Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 12:02:03 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 ... 187 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 405612 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 04, 2016, 01:46:55 PM
 #1201

@joblo, here is small 0.1 BTC donation for your excellent work on cpuminer-opt: https://blockchain.info/tx/6a77b6ea11cb901741b3d3dae4d714a28dc120f7591a6372a91af5924145ab96

Keep up the good work!


Best regards,
NiceHash team.

Thank you very much..

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
maxfunky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 05, 2016, 03:16:33 AM
 #1202

thanks for the great work!  Smiley
Is it possible to opt the cryptolight algo  Huh

aquelol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 05, 2016, 11:43:37 AM
 #1203

hi, just a report on notebook haswell cpu (4700MQ @ 3.4ghz 47W)  with espers mining (hmq1725)

v3.3.x-v3.3.8 Start mining with AES-AVX optimizations =150/155 Kh/s ; 3.4ghz core/cache and ~46W no throttle  (stable optimised voltage/temp 76° max )
since v3.4.x Start mining with SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 = 140/145 Kh/s ; 3.4ghz core / 3.2ghz cache and +47w with some cpu throttle down the hashrate to 130 Kh/s and +85°


i have a question, i wanna try to solo mine but your client crash  when request/receiving getwork (tested with all 3.3.x/3.4.x)

log 3.4.5 crash
http://pastebin.com/ynJiLnsP
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 05, 2016, 12:37:21 PM
 #1204

hi, just a report on notebook haswell cpu (4700MQ @ 3.4ghz 47W)  with espers mining (hmq1725)

v3.3.x-v3.3.8 Start mining with AES-AVX optimizations =150/155 Kh/s ; 3.4ghz core/cache and ~46W no throttle  (stable optimised voltage/temp 76° max )
since v3.4.x Start mining with SSE2 AES AVX AVX2 = 140/145 Kh/s ; 3.4ghz core / 3.2ghz cache and +47w with some cpu throttle down the hashrate to 130 Kh/s and +85°


i have a question, i wanna try to solo mine but your client crash  when request/receiving getwork (tested with all 3.3.x/3.4.x)

log 3.4.5 crash
http://pastebin.com/ynJiLnsP


Thanks for testing. cpuminer-opt only supports stratum mining.

I am curious about your performance results. Can you provide more info such as whether you compiled you own, Linux or Windows,
or used precompiled binaries. Thanks.


cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 05, 2016, 12:48:10 PM
 #1205

thanks for the great work!  Smiley
Is it possible to opt the cryptolight algo  Huh



Cryptolight is not a very popular algo and until recently I didn't even know there was a coin using it.
Therefore it is very low on my priority list. I haven't analysed the code so I don't know if the
cryptonight optimizations can be ported for use on cryptolight. If they can it might be possible for
me to implement it. Otherwise you will need to pay someone like Wolf to build one for you.

I am pretty busy keeping up with new algos, while trying to opitimize the more popular
existing algos. It is unlikely I will get to cryptolight any time soon.

Edit: I took a quick look at cryptolight and it appears to already have AES optimizartions implemented.
You can confirm this by testing on a CPU with AES_NI using the SSE2 build of cpuminer. If it is slower
than the AES version for your CPU then you are already using AES_NI.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
maxfunky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 01:30:58 AM
 #1206

Thanks joblo Smiley will try see if there is a dif..
btw I just find this https://github.com/Arux-BTT/CPUMiner-Multi-cryptonight-light/releases/tag/04082015 [with AES-NI] but I wanna keep using your version of cpuminer. I can use it easily on linux VPS (I'm kind of a noob with linux cli..lol)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 01:38:55 AM
 #1207

Thanks joblo Smiley will try see if there is a dif..
btw I just find this https://github.com/Arux-BTT/CPUMiner-Multi-cryptonight-light/releases/tag/04082015 but I wanna keep using your version of cpuminer. I can use it easily on linux VPS (I'm kind of a noob with linux cli..lol)


I guess that means it is working and I can take out the warning about it being untested? If your tests show the AES build is faster than
SSE2 I'll change the display to indicate the algo has AES.

I haven't look at the Arux-BTT fork yet, let me know how it performs compared with cpuminer-opt.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
maxfunky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 02:17:10 AM
 #1208

yes you can take out the warning
maxfunky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 03:24:30 AM
 #1209

I tested the on a win7 PC and yes the AES build is faster than SSE2 with the cryptolight algo, on linux I only tested one build.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 12:42:24 PM
 #1210

I tested the on a win7 PC and yes the AES build is faster than SSE2 with the cryptolight algo, on linux I only tested one build.

Thanks for testing. There isn't much I can do if it's already using AES.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 04:31:33 PM
 #1211

And now for something completely different, with apologies to Monty Python.

I just saw a rerun of the premiere episode of Halt and Catch Fire, a TV series set in the early days of PCs.
At the start they had a description of the meaning of the title, but it was one I had never heard before.
Their definition was supported by this Wiki page.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halt_and_Catch_Fire

But my recollection is different. Halt is a legitimate CPU instruction which is intended to stop all processing
and require an external reset signal to recover. It is also supposed to put the CPU in a low power state.

But early implementations tried to save silicon by mapping the halt instruction to a jump to self instruction
with all interrupts masked. This was thought to emulate a halted state.

But, not only did this implementation not put the CPU in a low power state it focussed all power to a very small
area of the CPU eventually burning it out. It didn't actually catch fire but it did go up in smoke.

Anyone else have this understanding of the meaning?

Edit: there was mention of my version later in the arcticle.

