Bitcoin Forum
March 18, 2019, 05:25:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 191 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 419060 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 03:56:58 PM
 #1081

im sorry if i did not fully understand everything, im not familiar with such low level code Cheesy

avx is as fast as the scalar code and sometimes also requires the same amount of instructions, avx2 however is always faster
the cpus only have avx afaik

i took a look at the diff but im a bit lost there

whats the best thing to do in my case? if the "old" code that was faster on amd but slower on intel can not be integrated into the miner i will have to identify the slower algos and use the old version for these and newer versions for the other algos i suppose?

cheers

Sorry for the overtechnical explanation.

One of the big challenges is to write the best code for every CPU. That's not possible so different versions of the same functions
can be written and logic introduced to select the best one for a given CPU architecture. This logic can get quite complex. With just Intel
it's a linear problem. Only the top feature has to be identified, it can then be asumed that all lesser features are included.
When you add AMD to the equation that assumption no nonger applies.

I am still coming to grips with some of the pecularities of some early Intel AES CPUs. I'm hoping I can solve that one. AMD is going to
be more challenging, if not impossible, if similarly featured AMD CPUs perform diffferently than their Intel peers.

Lyra2 seems to be an extreme case because in some places the AVX code was only marginally better on Intel CPUs. A less efficient AVX implementation on AMD CPUs could actually make it slower.

My priorities are obviously going to be for the newest and most popular CPUs. It's also difficult to code for a CPU I can't test on.
If I ever get to trying to solve this issue, and that is unlikely, I would need a partner with the necessary CPU and the technical skills
to do the testing and report results.

It may be inconvenient for you but I suggest you choose whichever miner works best for each CPU. But you seem to have already
figured that out. 

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
1552929945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1552929945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1552929945
Reply with quote  #2

1552929945
Report to moderator
1552929945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1552929945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1552929945
Reply with quote  #2

1552929945
Report to moderator
1552929945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1552929945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1552929945
Reply with quote  #2

1552929945
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1552929945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1552929945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1552929945
Reply with quote  #2

1552929945
Report to moderator
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 04:06:40 PM
 #1082

ok thanks Smiley

if you ever need direct access (ssh) to an amd system (the two cpus listed) to test code or something just pm me
unfortunately i dont think i have the skills needed to test this stuff myself

so long, great work
cheers
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1038


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 05:31:54 PM
 #1083

Hi All - can anyone post a sample batch file for using this miner for mining at Nicehash? Many thanks

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 06:25:55 PM
 #1084

hi joblo, another problem:

the compile with build.sh on linux on a system without aes (i3-3120M) fails with

Code:
algo/hodl/cpuminer-hodl-gate.o: In function `hodl_scanhash':
hodl-gate.c:(.text+0x34f): undefined reference to `GenRandomGarbage'
hodl-gate.c:(.text+0x373): undefined reference to `scanhash_hodl_wolf'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

it seems this is since 3.4.4

cheers
Q_R_V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 421
Merit: 250


Inactivity: 8963


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 06:48:19 PM
 #1085

Hi All - can anyone post a sample batch file for using this miner for mining at Nicehash? Many thanks

I gues it will be something like:

Code:
start /low cpuminer-core2 -a lyra2re -o stratum+tcp://lyra2re.eu.nicehash.com:3342 -u btc_address -p x -t 2
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 07:00:04 PM
 #1086

hi joblo, another problem:

the compile with build.sh on linux on a system without aes (i3-3120M) fails with

Code:
algo/hodl/cpuminer-hodl-gate.o: In function `hodl_scanhash':
hodl-gate.c:(.text+0x34f): undefined reference to `GenRandomGarbage'
hodl-gate.c:(.text+0x373): undefined reference to `scanhash_hodl_wolf'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status

it seems this is since 3.4.4

cheers

That's one of those CPUs from the early days of AES, this one doesn't have it. I presume you used -march=native,
that's the default in build.sh. Try -march=core2, that should work. Oddly every arch compiled for me but it was on
haswell HW.

Could you execute the following and tell me what it returns?

Code:
gcc -Q -march=native --help=target | grep march

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 07:37:02 PM
 #1087

sure thing, output is:   -march=                           ivybridge

miner compiled with march=core2, hashrate is a bit lower compared to 3.4.3 native compile

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:02:50 PM
 #1088

sure thing, output is:   -march=                           ivybridge

miner compiled with march=core2, hashrate is a bit lower compared to 3.4.3 native compile

cheers

Thanks, you also answered the question I forgot to ask, the performance was lower as I suspected. I going to shortly release
a patched version thet reverts the changes I made to hodl. It was done with incomplete information and appears to have
destabilized things.

