Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 07:10:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1192458 times)
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
November 17, 2010, 10:43:25 PM
 #201

Works fine here with 2.9.1

Yes, I just mean that wxWidgets 2.9.1 won't work with the makefile that comes with bitcoin 0.3.15.
Ah, I wouldn't know about that. I had to upgrade bitcoin to SVN trunk version before the getwork patch (from git) could be applied at all.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
1474787412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474787412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474787412
Reply with quote  #2

1474787412
Report to moderator
1474787412
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474787412

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474787412
Reply with quote  #2

1474787412
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Remote
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 18, 2010, 12:13:53 AM
 #202

it's actually all said in this thread, you just have to read it.

1. download (getwork patched client) bitcoin-getwork-* and the miner poclbm_py2exe_*.


2. make sure, you got a bitcoin.conf file at
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
(or on xp)
C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf

containing
Code:
rpcuser=someone
rpcpassword=secret


3.a start bitcoin -server and wait for connections to get the last block
3.b start poclbm --user=someone --pass=secret
if you only have one GPU, this is it, if there's more, you'd need to specify the device to use for the miner, but it will tell you.
if you don't know how to handle your commandline, just create
a bitcoin.bat containing
Code:
start /DC:\Users\[username]\Desktop\bitcoin bitcoin.exe -server
and a poclbm.bat containing
Code:
start /DC:\Users\[username]\Desktop\poclbm poclbm.exe --user=someone --pass=secret
to feed your clicking-needs.


4. wait and/or pray Cheesy



Thanks for the guide, although it looks like you left something out. When I start the miner I get the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\__init__.pyc", line 3, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 12, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

Edit: Please post links if something needs to be downloaded.

I'm on Windows 7 64bit and have a NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS (with "OpenCL 1.0 CUDA 3.1.1 - CU: 12 @ 1188MHz (GPU)").
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
November 18, 2010, 05:51:24 PM
 #203

Wow, I just went from 2000 khash/s to almost 5000 by playing with the -f option Smiley

Edit : this variance changed when going to NV driver  260.19.21, now it's about 5500 and the -f has a lot less influence.
Also, CPU usage of the GPU miner went down with this driver. It was 100% with the old driver, now 2% Smiley

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
LobsterMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 03:02:39 AM
 #204

I made a bit of a discovery when testing m0m's latest binaries in -testnet, look at the times when blocks are generated in the miners, and note that they don't all show up in bitcoin's UI:



There seems to be a delay of 1 or more minutes between when they show up in the miner and when bitcoin picks up the transaction, if it picks it up at all.
Is this something to worry about, or just a peculiarity of testnet?
Remote
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 07:37:22 AM
 #205

it's actually all said in this thread, you just have to read it.

1. download (getwork patched client) bitcoin-getwork-* and the miner poclbm_py2exe_*.


2. make sure, you got a bitcoin.conf file at
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf
(or on xp)
C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Bitcoin\bitcoin.conf

containing
Code:
rpcuser=someone
rpcpassword=secret


3.a start bitcoin -server and wait for connections to get the last block
3.b start poclbm --user=someone --pass=secret
if you only have one GPU, this is it, if there's more, you'd need to specify the device to use for the miner, but it will tell you.
if you don't know how to handle your commandline, just create
a bitcoin.bat containing
Code:
start /DC:\Users\[username]\Desktop\bitcoin bitcoin.exe -server
and a poclbm.bat containing
Code:
start /DC:\Users\[username]\Desktop\poclbm poclbm.exe --user=someone --pass=secret
to feed your clicking-needs.


4. wait and/or pray Cheesy



Thanks for the guide, although it looks like you left something out. When I start the miner I get the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 5, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\__init__.pyc", line 3, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 12, in <module>
  File "pyopencl\_cl.pyc", line 10, in __load
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified procedure could not be found.

Edit: Please post links if something needs to be downloaded.

I'm on Windows 7 64bit and have a NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS (with "OpenCL 1.0 CUDA 3.1.1 - CU: 12 @ 1188MHz (GPU)").

Nobody that can help me? I'm about to give up on running Bitcoins since I could use my CPU for other things, but I would like to use my GPU while I'm doing those other things. Please take a moment and explain how to fix this error.
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2010, 08:48:17 AM
 #206

i'm not sure about that error,
but do you have latest devdriver and cudatoolkit installed on your machine?

