Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2024, 12:01:13 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: python OpenCL bitcoin miner  (Read 1238799 times)
m0mchil (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 127


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 02:35:27 PM
 #461

New version, please update.

Changes:

- using httplib + json, keep-alive
- optional verbose output suitable for redirection to log file
- version in code
- handler methods for hash rate, difficulty=1 candidate checks, failure


Do you know what's changed since poclbm_py2exe_20101126 so the new version doesn't works correctly anymore on slave core of 5970 in Windows ?
Current version works fine on primary core, but after finding first "accepted" share on slave core it starts flooding console with that "check hardware" error. Older, poclbm_py2exe_20101126 version works on both cores...

Yes, I'm aware of this problem. Unfortunately I'm still unable to resolve it. Any help from someone with 5970 on windows will be appreciated. The problem does not exist on Linux, but I can't figure out why it appeared on Windows only after the 20101126 release.

1714219273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714219273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714219273
Reply with quote  #2

1714219273
Report to moderator
1714219273
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714219273

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714219273
Reply with quote  #2

1714219273
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, but full nodes are more resource-heavy, and they must do a lengthy initial syncing process. As a result, lightweight clients with somewhat less security are commonly used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 03:36:36 PM
 #462

New version, please update.

Changes:

- using httplib + json, keep-alive
- handler methods for hash rate, difficulty=1 candidate checks, failure

Just wondering if there's any more info on these changes,
I didn't see anything related to hash rate in the -help documentation, I'm probably missing something, just wondered if theres any more info on what these changes entail? Thanks for any info

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
m0mchil (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 127


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 04:23:52 PM
 #463

Just wondering if there's any more info on these changes...

Keep-alive reuses same connection if the other party (pool) supports it. Using python standard libraries 'httplib' and 'json' makes poclbm to not depend on python-jsonrpc anymore. I was actually unaware that there is 'json' in python.

If '--verbose' is specified there are no more '\r' (carriage returns) in output. You can redirect all output to file (poclbm [params] > filename). In this mode everything is on its own line, including hash rate. You may wish to use '-r 60' to have less hash rate entries in the log. Also, every single 'difficulty = 1' candidate is logged unless actual difficulty is 1.

Version is now embedded in miner - allows user to check actual version. Pools can gather statistics about different miners and report eventual problems.

Handler methods allow someone willing to create GUI for example to receive more information from the miner.

Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 07:07:35 PM
 #464

Using the new version in Debian Squeeze, I get this error when the pool doesn't respond:
Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 210, in mine
    work = self.getwork()
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 187, in getwork
    response = self.connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 355, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine

It does continue running, though.
Tolsi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 15, 2011, 07:16:09 PM
 #465

Using the new version in Debian Squeeze, I get this error when the pool doesn't respond:
Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 210, in mine
    work = self.getwork()
  File "/home/sensored/svn/BitcoinMiner.py", line 187, in getwork
    response = self.connection.getresponse()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 990, in getresponse
    response.begin()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 391, in begin
    version, status, reason = self._read_status()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/httplib.py", line 355, in _read_status
    raise BadStatusLine(line)
BadStatusLine

It does continue running, though.

+1
Code:
15/02/2011 22:13:23, 3249b4d/, accepted
15/02/2011 22:13:34, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
15/02/2011 22:13:34, bedda33/, accepted
win7 x64 , ati hd6870

Like what am I doing? 1FzSgYpLG4fpy2Q9fKXQsuLxHN81m4P3dR
realstudent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 07:40:48 PM
 #466

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine

Win7 x64 ATI 4870
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 15, 2011, 08:28:40 PM
 #467

In Windows 7 x64, I got those same errors right after unzipping directly over the old stuff and then double clicking my batch file. I then went to the command shell and ran it from there and everything was fine. I closed it, went back and ran the batch file again, and everything was fine.

Don't know why it started working on its own.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
realstudent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 09:03:06 PM
 #468

Maybe this issue touch server side?