Oddly my compiler doesn't accept brand names, only corei7-avx etc. I suscessfully compiled all targets except amdfam10.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:11:52 PM
 #1089

I've released v3.4.4b which reverts the changes to hodl. It was meant to fix a compile error on some early AES capable
CPUs but appears to be causing more problems than it solved. Windows binaries are unaffected.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0lVSGQYLJIZTTI5VFdheTdoVEU/view?usp=sharing

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 08:13:31 PM
 #1090

do you have by any chance a how to guide to setup the build environment on windows with mingw? i own amdfam10 and bdver1 hardware and can compile these targets (if the environment is setup it should be as easy as running winbuild.sh in msys shell i suppose)

i got to the point where i installed mingw32 (only "official" thing i found, mingw64 is hosted somewhere else and does not share the same installer and such) and the msys basics, but all READMEs mention one should install curl/ssl stuff in windows, have not found a good tutorial on this sadly

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:27:36 PM
 #1091

do you have by any chance a how to guide to setup the build environment on windows with mingw? i own amdfam10 and bdver1 hardware and can compile these targets (if the environment is setup it should be as easy as running winbuild.sh in msys shell i suppose)

i got to the point where i installed mingw32 (only "official" thing i found, mingw64 is hosted somewhere else and does not share the same installer and such) and the msys basics, but all READMEs mention one should install curl/ssl stuff in windows, have not found a good tutorial on this sadly

cheers

Did you look at README.md. If you get stuck let me know where.

winbuild.sh will build for the native architecture "-march=native". My Windows bins were all compiled on haswell specifying
"-march=core-avx2" etc.


cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1038


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:38:31 PM
 #1092

Hi All - can anyone post a sample batch file for using this miner for mining at Nicehash? Many thanks

I gues it will be something like:

Code:
start /low cpuminer-core2 -a lyra2re -o stratum+tcp://lyra2re.eu.nicehash.com:3342 -u btc_address -p x -t 2

thanks QRV - I got my old i5s to work on cryptonight on nicehash

it only took 2 cores however

how do I get it to use all 4 cores?

start /high ?

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 08:48:37 PM
 #1093

-t 4, or leave it to use all available cores


@joblo:

i have found this detailed guide: http://pastebin.com/p2cRgHxd

download packages are a bit old, should i use newer ones? all sf repos did not have newer ones

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:50:05 PM
 #1094

Hi All - can anyone post a sample batch file for using this miner for mining at Nicehash? Many thanks

I gues it will be something like:

Code:
start /low cpuminer-core2 -a lyra2re -o stratum+tcp://lyra2re.eu.nicehash.com:3342 -u btc_address -p x -t 2

thanks QRV - I got my old i5s to work on cryptonight on nicehash

it only took 2 cores however

how do I get it to use all 4 cores?

start /high ?

Take out "-t 2" and it will default to the number of cores in your CPU. Your i5s might work with a better build than core2, give
corei7 and corei7-avx a try.

I'm still tweaking the builds for older core-i CPUs, as you may have noticed by recent posts in this thread, so YMMV.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 08:53:24 PM
 #1095

i have found this detailed guide: http://pastebin.com/p2cRgHxd

download packages are a bit old, should i use newer ones? all sf repos did not have newer ones

cheers

I wouldn't use old direct links, I'd use the front page and download the current versions.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 09:04:49 PM
 #1096

ok, now im stuck with openssl, cpuminer compile wants openssl/aes.h, what do i need to install/download?

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 09:15:24 PM
 #1097

ok, now im stuck with openssl, cpuminer compile wants openssl/aes.h, what do i need to install/download?

cheers

If you got that far then it looks like your compile environment is setup correctly.

There are many different publishers but I installed from here:

https://slproweb.com/products/Win32OpenSSL.html

Download the 64 bit developper version.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2016, 09:51:18 PM
Last edit: August 27, 2016, 10:04:26 PM by felixbrucker
 #1098

that seemed to have worked, now it complains about missing gmp.h however

edit: added gmp.h from here http://cs.nyu.edu/~exact/core/gmp/index.html, now compile fails but im unsure why, windows building is pita



wonderful garbled text from msys

i guess i have done something wrong, might need a guide for dummies, will wait for someone else to build bins

cheers
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 27, 2016, 10:07:24 PM
Last edit: August 27, 2016, 10:34:56 PM by joblo
 #1099

that seemed to have worked, now it complains about missing gmp.h however

edit: added gmp.h from here http://cs.nyu.edu/~exact/core/gmp/index.html, now compile fails but im unsure why, windows building is pita



wonderful garbled text from msys

i guess i have done something wrong, might need a guide for dummies, will wait for someone else to build bins

cheers

What CPU? Did you compile native or specify -march=?

This error is in AES code, which suggests your CPU doesn't have it but the compiler thought it did.

Edit: In case it isn't obvious this is significant progress in helping me. If the compiler can't figure out the correct
architecture it can be specified manually.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
August 28, 2016, 01:45:03 AM
 #1100

Proposal for change in output for share submissions.

old format:

[2016-08-27 21:09:13] accepted: 1791/1791 (100%), 11.93 MH, 461.52 kH/s yes!
[2016-08-27 21:09:13] accepted: 1791/1792 (99.9%), 11.93 MH, 461.52 kH/s nooooo

proposed new format:

[2016-08-27 21:09:13] Accepted: 11.93 MH, 461.52 kH/s, 1791/1791 (100%)
[2016-08-27 21:09:13] Rejected:  11.93 MH, 461.52 kH/s, 1791/1792 (99.9%)

Reason for change:

- shorter
- removes ambiguous "accepted" for both accepted and rejected shares
- eliminates unnecessary words "yes!" and "nooooo".

Comments?

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 191 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!