Bitcoin Forum
November 12, 2018, 11:25:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 190 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN]: cpuminer-opt v3.8.8.1, open source optimized multi-algo CPU miner  (Read 416624 times)
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 04:39:32 PM
 #1221

I think I've found a somekind a bug in CPU detection.

I've found some old PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
After some fails to compile with -march=native, -march=k8-sse3 and -march=nocona I finally had a successful compile with -march=core2.

Starting the binary reports the cpu like this:
Code:
         **********  cpuminer-opt 3.4.6  ***********
     A CPU miner with multi algo support and optimized for CPUs
     with AES_NI and AVX extensions.
     BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
     Forked from TPruvot's cpuminer-multi with credits
     to Lucas Jones, elmad, palmd, djm34, pooler, ig0tik3d,
     Wolf0, Jeff Garzik and Optiminer.

CPU: c@
CPU features: SSE2
SW built on Sep 10 2016 with GCC 4.8.4
SW features: SSE2
Algo features: SSE2 AES AVX AVX2
Start mining with SSE2

cpu-detect reports correct CPU string:
Code:
urban@mystique:~$ ~/cpu-detect/cpu-detect
Vendor: AuthenticAMD
Brand: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+
CPU features:
 MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3

It's probably because the brand string is not implemented on that CPU. There is a test to confirm it is supported but not
implemented correctly. There isn't much to be gained by testing for support, if the brand string isn't available the only
thing that can be done is to tell the users it's unavailable.

cpu_detect seems to have worked around the lack of brand string support, but it's not worth the effort for cpuminer.

As far as AMD compiling goes, I'm thinking it might be easier to just use the Intel architecture compile that matches
the feature set on AMD, unless someone can show a proper AMD compile performs better.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
1542065140
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542065140

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542065140
Reply with quote  #2

1542065140
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542065140
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542065140

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542065140
Reply with quote  #2

1542065140
Report to moderator
th3.r00t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 10, 2016, 05:22:42 PM
 #1222

As far as AMD compiling goes, I'm thinking it might be easier to just use the Intel architecture compile that matches
the feature set on AMD, unless someone can show a proper AMD compile performs better.

I am pretty sure that there are performance loss when compiling with Intel's feature set for AMD.
I read recently (don't remember where) that even that the SSE and SSE2 implementations of both major CPU brands are (almoast exactly) the same
the Intel-Intel compile is faster on many ocasions than Intel-AMD.

When I compile with mingw64 and Intel's architecture similar to my Phenom i get a slower binary than AMD's btver1.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 07:12:39 PM
 #1223

As far as AMD compiling goes, I'm thinking it might be easier to just use the Intel architecture compile that matches
the feature set on AMD, unless someone can show a proper AMD compile performs better.

I am pretty sure that there are performance loss when compiling with Intel's feature set for AMD.
I read recently (don't remember where) that even that the SSE and SSE2 implementations of both major CPU brands are (almoast exactly) the same
the Intel-Intel compile is faster on many ocasions than Intel-AMD.

When I compile with mingw64 and Intel's architecture similar to my Phenom i get a slower binary than AMD's btver1.

The important part is whether Intel compile/AMD CPU is slower than AMD compileAMD CPU. If you have any more data I'd
like to take a look at it to try to figure out why.

Some of the key algos for measuring  performance of various features:

AVX2: lyra2v2, hodl
AVX: lyra2v2, hodl
AES: cryptonight, hodl, quark

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
torsh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 09:12:24 PM
 #1224

how to do so that would start at cpuminer gets loaded conf.json
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 10, 2016, 10:35:16 PM
 #1225

how to do so that would start at cpuminer gets loaded conf.json

  -c, --config=FILE     load a JSON-format configuration file

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Hurtman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 01:12:21 AM
 #1226

where it is possible to download the previous "cpuminer-opt" ?
AMD FX 9590 7 threads [XMR]
ver 3.3.8   = 330 h/s
ver 3.4.6   = 120 h/s ((
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 01:52:14 AM
 #1227

where it is possible to download the previous "cpuminer-opt" ?
AMD FX 9590 7 threads [XMR]
ver 3.3.8   = 330 h/s
ver 3.4.6   = 120 h/s ((