Today i run "poclbm_py2exe_20110204" and also see this error message.
Ok, i check update for miner - found "poclbm_py2exe_20110215".
Next i download and depack to self dir. Error continue appear .... so i wrote to forum (maybe its being helpful).
dadittox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 09:52:55 PM
 #469

Would it be possible to add a log option and flush the output to log on every line? Redirecting output to a file in windows is buffered and it's very tricky to flush the output. It would be great to see the latest log entries without waiting for output buffer to fill up.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 10:24:56 PM
 #470

dadittox: Run the script with python -u poclbm.py

edit: guess that won't work with the exe file. Try running it from a .bat file and add
set PYTHONUNBUFFERED=1
before running the program.
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 10:56:52 PM
 #471

+1

Code:
15/02/2011 23:50:08, *******, accepted
15/02/2011 23:50:37, *******, accepted
15/02/2011 23:51:50, *******, accepted
15/02/2011 23:52:00, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
15/02/2011 23:53:14, Unexpected error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 210, in mine
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 187, in getwork
  File "httplib.pyc", line 974, in getresponse
  File "httplib.pyc", line 391, in begin
  File "httplib.pyc", line 355, in _read_status
BadStatusLine
15/02/2011 23:53:51, 42f6906e, accepted
23949 khash/s

Reverted back to 20110204, everything fine.
Manto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2011, 11:26:20 PM
 #472

Just tested running the latest version (poclbm_py2exe_20110215) on a laptop with Windows 7 and NVIDIA Quadro NVS 135.  Installed the latest driver, and poclbm runs - however it's churning at mere 1khash (I get about 2khash with rpcminer-cpu with 2 threads).  Not sure if it's an issue with Quadro card or the driver - but I thought I'd report here and let everyone know my findings.
schnak
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 04:50:48 AM
 #473

Ok I've updated drivers, checked for latest versions, etc. but I'm still getting this error when I try to run the batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>"D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\poclbm.exe" --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 41, in <module>
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 138, in __init__
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'BitcoinMiner.cl'

the file is there i can see it but the script doesn't. any ideas on how to get this up and running?
Tolsi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2011, 06:20:32 AM
 #474

Ok I've updated drivers, checked for latest versions, etc. but I'm still getting this error when I try to run the batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>"D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\poclbm.exe" --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 41, in <module>
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 138, in __init__
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'BitcoinMiner.cl'

the file is there i can see it but the script doesn't. any ideas on how to get this up and running?
use it in bat file:
cd "D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215"
d:
poclbm.exe --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0

Like what am I doing? 1FzSgYpLG4fpy2Q9fKXQsuLxHN81m4P3dR
DarkMatter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


Stop trying to steal my account, thanks.


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 08:50:47 AM
 #475

Ok I've updated drivers, checked for latest versions, etc. but I'm still getting this error when I try to run the batch file.

C:\Windows\system32>"D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\poclbm.exe" --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "poclbm.py", line 41, in <module>
  File "BitcoinMiner.pyc", line 138, in __init__
IOError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'BitcoinMiner.cl'

the file is there i can see it but the script doesn't. any ideas on how to get this up and running?

Before issuing the poclbm_***.exe, switch to the right directory.
Code:
cd \
d:
cd bitcoin
cd poclbm_*****

Issue the command from here.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1284
Merit: 1001


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 10:39:33 AM
 #476

Ok I've updated drivers, checked for latest versions, etc. but I'm still getting this error when I try to run the batch file.
C:\Windows\system32>"D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\poclbm.exe" --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0
You don't really need a batch file to run it from Windows. Just make a shortcut on the desktop and using your example add
D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\poclbm.exe --user=youruser --pass=yourpw --device=0
to target and
D:\bitcoin\poclbm_py2exe_20110215\
to Start in.

Then you can just double click it to start.
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2011, 11:36:17 AM
 #477

Do you know what's changed since poclbm_py2exe_20101126 so the new version doesn't works correctly anymore on slave core of 5970 in Windows ?
Current version works fine on primary core, but after finding first "accepted" share on slave core it starts flooding console with that "check hardware" error. Older, poclbm_py2exe_20101126 version works on both cores...
Yes, I'm aware of this problem. Unfortunately I'm still unable to resolve it. Any help from someone with 5970 on windows will be appreciated. The problem does not exist on Linux, but I can't figure out why it appeared on Windows only after the 20101126 release.[/quote]
What kind of help do you need ?

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
realstudent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 12:54:57 PM
 #478

In last 8 hours problem described above ("Unexpected error:") not appear.
I stay used "poclbm_py2exe_20110215".
N12
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1010



View Profile
February 16, 2011, 01:40:58 PM
 #479

Awesome. I get up to 350 Mhash/s with my 5870 (overclocked to 915/1275MHz) now with the recommended settings.

I think my computer’s a bit less laggy after the update, but that could just be a placebo.
m0mchil (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171
Merit: 127


View Profile
February 16, 2011, 01:56:51 PM
 #480

The 'Unexpected error:' doesn't affect mining at all. I just missed to handle HTTP exceptions. Will add it in next version.

@[Tycho]: For example trying to figure out why 20101126 works but later ones don't. I just don't have 5970 to test on Windows right now.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!