Bitcoin Forum
May 01, 2017, 06:31:06 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 1142 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3053618 times)
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:05:07 PM
 #541

It seems that I somehow got lost in my CUDA optimization. After 3 days of trying, I ended up having less kHash/sec compared to the April 22nd version.

So I re-start my optimization endeavour from scratch. This time I throw out the old S kernels, and my optimized kernels will bear the "S" prefix instead. Now during autotune I can directly compare "S" vs. non-S performance, and if there are any performance benefits or penalties, I can immediately quantify them.

I am at a point where seemingly harmless changes make the compiler do something different, and it ends up having an unexpected performance penalty.

Christian
1493620266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620266
Reply with quote  #2

1493620266
Report to moderator
1493620266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620266
Reply with quote  #2

1493620266
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493620266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620266
Reply with quote  #2

1493620266
Report to moderator
1493620266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620266
Reply with quote  #2

1493620266
Report to moderator
1493620266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493620266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493620266
Reply with quote  #2

1493620266
Report to moderator
Cheshyr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:31:47 PM
 #542

It seems that I somehow got lost in my CUDA optimization. After 3 days of trying, I ended up having less kHash/sec compared to the April 22nd version.

So I re-start my optimization endeavour from scratch. This time I throw out the old S kernels, and my optimized kernels will bear the "S" prefix instead. Now during autotune I can directly compare "S" vs. non-S performance, and if there are any performance benefits or penalties, I can immediately quantify them.

I am at a point where seemingly harmless changes make the compiler do something different, and it ends up having an unexpected performance penalty.

Christian
Solar flare.  Definitely the solar flares fault.

At least you've got version control.
nst6563
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:35:10 PM
 #543

damn those solar flares.  piss me off they do.

Was I helpful? BTC: 1B5SzPsBDuGLvGYuWw5b4Po8MaFSGck1Dt    LTC: LSQEM9re967ds5ZTHxs6SUvmKVpB5KdMwZ    DOGE:  DS3HN4s4YainUsiwrFcAoXa4e3WiSaM74P
coalescent
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 12:44:00 AM
 #544

http://i.imgur.com/dTlL0ZI.png

Looks like the 320.00 beta's improved my performance quite a bit. On the 4-22 build I was getting about 205kH/s (125/400 boost). But now am getting upwards of 220kH/s. Pretty decent.
termhn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 01:35:04 AM
 #545

Any chance of a version of cudaminer for this when it comes out? Been watching it closely and it looks really cool. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=169204.0

FalconFour
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:24:32 AM
 #546

Solar flare.  Definitely the solar flares fault.

At least you've got version control.
* pictures cbuchner1's reply...
Quote
Yeah, ah... version control.
*downloads the archive file from the first post here*
*extract, overwrite*

Yep, version control. Good thing for that.

Wink

feed the bird: 187CXEVzakbzcANsyhpAAoF2k6KJsc55P1 (BTC) / LiRzzXnwamFCHoNnWqEkZk9HknRmjNT7nU (LTC)
Minas3d
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 04:03:24 AM
 #547

I've been trying to use this miner since the first release on my 9800GTX, but everytime I start it up it crashes the second it starts mining. I've tried every and all settings on different releases and it continues to crash, I have no idea what's causing it.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 07:51:56 AM
 #548

At least you've got version control.
*downloads the archive file from the first post here*
*extract, overwrite*

Yep, version control. Good thing for that.

Exactly. While we use SVN at work, at home all I've got is backup copies of directories and files. No git, no svn, no cvs, no mercurial.

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:41:45 AM
 #549

I've been trying to use this miner since the first release on my 9800GTX, but everytime I start it up it crashes the second it starts mining. I've tried every and all settings on different releases and it continues to crash, I have no idea what's causing it.

Are you using nVidia driver is release 304.xxx or later? This reminds me that the next version should really output verbose error messages. I've had a couple of reports where the kernels would just not work for some reason, yet the CUDA card was identified correctly with name and compute capability.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 05:55:33 PM
 #550

Hmm, CPU usage decreases significantly on Windows when I split the CPU workload (SHA-256 hashing) into exactly N equal chunks where N is the number of CPU cores on the system.

I think previously I did something wrong in splitting up the CPU workload. So it actually had to do work harder than it needed to. Hmm.. Bad bug: A significant part of the work was overlapping and therefore redundant. Also, no one ever took a closer look at my source code.  Shocked

CPU usage now hovers around 15% when I produce 350-400kHash/sec on an AMD Phenom II 1055T processor.

Christian
beppe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 06:16:12 PM
 #551

hi, i'm using a gt-430 but can't get anything to work.

when I launch
cudaminer.exe -o http://newlc.ozco.in:9332 -u xxxxxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxx -d 0
i get
Code:
           *** CudaMiner for nVidia GPUs by Christian Buchner ***
                     This is version 2013-04-22 (alpha)
        based on pooler-cpuminer 2.2.3 (c) 2010 Jeff Garzik, 2012 pooler
               Cuda additions Copyright 2013 Christian Buchner
           My donation address: LKS1WDKGED647msBQfLBHV3Ls8sveGncnm

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] Long-polling activated for http://newlc.ozco.in:9332/LP
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: starting up...

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: interactive: 0, tex-cache: 0 , single-alloc: 0
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: Performing auto-tuning (Patience...)
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:    0.00 khash/s with configuration  0x0
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: using launch configuration  0x0
then it crashes and I see the window "windows is searching for a solution"

if I launch cudaminer with --no-autotune it doesn't crash, but all I get is
Quote
[2013-04-26 20:14:21] GPU #0: , 0 hashes, 0.00 khash/s

what can I do?
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 06:17:15 PM
 #552

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25

See, it can't even open your GPU. No name indicated and compute capability is bogus.