If you're using the Windows binaries try the optimized Intel builds. There is no change in cryptonight
between these versions of cpuminer-opt.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Hurtman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 07:09:21 AM
 #1228

where it is possible to download the previous "cpuminer-opt" ?
AMD FX 9590 7 threads [XMR]
ver 3.3.8   = 330 h/s
ver 3.4.6   = 120 h/s ((

If you're using the Windows binaries try the optimized Intel builds. There is no change in cryptonight
between these versions of cpuminer-opt.
Thank you!
avx-i and core-avx2 normal
torsh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 10:58:47 AM
 #1229

how to do so that would start at cpuminer gets loaded conf.json

  -c, --config=FILE     load a JSON-format configuration file



automatically without installing -c, --config = FILE how cpuminer-multi
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 11, 2016, 04:33:54 PM
 #1230

where it is possible to download the previous "cpuminer-opt" ?
AMD FX 9590 7 threads [XMR]
ver 3.3.8   = 330 h/s
ver 3.4.6   = 120 h/s ((

If you're using the Windows binaries try the optimized Intel builds. There is no change in cryptonight
between these versions of cpuminer-opt.
Thank you!
avx-i and core-avx2 normal

At startup cpuminer lists the optimization features available on your CPU, the SW build and the algo
you wish to mine. If your CPU does not have AVX2 don't use the AVX2 build. Although it works with cryptonight
it's only because there is no AVX2 code in that algo. Trying to mine an AVX2 optimized algo using the AVX2
optimized build will crash if your CPU does not support AVX2.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 12, 2016, 02:46:14 PM
 #1231

hi joblo

it seems x11evo benchmark (not sure about actual mining) does take 5 minutes to report hashrate, just fyi, algo does not seem to be profitable for cpu

this is with 3.4.5 where benchmarks work in general

this is the output after 5 minutes:


         nicehash
      
                     BUY & SELL hashing power
    Mine bitcoin, ethereum, monero, zcash, dash, litecoin and others
      
       LEARN MORE
       at nicehash.com
      
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1050


View Profile
September 12, 2016, 05:21:40 PM
 #1232

hi joblo

it seems x11evo benchmark (not sure about actual mining) does take 5 minutes to report hashrate, just fyi, algo does not seem to be profitable for cpu

this is with 3.4.5 where benchmarks work in general

this is the output after 5 minutes:



That's weird. I see the save behaviour. The hash count of the first hash report is much higher than subsequent reports indicating a
longer scan time. However, it is only from one thread, what were the other 3 doing for 5 minutes? Also the high first hashcount
only represents about 1:45 of the 5 minutes at the reported hashrate.

I see no reason for one algo to behave like that, there are no benchmark hooks in x11evo code, it runs the same code as real
mining which works normally. yet lack of hash reports indicate that it spent all that time in x11evo code.

I'll take a look at the code but I'm not opptimistic I'll find anything.

cpuminer-opt developer, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
BTC: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT,
ETH: 0x72122edabcae9d3f57eab0729305a425f6fef6d0
Voljanin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 14, 2016, 07:54:08 AM
 #1233


Code:
It's probably because the brand string is not implemented on that CPU. There is a test to confirm it is supported but not
implemented correctly. There isn't much to be gained by testing for support, if the brand string isn't available the only
thing that can be done is to tell the users it's unavailable.

cpu_detect seems to have worked around the lack of brand string support, but it's not worth the effort for cpuminer.

As far as AMD compiling goes, I'm thinking it might be easier to just use the Intel architecture compile that matches
the feature set on AMD, unless someone can show a proper AMD compile performs better.
To my regret I could not make it work gcc 6.2 works only gcc 4.8.5  Huh
Hurtman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 14, 2016, 04:25:14 PM
 #1234

doesnt work with AMD Phenom II  Cry
th3.r00t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2016, 08:27:59 PM
 #1235

doesnt work with AMD Phenom II  Cry
I have no problem compiling for AMD Phenom II under Ubuntu and Windows
I have 2 Phenom's and they're compiling fine with -march=btver1, 'cause -march=native don't work on AMD's

Under Ubuntu I use this:
Code:
./autogen.sh && ./configure CFLAGS="-O3 -march=btver1" --with-curl --with-crypto && make && strip cpuminer

