Bitcoin Forum
March 27, 2017, 02:58:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 1142 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3020747 times)
jayeeyee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 06:58:26 AM
 #521

Sorry, I'm a GUI noob.  How do I use this, any setup instructions? cmd line settings? flags?  I have a 670GTX card.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:45:54 AM
 #522

Sorry, I'm a GUI noob.  How do I use this, any setup instructions? cmd line settings? flags?  I have a 670GTX card.

The command line settings are explained in the README.txt file. README as in read me.

If you are not familiar with the command prompt (CMD.exe), I suggest you wait until my miner becomes included in some GUI based mining kits. It shouldn't take long before such solutions will be available.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:47:03 AM
 #523

The 320.00 beta driver really made my GTX 660Ti slightly faster. With my current experimental cudaminer version (unreleased) I reach 168-171 kHash/s (slightly varying over time). Before the driver update it was around 160.
3devilred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 10:09:32 AM
 #524

cudaminer do not work on triplemining.com???
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 10:28:01 AM
 #525

cudaminer do not work on triplemining.com???

cudaMiner is for scrypt based mining only. bitcoin is sha256d

yakka34
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:31:44 AM
 #526

Sorry, I'm a GUI noob.  How do I use this, any setup instructions? cmd line settings? flags?  I have a 670GTX card.

Find my setting for gtx 670, 174kh/s
Flags/setting can be found from.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AjMqJzI7_dCvdG9fZFN1Vjd0WkFOZmtlejltd0JXbmc#gid=2

Edit: cbuchner1 please add this link to your starting post.

LTC: LR4az1vGiEPxRgRqzwWGL6C9HAexZCDQJZ
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:41:16 AM
 #527


Spreadsheet is now linked on first post.
yakka34
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:49:30 AM
 #528


Spreadsheet is now linked on first post.


Link goes to gid 1 by default, Would you change it to 2 because it better organized?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AjMqJzI7_dCvdG9fZFN1Vjd0WkFOZmtlejltd0JXbmc#gid=2

LTC: LR4az1vGiEPxRgRqzwWGL6C9HAexZCDQJZ
coalescent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 01:56:11 PM
 #529

@yakka: In the README there is some documentation on what arguments do. There's even an example...
gork68
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 03:34:01 PM
 #530

The 320.00 beta driver really made my GTX 660Ti slightly faster. With my current experimental cudaminer version (unreleased) I reach 168-171 kHash/s (slightly varying over time). Before the driver update it was around 160.

curious, what are you running your 660 ti at, stock? also what clocks etc. if you are stock settings, model? I ask because without the beta driver and your unrelease optimized version (i am using the 4/22) i am getting +180 with my msi 660 ti pe at stock no OC. i am using flags -i 0 -C 2 -l 42x7

thx
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 04:36:21 PM
 #531

I have an EVGA 660Ti "SC" (Superclocked, meaning a slight factory overclock), it has 3 GB memory.

Right now it runs at core clock 1097.4, memory clock 1502.3. TDP around 99.6% doing hashing.

Interestingly, the GPU load seems to oscillate between 85 and 99%. which is where I might be losing
some performance.

Maybe it's a TDP or temperature issue and the GPU clocks down or idles when needed?

Mine currently runs fastest with-i 0  -l 70x2 -C 2

There is also a principal issue with autotune, as the card may dynamically adjust its clock speed to meet TDP requirements, therefore interfering with the accuracy of the measurements. Argh.

Christian

gork68
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 04:45:26 PM
 #532


I have an EVGA 660Ti "SC" (Superclocked), 3 GB memory.

Right now it runs at core clock 1097.4, memory clock 1502.3. TDP around 99.6% doing hashing.

Interestingly, the GPU load seems to oscillate between 85 and 99%. which is where I might be losing
some performance.

Maybe it's a TDP or temperature issue and the GPU clocks down when needed?

