Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2019, 01:33:22 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 150769 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
pumplerod
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 03:27:47 AM
 #761

With help from this thread I have been able to get cgminer compiled and running on my mac (10.12 sierra), however, even though the GekkoScience USB stick is recognized, it does not seem to actually get used when cgminer executes.

cgminer 4.9.2

Code:
%> ./cgminer -ndevs
 [2017-09-19 20:17:13.891] USB all: found 11 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 20 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'                    
 [2017-09-19 20:17:13.891] 1 known USB devices


When run I get a message that no devices are detected.

Code:
%> ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u BITCOIN_ADDRESS --compac-freq 150

 cgminer version 4.9.2 - Started: [2017-09-19 20:25:34.861]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (1m):0.000 (5m):0.000 (15m):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s
 A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 Connected to stratum.mining.eligius.st diff 4.1K with stratum as user BITCOIN_ADDRESS
 Block: b2060a9f...  Diff:1.1T  Started: [20:25:34.861]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.620] Started cgminer 4.9.2
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] No devices detected!
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] Probing for an alive pool
 [2017-09-19 20:25:34.176] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4095.9
 [2017-09-19 20:25:34.861] Network diff set to 1.1T


under SB Management, [L]ist all known devices:
Code:
Bus 20 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60 GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie

I'm not sure what steps to take next in getting cgminer to access the Stickminer
1548293602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548293602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548293602
Reply with quote  #2

1548293602
Report to moderator
1548293602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548293602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548293602
Reply with quote  #2

1548293602
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548293602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548293602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548293602
Reply with quote  #2

1548293602
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 03:30:48 AM
 #762

Well first off, why the eff are you using cgminer 4.9.2?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
pumplerod
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 05:19:00 PM
 #763

Well first off, why the eff are you using cgminer 4.9.2?

Currently, that is the version linked to at: gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

what version do you recommend?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 05:26:30 PM
 #764

Well if you're looking for help from this thread, the first place to look is the first post. That'll answer about any question you might have, including what software to use and how to use it. I assumed you had done this, which is why running a software and driver two years older than the product you're trying to use made no sense.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
DM2008
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 05:28:24 PM
 #765

Quote
Currently, that is the version linked to at: gekkoscience.com/misc/cgminer-gekko.tar.gz

what version do you recommend?

You might want to try version 4.10.0, referenced in the first post of this thread.
derbx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 23, 2017, 11:20:02 PM
 #766

hello @pumplerod

I was mining from a mac as well. The first page explains how to fix the "no devices detected" in the Questions and Answers part. That fixes the issue.

At least it did for me. Please tell me if you still have the problem

With help from this thread I have been able to get cgminer compiled and running on my mac (10.12 sierra), however, even though the GekkoScience USB stick is recognized, it does not seem to actually get used when cgminer executes.

cgminer 4.9.2

Code:
%> ./cgminer -ndevs
 [2017-09-19 20:17:13.891] USB all: found 11 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 20 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'                    
 [2017-09-19 20:17:13.891] 1 known USB devices


When run I get a message that no devices are detected.

Code:
%> ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u BITCOIN_ADDRESS --compac-freq 150

 cgminer version 4.9.2 - Started: [2017-09-19 20:25:34.861]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (1m):0.000 (5m):0.000 (15m):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s
 A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 Connected to stratum.mining.eligius.st diff 4.1K with stratum as user BITCOIN_ADDRESS
 Block: b2060a9f...  Diff:1.1T  Started: [20:25:34.861]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.620] Started cgminer 4.9.2
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] No devices detected!
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2017-09-19 20:25:33.859] Probing for an alive pool
 [2017-09-19 20:25:34.176] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4095.9
 [2017-09-19 20:25:34.861] Network diff set to 1.1T


under SB Management, [L]ist all known devices:
Code:
Bus 20 Device 6 ID: 10c4:ea60 GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie

I'm not sure what steps to take next in getting cgminer to access the Stickminer
Andis62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 27, 2017, 10:41:49 AM
 #767

!!! the Links for windows you gave in are reported as malware and it can't run. Remove by the antivirus software
Trojan:Win32/Bitrep.A

    Apr 29, 2017 @ 495461c - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-495461c.7z
    Apr 20, 2017 @ b682468 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-b682468.7z
    Apr 02, 2017 @ 3094f39 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-3094f39.7z
    Mar 23, 2017 @ b756f23 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-b756f23.7z
    Mar 22, 2017 @ 4fc8783 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4fc8783.7z
    Mar 09, 2017 @ 2a41ffb - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-2a41ffb.7z

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1149



View Profile
September 27, 2017, 04:28:55 PM
Last edit: September 28, 2017, 03:56:07 AM by Biodom
 #768

To those that have difficulty on mac (with a caveat that I am not sure if everybody or even anybody else had those difficulties):

install Debian on a Mac either in virtual machine (Parallels) or as a partition (you need only 50gb partition or even less, perhaps).
then, follow post #1 AND Q/A commends there (For Debian) exactly.
Voila! it works.
lunas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 27, 2017, 09:07:30 PM
 #769

!!! the Links for windows you gave in are reported as malware and it can't run. Remove by the antivirus software
Trojan:Win32/Bitrep.A

    Apr 29, 2017 @ 495461c - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-495461c.7z
    Apr 20, 2017 @ b682468 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-b682468.7z
    Apr 02, 2017 @ 3094f39 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-3094f39.7z
    Mar 23, 2017 @ b756f23 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-b756f23.7z
    Mar 22, 2017 @ 4fc8783 - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4fc8783.7z
    Mar 09, 2017 @ 2a41ffb - cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-2a41ffb.7z


That is a false positive the miners are flaged quite often because they were used as a payload for a virus and it is safer to look for code that cant or wont change so most scanners hit the miner itself rather than any other part.

