Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 10:19:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939 1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 [1967] 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3012037 times)
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 04:50:12 PM
 #39321

Well, i am still waiting for a refund asked during May for an order made on February!
Their answer is the same always, "sorry for the delay, you refund is in its way"  Angry

AKA, they haven't mined it yet.

1511432383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511432383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511432383
Reply with quote  #2

1511432383
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511432383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511432383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511432383
Reply with quote  #2

1511432383
Report to moderator
1511432383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511432383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511432383
Reply with quote  #2

1511432383
Report to moderator
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 08:09:52 PM
 #39322

Since you guys are still taking about KNC here, I am not sure if anyone has seen this...

https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-118

I am not sure what to make of KNC's position on the extra miners that the B1 and B2 owners (including myself) are still waiting for after seeing this and no mention of the Neptune's under their Bitcoin Mining section on their main page.

Thanks,
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


INS Ecosystem


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 08:56:38 PM
 #39323

I am so glad I got out of the mining game and managed to do it at the correct time.

Btw what is the current lowest price for GH/s for a complete product and have we reached the point where the electricity cost has surpassed the mining revenue?

It's getting there if you have expensive electricity.

Antminer S3+, $210 USD, 450 GH/s

income = $2/day
electricity@$.15/kwh = $1.25/day.

I'm not growing my farm now, but the income and spare heat is quite nice this winter.

These attract VAT+duty when imported in the EU, so the total comes around 250USD. Then you need a PSU, so let's say 30USD more.
Total = 280USD

Basically these will never see break even.
Here in the UK these will bring 0.30GBP profit daily  Shocked




this.

we should be seeing a far bigger drop in difficulty than we are. however, from what I see across these forums, there seems to be even more new miners than there was last year at this point. insane.
the only reason I still have 8TH/s running is because my electric is free. If it wasn't for that, I doubt very much i'd have such 'confidence in the price of bitcoin'

 Undecided

I don't think we will see a very big drop in difficulty, because mining has moved from the home of the average person to large industrial data centres where they pay cheap electricity rates.
So these mining companies are still very much profitable.

posts like these crack me up ...

the average miner is invested in equipment they cant sell , so why would they stop mining ?

even if you make $10 a day per 1.5TH after electicity of .13cents/watt its still free HEAT and free $$

in spring and summer when things warm up and you have to spend $$ on cooling that 1.5 TH things will change. 

Its pretty much clear that any gains made in the global hashrate over this winter will be erased quite dramatically when summer starts up again next year

and all these winter miners have to finally dump their hardware.



███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █
███ █ █

█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
█ █ ███
●  Whitepaper
●  ANN Thread
●  Reddit
●  Telegram
●  Twitter
●  Facebook

███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
Mysil2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 09:50:01 PM
 #39324

Try changing the voltage/speed of the others? I have some KNC gear that would act like that and required I actually raise the speed of the bum ones above stock, and in some cases lowering voltage. I've also noticed sometimes neighboring DC's if running too high, would shut down the bum ones. Almost seemed as if they were pulling current away from them.



Thanks for the tips, I'll try that. Can't raise clocks above stock, though. 300MHz is the highest selectable speed.

I found a config file in the Titan SD image that had a preconfigured max speed of 475Mhz for the Titan.  To overclock the Titan edit waas.c, recompile and install.

Edit: /home/pi/knc-asic/waas/waas.c

Change this line from 300 to 475:

Code:
#define MAX_DIE_FREQ_TITAN              475

Then:

Code:
cd /home/pi/knc-asic/
make raspberry
cp waas/waas /usr/bin/

Next time you restart bfgminer the advanced page will have selectable speeds up to 475 mhz.

FYI: I had a titan cube overclocked to 400Mhz and was getting about 100Mh/s but the hashrate slipped down quickly over time (even though dcdc's were fine). Not sure why, temps were decentsand everything was working fine.

Might try again at some point.

Note if you are overlocking you had better have damn good connections at the PSU and the Titan.  The one I was overclocking was soldered directly to the Titan cube using TWO high quality 6x PCI-E connections (NOT the cheap square pins with the split down the middle).


