Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2016, 08:43:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1192664 times)
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2011, 10:04:36 PM
 #601

EDIT: I tried using Deepbit instead of slush's pool, and all of the invalid/stale results are gone. Is this something to do with using slush's pool, or does the deepbit server work differently? They say that "no block confirmation is needed", but does that mean that I'm still submitting invalid blocks, and that they aren't checking them?
You aren't submitting blocks to pool, you are submitting shares (hashes for difficulty 1). Block confirmation is not related to shares.

BTW, what operating system are you using ? If it's Windows, then you need older version of python miner to work with 5970s.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
1474922595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474922595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474922595
Reply with quote  #2

1474922595
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474922595
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474922595

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474922595
Reply with quote  #2

1474922595
Report to moderator
Cerebrum
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
March 04, 2011, 10:26:35 PM
 #602

EDIT: I tried using Deepbit instead of slush's pool, and all of the invalid/stale results are gone. Is this something to do with using slush's pool, or does the deepbit server work differently? They say that "no block confirmation is needed", but does that mean that I'm still submitting invalid blocks, and that they aren't checking them?
You aren't submitting blocks to pool, you are submitting shares (hashes for difficulty 1). Block confirmation is not related to shares.

BTW, what operating system are you using ? If it's Windows, then you need older version of python miner to work with 5970s.

I'm using Linux. And there seems to be no problem now that slush's pool is back up and operating correctly, I'm still getting invalid/stale results but now only about 1 in 10 instead of 9 in 10.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
March 04, 2011, 11:01:00 PM
 #603

I'm still getting invalid/stale results but now only about 1 in 10 instead of 9 in 10.

It's still quite high. With the default miner ask rate (5 seconds), the normal ratio of stale shares is around ~1-3%.

I'm watching pool console right now and there are no problems, so the higher-than-expected stale rate should be something on your side.

molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 12:07:12 AM
 #604

I've been looking at code and now I'm confused, maybe someone can help me out:

At the end of BitcoinMiner.cl (the kernel) there's a condition for outputting a solution candidate:

Quote
if (belowOrEquals(H, targetH, G, targetG))

Now 2 things strike me as odd:

1.) targetH is passed as 0xffff0000 (BitcoinMiner.py around line 293). why not 0? doesn't H have to be 0 even for a difficulty 1 block?

2.) (parts) of the calculation of G is commented out in the kernel code (likely to save some cycles, assuming that G is not going to be needed)...

Quote
//W13 = W13 + (rotr(W14, 7) ^ rotr(W14, 18) ^ (W14 >> 3U)) + W6 + (rotr(W11, 17) ^ rotr(W11, 19) ^ (W11 >> 10U));
//C = C + (rotr(H, 6) ^ rotr(H, 11) ^ rotr(H, 25)) + (B ^ (H & (A ^ B))) + K[61] + W13; G = G + C;

//G+=0x1f83d9abU;

...but G is used in the solution condition. So since G is some intermediary value of sha256 and targetG is 0, why does this even work?

I'm clearly missing or misunderstanding something and I would be happy if someone took the time to explain what's going on.

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
MessyCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 03:21:12 AM
 #605

Hi, I've been solo-mining for about a week with an ATI 5770 getting about 150Mhash/s using poclbm. This morning when I woke up I saw "05/03/2011 05:01:13, 0000f4d2, accepted" had appeared in the console window.. It's now going on 8 hours since then with nothing showing in the bitcoin application and I am wondering if I should be expecting 50btc or otherwise would appreciate any advice to understand what the message means. Thanks a lot Smiley

marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 04:12:50 AM
 #606


The "Invalid or Stale" rejection message should be split out into two error messages if possible,

That way miner side can trouble shoot when receiving a lot of these errors. If it is string of stale then it maybe a comms. problem on miner side (or pool connection possibly down).

Alternately, if it is a string of Invalid blocks then it maybe a computation problem on miner side.

A regular trickle of Stale messages indicates just the bad luck of timing and is situation normal (FUBAR).

Either way splitting the error message would speed troubleshooting and save confusing/conflating the two issues.

m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 07:26:11 AM
 #607

Now 2 things strike me as odd:

1.) targetH is passed as 0xffff0000 (BitcoinMiner.py around line 293). why not 0? doesn't H have to be 0 even for a difficulty 1 block?

2.) (parts) of the calculation of G is commented out in the kernel code (likely to save some cycles, assuming that G is not going to be needed)...

...but G is used in the solution condition. So since G is some intermediary value of sha256 and targetG is 0, why does this even work?

1.) Excuse me for this mildly obfuscated code. target[0] and [1] are actually A and B of original target - I'm using them just to pass a made up 32 bit target. If you look at kernel parameters you'll see that target[0] (0xFFFF0000) is passed as G.

2.) G is used in belowOrEquals because I didn't managed to understand why this leads to better/faster assembler Smiley I left it there wondering when someone will ask this question.

Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 07:29:55 AM
 #608

Hi, I've been solo-mining for about a week with an ATI 5770 getting about 150Mhash/s using poclbm. This morning when I woke up I saw "05/03/2011 05:01:13, 0000f4d2, accepted" had appeared in the console window.. It's now going on 8 hours since then with nothing showing in the bitcoin application and I am wondering if I should be expecting 50btc or otherwise would appreciate any advice to understand what the message means. Thanks a lot Smiley

The block has been accepted and everything is OK:
http://blockexplorer.com/block/0000000000f4d21aec6a2097008556d0a8341333355ccdce76a0e5a2df083d0e

It takes 120 confirmations for the block to appear in the balance. It will happen is 23 blocks or about 3 hours from now.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 07:49:40 AM
 #609

@momchild or anybody Cheesy

Someone can tell me which command to lower the GPU usage for this miner ? Since my GPU is always load at 99% (which is a good thing) however every time I want to play a movie or youtube(flash player) , my computer will hang up ! So I guess maybe lower the GPU usage will help ? I'm using ATI HD6970 with newest driver.