Just to ensure I include some on-topic content, my brand new 1070 essentially halted and caught fire the other day.
I actually saw a flame shoot out of the case. Fortunately it didn't take anything else with it, got a replacenent on
the spot from a dealer and was back up and running.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
t2yax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 06:10:23 PM
 #1212

hey joblo i've tested your miner at my pc(OS is windows 10 pro Redstone 1 ),the pc is asus x552cl with i5 3337u: https://www.asus.com/Notebooks/X552CL/specifications/
miner works but it doesn't work properly with other mean it works too fast:http://prntscr.com/cewmxn
i hope you will solve it,keep up the good work !

edit:many of the algos same with this build including m7m,cryptonight,quark,qubit,keccak and i think much more

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 06:14:10 PM
 #1213

cpuminer-opt v3.4.6 is released

source: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZekg3QUNCcE1ZU2c/view?usp=sharing

Windows bins: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZYVI1Rm40d2xEXzA/view?usp=sharing

New in v3.4.6

For users:

Cryptolight algo is now supported with AES otimizations. The code was always present but untested until now.

The dsplay format for share submissions is changed:
    - colour keyed "Accepted" or "Rejected" status.
    - reject count and rate displayed when share is rejected.

For developers:

Base code for managing new work in the miner thread loop was rewritten due to confusing and incorrect implementation.
There was redundant code and closely related code that spanned different functions, and It was also not fully compliant with
the spec https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Stratum_mining_protocol with respect to the "clean" parameter.

    - removed call to stratum_gen_work from miner_thread (redundant).
    - eliminated gen_work_now gate function (merged with get_new_work).
    - renamed gate function init_nonce to get_new_work.
    - moved most gate targets from algo-gate.c to cpu-miner.c removing
      most mining related code from algo-gate-api.c.

Some restructuring was also done to firm up algo_gate. All references to scratchbuf, used by scrypt and drop algos, is moved
from cpu-miner.c to the respective algos' source files. This allows for the removal of the scratchbuf argument of the scanhash
function.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 06:22:32 PM
 #1214

hey joblo i've tested your miner at my pc(OS is windows 10 pro Redstone 1 ),the pc is asus x552cl with i5 3337u: https://www.asus.com/Notebooks/X552CL/specifications/
miner works but it doesn't work properly with other mean it works too fast:http://prntscr.com/cewmxn
i hope you will solve it,keep up the good work !

edit:many of the algos same with this build including m7m,cryptonight,quark,qubit,keccak and i think much more

Confirmed benchmark is broken in v3.4.6. I didn't think I did anything to affect it but will have to take a closer look.

Edit: found  the problem, simple change in cpu-miner.c line 1334. Simply comment out the zrero initialization and
uncomment the original code.

Change:

Code:
   uint32_t end_nonce = 0;
//   uint32_t end_nonce = ( 0xffffffffU / opt_n_threads ) * (thr_id + 1) - 0x20;

to:

Code:
//   uint32_t end_nonce = 0;
   uint32_t end_nonce = ( 0xffffffffU / opt_n_threads ) * (thr_id + 1) - 0x20;

I'm too lazy to recompile all the binaries. Normal mining works.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1002


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:00:54 PM
 #1215

Joblo,

I am still waiting xmr address that works. If on exchange need that payment id too.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:27:51 PM
 #1216

Joblo,

I am still waiting xmr address that works. If on exchange need that payment id too.

I thought I posted it but maybe I didn't.  It shouldn't need a payment id. Thanks for your consideration.

XMR: 497qTtunbvPgUT6auQnLLacLPKNnxW9fADEYy1ugYYLXd5FuyCR3RwoT44hanwKYnyXXq8QtLTYAr1Q AKe3jCWPfN8oEK3W

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:32:52 PM
 #1217

This is a reminder to those asking for help to post their question in this forum. Please do not use PM.
An open forum allows all users to learn as well as offer help.

It also helps if you post details such as miner version, CPU, error messages etc. If I have to ask for
further information it will delay a solution.

And make sure you're actually using cpuminer-opt before posting here. Wink

Happy mining.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
torsh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:35:03 PM
 #1218

If it is not difficult to make the assembly of a -MSSE2 -MAVX2 -MAVX please
antantti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1002


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:38:13 PM
 #1219

Joblo,

I am still waiting xmr address that works. If on exchange need that payment id too.

I thought I posted it but maybe I didn't.  It shouldn't need a payment id. Thanks for your consideration.

XMR: 497qTtunbvPgUT6auQnLLacLPKNnxW9fADEYy1ugYYLXd5FuyCR3RwoT44hanwKYnyXXq8QtLTYAr1Q AKe3jCWPfN8oEK3W

You did but it still gives this error:

Failed to decode address (#0): Invalid encoded length
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1015


View Profile
September 06, 2016, 10:52:22 PM
 #1220

Joblo,

I am still waiting xmr address that works. If on exchange need that payment id too.

I thought I posted it but maybe I didn't.  It shouldn't need a payment id. Thanks for your consideration.

XMR: 497qTtunbvPgUT6auQnLLacLPKNnxW9fADEYy1ugYYLXd5FuyCR3RwoT44hanwKYnyXXq8QtLTYAr1Q AKe3jCWPfN8oEK3W

You did but it still gives this error:

Failed to decode address (#0): Invalid encoded length


That address works for pool payouts. I don't recall setting a payment ID at the pool but my wallet is displaying a
payment id with that address. maybe you do need one...

a531ddb280b51d491e8a12717f4b76f0bdbe44826b5e3be3f5c693a6f6f26bc1

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 [61] 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 ... 187 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!