Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 06:45:19 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 104 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 147143 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
btckess
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 05:27:34 PM
 #81

Ya I found these guys take 2x the power to run them, unless you have an extra beefy hub.  I would suggest to set one stick 1.26v@100mhz (half the ports capacity) run it an hour. If it works run through all your sticks to verify the all work… that leaves the hub.
1540277119
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540277119

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540277119
Reply with quote  #2

1540277119
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540277119
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540277119

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540277119
Reply with quote  #2

1540277119
Report to moderator
1540277119
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540277119

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540277119
Reply with quote  #2

1540277119
Report to moderator
1540277119
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540277119

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540277119
Reply with quote  #2

1540277119
Report to moderator
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 05:49:49 PM
 #82

I saw that error and more all weekend... needs more power. I found that even running on the lowest mhz and voltage settings my miner would still die if I plugged more sticks in than can be powered. Getting work on fresh blocks would give me this error even on the lowest settings, because they were all firing up at the same time. These guys are thirsty.

But even when you are only running a single stick or two!? It seems that even if you were running them at 1.5V and 200Mhz most of the more powerful USB hubs should, in theory, be able to handle two sticks easily (~1.8A each). As I was running them yesterday, they should have only been drawing something like 0.75 Amps each, which should have been no problem. I mean, my phone draws more power than that.

I've got one more hub to try. This one says it will support 2.5A per port, or a max of 14A. If this doesn't work then I don't know what to do.



Three other variables worth looking at along the way that I haven't seen you mention:

Try different pool. ( not likely with the symptom, but why not )
Remove usb fan (if connected)
Switch PC

BroMarduk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 09:40:48 PM
 #83

Totally check out Minera for the raspberry pi-

https://github.com/michelem09/minera/wiki/Getting-started

dude hooks it up- here is the script to get a custom miner off of VTHoang



cd /var/www/minera/minera-bin/src

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang

git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git

cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko

make -j 2

cp cgminer /var/www/minera/minera-bin/custom/cgminer-vthoang

cd /var/www/minera/minera-bin/custom


AWESOME



I've got it working with Minera, but the miner does not show up in the list of local miners in Minera like the Compaq used to.   I have built it manually (similar to what you described above) and by modifiying the default cgminer build in build_miner.sh to include the --enable-gecko flag in the build.   Do they show up for you or is this a side issue of using a custom compiled miner?


CADuke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 06:10:04 AM
 #84

When I start cgminer, my rejected shares is at 2048 before I connect to pool.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 06:41:45 AM
 #85

When I start cgminer, my rejected shares is at 2048 before I connect to pool.

Benign event, okay to ignore if it's not continuous.  Rejected shares will occur from time to time.   Usually during startup and new block events. 

vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 08:01:15 AM
 #86

Minor new build available (2a41ffb).   git pull and build as needed.

- Hybrid two stage ramping.
- Apply ticket mask to balance flashing at higher frequencies.
- Adjusted idle stick time-out detection.

http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-2a41ffb.7z


murasame2003
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 06:24:52 PM
 #87


- Apply ticket mask to balance flashing at higher frequencies.


This is a very nice touch and first thing I noticed after building your latest release.
Thanks vh.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 10:36:09 PM
 #88

@vh

cannot run ./cgminer EXACTLY as you wrote on rasp pi, but it works if i use sudo

is this OK, or better to apply what you have in Q&A section?

4 2pacs, two green and two blacks run nice (so far). one green was zombie initially, but upon hot replug become a nice stickie  Grin

Will post pictures of my setup shortly...
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 10:56:42 PM
 #89

@vh

cannot run ./cgminer EXACTLY as you wrote on rasp pi, but it works if i use sudo

is this OK, or better to apply what you have in Q&A section?

4 2pacs, two green and two blacks run nice (so far). one green was zombie initially, but upon hot replug become a nice stickie  Grin

Will post pictures of my setup shortly...

It's your device, sudo is fine.   
Just know you are giving that code full access to everything on your pi; hardware, software, personal, public, network, etc...

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 11:08:43 PM
 #90

@vh

cannot run ./cgminer EXACTLY as you wrote on rasp pi, but it works if i use sudo

is this OK, or better to apply what you have in Q&A section?

4 2pacs, two green and two blacks run nice (so far). one green was zombie initially, but upon hot replug become a nice stickie  Grin

Will post pictures of my setup shortly...

It's your device, sudo is fine.   
Just know you are giving that code full access to everything on your pi; hardware, software, personal, public, network, etc...