AHZ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 08:39:18 PM
 #207

I made a bit of a discovery when testing m0m's latest binaries in -testnet, look at the times when blocks are generated in the miners, and note that they don't all show up in bitcoin's UI:
...
There seems to be a delay of 1 or more minutes between when they show up in the miner and when bitcoin picks up the transaction, if it picks it up at all.
Is this something to worry about, or just a peculiarity of testnet?

I had 2 such events with bitcoin-getwork-svn173-win32 in a real network
the miner had the event, but bitcoin did not catch it at all.
I still do not know what happened there and how to to trace it Sad
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2010, 08:50:47 PM
 #208

that's just one of those ~10% "lost blocks",
your miner finds one, your client checks the network, network tells your client it's to late.

within the last weeks i'v been able to "find" 50hashes, only 45 of them have been accepted/shown up in the client-gui/generating coins.
get used to it.

LobsterMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
November 19, 2010, 09:34:09 PM
 #209

I made a bit of a discovery when testing m0m's latest binaries in -testnet, look at the times when blocks are generated in the miners, and note that they don't all show up in bitcoin's UI:

There seems to be a delay of 1 or more minutes between when they show up in the miner and when bitcoin picks up the transaction, if it picks it up at all.
Is this something to worry about, or just a peculiarity of testnet?

When they show up in the command window, they have zero confirmations. They do not show in the bitcoin UI until they have one confirmation. That delay can be a minute or 10. It is not a bug.

I don't think that is true...some of my blocks have shown up immediately with "0 confirmations" as soon as the miner locates them.




that's just one of those ~10% "lost blocks",
your miner finds one, your client checks the network, network tells your client it's to late.

within the last weeks i'v been able to "find" 50hashes, only 45 of them have been accepted/shown up in the client-gui/generating coins.
get used to it.

That's....not cool  Angry
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2010, 10:02:22 PM
 #210

Quote
That's....not cool
but that's how it is, you can't always win the race.
if your CPU/regular-miner does this, you wouldn't even notice/care, except when checking your debug.log.

m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 10:16:19 AM
 #211

updated to SVN 186

wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 03:03:00 PM
 #212

updated to SVN 186
Applies cleanly, thanks Smiley

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 20, 2010, 05:24:20 PM
 #213

updated to SVN 186
Thanks m0mchil for keeping up on the updates!

GPU miners, please upgrade as soon as possible to shut down the free transaction abuse!  This version has the new priority-based limit on free transaction spam.

Just updated to SVN 181 and fixed getwork patch to wait 60 seconds between rebuilding the block with new transactions. This is actually the behavior of the original client, was forgotten in the patch by mistake.  Fixes heavy CPU usage on every getwork request (this became obvious with recent heavy transaction spam). Please upgrade.
Before SVN 184, compiling transactions into a block used an n^2 algorithm.  The new efficient single-pass algorithm is orders of magnitude quicker.  (O(n) vs O(n^2)/2 algorithm, n=200 maybe 10 to 100 times quicker)
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2010, 06:28:53 PM
 #214

Hi m0mchil, firstly thank you for your work. Is there any way to include getwork patch into official client? I'm using bitcoin on old centos server and compiling is pain here!

satoshi
Founder
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
November 24, 2010, 05:53:09 PM
 #215

A revised version of getwork is now in the official client, but the miners need to be updated a little to use it.
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
November 24, 2010, 07:15:49 PM
 #216

Thank you satoshi, it is a small fix, I hope it will be ready tomorrow.

m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
November 25, 2010, 10:33:06 AM
 #217

Updated the miner to work with official bitcoin SVN 189.

SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
November 25, 2010, 10:14:06 PM
 #218

poclbm_py2exe_20101125 doesnt work for me
(Bitcoin 0.3.17 official @ win7 64)

sharound(..........) errors

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2010, 10:55:06 PM
 #219

works fine for me with 0.3.17 on both, winXP&7 64.


neptop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314


View Profile
November 26, 2010, 12:45:31 AM
 #220

poclbm_py2exe_20101125 doesnt work for me
(Bitcoin 0.3.17 official @ win7 64)

sharound(..........) errors

Same here. Got an ATI card and latest (10.11) drivers. Also Win7 64.
Code:
error: function
          "amd_bitalign" declared implicitly
        sharound(D,E,F,G,H,A,B,C,R(37),0x766A0ABB);
        ^

BitCoin address: 1E25UJEbifEejpYh117APmjYSXdLiJUCAZ
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!