Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2016, 05:19:39 AM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1192696 times)
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410


minor developer


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2010, 05:17:27 PM
 #241

The latest revision seems to have a problem with vectors. So far, I get about 59 Mhash/s without, and 60.7 with, on a HD5570. However, the latest version slows down to 53.7 with vectors, while it stays at 59 without them.

1474953579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474953579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474953579
Reply with quote  #2

1474953579
Report to moderator
1474953579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474953579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474953579
Reply with quote  #2

1474953579
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474953579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474953579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474953579
Reply with quote  #2

1474953579
Report to moderator
1474953579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474953579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474953579
Reply with quote  #2

1474953579
Report to moderator
1474953579
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474953579

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474953579
Reply with quote  #2

1474953579
Report to moderator
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
December 09, 2010, 07:30:29 PM
 #242

Please provide full information about your platform - driver, SDK, OS. Did you tried with different values for worksize, '-f'? With catalyst 10.11, SDK 2.2 on windows I actually see slight improvement with vectors against previous version.

teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410


minor developer


View Profile WWW
December 09, 2010, 08:07:39 PM
 #243

Please provide full information about your platform - driver, SDK, OS. Did you tried with different values for worksize, '-f'? With catalyst 10.11, SDK 2.2 on windows I actually see slight improvement with vectors against previous version.

First of all, going back to commit 99c57637ca0d1db70187 fixes the issue, so the problem seems to be isolated to the last revision.

The system is a Gentoo Linux, kernel 2.6.36.1, with catalyst 10.11 drivers and SDK 2.2. I have not tried any other performance options besides -v and -f 1.

Work size 256 seems to bring the performance back to the expected levels, or at least very close. I should probably keep trying more of these options Smiley

Edit: I chose 256 as it is the default/maximum for my card. Smaller powers of two seem to work better, -w 64 gives 63.0 Mhash/s.

Edit 2: It seems I had failed to update back to the latest version for these tests (I'm a complete newbie with git Smiley). The issue with the latest version is not much improved by the -w options.

kwukduck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1547


View Profile
December 10, 2010, 12:45:01 AM
 #244

I'm trying gpu mining with my new gtx 470 on win7-64
but i get only 77 khash/s

i tried changing -w and -v, doesn't  change much on -w, changing -v crashes the process.

i'd estimate this card would generate about 300000khash

any idea what could be wrong?


[EDIT]

Issue resolved, seems nVidia just has realy bad OpenCL performance

[/EDIT]

14b8PdeWLqK3yi3PrNHMmCvSmvDEKEBh3E
berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 10, 2010, 04:36:37 PM
 #245

I have pyopencl installed from packaged deb on launchpad, and when I try to run
Code:
python poclbm.py
I get:
Code:
  File "poclbm.py", line 6
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

thanks
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


1davout


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2010, 04:42:53 PM
 #246

I have pyopencl installed from packaged deb on launchpad, and when I try to run
Code:
python poclbm.py
I get:
Code:
  File "poclbm.py", line 6
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
    ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

thanks

lol

berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 10, 2010, 05:26:55 PM
 #247

I am a linux noob and don't know anything about python.
And the how to above is for ATI, I am on Nvidia GT9800
berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 10, 2010, 05:57:55 PM
 #248

Now that the noobish mistake is solved I get:

Code:
bruno@bruno-desktop:~/bitcoin-0.3.17$ python ./poclbm.py
  File "./poclbm.py", line 27
    print 'No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following\n'
        ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
December 10, 2010, 07:15:26 PM
 #249

Apparently you copy-pasted the file, loosing some important details. Use raw view instead (https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/raw/master/poclbm.py). Perhaps for other files too.

davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


1davout


View Profile WWW
December 10, 2010, 08:47:46 PM
 #250

Now that the noobish mistake is solved I get:

Code:
bruno@bruno-desktop:~/bitcoin-0.3.17$ python ./poclbm.py
  File "./poclbm.py", line 27
    print 'No device specified or device not found, use -d to specify one of the following\n'
        ^
IndentationError: expected an indented block

No offense intended Smiley, I asked questions that probably seemed stupid to the people that answered me.
Now I'm happily crunching at 600mh/s thanks to the people that helped me out.

