Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 03:07:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Technobit 2HEX4M Setup [HD]  (Read 7996 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2014, 01:59:09 AM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2) Cooling
3) Case
4a) Configuration (TL-MR3020)
4b) Configuration (Windows PC)
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy


0a) What to Expect (top)
Technobit's 2HEX4M combines two HEX4Ms into a self contained case. Each board utilises four of BlackArrow's 28nm ASICs on large, flat PCBs. An external
controller in the form of TP-LINK TL-MR3020 or Windows PC is required.

Chips8x BlackArrow Minion
Hashrate800GH
Rated Voltage12V
Rated Current71A
Power.Consumption~850W

 

      

      


0b) What You Need (top)
You will need a few accessories, a power supply and a controller to get started. I recommend getting the controller from Technobit as they will preload it
with the latest firmware.


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         


1) Powering (top)
2HEX4Ms do not come with a power supply, and you will need a typical computer PSU with 4xPCI-E 6 pin power connectors. The PCI-E connections are
plugged into a breakout board on the top of the unit, which extends the cables to the actual boards. Be extremely careful not to touch this board while in
operation. We also need to tell the PSU to always be on, as there isn't a motherboard to do this. Cut a paper clip into a U and insert it into the green wire
and either black wire to the side of the green wire. Tape it up for safety. The power supply will now be controlled by its switch on the rear socket.

      


2) Cooling (top)
Each mining board has a full cover aluminium heatsink on the rear, and another over the chips on the top side. Two powerful and loud 120mm Sunon
PMD1212PMB1-A
fans force air through the heatsinks, keeping everything cool.

      

      

      




3) Case (top)
An aluminium case houses the mining boards and helps direct airflow through the heatsinks.

      

      


4a) Configuration (TL-MR3020) (top)
An external controller is required which can either be a TP-LINK TL-MR3020 router or a Windows based PC.

Wiring:
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the TL-MR3020 to you router.
  • Plug a mini usb cable from the TL-MR3020 to the mains power adapter.
  • Plug 2 mini usb cables from the 2HEX4M to the TL-MR3020.
  • Plug in four PCI-E connectors into the HEX4M.

Using a modified TP Link MR3020
  • Power on as above.
  • Flash Technobit's latest custom WRT firmware (or purchase their preflashed TL-MR3020.
  • Make sure or your router's subnet is 0, ie 192.168.0.x. If not then change it to 0, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.0.99 - this goes to the MR3020's configuration page.
  • Login using "root" as the username and password.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> LAN -> Edit.
  • Change protocol to DHCP and click "Save & Apply".
  • Using a browser, navigate to your router and find the IP it has assigned the MR3020 and navigate to that IP.
  • Navigate to the page CGMiner -> Configuration. Enter your pool information in the below format.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the MR3020 to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.0.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.0.99.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the MR3020 to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.


Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword

    4b) Configuration (Windows PC) (top)
    An external controller is required which can either be a TP-LINK TL-MR3020 router or a Windows based PC.

    Wiring:
    • Plug in two mini usb cables from the HEX4M to your Windows PC.
    • Plug in four PCI-E connectors into the HEX4M.

    Using a Windows based PC
    • Windows will try and install its own drivers. Wait until it finishes.
    • Download the Zadig tool and run it.
    • Choose the HEX4M and "WinUSB". Click install driver.
    • Once installed, you may have to restart your PC.
    • Download this specific version of CGMiner and extract it.
    • Edit CGMiner.conf using notepad, with your pool and miner information in it, an example as below.
    • Run CGMiner.exe to start mining.


    Antpool Register!
    Code:
    Servers : stratum.antpool.com:3333
    User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
    Password: anypassword
    BTCGuild Register!
    Code:
    Servers : stratum.btcguild.com:3333
    User    : username_worker
    Password: anypassword
    GHash IO Register!
    Code:
    Servers : us1.ghash.io:3333
    User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
    Password: anypassword




    5) Troubleshooting (top)

    ProblemSolution
    My.power.supply's.cables.are.braided.or.aren't.color.coded                             - See below diagram for pin-outs.

          


    Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
    party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

    6) Where to buy (top)

                        
                


    1513523226
    Hero Member
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1513523226

    View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

    Ignore
    1513523226
    Reply with quote  #2

    1513523226
    Report to moderator
    1513523226
    Hero Member
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1513523226

    View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

    Ignore
    1513523226
    Reply with quote  #2

    1513523226
    Report to moderator
    1513523226
    Hero Member
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1513523226

    View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

    Ignore
    1513523226
    Reply with quote  #2

    1513523226
    Report to moderator
    Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
    1513523226
    Hero Member
    *
    Offline Offline

    Posts: 1513523226

    View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

    Ignore
    1513523226
    Reply with quote  #2

    1513523226
    Report to moderator
    Zich
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 798



    View Profile
    October 25, 2014, 02:37:35 AM
     #2

    Wrong title maybe  Roll Eyes
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    October 25, 2014, 03:15:35 AM
     #3

    Wrong title maybe  Roll Eyes

    Oops, fixed ^_^ This is why you don't write titles at 4am.