Anyone have any luck with overcloking? I have now soldered on the power cables after haveing all my cubes turn the pci-e connectors brown. Tried this with 1.11 and can choose up to 475MHz, but whatever I choose above 325MHz, it is not setting the frequency.

Maybe there is some other files that needs to be changed aswell?

1BLUeBirdV2RBnyJBQZvNXsCMm3VVqoPTj
Elenelen
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 202


View Profile
November 24, 2014, 09:50:19 PM
 #39325

Pfff.... now I understand their Q3 talk...

See their latest news, and the date below:
https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-119


raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
November 24, 2014, 09:56:14 PM
 #39326

clevermining is most likely the best bet for titty users.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
retro72
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 01:32:58 AM
 #39327

Quote
https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-119
we advertised a 100/250 MHs straight-forward Litecoin-miner, and we're happy to conclude the final product over-delivers on all accounts

LOL KNC retconning history again.

Quote
https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-79
Scrypt Miner launch

OK, so the day is finally here. We can now officially launch our first product dedicated to scrypt mining.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 06:39:51 AM
 #39328

i'm sure the mass majority of the people who bought that miner, certainly wouldn't have done so if they thought all they could mine with it was Litecoin.
changing the specifications after the fact is a serious breach of trading standards.


ps. i'm selling a car. anyone want to buy my car? it's $10k and will get you for A -> B
it's the most efficient car you can buy.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 06:48:24 AM
 #39329

Try changing the voltage/speed of the others? I have some KNC gear that would act like that and required I actually raise the speed of the bum ones above stock, and in some cases lowering voltage. I've also noticed sometimes neighboring DC's if running too high, would shut down the bum ones. Almost seemed as if they were pulling current away from them.



Thanks for the tips, I'll try that. Can't raise clocks above stock, though. 300MHz is the highest selectable speed.

I found a config file in the Titan SD image that had a preconfigured max speed of 475Mhz for the Titan.  To overclock the Titan edit waas.c, recompile and install.

Edit: /home/pi/knc-asic/waas/waas.c

Change this line from 300 to 475:

Code:
#define MAX_DIE_FREQ_TITAN              475

Then:

Code:
cd /home/pi/knc-asic/
make raspberry
cp waas/waas /usr/bin/

Next time you restart bfgminer the advanced page will have selectable speeds up to 475 mhz.

FYI: I had a titan cube overclocked to 400Mhz and was getting about 100Mh/s but the hashrate slipped down quickly over time (even though dcdc's were fine). Not sure why, temps were decentsand everything was working fine.

Might try again at some point.

Note if you are overlocking you had better have damn good connections at the PSU and the Titan.  The one I was overclocking was soldered directly to the Titan cube using TWO high quality 6x PCI-E connections (NOT the cheap square pins with the split down the middle).


Anyone have any luck with overcloking? I have now soldered on the power cables after haveing all my cubes turn the pci-e connectors brown. Tried this with 1.11 and can choose up to 475MHz, but whatever I choose above 325MHz, it is not setting the frequency.

Maybe there is some other files that needs to be changed aswell?

The FPGA on the controller quietly ignores clocks above whatever "IT" has programmed as maximum.
The file that is programmed into the FPGA is
spimux.rbf
It is a proprietary Altera format that is not readily reverse engineered.

There is a possibility that the
spimux.rbf
from a neptune would work on a Tit.
If it did you could go to 500 if there was enough power.
(the problem with the Nep is there is no power even if you did manage to set it higher)

You could also end up with a bricked controller!


YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 08:06:29 AM
 #39330

i'm sure the mass majority of the people who bought that miner, certainly wouldn't have done so if they thought all they could mine with it was Litecoin.
changing the specifications after the fact is a serious breach of trading standards.


ps. i'm selling a car. anyone want to buy my car? it's $10k and will get you for A -> B
it's the most efficient car you can buy.
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/37/Danish_bicycle_female.jpg

you forgot to add 'No Refunds' etc...
cryptodevil
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


Thread-puller extraordinaire


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 08:57:07 AM
 #39331

Oh KnC, it is fun to see you scrabbling around in the murk of the past to try and re-write history.

