Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2024, 07:44:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1238799 times)
m4rkiz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2011, 07:37:06 PM
Last edit: March 11, 2011, 08:11:56 PM by m4rkiz
 #661

similar problem with q6600 + 5970, W7 x64, ati 2.3.451

each instance of poclb using one core to the full


no such problem with single 5870 - it uses 3-5% of cpu
1714203852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714203852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714203852
Reply with quote  #2

1714203852
Report to moderator
1714203852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714203852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714203852
Reply with quote  #2

1714203852
Report to moderator
1714203852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714203852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714203852
Reply with quote  #2

1714203852
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- Greg Maxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714203852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714203852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714203852
Reply with quote  #2

1714203852
Report to moderator
1714203852
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714203852

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714203852
Reply with quote  #2

1714203852
Report to moderator
m0mchil (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 127


View Profile
March 11, 2011, 10:00:41 PM
 #662

Miner updated with support for long polling, see http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3889.msg63957#msg63957

CD-RW
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 22


View Profile
March 13, 2011, 03:43:19 AM
 #663

Latest version, shut it down by doing CTRL+c

Code:
13/03/2011 04:41:47, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyo", line 285, in mine
  File "Queue.pyo", line 177, in get
  File "threading.pyo", line 256, in wait
IOError: [Errno 4] Interrupted function call

bye
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.


View Profile
March 13, 2011, 06:55:35 PM
 #664

HD5770 + Ati Stream 2.1 + Catalyst + Windows 7 64bit = worked out of teh box without any issue.
Well, actually i have an issue: 25% constant cpu load (quad core machine).
I only have one miner instance open, crunching at +- 170Mhash/s with the gpu.
How come it is using that CPU core?

[edit]
@m0m
Hey man, could you please update the executable on OP?
I'm lazy to setup a compiling environment Tongue
[/edit]

do Ctrl alt delete and check your processes to see what is using your CPU

poclbm.exe is using 25% cpu, tot it was obvious Smiley
Not explorer.exe or something else.
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 696
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 13, 2011, 09:52:45 PM
 #665

similar problem with q6600 + 5970, W7 x64, ati 2.3.451

each instance of poclb using one core to the full


no such problem with single 5870 - it uses 3-5% of cpu

Im having the same problem on intel i5.
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 13, 2011, 10:47:05 PM
 #666

poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 06:20:36 AM
 #667

poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 08:16:44 AM
 #668

poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.

i5, no hyperthreading Sad
m0mchil (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 127


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 09:18:14 AM
 #669

It shouldn't use any CPU (unless you use it on your CPU which you should not). Any other CPU usage is cleanly problem of driver + OpenCL SDK + OS.

kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 09:48:50 AM
 #670

Hi m0mchil I do experience 25% load on the cpu per poclbm instance. I have tried running with 10.11 + 2.1 stream but poclbm refused to load. Also 11.2 + 2.1 doesnt work either saying that no opencl device detected. 11.2 + 2.2 on the other hand runs with the 25% load issue. I am running win 7 64 bit. Any advice on the configuration?

DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 10:20:28 AM
 #671

poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.

This won't half the cpu usage, just apparently.
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 11:19:46 AM
 #672

poclbm: each miner appears to use exactly 25% of your CPU. Open task manager and start/stop a miner.


Each miner is using 1/N_Core of your CPU, where n_Core is the number of Cores detected by windows. If you have HyperThreading, enable it to half the CPU usage.

This won't half the cpu usage, just apparently.

It half the cpu time, as well as Watt and cpu usage %. Another "solution" is to stack all the process in 1 core, changing the Cpu Affinity under the system monitor (CTRL+ALT+CANC).


Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 12:01:17 PM
 #673

It half the cpu time, as well as Watt and cpu usage %.
No, it just looks that way because Windows will say that 100% of one core on a dual core CPU is 25% instead of 50%. You still only have two cores, and a single process will 100% of it even if you enable HT. Enabling HT will not give you twice as many cores or twice as high performance. If two process use the same core with HT, it will only be a few percent more efficient than using a single core at best. Setting affinity is much better.
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 01:48:17 PM
 #674

It half the cpu time, as well as Watt and cpu usage %.
No, it just looks that way because Windows will say that 100% of one core on a dual core CPU is 25% instead of 50%. You still only have two cores, and a single process will 100% of it even if you enable HT. Enabling HT will not give you twice as many cores or twice as high performance. If two process use the same core with HT, it will only be a few percent more efficient than using a single core at best. Setting affinity is much better.

Too bad my Watt meter do not agree with you.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 01:58:44 PM
 #675

Windows has probably put two process on the same core, then.
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 03:10:42 PM
 #676

It half the cpu time, as well as Watt and cpu usage %.
No, it just looks that way because Windows will say that 100% of one core on a dual core CPU is 25% instead of 50%. You still only have two cores, and a single process will 100% of it even if you enable HT. Enabling HT will not give you twice as many cores or twice as high performance. If two process use the same core with HT, it will only be a few percent more efficient than using a single core at best. Setting affinity is much better.

Too bad my Watt meter do not agree with you.

It's not that hard
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyper-threading
marcus_of_augustus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3920
Merit: 2348


Eadem mutata resurgo


View Profile
March 15, 2011, 11:10:56 PM
 #677


What's the new message all about ...

16/03/2011 11:53:09, 68b26a98, accepted                     
16/03/2011 11:53:19, a7c9af8b, accepted                     
16/03/2011 11:54:54, a59d5bc1, accepted                     
16/03/2011 11:56:08, 06783321, accepted                     m0mchil's python miner
16/03/2011 11:56:51, 14d00ef9, accepted                     
16/03/2011 11:57:57, 676f7efb, accepted                     

Litt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 08:42:31 AM
 #678

win 7 64 with 2 6970's and I'm getting 50% usage. 25% for each gpu instance. Was on 2.3 11.2 and was having this prob. Now on 11.4 and 2.4 and still having the same usage prob. Doesn't fix anything.
fatcom4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 10:31:26 AM
 #679

When I download it on Windows 7 it says "What should Firefox do with this file?" then you can tick a "Open with" box that has a "Browse..." button after it, or a "Save File" box. I tried both but I didn't know what program to open it with. Also, I followed the first three steps of these instructions. Only the first three because the rest was for after downloading the miner.
urizane
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 10:37:21 AM
 #680

It's a 7zip file.  Open it with any good archiver like 7zip/WinRAR/etc....
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 [34] 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!