Bitcoin Forum
March 27, 2017, 02:58:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 1142 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3020743 times)
datguyian
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 04:51:10 AM
 #101

One thing I'm curious and slightly worried about (bear in mind I'm screwing around with a drafter's workstation on my company's network at this time... yeah, I know, WTF?!)... CPU is staying maxed out on the machine I'm testing this on right now. Any idea why? From what I've read, Radeon's require almost no CPU usage. Why is it that this Quadro 600 would be maxing a 4 core intel Xeon CPU out?

If you can tell me why I will be buying a few Quadro 600's tomorrow as opposed to a couple of 7950's, and probably granting the surplus to you in donations... I'm getting amazing kh/s on the quadro 600, just don't understand what's going on with the CPU.

TiltABitPoker.com ♣♠♥♦ Fantastic poker community with offerwalls, freerolls, worldwide poker news, and more! ♣♠♥♦ TiltABitPoker.com
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490583512
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490583512

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490583512
Reply with quote  #2

1490583512
Report to moderator
1490583512
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490583512

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490583512
Reply with quote  #2

1490583512
Report to moderator
datguyian
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 05:00:22 AM
 #102

Here's a screen shot of what's happening for me right now on a Quadro 600:

http://postimg.org/image/va9l0kawx/

worst hashrate for litecoin mining so far is a 302 kh/s.

TiltABitPoker.com ♣♠♥♦ Fantastic poker community with offerwalls, freerolls, worldwide poker news, and more! ♣♠♥♦ TiltABitPoker.com
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:13:57 AM
 #103

Here's a screen shot of what's happening for me right now on a Quadro 600:
http://postimg.org/image/va9l0kawx/
worst hashrate for litecoin mining so far is a 302 kh/s.

This can't be right.

Upgrade your nVidia drivers. It seems only your CPU is doing preparatory work, and the GPU is idling. Results would not be valid and not be resulting in payouts.

Same thing happens when specifying a CUDA device with -d that doesn't exist.

Error checking is one point still on my TODO list, and I haven't really started with it yet.
BaghdadSteve
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:18:36 AM
 #104

The latest 4-09 version now works for my GTX670; everything in between 4-06 and now hadn't for some reason, the autotuner just kept doing weird things.  Now getting 140khash/s off of this.   Grin
cancrena
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 09:27:33 AM
 #105

thank you for this piece of software!
with my shitty gt 540m i reached 16kh/s with cgminer, but actually it didn't send a lot of shares
with cudaminer it gets to 20kh/s on --no-autotune
here's a screenshot
it states that it started with launch config 8x4
would i get better performances leaving the autotune on? i'm not expecting anything with a card like this, but i tried and it was taking forever so i stopped it and forced --no-autotune
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 10:10:56 AM
 #106

CUDA programs cannot be started on Remote Desktop. Need to use VNC instead.

Only exception is Tesla on TCC drivers.
datguyian
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2013, 10:37:13 AM
 #107

Here's a screen shot of what's happening for me right now on a Quadro 600:
http://postimg.org/image/va9l0kawx/
worst hashrate for litecoin mining so far is a 302 kh/s.

This can't be right.

Upgrade your nVidia drivers. It seems only your CPU is doing preparatory work, and the GPU is idling. Results would not be valid and not be resulting in payouts.

Same thing happens when specifying a CUDA device with -d that doesn't exist.

Error checking is one point still on my TODO list, and I haven't really started with it yet.

I was executing an inaccurate command that apparently was making it look way better than it really was... sorry, too much alcohol has been in the mix this AM, greatly assisting with higher levels of stupidity than usual on my behalf.... as if my sober levels of stupidity aren't enough. Huh

I'll have to mess around with this some more to see what I can get out of it, but on a Quadro 4000 I'm testing out right now, I seem to be (accurately) averaging around around 46KH/s  (still not bad, considering I had previously disqualified any Nvidia's I had access to for for mining).

I'll still stand true to my word and hit you up with as decent a donation as I can manage once I get a few coins in my pocket Smiley First good miner program I've seen for a Nvidia card so far, so I think it's only fair. Especially if you're an IT sys admin looking to use your office's network (fulll of nvidia's and sparse on radeon's) for mining after hours...  Grin

TiltABitPoker.com ♣♠♥♦ Fantastic poker community with offerwalls, freerolls, worldwide poker news, and more! ♣♠♥♦ TiltABitPoker.com
Caesar V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 342



View Profile
April 10, 2013, 11:10:26 AM
 #108

Finally got this to work!