Thanks!
Quantumboredom
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 08:31:39 AM
 #610

The -f parameter should fix that travex. I use -f 120 and don't notice any lag. At -f 60 theres slight lag. On my box the performance difference is less than 10% between -f 120 and -f 15.
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 09:12:13 AM
 #611

Thanks mate, I've fixed the lag with the f parameter, however my computer is still locked up when I play any video file ( which only use about 1-10% GPU usage) or youtube ! I'm using SDK2.2 too
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 09:23:07 AM
 #612

Thanks mate, I've fixed the lag with the f parameter, however my computer is still locked up when I play any video file ( which only use about 1-10% GPU usage) or youtube ! I'm using SDK2.2 too

Same problem here, but it happens with any opencl application in background.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 09:28:00 AM
 #613

Thanks mate, I've fixed the lag with the f parameter, however my computer is still locked up when I play any video file ( which only use about 1-10% GPU usage) or youtube ! I'm using SDK2.2 too

Same problem here, but it happens with any opencl application in background.

Yeah I think it has something to do with OpenCL applications, but youtube(adobe flash) + video player codec have nothing to do with Opengl then ? Have you tried other miner mate ?


Ps:Just tried diablo miner, same result @.@, computer hanged up !
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1244


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 10:03:18 AM
 #614

Yeah I think it has something to do with OpenCL applications, but youtube(adobe flash) + video player codec have nothing to do with Opengl then ? Have you tried other miner mate ?
Check if it's possible to disable hardware acceleration in the players you use.
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 10:11:12 AM
 #615


The "Invalid or Stale" rejection message should be split out into two error messages if possible,

That way miner side can trouble shoot when receiving a lot of these errors. If it is string of stale then it maybe a comms. problem on miner side (or pool connection possibly down).

Computation is checked on CPU and you will see a 'verification failed' message. 'Invalid or stale' is received whenever the server rejected your result. It now is almost 100% 'stale' than 'invalid', but I didn't change the message because it would have caused more questions.

Quote
...every time I want to play a movie or youtube(flash player), my computer will hang up!

This is problem with flash itself, if not hanging it at least 'reserves' roughly half of GPU for itself.

travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 10:49:12 AM
 #616


The "Invalid or Stale" rejection message should be split out into two error messages if possible,

That way miner side can trouble shoot when receiving a lot of these errors. If it is string of stale then it maybe a comms. problem on miner side (or pool connection possibly down).

Computation is checked on CPU and you will see a 'verification failed' message. 'Invalid or stale' is received whenever the server rejected your result. It now is almost 100% 'stale' than 'invalid', but I didn't change the message because it would have caused more questions.

Quote
...every time I want to play a movie or youtube(flash player), my computer will hang up!

This is problem with flash itself, if not hanging it at least 'reserves' roughly half of GPU for itself.

Momchild can you explain more clearly , and its not only about the flash, my video codecs are messed up too I think(mkv,divx,xvid files)

@Grinder: I'm using Jet audio and I think its not hardware accelerated !
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1244


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 11:53:37 AM
 #617

@Grinder: I'm using Jet audio and I think its not hardware accelerated !
VLC seems to work with the video files I've tried. I've disabled all features using hardware because I have experienced freezes before.
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058



View Profile
March 05, 2011, 11:59:53 AM
 #618

First, thanks for answering.

Unfortunately, I'm even more confused now ;(

Now 2 things strike me as odd:

1.) targetH is passed as 0xffff0000 (BitcoinMiner.py around line 293). why not 0? doesn't H have to be 0 even for a difficulty 1 block?

2.) (parts) of the calculation of G is commented out in the kernel code (likely to save some cycles, assuming that G is not going to be needed)...

...but G is used in the solution condition. So since G is some intermediary value of sha256 and targetG is 0, why does this even work?

1.) Excuse me for this mildly obfuscated code. target[0] and [1] are actually A and B of original target - I'm using them just to pass a made up 32 bit target.

Why are you passing a made up 32 bit target (0x00000000ffff0000)?

Quote
If you look at kernel parameters you'll see that target[0] (0xFFFF0000) is passed as G.

It's passed as Parameter number 16, which is in BitcoinMiner.cl, "targetG", no?
Or what do you mean by "passed as G"?

Quote
2.) G is used in belowOrEquals because I didn't managed to understand why this leads to better/faster assembler Smiley I left it there wondering when someone will ask this question.

So you're saying that "targetG" is in fact the 2nd-last value of the real target or is it 0xffff0000 or what is it and why does it work at all comparing that to some G that is not even the 2nd-last value of the hash?

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 12:30:53 PM
 #619

@Grinder: I'm using Jet audio and I think its not hardware accelerated !
VLC seems to work with the video files I've tried. I've disabled all features using hardware because I have experienced freezes before.

Yeah thanks mate, VLC actually works Cheesy , but still the youtube(adobe flash) does not work @.@m quite annoying
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1244


View Profile
March 05, 2011, 01:20:03 PM
 #620

Yeah thanks mate, VLC actually works Cheesy , but still the youtube(adobe flash) does not work @.@m quite annoying
Youtube works for me, but I haven't done anything in particular to make it work. I'm using Opera 11 and 64 bit W7. It works both with and without HW acceleration, but it seems a bit less jumpy without.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!