Ah, thanks.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 11:13:16 PM
 #91

Here we go:

Four 2pacs, two US-style (green) and two EU style (black) mining on raspberry pi W ($10, wireless, OS recent raspbian with Pixel), NO wired connection to the router, so you can put the setup anywhere. Other hardware: Superbpag hub, USB2 unpowered hub (sabrent) to run mouse, keyboard and fan.
rasp Pi is indicated with red arrow. You could run it headless as well, of course.


vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 12, 2017, 11:41:56 PM
 #92

Nice.   Thank for the photo sharing.
I'll look into adding some notes for using screen to my opening post so you can tap into the running linux shell remotely.
Useful when running headless.

Roughly:
Code:
sudo apt-get install screen
screen -dmS gekko

#From any other (remote) same user's shell:
screen -x gekko

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
March 13, 2017, 05:50:43 PM
 #93

To answer@valkir question on another thread:

to run rasp pi W, I used 5V power brick with micro USB connector (anything that provides 1.2-2.5A max) with pi itself using just 0.12A.
micro USB to USB adapter
mini HDMI to HDMI adapter+regular HDMI cable
Sabrent nonpowered USB 2 hub (about $6 on Amazon)
8-16 gb micro SD card to which you install latest (3/2/2017) Raspbian (with pixel) from Rasberry pi web page.
#I installed it using Mac, so my procedures would not be exactly the same as for PC, but it is all described on their web page.
USB fan (Amazon)
Superbpag USB 3 powered hub (7 slots) (Amazon)

fortunately for me, I already had all this stuff from previously playing with pi zero.

EDIT: bumped the freq to 150mhz (from shipped 100mhz) using code delineated in the first post.
65.31Gh 64.5Gh from four sticks now (overnight average at 150mhz)...nice.
Will let them go a few hours longer, then start bumping again.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 12:16:40 PM
 #94

Please excuse my lack of knowledge. Im not the best with programming and things like the raspi. I currently have a running pi with three gekkos using raspbian(pixel) and running cgminer-gekko (4.9.2).

I ran the first part of this thread:-

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
     
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2


 then tried to run a test using the example with sidehacks 1burger address but it said cgminer wasnt found. Would the bit i ran update the cgminer-gekko version ive got or not?

p.s. I rebooted and it runs the gekkos fine but unsure if it updated ready for when i get my 2pacs.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1221

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 12:45:45 PM
 #95

"gekko" -> Compac?

The part you ran installed a wholly different version of cgminer without touching cgminer-gekko. cgminer-gekko is a driver written by Novak integrated into 4.9.2; what you installed is a greatly improved driver written by VH and integrated into the newest cgminer. It works better even for Compacs. You'll probably have to update the directory your software is looking in to find the right cgminer, point it to the one you just built.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 456
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 12:47:20 PM
 #96

you may have to run it with ./ like you do with the autogen.sh script, ./cgminer
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1078


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 01:15:23 PM
 #97

Please excuse my lack of knowledge. Im not the best with programming and things like the raspi. I currently have a running pi with three gekkos using raspbian(pixel) and running cgminer-gekko (4.9.2).

I ran the first part of this thread:-

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    


it looks like you did not run the correct code for pi.
Look closer: you need to run the one that says Debian (a longer list of dependencies) and mentions pi few lines down:

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2

After this:
Code:
sudo reboot
cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami` #whoami=pi if you did not change it
sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo reboot

then
cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr.yourworkername -p x --suggest-diff 32
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 615
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 02:06:22 PM
 #98

p.s. I rebooted and it runs the gekkos fine but unsure if it updated ready for when i get my 2pacs.

You are ready for the 2pac if the current compac's statistic line shows something very similar to:
"0: GSC 10000010: COMPAC-1 150.00MHz HW:0 | 9.011G / 8.042Gh/s WU:56.5/m"

gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 02:53:27 PM
 #99

Thanks for the replies guys. Vh no i dont have that layout of stats so i assume im running what i already had working.

Ill give what Biodom has said a go when i get home and can download the latest version of cgminer. At least then i can start fresh.

On a side note, can i put the SD card into my laptop and copy all the files over to a new card and create a backup that would work if i were to muck up the new install? Or do you have to start from a fresh install of raspbian?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
irritant
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 456
Merit: 250


Sodium hypochlorite, acetone, ethanol


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 04:09:13 PM
 #100

yes you can make an image of the SD card, with for example Win32DiskImager.



read to save the image, write to put it on the SD (self explanatory actually)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 104 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!