Getting 230-350 kh/s on my sli 570's!

 Grin Thanks!

Always think twice before trading with a stranger.

Scammer wall of shame - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?board=83.0
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 11:16:28 AM
 #109

CUDA programs cannot be started on Remote Desktop. Need to use VNC instead.

Only exception is Tesla on TCC drivers.

use /console switch on RDP Smiley


wowfreaks22
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 12:19:02 PM
 #110

getting 87.5k/h with a 460 at 815/2000 with 56x2, think it was around 70 with cgminer so pretty good boost this Smiley
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 01:49:27 PM
 #111

Who's using the Linux Client now?

What features are people interested in the most? Pool failover? Stratum? More CUDA optimization?
dragon2nd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:17:44 PM
 #112

Who's using the Linux Client now?

What features are people interested in the most? Pool failover? Stratum? More CUDA optimization?
Can't compile on Linux (x86_64):

configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
Vbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:35:51 PM
 #113

Who's using the Linux Client now?

What features are people interested in the most? Pool failover? Stratum? More CUDA optimization?

CUDA optimization would be best, since hash rate is what really separates AMD from nVidia.
TheBigYak
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 03:48:20 PM
 #114

Who's using the Linux Client now?

What features are people interested in the most? Pool failover? Stratum? More CUDA optimization?

CUDA Optimization would be #1, followed by Stratum support then failover in my opinion.

By the way, this thing is rock-solid for me since the 4/6 update, been running non-stop with no crashes.

BTC: 13kkN4G4jo2AYKap3jQ4jUAiM6qU2atXQ1 / LTC: LSU6ujXjUQBjLT3sRastBuYmmHKrEHeV8e
gchil0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 04:12:36 PM
 #115


CUDA Optimization would be #1, followed by Stratum support then failover in my opinion.

I concur with this ranking.

I use the Linux client on most of my cards.  The only exception is the K20's when they are free.  330 Mh/s on btc is still better there.

BTC:  1Hqdi5MCVxwhQpT6L4kERHdQXMWoD4M3up
LTC:  LUZSgjrJujGJMhjRV6KGpw9zrkJzNdAxvM
gchil0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 04:16:44 PM
 #116

Can't compile on Linux (x86_64):

configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables
This indicates that your compiler is broken.  What distro are you using?

BTC:  1Hqdi5MCVxwhQpT6L4kERHdQXMWoD4M3up
LTC:  LUZSgjrJujGJMhjRV6KGpw9zrkJzNdAxvM
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 04:23:56 PM
 #117

Who's using the Linux Client now?

What features are people interested in the most? Pool failover? Stratum? More CUDA optimization?
Can't compile on Linux (x86_64):

configure: error: C compiler cannot create executables

Try a 32 bit binary build, which needs a few extra dependencies

sudo apt-get install g++-multilib ia32-libs libcurl4-openssl:i386
./configure.sh    <-- this sets you up for a 32 bit binary build. Will run just fine on 64 bit Linux.
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 05:37:42 PM
 #118

NVIDIA optimization #1, we can get around the lack of stratum support with a proxy miner for now.


cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:13:27 PM
 #119

By popular vote, I will be further optimizing the CUDA code.

And boy, do I have some aces up my sleeves: Huge memory transactions (ulong4 vectors where each thread pushes 16 bytes around the block)

The test laptop I am testing on just jumped from 4kHash to 6kHash. So that's a 50% increase.

Yes, there are ways to jump the memory barrier.

Donations please! Wink

EDIT: My GTX 460 just jumped from 72 kHash to 93 kHash. Wow. And I haven't even attempted to redo the autotuning yet. EDIT2: After autotuning even 96 kHash in the 56x2 launch configuration. Neat.

Christian
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 10, 2013, 08:31:20 PM
 #120

By popular vote, I will be further optimizing the CUDA code.

And boy, do I have some aces up my sleeves: Huge memory transactions (ulong4 vectors where each thread pushes 16 bytes around the block)

The test laptop I am testing on just jumped from 4kHash to 6kHash. So that's a 50% increase.

Yes, there are ways to jump the memory barrier.

Donations please! Wink

EDIT: My GTX 460 just jumped from 72 kHash to 93 kHash. Wow.

Christian


44% Wink 

Anyone know if there wallet that does auto transactions? Like for every coin I bring in...it send a few to someone else? Smiley

I'd like to do this for Christian. 

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ... 1142 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!