Bitcoin Forum
October 01, 2016, 06:55:55 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1193326 times)
TheMoneyStorm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


Rock On Miners!


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 03:51:05 PM
 #961

It's something with the new connect method. If I revert to the old longPollThread it works fine.

They'll get it ironed out soon enough, hopefully.

Sign Up At TradeHill To Buy And Sell Your Coins -  Send Tips To : 1LTnBJizU5nJJ8a3VUYPp2cUo4aSwr1BRq
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475348155
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475348155

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475348155
Reply with quote  #2

1475348155
Report to moderator
1475348155
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475348155

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475348155
Reply with quote  #2

1475348155
Report to moderator
RaTTuS
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 792


Bite me


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 03:52:58 PM
 #962

My backup pools with @ in them work now ... so I put it down to a temp glitch

In the Beginning there was CPU , then GPU , then FPGA then ASIC, what next I hear to ask ....

1RaTTuSEN7jJUDiW1EGogHwtek7g9BiEn
TheMoneyStorm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


Rock On Miners!


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 03:58:17 PM
 #963

My backup pools with @ in them work now ... so I put it down to a temp glitch


A temp glitch with some software, say it aint so Grin. Glad it's working for you now.

Sign Up At TradeHill To Buy And Sell Your Coins -  Send Tips To : 1LTnBJizU5nJJ8a3VUYPp2cUo4aSwr1BRq
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058



View Profile
July 05, 2011, 04:51:35 PM
 #964

m0mchil: Why'd you remove the retry-on-network-error code when you merged my branch? This greatly improves yield on many pools. Also, why remove GW/Efficiency? Useful data, that! Finally, when will phatk be optional? Sad
Why would you need to retry submission? Because you either a) have connectivity problems or b) the pool is overloaded. Anyway, probability of result being valid is going down with time.
Every pool I've tried lately (BTCGuild, Bitcoins.lc, and of course Eligius) has had an occasional network error submitting blocks, even when it's not overloaded. Overload is pretty common during longpolls no matter how powerful the pool system, since it has to get new work for every single miner. What's the rationale behind giving up after one try, rather than giving it at least 5 minutes?
As for GW/Efficiency - this will soon be irrelevant because of some new protocols being developed. Even now, it assumes difficulty of 1 and will show (@ 400 Mh/s) efficiency of 50% at non-'time rolling' pools and anything above 100% (even 700%) with 'time rolling' ones (Eligius). Feel free to explain to users what/why is this. Not that it is wrong, it just doesn't make my life exactly easier.
Perhaps it should be changed from a % to a simple decimal number? Or a hidden option to enable it? --I-know-what-efficiency-is

Finally, what exactly is wrong with phatk? As far as I know, it's better on everything AMD 5xxx and up (majority of users). Nvidia users should have their own optimized miner anyway.
It uses too much system memory. In particular, I give my mining VM 256 MB RAM, and phatk just gets OOM-killed unless I add swap to it. If I go ahead and waste more RAM on it, I get a total of 1 MH/s improvement-- not worth it to me.

Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
July 06, 2011, 07:35:39 PM
 #965

On the latest version (yesterday) I keep getting this error on my 2nd rig Ubuntu 10.10 Cat11.6 SDK 2.4  (2nd card 5830), identical to the 1st rig and the miner just hangs there, can't ctrl-c out and if I close the terminal - the whole machine locks up. The first card (5870 - Still working)

pit.deepbit.net:8332 06/07/2011 15:19:50, long poll exception:                  
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/aa/poclbm/BitcoinMiner.py", line 338, in longPollThread
    (connection, result) = self.request(connection, url, self.headers)
  File "/home/aa/poclbm/BitcoinMiner.py", line 296, in request
    response = connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 349, in _read_status
    line = self.fp.readline()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/socket.py", line 427, in readline
    data = recv(1)
error: [Errno 104] Connection reset by peer
pit.deepbit.net:8332 06/07/2011 15:20:40, long poll: new block XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXc
pit.deepbit.net:8332 06/07/2011 15:22:19, long poll: new block XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX8
pit.deepbit.net:8332 06/07/2011 15:27:26, long poll exception:                  
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/aa/poclbm/BitcoinMiner.py", line 338, in longPollThread
    (connection, result) = self.request(connection, url, self.headers)
  File "/home/aa/poclbm/BitcoinMiner.py", line 296, in request
    response = connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 349, in _read_status
    line = self.fp.readline()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/socket.py", line 427, in readline
    data = recv(1)
error: [Errno 104] Connection reset by peer


Any ideas or advice?
BOARBEAR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 04:01:24 AM
 #966

please bring back the old kernel
the new kernel is very bad for my nvidia card
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 10:51:25 PM
 #967

Miner cant connect to deepbit, but it also cant connect to backup pool cuz "username or password not correct". They are correct and miner just stuck... Restarting results in going to backup pool or giving same message about login details.