I have issues with my 2-pac it keeps throwing a write error and stopping it worked fine at 250mhz for 6 hours at .68v vcore then started this i blame my laptop more than the miner as it seems to work fine for a while on a driver then something happens and it does this...
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 11:37:37 AM
 #770

How do you read the charts?

If I use the exampel 0.11*Mhz=GH

0.11 * 150 = 16.5 GH

How much watts do I use?


=================
=Expected Performance=
=================
The expected performance of the 2Pac is 0.11*MHz=GH.  For example, 150MHz gives 16.5 GH (theoretical expectation).

Rough chart of power draw:


2Pac running with default settings:




spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 12:51:45 PM
 #771

Very odd problem.. when ever I try to open the bat file it just insta closes the program.. I don't get it.  It was running for about 4 months no issue then boom it just shut down and won't start mining again :S.. Tried restarting comp no go, different program, no go :S..
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 110


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 01:04:29 PM
 #772

Very odd problem.. when ever I try to open the bat file it just insta closes the program.. I don't get it.  It was running for about 4 months no issue then boom it just shut down and won't start mining again :S.. Tried restarting comp no go, different program, no go :S..

You can open up a command prompt (run the "cmd" command in Windows), and run the batch file from that window. It'll show you the error it is throwing.
DM2008
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 02:17:54 PM
 #773

How do you read the charts?

If I use the exampel 0.11*Mhz=GH

0.11 * 150 = 16.5 GH

How much watts do I use?


=================
=Expected Performance=
=================
The expected performance of the 2Pac is 0.11*MHz=GH.  For example, 150MHz gives 16.5 GH (theoretical expectation).

Rough chart of power draw:
http://23.108.83.14/images/2Pac-0006.png



If you want to run at 150Mhz, then look down the 150Mhz column. The watts you will use depend on the voltage you have it set to.  You probably want to run at the lowest voltage that doesn't get HW errors, and according to that chart 1.26V -should- be ok and will draw 5.27watts or 1.05amps.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 02:42:01 PM
 #774

For reference, if you bought a new un-modified stick it should be set to 1.24-1.26 volts. That's stock from the manufacturer.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 05:27:05 PM
 #775

Very odd problem.. when ever I try to open the bat file it just insta closes the program.. I don't get it.  It was running for about 4 months no issue then boom it just shut down and won't start mining again :S.. Tried restarting comp no go, different program, no go :S..

You can open up a command prompt (run the "cmd" command in Windows), and run the batch file from that window. It'll show you the error it is throwing.


oooh okay sweet thanks.
Valnurat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 100


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 06:11:31 PM
 #776

How do you read the charts?

If I use the exampel 0.11*Mhz=GH

0.11 * 150 = 16.5 GH

How much watts do I use?


=================
=Expected Performance=
=================
The expected performance of the 2Pac is 0.11*MHz=GH.  For example, 150MHz gives 16.5 GH (theoretical expectation).

Rough chart of power draw:




If you want to run at 150Mhz, then look down the 150Mhz column. The watts you will use depend on the voltage you have it set to.  You probably want to run at the lowest voltage that doesn't get HW errors, and according to that chart 1.26V -should- be ok and will draw 5.27watts or 1.05amps.

How do you control the voltage?
 
I bought them from bitshoppe.de
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1164


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 06:29:29 PM
 #777

Read 1st posts in this thread.... All important bits are there and updated when needed.
specific to your question Setting voltage

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
dogshu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 10:30:36 PM
 #778

Very odd problem.. when ever I try to open the bat file it just insta closes the program.. I don't get it.  It was running for about 4 months no issue then boom it just shut down and won't start mining again :S.. Tried restarting comp no go, different program, no go :S..

Windows Antivirus Defender has blacklisted cgminer, or at least the cgminer Windows executable released on Apr 29, 2017.  I'm hoping to find a solution.  I don't normally mine under windows but I'd like to use it for debugging a 2-PAC that's been acting up.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
September 29, 2017, 12:07:02 AM
 #779

Tell your antivirus to piss off then. Software that doesn't respond to user control in order to do its own thing is itself a virus.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
lunas
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 29, 2017, 12:29:07 AM
 #780

Very odd problem.. when ever I try to open the bat file it just insta closes the program.. I don't get it.  It was running for about 4 months no issue then boom it just shut down and won't start mining again :S.. Tried restarting comp no go, different program, no go :S..

Windows Antivirus Defender has blacklisted cgminer, or at least the cgminer Windows executable released on Apr 29, 2017.  I'm hoping to find a solution.  I don't normally mine under windows but I'd like to use it for debugging a 2-PAC that's been acting up.
add your mining folder to the exceptions

i am trying to use a windows 10 laptop to get the setup down for my 2pac but it keeps killing itself after 2-3 hours then wont get stable unless i let it rest or restart the craptop
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 ... 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!