Christian


hmmm... my clock's are almost identical to yours but I do not see much if any fluctuation of load, just flat lined pegged out Tongue i guess that is the difference.

i see no issue with temps on my card, fan is not working hard ~40% and temp steady 62c power consumption ~80% all numbers flat and steady without fluctuation.

curious if anyone has any success with OC... i have tried to OC my card and i get good performance increases for gaming (stable OC as far as temps and such) but oddly my hashing dips slightly... weird

EDIT
Quote from: cbuchner1
Mine currently runs fastest with-i 0  -l 70x2 -C 2
I have also used this setting and get almost 180 but the 42x7 pushed me over Tongue
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 06:59:28 PM
 #533

Christian,
 I'm looking @ htop and not sure i completely understand it:
Code:
http://speedy.sh/GR5eH/Screenshot-root-azlnx.png
why is it 98% CPU utilization?
BrewCrewFan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:02:20 PM
 #534

Arg finally got this to work. Its funny when you do read the read me, tells you all the flags and stuff... but never tells you how to modify. Finally I made a shortcut and then added all the info I needed to into it and walla... its working 2x faster with heck less lag as cgminer did. Now to find some good settings for the 660/540/250.

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!.
SqMe5ceYfdcGsRyVpgvpYb6bRLS9j8omvB

XChat : Addy : XYuZESQpeMtZ2wit8nVVnXKGytfiaTBCo6 PubKey : eteshLzeq8Bh54BRjGSunMTc6Ytxtk7HYaSmDYMQn61z
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:27:42 PM
 #535

Christian,
 I'm looking @ htop and not sure i completely understand it:
Code:
http://speedy.sh/GR5eH/Screenshot-root-azlnx.png
why is it 98% CPU utilization?

Huh, were did my response go?  Well, let's type it again:

I also noticed the effect that on Linux, one thread will continually eat 100% on a single CPU core. I believe Linux defines 100% CPU utilization as full load on one core. i.e. a 6 core CPU can go up to 100%. This effect does not occur on windows.

As an example: My desktop PC is mining on 4 GPUs at 500kHash and is currently using 30-40% CPU for cudaMiner (Phenom II 1055T CPU, not the fastest one really). I believe most of this load is actually caused by submitting input data to the GPU (SHA-256) and also hashing GPU results again before validating them against the difficulty target.

I suspect on Linux there is one thread that continually pegs the CPU - either within the CUDA API, or possibly the usleep() API call that does some kind of busy wait when sleeping for sub-millisecond time intervals.

If someone knows what is going on, please let me know.

Christian

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:32:05 PM
 #536


What are the best tools to overclock Kepler based GPUs? that MSI AfterBurner tool sucks
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:35:23 PM
 #537

.. I suspect on Linux there is one thread that continually pegs the CPU - either within the CUDA API, or possibly the usleep() API call that does some kind of busy wait when sleeping for sub-millisecond time intervals.

If someone knows what is going on, please let me know.

Christian

actually you are right - it does say the process is sleeping... but taking 100% CPU %)
termhn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:42:32 PM
 #538


What are the best tools to overclock Kepler based GPUs? that MSI AfterBurner tool sucks

I like EVGA Precision X personally.

Misiolap
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 07:53:14 PM
 #539

@dbabo
Try this:
in salsa_kernel.cu find line:
Code:
cudaSetDeviceFlags(cudaDeviceScheduleYield);
and change it to
Code:
cudaSetDeviceFlags(cudaDeviceScheduleBlockingSync);

On my setup it doesn't help much, as most cpu time is spent in sha256_transformx4 function, but it may help on your setup.

My tip jars: 1FQMFpqnCH1ATPGoHLnmSAXB1gBh9vAKXC | LZiXcRvUr5wJrkfvc9vXvqDwe51YfVPRkv
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:00:05 PM
 #540


What are the best tools to overclock Kepler based GPUs? that MSI AfterBurner tool sucks


I've used EVGA Precision but I liked NvidiaInspector more.  It seemed to have more/better control for my cards.  I have 2 gtx560se's and Precision would only adjust one of them and leave the other at stock.  NvidiaInspector lets you set each cards speeds, fan, and voltage separately.

Try them both. 

Was I helpful? BTC: 1B5SzPsBDuGLvGYuWw5b4Po8MaFSGck1Dt    LTC: LSQEM9re967ds5ZTHxs6SUvmKVpB5KdMwZ    DOGE:  DS3HN4s4YainUsiwrFcAoXa4e3WiSaM74P
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 1142 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!