BTW, can u add to circumstances to restart/go to backup

-when message 'verification failed...'
-when wrong username or password (cuz of pool problem or just user mistake)

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 07, 2011, 11:05:48 PM
 #968

Is there not a fallback command for Linux or what? It works on Windows...

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
brunoshady
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 264

Dubs Get


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 04:48:52 AM
 #969

Is there not a fallback command for Linux or what? It works on Windows...

sure it have

--failback=X
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:03:11 AM
 #970

Is there not a fallback command for Linux or what? It works on Windows...

Are you sure that you are passing a list of servers to "--servers" ?


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:46:42 AM
 #971

Im getting similar errors:

Code:
useast.btcguild.com:8332 08/07/2011 07:42:54, Setting pool xxxxxx_xxxxxxx @ useast.btcguild.com:8332
useast.btcguild.com:8332 08/07/2011 07:42:56, long poll exception:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/ben/poclbm_old/BitcoinMiner.py", line 338, in longPollThread
    (connection, result) = self.request(connection, url, self.headers)
  File "/home/ben/poclbm_old/BitcoinMiner.py", line 299, in request
    response = connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 1027, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 407, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/httplib.py", line 371, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine: ''

api.bitcoin.cz:8332 08/07/2011 07:42:58, Setting pool xxxxxx.xxxxxx @ api.bitcoin.cz:8332
api.bitcoin.cz:8332 08/07/2011 07:42:58, Attempting to fail back to primary pool

EDIT: Also, a couple of miners have gone into a kind of a loop where it fails to connect to firs server, connects to second server and after 1 second tries to connect again to first server, fails, connects to second to second server, after 1 second tries to connect again to first server, fails,... (-failback = 1)
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 08:25:26 AM
 #972

Is there not a fallback command for Linux or what? It works on Windows...

Are you sure that you are passing a list of servers to "--servers" ?



What do you mean?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 05:23:59 PM
 #973

Is there not a fallback command for Linux or what? It works on Windows...

New version today omits the --servers= part of the command line

update via command line
$ cd poclbm
$ git pull

get the options using
$ ./poclbm --help

Update your shell scripts or command line to reflect new option structure

Are you sure that you are passing a list of servers to "--servers" ?



What do you mean?

New version today omits the --servers= part of the command line

update via command line
$ cd poclbm
$ git pull

get the options using
$ ./poclbm --help

Update your shell scripts or command line to reflect new option structure
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 07:01:50 PM
 #974

Can enyone explain --estimate function? I dont get it. Also compiling a windows version would be nice.

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
July 08, 2011, 08:50:48 PM
 #975

Can enyone explain --estimate function? I dont get it. Also compiling a windows version would be nice.

From the read me in the sources, it looks like the window of time that the average rate is calculated 900 secs = 15 min window (the last 15mins of hash rates are averaged) and displayed.

From: https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 05:41:17 AM
 #976

New version is up

Changes:

- support for server provided failback hosts
- most of JSON-RPC fields made optional (to reduce pools bandwidth)
- increased default primary server retry interval to 10 getworks
- moved job processing to main thread
- improvements by gominoa, enolan @ github - options separation, server names, quiet output

jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 06:55:16 AM
 #977

- most of JSON-RPC fields made optional (to reduce pools bandwidth)

...and how does the client inform the server that it supports this feature?

From the server's perspective, it must support may different clients, and cannot know if 'target' or 'midstate' is optional without additional information.


Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:06:09 AM
 #978

...and how does the client inform the server that it supports this feature?

There is version in user-agent, server can determine miner and act accordingly.

gominoa
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 09:02:01 AM
 #979

Please note syntax is updated. Use:

poclbm.py   user1:pass1@host1:port1#serv1   user2:pass2@host2:port2#serv2   user3:pass3@host3:port3#serv3

... instead of ...
poclbm.py --servers=serv1,serv2,serv3
... or ...
poclbm.py --user=x --password=x --host=x --port=x --backup=x

(miner will failover from serv1 to serv2 and serv3 if neccessary)
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 08:36:47 AM
 #980

something is wrong with LP, I got rejected shares over 30 seconds after LP message shows up

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 [49] 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!