ti-power-target-limit/

But a software solution is bether. Upgrade to the latest drivers.

It works on Linux. You might also want to set persistence mode: nvidia-smi -pm 1 -i 0

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1091


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 11:01:04 AM
 #8426

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx

sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 11:09:57 AM
 #8427

Try to replace a 980ti with  a 750ti card. Does it work?
Do you have 8gig of ram in your rig?

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
AzzAz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1030
Merit: 1006


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 11:17:29 AM
 #8428

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1091


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 11:25:06 AM
 #8429

Try to replace a 980ti with  a 750ti card. Does it work?
Do you have 8gig of ram in your rig?


the 6 x 750ti oc lp cards work in a factor of 6 - but they are installed ( with similar specs - apart from the psu ) as another miner ...

so in effect - no i havent tried them in THIS machine ... so that should really be the next step ...

the machine has 16gb high performance ram ( 2 x 8gb kingston hyperx 1600 ) - so it 'shouldnt' be the ram causing this ... but i have never built a machine this large as a miner ( just because i have never had the cash to - my mate does ) so anything could be the go with this ...

why do you think it could be lack of internal ram? ... i cant remember whether these boards support 4 x dimm slots on board ( as im not in the office until tomorrow afternoon ) ...

if so - ill buy another set of the 16gb kingston hyperx fury ram and see how it goes tomorrow ...

but let me tell you sp - just in the benchmark modes - these things are a hashers delight ... the extreme version is one hell of a hasher and is only $30AUD more than the g1 ... all stock - no oc ...

if its not the ram - then im STILL completely stumped ...

#crysx

chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1091


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 11:27:15 AM
 #8430

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections

unlock power at bios? ... im not quite understanding what you mean ...

its not the connections ... as no matter which card you disconnect - it ALWAYS works when there is 5cards attached - and NEVER loads the nvidia driver when there is 6cards attached - no matter which combination of cards are plugged in to the pcie connectors ...

#crysx

AzzAz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1030
Merit: 1006


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 11:41:49 AM
 #8431

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections

unlock power at bios? ... im not quite understanding what you mean ...

its not the connections ... as no matter which card you disconnect - it ALWAYS works when there is 5cards attached - and NEVER loads the nvidia driver when there is 6cards attached - no matter which combination of cards are plugged in to the pcie connectors ...

#crysx
I had that issue, and am also far away from my rigs so can't look at bioses, but I remember there was power limit settings (H81 ProBTC). It was MOBO powering max 4 or 5 cards for me, So I set BIOS, cleaned all connections and - it worked... ( 6x 960 cards, windows )
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 11:54:56 AM
 #8432

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections

unlock power at bios? ... im not quite understanding what you mean ...

its not the connections ... as no matter which card you disconnect - it ALWAYS works when there is 5cards attached - and NEVER loads the nvidia driver when there is 6cards attached - no matter which combination of cards are plugged in to the pcie connectors ...

#crysx

Tried it on Windows? Just as a test?
chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1091


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 11:56:29 AM
 #8433

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections

unlock power at bios? ... im not quite understanding what you mean ...

its not the connections ... as no matter which card you disconnect - it ALWAYS works when there is 5cards attached - and NEVER loads the nvidia driver when there is 6cards attached - no matter which combination of cards are plugged in to the pcie connectors ...

#crysx
I had that issue, and am also far away from my rigs so can't look at bioses, but I remember there was power limit settings (H81 ProBTC). It was MOBO powering max 4 or 5 cards for me, So I set BIOS, cleaned all connections and - it worked... ( 6x 960 cards, windows )

ok ... ill check the settings tomorrow afternoon when i get in ...

i dont remember any sort of power settings in the bios with this same motherboard on the 6 x gigabyte 750ti oc lp cards ... but they are not computer 5.2 devices ( compute 5.0 ) so i dunno if that has anything to do with it also ...

but i appreciate that info - so ill pour over the bios settings and see how that goes ...

tanx again ...

#crysx

chrysophylax
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1091


--- ChainWorks Industries ---


View Profile WWW
January 06, 2016, 11:58:43 AM
 #8434

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx
And if it is ProBTC mobo, did you unlock power @ BIOS? Usually it is power related, double check ( and clean) all connections

unlock power at bios? ... im not quite understanding what you mean ...

its not the connections ... as no matter which card you disconnect - it ALWAYS works when there is 5cards attached - and NEVER loads the nvidia driver when there is 6cards attached - no matter which combination of cards are plugged in to the pcie connectors ...

