Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:26:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1201090 times)
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 13, 2011, 05:24:07 AM
 #441

I received a message "accepted" a couple of hours ago. Does that mean I found a block? Nothing has appeared in my wallet, though. Unfortunately I rebooted the PC by now, so I can't remember the value associated with the message - unless it is in some log file?

You will receive the 50 BTC once the block has been confirmed 100 times.  Less than a day usually.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481027212
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027212

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027212
Reply with quote  #2

1481027212
Report to moderator
1481027212
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027212

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027212
Reply with quote  #2

1481027212
Report to moderator
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 13, 2011, 05:25:58 AM
 #442

when i run the poclbm.exe iam able to get to the point when it shows my khash/s which is 308775, but in bitcoin it says only 10762khash/s is this how it is supposed to look.

The 308775 is your GPU (m0mchil's program) and the 10762 is your CPU (bitcoin client).  You'd be better off pool mining with the CPU.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
February 13, 2011, 05:32:08 AM
 #443

Hi xenon481,

have you got a miner running on the xenon XCGPU processor?

If so what kind of Mhash/s are you seeing?

thnx.

No, I am not running that.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
yunk3r
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 05:33:15 AM
 #444

if my gpu finds a block will the 50 btc be added to my bitcoin wallet.

also poclbm says ip 27.0.0.1. but bitcoin is accepting from ip 127.0.0.1 did the first 1 just get cut off in the command line or is something wrong.
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
February 13, 2011, 05:35:28 AM
 #445

if my gpu finds a block will the 50 btc be added to my bitcoin wallet.

If you are solo mining, yes. If you are pooled mining, the pool operator will receive the 50BTC and will distribute them in the manner agreed upon.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 07:17:56 AM
 #446


Feature request:  support HTTP/1.1 persistent connections, to maintain the TCP connection across 'getwork' JSON-RPC requests, when the server supports it.

That makes JSON-RPC much more network-efficient.  Hopefully bitcoind will be upgraded to support this, soon, and I believe slush's server already supports it.

Jeff Garzik, bitcoin core dev team and BitPay engineer; opinions are my own, not my employer.
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
epicenter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 13, 2011, 12:18:40 PM
 #447

Radeon HD 5870

ATI Stream 2.3k SDK:           290,000 kHash/s
Downgraded to Stream 2.2k:  312,000 kHash/s
use "-v" and "-w 128"           324,000 kHash/s

thanks m0mchil for your work.
Fractality
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2011, 02:10:15 PM
 #448

What are good settings for a HD 5970? I just added -v -w 128 and it increased each GPU from 270MHash to ~280MHash.

1K4noMkNgrPztyqtHCYd2CevsZ72FeYUKF
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 13, 2011, 06:30:00 PM
 #449

I'm getting 340000 khash/s on each of my 6970s.  Running Stream SDK 2.3... I will see about downgrading in the near future since I have read 2.2 is faster.

My main question is each of the instances of poclbm is maxing out a core.  I have noticed if I max out all 4 cores with prime95, my khash/s does not increase, so it seems the miner is just wasting cpu cycles?  Is there something I can do to address this or is it a problem with the program?

Win 7 64bit
Cats 11.1a
AMD Stream 2.3
Dual 6970s

I personally run it on Win 7 64bit, but with cat 10.12 and Stream SDK 2.2 and CPU utilization is pretty low, actually close to 0% Could you please try with Stream 2.2 and post results?

m0mchil, I could not get the miner to work on my Win 7 64b setup with cats 10.12 and ATI Stream 2.2. It works fine on 2.3, however when I downgrade to 2.2 ( I also tried after a fresh reformat a few days ago ) the miner starts out at full speed for a second or two, then quickly degrades to like 5,000khash/s, and the miner process(es) crash a few seconds later.

Any way around this?

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
dingus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
February 13, 2011, 09:50:22 PM
 #450

What are good settings for a HD 5970? I just added -v -w 128 and it increased each GPU from 270MHash to ~280MHash.
That's about as fast as you'll get fiddling around with the flags, in my experience.

ding·us/ˈdiNGgəs/
Noun: Used to refer to something whose name the speaker cannot remember, is unsure of, or is humorously or euphemistically omitting
dadittox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
February 14, 2011, 10:13:31 AM
 #451

My main question is each of the instances of poclbm is maxing out a core.  I have noticed if I max out all 4 cores with prime95, my khash/s does not increase, so it seems the miner is just wasting cpu cycles?  Is there something I can do to address this or is it a problem with the program?

Win 7 64bit
Cats 11.1a
AMD Stream 2.3
Dual 6970s

I have the same issue on a new 2x 5870 + Phenom X6 / Win 7 64bit. It eats CPU. If I set affinity to 1 core it gets loaded 100%. And the strange thing is that I have another PC. All the same latest Catalyst and Stream. It's same 5870 + but core2duo. There's no CPU load problem on that PC. Maybe it is somehow related to CPU. Like there's a problem with AMD processors and not with Intel one? Or maybe related to the number of cores?