Quote from: KnC announcement of the 24th November
When we launched the Titan batch 1 miner and accepted pre-orders we advertised a 100/250 MHs straight-forward Litecoin-miner,

Do be careful you don't end up incriminating yourself as having intentionally misrepresented a product through omission of your, current, claim towards the original sales specification of the Titan as being solely designed to be a 'Litecoin miner'.

After all, whether it be your own archived announcement history, or the wayback-machine archive evidence, the only claim you could possibly make regarding an attempt to imply you were selling this device solely as a 'Litecoin miner', would be the labelling of the web-page you were selling the Titan from being in the 'Litecoin mining' category.

Entirely absent from the explicit specifications you did list for this unit, was any mention of it being intended solely as a 'Litecoin miner'. In fact the evidence from your own website shows you listing it as not just a 'scrypt mining' product but, in fact, it being 'dedicated to scrypt mining'.

"Dedicated to scrypt mining"

Awwww, KnC, so close, so very close with yesterday's experiment with time-travel.

Shall we say it again a little louder in case you didn't want to hear it properly the first time, "DEDICATED TO SCRYPT MINING".

Your words, not ours.

Not a lot of grey area there. Fairly cut and dry, wouldn't you say?




Warning! Multiple ICO scams being launched through bot-posting forum threads, bought/hacked accounts and fake team profiles
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 09:10:06 AM
 #39332


"Dedicated to scrypt mining"

Awwww, KnC, so close, so very close with yesterday's experiment with time-travel.

Shall we say it again a little louder in case you didn't want to hear it properly the first time, "DEDICATED TO SCRYPT MINING".

Your words, not ours.

Not a lot of grey area there. Fairly cut and dry, wouldn't you say?





and in the world of altcoin mining, it is recurrent that the most profitable coin to mine is a coin which you mine at launch, and as soon as possible, cashout to BTC on some toy exchange or other. Call it 'prospecting'.
For me, this has been a good way to make some half-decent profit from altcoins (scrypt specifically)

today, I would recommend that titans should all be mining this, if the miner worked correctly as it was advertised: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=871506.0

making any kind of profit from LTC mining alone is tough, KfC have misled their customers continually and continue to do so.



tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
edgar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 09:17:56 AM
 #39333


"Dedicated to scrypt mining"

Awwww, KnC, so close, so very close with yesterday's experiment with time-travel.

Shall we say it again a little louder in case you didn't want to hear it properly the first time, "DEDICATED TO SCRYPT MINING".

Your words, not ours.

Not a lot of grey area there. Fairly cut and dry, wouldn't you say?





and in the world of altcoin mining, it is recurrent that the most profitable coin to mine is a coin which you mine at launch, and as soon as possible, cashout to BTC on some toy exchange or other. Call it 'prospecting'.
For me, this has been a good way to make some half-decent profit from altcoins (scrypt specifically)

today, I would recommend that titans should all be mining this, if the miner worked correctly as it was advertised: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=871506.0

making any kind of profit from LTC mining alone is tough, KfC have INTENTIONALLY misled their customers continually and continue to do so.


ftfy
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 09:20:44 AM
 #39334

thank you ed, good to see that you always have precision in mind  Wink

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
jelin1984
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 09:54:55 AM
 #39335

how install v1.12 from these site??

https://github.com/KnCMiner/titan
whisper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 262


Learn to go against your mind


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 10:32:37 AM
 #39336

Pfff.... now I understand their Q3 talk...

See their latest news, and the date below:
https://www.kncminer.com/news/news-119




They turn back dates coz they wont to "fit" into Q3... And they thing that we are blind lambs!
Mysil2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 11:30:06 AM
 #39337

Try changing the voltage/speed of the others? I have some KNC gear that would act like that and required I actually raise the speed of the bum ones above stock, and in some cases lowering voltage. I've also noticed sometimes neighboring DC's if running too high, would shut down the bum ones. Almost seemed as if they were pulling current away from them.



Thanks for the tips, I'll try that. Can't raise clocks above stock, though. 300MHz is the highest selectable speed.