    MasterRadix
    Full Member
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 224


    Revolutionizing dapps with global network solution


    View Profile WWW
    October 25, 2014, 08:05:12 AM
     #4

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    ▬▬▬▬ ● The Dome Global Wi-Fi Network ● ▬▬▬▬
    website    facebook    twitter
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ICO ANN NOW▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    October 25, 2014, 08:42:39 AM
     #5

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    I'm trying to test it now, but its hard without knowing the appropriate voltages for each hash rate. I have no doubt though that lower clock rates will have significant power savings though, as the Minion is pretty decent in that respect.

    MasterRadix
    Full Member
    ***
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 224


    Revolutionizing dapps with global network solution


    View Profile WWW
    October 27, 2014, 11:10:44 AM
     #6

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    I'm trying to test it now, but its hard without knowing the appropriate voltages for each hash rate. I have no doubt though that lower clock rates will have significant power savings though, as the Minion is pretty decent in that respect.

    Thanks!
    Any news about that?

    ▬▬▬▬ ● The Dome Global Wi-Fi Network ● ▬▬▬▬
    website    facebook    twitter
    ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ICO ANN NOW▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    October 27, 2014, 11:39:01 AM
     #7

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    I'm trying to test it now, but its hard without knowing the appropriate voltages for each hash rate. I have no doubt though that lower clock rates will have significant power savings though, as the Minion is pretty decent in that respect.

    Thanks!
    Any news about that?

    Its too subjective to give actual numbers to be honest, but there are significant power savings to be had at the cost of hash rate.

    y_boonstra
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 377


    View Profile
    October 27, 2014, 01:49:40 PM
     #8

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    I'm trying to test it now, but its hard without knowing the appropriate voltages for each hash rate. I have no doubt though that lower clock rates will have significant power savings though, as the Minion is pretty decent in that respect.

    Its the same as 2x a HEX4M board so see my speadsheet for some info..

    I have done some more power meassurments.

    my results so far:


    POWER


    SPEED/b]


    EFFICIENCY





    0 = Not stable
    bobsag3
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 546

    Owner, Minersource.net


    View Profile
    October 27, 2014, 06:32:49 PM
     #9

    As always: Very nice guide.
    Do you have more infos about the hashrate in "power saving mode" technobit is talking about on their site (" 0.58 W/GHs ")?
    Thanks

    I'm trying to test it now, but its hard without knowing the appropriate voltages for each hash rate. I have no doubt though that lower clock rates will have significant power savings though, as the Minion is pretty decent in that respect.

    At .71-.73V, each minion should be able to do ~80GH for .5w/gh at the chip level (700-800mhz on the chip)
    canemore
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 9


    View Profile
    December 02, 2014, 10:17:56 PM
     #10

    Great guide dogie
    I've followed it to the T, but my pc and zadig keeps seeing it as a hex8A1 which I have got 3 running fine. Any ideas that could help a noob?
    Cheers Mike
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    December 02, 2014, 11:00:08 PM
     #11

    Great guide dogie
    I've followed it to the T, but my pc and zadig keeps seeing it as a hex8A1 which I have got 3 running fine. Any ideas that could help a noob?
    Cheers Mike

    You'll have to ask Marto unfortunately, I'm not sure what cross interactions there are with multiple devices.

    Zich
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 798



    View Profile
    December 03, 2014, 01:56:38 AM
     #12

    Great guide dogie
    I've followed it to the T, but my pc and zadig keeps seeing it as a hex8A1 which I have got 3 running fine. Any ideas that could help a noob?
    Cheers Mike


    This may cause by "handle usb detect error" setting. You can set it to hex4m and see the behavior.

    But if i may suggest, it's better to use TPLINK TL-MR3020 as controller then using PC. Cheap, easy configure, low power consumption.
    You can buy it in your local computer store then flash it with technobit firmware.
    canemore
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 9


    View Profile
    December 03, 2014, 09:18:17 AM
     #13

    Thanks dogie and thanks zich
    I'm going to have a play, and get a tp link
    hopefully I'll have it sorted soon Smiley
    is it possible to run the hex4ms and the hex8A1 together?
    Cheers Mike
    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    December 03, 2014, 10:14:53 AM
     #14

    Thanks dogie and thanks zich
    I'm going to have a play, and get a tp link
    hopefully I'll have it sorted soon Smiley
    is it possible to run the hex4ms and the hex8A1 together?
    Cheers Mike

    Yes, there should be no reason why not.