Forgot to mention another difference. Phenomx X6 has 64-bit Win7 system and core2duo is 32-bit win7.
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
February 14, 2011, 01:10:58 PM
 #452

I received a message "accepted" a couple of hours ago. Does that mean I found a block? Nothing has appeared in my wallet, though. Unfortunately I rebooted the PC by now, so I can't remember the value associated with the message - unless it is in some log file?

You will receive the 50 BTC once the block has been confirmed 100 times.  Less than a day usually.

I think it's 120 times, isn't it?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
racerx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
February 14, 2011, 02:31:42 PM
 #453

Hiya,

So I sprung for a 2gb HD6950, it will arrive tomorrow morning Smiley. I was mining with CPU's for a while but Im not sure how to get the best out of this card. I was using Linux previously on my array of CPU miners but the host machine for this card has XP on it at the moment. Any help of getting the most out of it will be appreciated. I was looking for info on the wiki but things seem to be moving a bit fast for that.

1. I will first flash the card to a 6970, ala http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18221844&page=32
2. What hash rate should I be getting? arround 340M#'s for this card. Seems people are reporitng up to that.
3. Will need XP to flash the bios, but does linux yield better results/speed? I'm more comfortable with a command line and it makes remote access easier...
4. PC its going in has onboard video that is auto disabled when a card is in... can the card doing the hashing still be used for video. How does this work?
5. Should I pool with this card or go it solo? Whats the advantages/disadvantages?
5. Any other advice would be really appreciated! Thanks all Smiley
rmartins
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
February 14, 2011, 07:14:13 PM
 #454

Hiya,

So I sprung for a 2gb HD6950, it will arrive tomorrow morning Smiley. I was mining with CPU's for a while but Im not sure how to get the best out of this card. I was using Linux previously on my array of CPU miners but the host machine for this card has XP on it at the moment. Any help of getting the most out of it will be appreciated. I was looking for info on the wiki but things seem to be moving a bit fast for that.

1. I will first flash the card to a 6970, ala http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18221844&page=32
2. What hash rate should I be getting? arround 340M#'s for this card. Seems people are reporitng up to that.
3. Will need XP to flash the bios, but does linux yield better results/speed? I'm more comfortable with a command line and it makes remote access easier...
4. PC its going in has onboard video that is auto disabled when a card is in... can the card doing the hashing still be used for video. How does this work?
5. Should I pool with this card or go it solo? Whats the advantages/disadvantages?
5. Any other advice would be really appreciated! Thanks all Smiley

1. I advise you not to flash a 6970 bios. Instead, unlock the additional shaders by modding your card's bios as describe here. Some people got artifacts and fried cards because of the 6970 bios in a 6950 (probably related to the higher core and memory voltage in the 6970 bios). I don't recall anyone having that problem with a modded 6950 bios.

3. Linux seems to yield more Mhash/s per core speed than Windows 7 in my system, but in Linux I can't overclock over the limits imposed by aticonfig/AMD Overdrive, while in Windows 7 I can do so with third-party tools.

You should have posted this in its own thread…

13qEUok3N4yEpfmDZdqmVJ8FbsL5hMAUGf
nka1024
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 01:49:13 AM
 #455

what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 02:10:57 AM
 #456

what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner

Downclock, your GPU is clocked too high.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
lfm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 05:26:54 AM
 #457

what's the meaning of error message "verification failed, check hardware!"?
i get it generating on my amd gpu using  m0mchil's windows miner

Downclock, your GPU is clocked too high.

and make sure your gpu fan is still working right.
Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 06:02:42 AM
 #458

I received a message "accepted" a couple of hours ago. Does that mean I found a block? Nothing has appeared in my wallet, though. Unfortunately I rebooted the PC by now, so I can't remember the value associated with the message - unless it is in some log file?

You will receive the 50 BTC once the block has been confirmed 100 times.  Less than a day usually.

I think it's 120 times, isn't it?

I thought it was 120 times too, then Gavin said 100.  I haven't dug through that part of the source code myself.

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 07:49:15 AM
 #459

Hello, m0mchil. Thanks for your miner Smiley

Do you know what's changed since poclbm_py2exe_20101126 so the new version doesn't works correctly anymore on slave core of 5970 in Windows ?
Current version works fine on primary core, but after finding first "accepted" share on slave core it starts flooding console with that "check hardware" error. Older, poclbm_py2exe_20101126 version works on both cores, but it's not as funny as latest one and i think that it uses only 85-90% of the GPU.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 01:16:45 PM
 #460

I think it's 120 times, isn't it?
I thought it was 120 times too, then Gavin said 100.  I haven't dug through that part of the source code myself.

If I have correct info, bitcoin network itself forces at least 100 confirmations, but bitcoin client wait for 120 confirmations.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!