Try updating your driver. It must be new enough to support CUDA 5.0.
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 06:32:19 PM
 #553

.. Also, no one ever took a closer look at my source code.  Shocked
not exactly. Buddy of mine hovered over it trying to get it to work on 4.2.
I'm not sure what came out of that yet.

..
CPU usage now hovers around 15% when I produce 350-400kHash/sec on an AMD Phenom II 1055T processor.

Christian

does it mean there is a newer version i can try ?
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 06:43:19 PM
 #554


Nope, not yet.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 638



View Profile
April 26, 2013, 07:32:21 PM
 #555

See, it can't even open your GPU. No name indicated and compute capability is bogus.
Maybe some code like this would be helpful?
Code:
error=cudaGetDeviceCount(&deviceCount);
if(error!=cudaSuccess)
{
if(error==cudaErrorNoDevice)
cout << "No CUDA capable device found" << endl;
else
cout << cudaGetErrorString(error) << endl;
}

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 07:34:24 PM
 #556


I think this is the next item on my TODO list.

BrewCrewFan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:00:51 PM
 #557

hi, i'm using a gt-430 but can't get anything to work.

when I launch
cudaminer.exe -o http://newlc.ozco.in:9332 -u xxxxxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxxx -d 0
i get
Code:
          *** CudaMiner for nVidia GPUs by Christian Buchner ***
                     This is version 2013-04-22 (alpha)
        based on pooler-cpuminer 2.2.3 (c) 2010 Jeff Garzik, 2012 pooler
               Cuda additions Copyright 2013 Christian Buchner
           My donation address: LKS1WDKGED647msBQfLBHV3Ls8sveGncnm

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt' algorithm.
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] Long-polling activated for http://newlc.ozco.in:9332/LP
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: starting up...

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: interactive: 0, tex-cache: 0 , single-alloc: 0
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: Performing auto-tuning (Patience...)
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:    0.00 khash/s with configuration  0x0
[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0: using launch configuration  0x0
then it crashes and I see the window "windows is searching for a solution"

if I launch cudaminer with --no-autotune it doesn't crash, but all I get is
Quote
[2013-04-26 20:14:21] GPU #0: , 0 hashes, 0.00 khash/s

what can I do?


Stupid question ( Heck I just now figured out how to get this thing to launch myself ) .... but did you make a launch.bat file? When I first tried to use cuda, I got something kinda like that... then I made the launch.bat, put the info needed in it :

cudaminer -o http://website:port -O"username:password" -i 1 ( take out the " of course... leaving a space)

then I just double click on it and it launches no probs for me. You can add flags to this as needed ( like remove autotune and add you own *x* to it ectect)

I wish the directions were more clear than "dl this and that and run"...makes it hard for those of us that are not very good at stuff like this.

Yeah I see what you did there... thats not right. Make the launch.bat file with your notepad...make sure when you save it , you save it as "launch.bat" without the ".... chose "all files" when you save it so it will save as a .bat file instead of a notepad ...and in the folder you have the cuda.exe in. Then all you should have to do is double click on the .bat file you just made and it should launch.

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!.
SqMe5ceYfdcGsRyVpgvpYb6bRLS9j8omvB

XChat : Addy : XYuZESQpeMtZ2wit8nVVnXKGytfiaTBCo6 PubKey : eteshLzeq8Bh54BRjGSunMTc6Ytxtk7HYaSmDYMQn61z
beppe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:17:19 PM
 #558

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25

See, it can't even open your GPU. No name indicated and compute capability is bogus.

Try updating your driver. It must be new enough to support CUDA 5.0.


thank you and to all the others, I solved installing latest 314.22 nvidia driver! Smiley

now I see

Code:
[2013-04-26 22:10:48] GPU #0: GeForce GT 430, 81408 hashes, 18.13 khash/s

same speed of cgminer but it's ok!
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:18:43 PM
 #559

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25

See, it can't even open your GPU. No name indicated and compute capability is bogus.

Try updating your driver. It must be new enough to support CUDA 5.0.


thank you and to all the others, I solved installing latest 314.22 nvidia driver! Smiley

now I see

Code:
[2013-04-26 22:10:48] GPU #0: GeForce GT 430, 81408 hashes, 18.13 khash/s

same speed of cgminer but it's ok!

Try it with -i 0 at the end of the launch

BrewCrewFan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:25:19 PM
 #560

[2013-04-26 20:10:35] GPU #0:  with compute capability 716.25

See, it can't even open your GPU. No name indicated and compute capability is bogus.

Try updating your driver. It must be new enough to support CUDA 5.0.


thank you and to all the others, I solved installing latest 314.22 nvidia driver! Smiley

now I see

Code:
[2013-04-26 22:10:48] GPU #0: GeForce GT 430, 81408 hashes, 18.13 khash/s

same speed of cgminer but it's ok!

Try it with -I 0 at the end of the launch
that is a -i and not an uppercase.

He might also try using the -l flag also to see how it goes. My 450 has one of -l 40x2 I think.

Free SIGNs giving everyday. Be part, do not miss!.
SqMe5ceYfdcGsRyVpgvpYb6bRLS9j8omvB

XChat : Addy : XYuZESQpeMtZ2wit8nVVnXKGytfiaTBCo6 PubKey : eteshLzeq8Bh54BRjGSunMTc6Ytxtk7HYaSmDYMQn61z
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 ... 1142 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!