Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2018, 01:25:16 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 106 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 148371 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631
Merit: 596


View Profile
May 11, 2017, 09:36:03 PM
 #381

I finally got it working! Grin

My PC has 2 USB controllers and it seems I've randomly picked the Intel one which doesn't work (USB 3.0).
After moving the hub on the VIA controller (USB 2.0) it changed each 2Pac's location in Device Manager to something like Location 0 (Port_#0003.Hub_#0002).

After that, it started to work flawlessly with all 2Pacs and all cgminer builds which were failing earlier.
Yay!

Awesome find.    I'll link the Q&A to this post when I get back this evening.

PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2017, 10:22:07 PM
 #382

Hi, I'm running my 2Pac on my Raspberry Pi 3. I have always had periodic problems were upon launching cgminer, I was getting a "No Devices Detected!" message. This applied whether I was connected directly to the Pi or via USB 2.0 hub. I can normally resolve with a few reboots and plugging-in the 2Pac after I have started cgminer. Now I'm getting the message constantly. I can't get it to run.

When I go to USB management -> [L]ist all known devices, I see the following:

Code:
Bus 1 Device 24 ID: 10c4:ea60 GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie

So it appears that my Pi and cgminer actually sees the 2Pac. Any suggestions to resolve the "No Devices Detected!" message.

EDIT: I turned up the voltage on the 2Pac and it seems to be working better.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1305

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 15, 2017, 01:26:04 PM
 #383

The majority of problems people have with these sticks, especially if trying to run past 150MHz, can be solved by adjusting the voltage. That, and using a non-crappy hub, will fix almost everything.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 15, 2017, 09:04:23 PM
 #384

Even at 100Mhz, my 2Pac runs so hot that I cannot touch the heatsink. The board is starting to yellow due to the heat. Is this a function of voltage and an I get to to run cooler with higher (or lower voltage)?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1305

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 15, 2017, 09:42:42 PM
 #385

Power use increases with voltage and with frequency. If the board is discoloring it's way too hot. If it's too hot to touch it's way too hot. If it's way too hot you need to be cooling it.

And if it's way too hot at 100MHz the voltage is turned up way too far.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 12:43:15 AM
 #386

I know you're going to tell me to buy a multimeter, but for now, can you explain the operation of the potentiometer? I know it spins continuously but does voltage keep going up with multiple turns? Or is the voltage range found in a complete 360 degree turn? I had turned it counter clockwise by half a turn, but now it's running so hot (100mhz) that I can't touch it all at. Is there a way I can set it to the minimum voltage and work my way up?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1305

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 12:54:23 AM
 #387

Pretty sure that's already been documented a couple times, probably with pictures.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 01:06:23 AM
 #388

Prior to posting my question, I read the ENTIRE thread. You are probably referring to the posts listed below, but they don't answer my specific question. Yes, I understand the potentiometer turns continuously. Why would turning it counter-clockwise cause it to run hotter? Thanks for your help nonetheless if you feel I'm asking questions that have already been answered.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg17678108#msg17678108
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg17678611#msg17678611
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg18628052#msg18628052
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1135


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 16, 2017, 01:07:52 AM
 #389

More specifically, in post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg17678108#msg17678108 and the one after it.

The pot is only a 1-turn device but has no stops, just goes round and round. Turn far enough CW and it jumps from max to min voltage then ramps up again as you turn.  Gotta look REAL closely at the wiper you turn. I does have an identifying mark to use as reference where it is pointed.

EDIT: Just saw new post. Turning far enough CCW makes it jump from min voltage to Max and then down again...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
ab1jx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2017, 07:00:09 AM
 #390

Suggestion:  Make that critical Vcore voltage easier to measure by putting a pin jack there so you can stick a probe into it.  Or even cheaper just a tiny piece of wire with a loop bent in it that you can hook a clip onto.  It is officially a test point.  I'm reluctant to adjust mine for fear the probe will go skidding off and short something out while I'm trying to turn the pot with the other hand.  I'm a lot clumsier and more blind than I was at 20.

As long as the trace has a plated-through hole in it it could be retrofit by soldering one of these into it:
NGenetics
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 07:26:58 PM
 #391

Hello all i am using raspberry pi 3b for the 2pac stick, but im having issues finding the device

Bus 1 Device 24 ID: 10c4:ea60 GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner inactive
1 total known USB device
Hotplug interval:5
0 USB devices, 0 enabled, 0 disabled, 0 zombie

it does reconize it but shows it as inactive, can anyone tell me in a noob step to step guide how to solve this?? becuase i dont even know how and where to adjust the frec or anything basicly.
ive did the install as the first page told me so and it only seems to be this issue so far, maybe to know i cant afford a hub yet so my 2pac is connected to my raspberry pi 3b

much apreciated!!
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 631
Merit: 596


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 09:04:30 PM
 #392

Try connecting the Pi3b to a different power source of at least 2.1A.