Under Windows I use my own mingw64 build environment with these:
Code:
./autogen.sh
CFLAGS="-O3 -march=btver1" CXXFLAGS="$CFLAGS -std=gnu++11" ./configure --with-curl --build=x86_64-w64-mingw32
make
strip -p --strip-debug --strip-unneeded cpuminer.exe

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2016, 11:09:27 PM
 #1236

Under Windows I use my own mingw64 build environment with these:

mind to share the steps to reproduce such a windows build environment? i was unsuccessful the last time i tried this

especially helpful are exact download links to the installers/packages used as it seems my mingw setup differed from joblos (and possibly yours as well)

cheers

         nicehash
      
                     BUY & SELL hashing power
    Mine bitcoin, ethereum, monero, zcash, dash, litecoin and others
      
       LEARN MORE
       at nicehash.com
      
th3.r00t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2016, 06:56:22 AM
 #1237

Under Windows I use my own mingw64 build environment with these:

mind to share the steps to reproduce such a windows build environment? i was unsuccessful the last time i tried this

especially helpful are exact download links to the installers/packages used as it seems my mingw setup differed from joblos (and possibly yours as well)

cheers

I will try to find the step by step guide that I used to make it work.
If I don't find it I will post a link to my MSYS install that works. AFAIK it should work to any Win system after extracting.

In the meantime I found newer MinGW64-4.9.2 build environment for cpuminer on tpruvot's ccminer.org
http://ccminer.org/mingw64/MinGW64-4.9.2-cpuminer.7z

I will try it in the weekend.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2016, 07:16:35 AM
 #1238

Under Windows I use my own mingw64 build environment with these:

mind to share the steps to reproduce such a windows build environment? i was unsuccessful the last time i tried this

especially helpful are exact download links to the installers/packages used as it seems my mingw setup differed from joblos (and possibly yours as well)

cheers

I will try to find the step by step guide that I used to make it work.
If I don't find it I will post a link to my MSYS install that works. AFAIK it should work to any Win system after extracting.

In the meantime I found newer MinGW64-4.9.2 build environment for cpuminer on tpruvot's ccminer.org
http://ccminer.org/mingw64/MinGW64-4.9.2-cpuminer.7z

I will try it in the weekend.

thanks, this is so much appreciated

         nicehash
      
                     BUY & SELL hashing power
    Mine bitcoin, ethereum, monero, zcash, dash, litecoin and others
      
       LEARN MORE
       at nicehash.com
      
th3.r00t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2016, 11:19:37 AM
 #1239

Under Windows I use my own mingw64 build environment with these:

mind to share the steps to reproduce such a windows build environment? i was unsuccessful the last time i tried this

especially helpful are exact download links to the installers/packages used as it seems my mingw setup differed from joblos (and possibly yours as well)

cheers

I will try to find the step by step guide that I used to make it work.
If I don't find it I will post a link to my MSYS install that works. AFAIK it should work to any Win system after extracting.

In the meantime I found newer MinGW64-4.9.2 build environment for cpuminer on tpruvot's ccminer.org
http://ccminer.org/mingw64/MinGW64-4.9.2-cpuminer.7z

I will try it in the weekend.

thanks, this is so much appreciated

You are welcome! Smiley

Since it seems I've misplaced the tutorial I followed when building my custom MinGW64 envinonment MinGW64,
I've made a complete 7zip archive to the MSYS folder.

Download it here:
Code:
http://pc.cd/0TyotalK

Just extract to C:\msys and make shortcut on Desktop with target
Code:
C:\msys\msys.cmd -norxvt

I am pretty sure that it should work.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2016, 11:53:04 AM
 #1240

it seems i need to add some dirs to PATH, is this correct?

when using the 7z archive and starting winbuild.sh "no suitable compiler" is found, so i added /d/msys/opt/windows_64/bin to the PATH and it got further, just to display it cant find curl/curl.h

where do i add this path definition for includes and later libs? (/d/msys/opt/windows_64/include [...]/lib etc)

cheers


edit: just did it, my first ever successful compile on windows, i inserted the dirs into the winbuild.sh like so (-I/d/msys/opt/windows_64/include -L/d/msys/opt/windows_64/lib64) but there has to be a "better" systemwide setting for this, right?

thanks for your support!

         nicehash
      
                     BUY & SELL hashing power
    Mine bitcoin, ethereum, monero, zcash, dash, litecoin and others
      
       LEARN MORE
       at nicehash.com
      
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 190 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!