I found a config file in the Titan SD image that had a preconfigured max speed of 475Mhz for the Titan.  To overclock the Titan edit waas.c, recompile and install.

Edit: /home/pi/knc-asic/waas/waas.c

Change this line from 300 to 475:

Code:
#define MAX_DIE_FREQ_TITAN              475

Then:

Code:
cd /home/pi/knc-asic/
make raspberry
cp waas/waas /usr/bin/

Next time you restart bfgminer the advanced page will have selectable speeds up to 475 mhz.

FYI: I had a titan cube overclocked to 400Mhz and was getting about 100Mh/s but the hashrate slipped down quickly over time (even though dcdc's were fine). Not sure why, temps were decentsand everything was working fine.

Might try again at some point.

Note if you are overlocking you had better have damn good connections at the PSU and the Titan.  The one I was overclocking was soldered directly to the Titan cube using TWO high quality 6x PCI-E connections (NOT the cheap square pins with the split down the middle).


Anyone have any luck with overcloking? I have now soldered on the power cables after haveing all my cubes turn the pci-e connectors brown. Tried this with 1.11 and can choose up to 475MHz, but whatever I choose above 325MHz, it is not setting the frequency.

Maybe there is some other files that needs to be changed aswell?

The FPGA on the controller quietly ignores clocks above whatever "IT" has programmed as maximum.
The file that is programmed into the FPGA is
spimux.rbf
It is a proprietary Altera format that is not readily reverse engineered.

There is a possibility that the
spimux.rbf
from a neptune would work on a Tit.
If it did you could go to 500 if there was enough power.
(the problem with the Nep is there is no power even if you did manage to set it higher)

You could also end up with a bricked controller!


YMMV
Smiley

Yeah, thanks, I see it now. spimux-titan.rbf changed in version 1.05... So would have to run 1.04 to get overclocking to work again. Since 1.11 fixed a lot of restarts for my miner, I don't think I will try that old image.

Could build my own image with fixes from latest firmware and spimux-titan.rbf from 1.04, but don't know if it will be compatible... I see there is e.g. flush optimizations in later releases of spimux-titan.rbf.

1BLUeBirdV2RBnyJBQZvNXsCMm3VVqoPTj
MalboroMan36
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
November 25, 2014, 11:32:48 AM
 #39338

I am so glad I got out of the mining game and managed to do it at the correct time.

Btw what is the current lowest price for GH/s for a complete product and have we reached the point where the electricity cost has surpassed the mining revenue?

It's getting there if you have expensive electricity.

Antminer S3+, $210 USD, 450 GH/s

income = $2/day
electricity@$.15/kwh = $1.25/day.

I'm not growing my farm now, but the income and spare heat is quite nice this winter.

These attract VAT+duty when imported in the EU, so the total comes around 250USD. Then you need a PSU, so let's say 30USD more.
Total = 280USD

Basically these will never see break even.
Here in the UK these will bring 0.30GBP profit daily  Shocked

VAT depends on the country but it is usually 20% or more in the EU countries, and with duty this can increase the price 30-40% , you have to put this into the equation.

MalboroMan
lowbander80
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2014, 12:16:44 PM
 #39339

Hi I have KNC Jupiter october Batch is there any downclocking instructions available.
Its 2000pages to look.If someone can share the info would give this miner little more life...
xhomerx10
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
November 25, 2014, 04:19:40 PM
 #39340

Hi I have KNC Jupiter october Batch is there any downclocking instructions available.
Its 2000pages to look.If someone can share the info would give this miner little more life...


 Do you have a 4 or 8 VRM Jupiter?
 What firmware version are you currently running?
 Do you know how to use the vi editor?

Don't let sidehack fade away...【ツ】Buy him a burger!   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Pages: « 1 ... 1917 1918 1919 1920 1921 1922 1923 1924 1925 1926 1927 1928 1929 1930 1931 1932 1933 1934 1935 1936 1937 1938 1939 1940 1941 1942 1943 1944 1945 1946 1947 1948 1949 1950 1951 1952 1953 1954 1955 1956 1957 1958 1959 1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1966 [1967] 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973 1974 1975 1976 1977 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!