NGenetics
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 09:54:11 PM
 #393

Try connecting the Pi3b to a different power source of at least 2.1A.
um it is using an adaptor that gos into the wall @ DC 5,2v  2.5A it should be more then enough to power a pi + 2pac stick
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 945
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 19, 2017, 10:23:00 PM
 #394

Try connecting the Pi3b to a different power source of at least 2.1A.
um it is using an adaptor that gos into the wall @ DC 5,2v  2.5A it should be more then enough to power a pi + 2pac stick

UM...No...maybe a single Compac but a 2Pac + Pi ...the Pi just won't share.
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 19, 2017, 10:28:09 PM
 #395

If you look at post 383 (scroll up on this page), you will see that I posted this exact same problem with the solution that fixed my problem.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1423


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 04:13:31 AM
 #396

Try connecting the Pi3b to a different power source of at least 2.1A.
um it is using an adaptor that gos into the wall @ DC 5,2v  2.5A it should be more then enough to power a pi + 2pac stick

Do not argue when you do not understand what you are saying.

A 2.5 amp adapter 5.2 volt rating is based on a +~ 5 percent.

So for argument let's say the rating is exact .

24/7/365 running means de rate by 80%

So the best that the hub should do 24/7/365 is 2amps

Since the rasp pi uses some of that. The best the stick is getting is under 2 amps.

And. The feed would need 0 loss from the ax plug to the USB jack.  Which can't be done by any know science .

This is why it fails.

If you use a quality wall wart charger from anker to feed the rasp pi and a y cable you would be fine.

I have a link from Amazon give me a minute .
 yours gives 10-11 watts at best this does 24 watts at best
https://www.amazon.com/Anker-2-Port-Charger-PowerPort-PowerIQ/dp/B01LCDJ7LG/ref=sr_1_11?

if your rasp pi uses a mini for power
https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-USB2HABMY1-Cable-External-Drive/dp/B003WV5DMO/ref=sr_1_7?

if your rasp pi uses a micro for power.
https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-USB2HAUBY1-Cable-External-Drive/dp/B0047AALW6/ref=sr_1_1?


wall outlet--- anker charger ----- proper y cable ------ rasp pi ------- 2 pac

you can run a 2 pac with setup above.





and if you want to push the 2 pac (freq 200 or more) plug this into the rasp pi then plug the compac stick into it.

https://www.amazon.com/HIGHROCK-Enhancer-Female-Charge-Extension/dp/B00NIGO4NM/ref=sr_1_4?

this needs a fan!

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1305

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 04:22:10 AM
 #397

And if you're running the 2Pac off the Pi's USB, there's current limiting to USBs built into the Pi and even if that's not the problem you're pulling 2A through a weak-sauce USB Micro connection which is not a good idea long-term.

Better to find a good hub that can power the Pi and the stick in parallel.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1423


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 04:24:11 AM
 #398

And if you're running the 2Pac off the Pi's USB, there's current limiting to USBs built into the Pi and even if that's not the problem you're pulling 2A through a weak-sauce USB Micro connection which is not a good idea long-term.

Better to find a good hub that can power the Pi and the stick in parallel.

yep  my method above  has multiple cables  and the weak spot is the tiny freaking micro connection!


the older rasp pi's allowed for a mini connector which I prefer.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ab1jx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
May 20, 2017, 05:24:42 AM
 #399

yep  my method above  has multiple cables  and the weak spot is the tiny freaking micro connection!
If you're really careful you can power a Pi by the GPIO connector.  There are 3 5 volt pins and probably at least 3 grounds (in the 40 pin version).  Get a pinout, then cut down an old hard drive cable so you're hooking the right voltage to the right pins.  For older Pis use a floppy cable.
tykom
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2017, 03:28:30 PM
 #400

I'm attempting to mine with the 2Pac on a Raspberry Pi (Pi is powered by 2.1A supply).  When I plug the stick in to my RPi or an adequately powered hub (device shows up with lsusb and /var/log/syslog) the LED turns green.  If the voltage is set between ~1.26V and ~1.56V the LED will turn blue anytime I touch the heatsink or its screws and return to green when I release.  If the voltage is over 1.56V the light will stay blue until the stick is removed or powered off.  I think this unit has a short somewhere, that seems like very odd behavior.  Can anyone shed some light on this?  I also can't get it to work in cgminer.  I've followed all the tutorials in the official thread and everywhere else I could find.  cgminer can't detect the stick, the only time I get close is if I set the voltage to ~1.32V, put my finger on the heatsink so the LED is blue, then start cgminer with /cgminer --userpass myusername.2pac:anything --url stratum+tcp://stratum.slushpool.com:3333.  It will start cgminer but will not continue until I remove my finger from the heatsink which then outputs:
Found 0 chip(s) on GSD 0
GSD 0 failure, disabling!

The miner will then go into zombie mode and cannot be re-enabled through the USB management options.  I have tried all the voltages along with the --gekko-2pac-freq <arg> flag.  I'd love to hear that I'm just an idiot and the stick works fine but the touch issue seems abnormal.  Thanks in advance!

edit - just saw the posts above mine with the same issue, all power requirements aside, is the stick behavior normal in that it responds to my touch?  I believe that indicates a short although the voltage seems to be reading and adjusting correctly when I turn the pot.

http://imgur.com/lj2wWaC
http://imgur.com/KpSlQOC

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 ... 106 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!