#crysx

Tried it on Windows? Just as a test?

no - i dont install windows miners ...

but as a test - what windows and what sort of install would be suggested ...

linux 'sees' the 6cards in the os - but the nvidia drivers refuse to load when all 6cards are running at once ...

#crysx

sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 12:08:07 PM
 #8435

Windows 8.1.

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 12:09:46 PM
 #8436

Windows 8.1.


Go for 10

I have better experience with 10 than with 8.1 to be honest.

Especially with 5+ rigs.

Good Luck!
sp_ (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1087

Team Black developer


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 12:28:36 PM
 #8437

win10 doesn't work well in memory algos.

Etherum/cryptonight

Team Black Miner (ETHB3 ETH ETC VTC KAWPOW FIROPOW MEOWPOW + dual mining + tripple mining.. https://github.com/sp-hash/TeamBlackMiner
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 01:00:25 PM
 #8438

win10 doesn't work well in memory algos.

Etherum/cryptonight

Nvidia i assume?

290x doing ethereum on Windows 8 gave me 26Mhz

Same on Windows 10 gives me 27Mhz.

 Smiley
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1051


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 01:28:33 PM
 #8439

hi all ...

can anyone help with this issue i have with the current build ...

im stumped as to why the 6th card on the new 'big' build of 980ti g1 and 980ti extreme refuses to work with the latest drivers ...

remove just ONE card from the lot - and it will run and mine ... and mine like a bat out of hell at that ...

the setup is exactly the same as the 750ti oc lp card setup - but these cards refuse to work with more than 5 cards ...

has anyone had an issue like this before? ... would it be an issue with onboard ram? ...

the system has 16gb high performance ram - h81probtc - g1840gpu - kingston v300 120gb sdd - 2 x corsair ax1200 psu ( 3 cards per psu - with the first psu running the power to the motherboard and ssd ) - usb3 risers ( all powered ) along with the 2 x 4pin molex power connectors ( as redundancy ) via the motherboard - 4 x gigabyte 980ti g1 cards + 2 x gigabyte 980ti extreme cards ( higher clocked ) for a total of 6 cards ...

when 5 cards of ANY combination are running - all is ok ... when the 6th card is installed - the boot refuses to load nvidia drivers ... the version of drivers plays no part in this as the drivers have been tested with different versions and they ALL do the same thing ...

fedora 23 x64 cuda 7.5 ( f23x64c75 ) and ccminer-spmod78 ...

the elusive 6th card is the only thing holding this monster of a miner back ... and is holding back the installation into its custom aluminium frame ...

any ideas? ... anyone? ..

#crysx

Weird. I'd try only using 1 stick of ram (or disable dual channel), using one card as main and disable onboard graphics, try different BIOS settings (pcie link speed) and of course disable render standby, try different risers, drivers, etc.
Also, disable USB3, only use 1 sata device (in case you ran out of PCIE lanes).

Not your keys, not your coins!
dominuspro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 06, 2016, 02:53:16 PM
 #8440

@chrysophylax
6x 980ti is not very common Smiley
My experience with h81pro btc + 8GB + G1820 is running incredibly troublefree from the beginning. I couldn't be happier. Both lubuntu(usb stick) and windows 7(sata SSD) runs perfectly without any issue. Even installing Win with all gpus allready plugged and using wifi usb dongle all the time.
The biggest difference from Your build is 980+3x970+960+750ti and all running from the same psu(LEPA G1600).
I have never plugged the molex connectors to the motherboard. It is meant to power the old(shitty) unpowered pcie risers.
I have forgot the exact bios settings, I think I set the pcie to gen1 instead of gen2 or 3 and switched off the integrated cpu graphics for sure.

We might have a different bios version on the mobo or it might be just 980ti using more resources.

On my other desktop motherboard(much more expensive one) I got many problems allready with 3 or 4 gpu's. I had to plug one by one and sometimes it didn't work until I changed the pcie riser... Very strange behavior.
 
Good luck  Wink

BTW I prefer Win7 x64 by far for mining.
Pages: « 1 ... 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 [422] 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 ... 1240 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!