    Zich
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 798



    View Profile
    December 03, 2014, 10:24:46 AM
     #15

    Thanks dogie and thanks zich
    I'm going to have a play, and get a tp link
    hopefully I'll have it sorted soon Smiley
    is it possible to run the hex4ms and the hex8A1 together?
    Cheers Mike

    Anytime dude  Smiley
    If you gonna play with TPLINK TL-MR3020, checkout this thread How to upgrade TPLINK TL-MR3020 firmware to technobit openwrt
    canemore
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 9


    View Profile
    December 03, 2014, 07:09:28 PM
     #16

    right ordered a tp link , but still cant get windows to see it for what it is  Undecided
    i`m getting a few ghs out of it and a lot of
    HEXM 0 CHIP 0,1,2,3 last received nonce 2 secs ago reset
     and it see`s
    0: HEXM 0  : 1016  805/0802mv 20.12gh ....... this is on cgminer technobit win 0-3-8
    i`m using 2 cm750m to power, (but can mod a 2kw server psu)
    i`m a bit concerned because its a 2hex4m but i can only see 1 on cgminer screen
    anyone got any ideas???
    thanks mike
    Zich
    Hero Member
    *****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 798



    View Profile
    December 04, 2014, 01:10:52 AM
     #17

    right ordered a tp link , but still cant get windows to see it for what it is  Undecided
    i`m getting a few ghs out of it and a lot of
    HEXM 0 CHIP 0,1,2,3 last received nonce 2 secs ago reset
     and it see`s
    0: HEXM 0  : 1016  805/0802mv 20.12gh ....... this is on cgminer technobit win 0-3-8
    i`m using 2 cm750m to power, (but can mod a 2kw server psu)
    i`m a bit concerned because its a 2hex4m but i can only see 1 on cgminer screen
    anyone got any ideas???
    thanks mike

    Seem like wrong setting. Can you post your setting?
    There is 2 board in there hence you will need 2 usb cable(1 usb cable per board) to connect 2hex4m to HOST.
    If using TPLINK TL-MR3020 you will need powered usb hub.
    canemore
    Newbie
    *
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 9


    View Profile
    December 05, 2014, 05:45:05 PM
     #18

    Yes did have wrong settings
    Marto74 is a legend for sorting it out for me by remote Smiley
    I have got to say thanks to all who tinkle and post, I've learnt a lot from you all
    so thanks all
    cannachris
    Sr. Member
    ****
    Offline Offline

    Activity: 406

    cats love crypto | 911 truth @checktheevidence.com


    View Profile
    December 07, 2014, 09:32:57 PM
     #19

    right ordered a tp link , but still cant get windows to see it for what it is  Undecided
    i`m getting a few ghs out of it and a lot of
    HEXM 0 CHIP 0,1,2,3 last received nonce 2 secs ago reset
     and it see`s
    0: HEXM 0  : 1016  805/0802mv 20.12gh ....... this is on cgminer technobit win 0-3-8
    i`m using 2 cm750m to power, (but can mod a 2kw server psu)
    i`m a bit concerned because its a 2hex4m but i can only see 1 on cgminer screen
    anyone got any ideas???
    thanks mike

    Seem like wrong setting. Can you post your setting?
    There is 2 board in there hence you will need 2 usb cable(1 usb cable per board) to connect 2hex4m to HOST.
    If using TPLINK TL-MR3020 you will need powered usb hub.

    marto just told me to use an unpowered hub for my 8*hex4m in another topic!

    dogie
    Legendary
    *
    Online Online

    Activity: 1456


    dogiecoin.com


    View Profile WWW
    December 08, 2014, 01:02:18 AM
     #20

    right ordered a tp link , but still cant get windows to see it for what it is  Undecided
    i`m getting a few ghs out of it and a lot of
    HEXM 0 CHIP 0,1,2,3 last received nonce 2 secs ago reset
     and it see`s
    0: HEXM 0  : 1016  805/0802mv 20.12gh ....... this is on cgminer technobit win 0-3-8
    i`m using 2 cm750m to power, (but can mod a 2kw server psu)
    i`m a bit concerned because its a 2hex4m but i can only see 1 on cgminer screen
    anyone got any ideas???
    thanks mike

    Seem like wrong setting. Can you post your setting?
    There is 2 board in there hence you will need 2 usb cable(1 usb cable per board) to connect 2hex4m to HOST.
    If using TPLINK TL-MR3020 you will need powered usb hub.

    marto just told me to use an unpowered hub for my 8*hex4m in another topic!

    There appears to be a bit of draw via USB on these, so I'd put them on a powered hub. Doesn't have to be a beastly one, but a few amps wouldn't hurt.

    Pages: [1] 2 »  All
      Print  
     
    Jump to:  

    Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
    Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!