Maybe you should simply clone the git repo so you can transparently get upgrades and forget about this kind of issues altogether
You need to apt-get install git-core and then
git clone <url>
and then you can just git pull from time to time to upgrade.

berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 07:55:46 AM
 #251

It runs for 4-5 seconds, then asks me for my user-password again.

Code:
~/bitcoinminer$ python ./poclbm.py -d 0
Enter username for jsonrpc at 127.0.0.1:8332: berserk9779
Enter password for berserk9779 in jsonrpc at 127.0.0.1:8332:
20842 khash/sEnter username for jsonrpc at 127.0.0.1:8332: berserk9779
Enter password for berserk9779 in jsonrpc at 127.0.0.1:8332:
20847 khash/sEnter username for jsonrpc at 127.0.0.1:8332:

By the way, before poclbm I need to run bitcoind. Is there an option to have it running with the gui open?
ribuck
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 09:29:13 AM
 #252

It runs for 4-5 seconds, then asks me for my user-password again.

If you supply the user-password on the command line, you won't get asked for it again:

Code:
./poclbm.py --user=whatever --pass=whatever

That's not ideal from a security point of view, perhaps someone will suggest a better way.

By the way, before poclbm I need to run bitcoind. Is there an option to have it running with the gui open?

You can use bitcoin instead of bitcoind, provided you are using a recent version of Bitcoin (0.3.15 or later) and the latest version of poclbm. This gives you the GUI, plus OpenCL mining.
davout
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


1davout


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2010, 09:46:38 AM
 #253

It runs for 4-5 seconds, then asks me for my user-password again.

If you supply the user-password on the command line, you won't get asked for it again:

Code:
./poclbm.py --user=whatever --pass=whatever

That's not ideal from a security point of view, perhaps someone will suggest a better way.

By the way, before poclbm I need to run bitcoind. Is there an option to have it running with the gui open?

You can use bitcoin instead of bitcoind, provided you are using a recent version of Bitcoin (0.3.15 or later) and the latest version of poclbm. This gives you the GUI, plus OpenCL mining.

Or you can just edit poclbm source for a quick slightly securer dirty hack

berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 06:48:03 PM
 #254

It's finally up and running. 22 Mhash on average on a Nvidia 9800GT

But it only works with bitcoind.

And I had to start it like that:

Code:
./bitcoind -rpcuser=berserk9779 -rpcpassword=

and

Code:
./poclbm.py -d 0 --user=berserk9779 --pass=
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2010, 12:14:33 AM
 #255

Has anyone tried connecting to the bitcoin-server from a different machine using m0mchil's miner?

I am using Windows binary poclbm.exe. I have my bitcoin -server running on a local machine and have no problems connecting from poclbm.exe and generating using my GPU on the same local machine.

When I try to connect to the same bitcoin -server from a different PC using:

poclbm --user=user --pass=password --host=remoteip --port=8332

I keep on getting the message "Unable to communicate with bitcoin RPC".

The firewall on the PC running bitcoin.exe is disabled.

Is what I want to achieve at all possible?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
berserk9779
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
December 13, 2010, 12:36:44 AM
 #256

I think you should substitute remoteip for the actual private IP of the local machine where the server is running (usually 192.168.x.x)
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
December 13, 2010, 05:10:52 AM
 #257

From bitcoin docs

Quote
# By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed.  Specify
# as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from
# other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character):
#rpcallowip=10.1.1.34
#rpcallowip=192.168.1.*

Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2010, 08:15:29 AM
 #258

From bitcoin docs

Quote
# By default, only RPC connections from localhost are allowed.  Specify
# as many rpcallowip= settings as you like to allow connections from
# other hosts (and you may use * as a wildcard character):
#rpcallowip=10.1.1.34
#rpcallowip=192.168.1.*

Thanks m0mchil. RTFM. :/

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
December 13, 2010, 08:18:29 PM
 #259

It's me again...

I managed to connect to my bitcoin -server from two different remote machines.

With the third one I am getting the following error:

Code:
pyopencl.RuntimeError: CommandQueue failed: out of host memory

Does this mean my server has no more memory to accept more miners?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
December 14, 2010, 10:54:22 AM
 #260

Added update of block time every second and support for targets < 32 bits. Output now shows block hash and acceptance status.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!