Bitcoin Forum
December 19, 2018, 06:40:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 106 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 148429 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1132


View Profile
March 26, 2017, 10:13:13 PM
 #181

Hi, I have mine running at 250,   I have a Temp probe in between
the board and heatsync currently its at 54.8 Celsius  is this a good temp?
What temps should it run at?

Are you keeping it in the freezer? Smiley

I know that you are joking, but 55C is burning hot...not F
my rule for compacs/2pacs is: if i can touch the metal with a finger for a few seconds without feeling a burn, than it is OK.
...I had students getting blisters when they "tried" a 72C water bath with their fingers thinking that it is roughly at a room temp..
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1545201657
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545201657

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545201657
Reply with quote  #2

1545201657
Report to moderator
1545201657
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545201657

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545201657
Reply with quote  #2

1545201657
Report to moderator
1545201657
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1545201657

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1545201657
Reply with quote  #2

1545201657
Report to moderator
ppetrovic68
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 26, 2017, 10:43:04 PM
 #182

Hi, I have mine running at 250,   I have a Temp probe in between
the board and heatsync currently its at 54.8 Celsius  is this a good temp?
What temps should it run at?

Are you keeping it in the freezer? Smiley

I know that you are joking, but 55C is burning hot...not F
my rule for compacs/2pacs is: if i can touch the metal with a finger for a few seconds without feeling a burn, than it is OK.
...I had students getting blisters when they "tried" a 72C water bath with their fingers thinking that it is roughly at a room temp..

Actually, never crossed my mind that Spill could have used F (he said 54.8 Celsius Smiley )

However, he said that the probe is between the board and the heat sink - i suspect that the temp is higher inside than on the outside as in: chips raise the temp on the inside and flowing air cools the heat sink from the outside, or something like that, it's been a while since physics class.
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1039



View Profile
March 26, 2017, 11:49:13 PM
 #183

Hi, I have mine running at 250,   I have a Temp probe in between
the board and heatsync currently its at 54.8 Celsius  is this a good temp?
What temps should it run at?

Are you keeping it in the freezer? Smiley

I know that you are joking, but 55C is burning hot...not F
my rule for compacs/2pacs is: if i can touch the metal with a finger for a few seconds without feeling a burn, than it is OK.
...I had students getting blisters when they "tried" a 72C water bath with their fingers thinking that it is roughly at a room temp..
Doesn't apply to the 2pacs so much, but I had block erupter USBs running just fine for a few years and they're also blisteringly hot, yet they don't seem to suffer any damage. It's sometimes okay if the miner is a little hot but make sure you have a fan on your miners going above 200.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
nuanicaj
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 12:17:00 PM
 #184

I have 4 2pacs running on ckpool says best share was 18.7 million.


What is the share size now to get a block?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1317

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 12:40:14 PM
 #185

What's the network difficulty?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1430


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 01:09:36 PM
 #186

I have 4 2pacs running on ckpool says best share was 18.7 million.


What is the share size now to get a block?


475 billion

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 599


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 01:49:27 PM
 #187


By -n I assume you were talking about -ndevs (list all devices), but you lost me with --dev... Searched high and low and could not find it. Mind pointing me in the right direction?

Typo on my end. Here is the correct parameter, --usb, used like so:

Code:
pi@raspberrypi:~/git/vthoang/cgminer $ ./cgminer -n
 [2017-03-27 06:47:38.562] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 5 Device 64 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'
 [2017-03-27 06:47:38.562] 1 known USB devices

pi@raspberrypi:~/git/vthoang/cgminer $ ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 150 --usb 5:64

ppetrovic68
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 01:56:28 PM
 #188


By -n I assume you were talking about -ndevs (list all devices), but you lost me with --dev... Searched high and low and could not find it. Mind pointing me in the right direction?

Typo on my end. Here is the correct parameter, --usb, used like so:

Code:
pi@raspberrypi:~/git/vthoang/cgminer $ ./cgminer -n
 [2017-03-27 06:47:38.562] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 5 Device 64 ID: 10c4:ea60
  Manufacturer: 'GekkoScience'
  Product: '2Pac BM1384 Bitcoin Miner'
 [2017-03-27 06:47:38.562] 1 known USB devices

pi@raspberrypi:~/git/vthoang/cgminer $ ./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 -u 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 150 --usb 5:64

Now that's completely different ball game Cheesy I know about --usb param. Unfortunately that does not help if device needs to be unplugged/plugged. It'll come up at different USB and then you need to restart cgminer and wait for diff to come down to a reasonable level...
lanegg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 01:58:54 PM
 #189

Hi, I have mine running at 250,   I have a Temp probe in between
the board and heatsync currently its at 54.8 Celsius  is this a good temp?
What temps should it run at?

Are you keeping it in the freezer? Smiley

Mine are at 41C on the ASIC chip itself (according to my point and shoot laser probe). So I could overclock some more? I am with ppetrovic68, what is a realistic max temp?

Also, I'm thinking of building up a 3D printed cowl to sit on top of the USB hub with a case fan pulling air through the cowl. Anyone done anything similar that I can "borrow" ideas from? I have nearly the same setup as Biodom with the Superbpag 7 port hub connected to a Raspberry Pi. I think it would cool to have two of the Superbpag hubs lined up side by side with a aero cowl leading up to a 80mm case fan.
MrZoidberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 08:39:37 PM
 #190

I've been running my 2PAC on a Raspberry Pi 3 but decided to invest in a powered USB hub. I have connected a HDD to the hub (it works fine) but cgminer is unable to find my 2PAC when it's connected to the hub. When I plug the 2PAC into the Rasp's USB ports, it's OK. How do I get cgminer to find the 2PAC plugged into the hub? Thanks!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1317

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 08:50:05 PM
 #191

If it's a USB3 hub, that's a well-documented problem. Look it up.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
ppetrovic68
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 09:07:17 PM
 #192

Hi, I have mine running at 250,   I have a Temp probe in between
the board and heatsync currently its at 54.8 Celsius  is this a good temp?
What temps should it run at?

Are you keeping it in the freezer? Smiley

Mine are at 41C on the ASIC chip itself (according to my point and shoot laser probe). So I could overclock some more? I am with ppetrovic68, what is a realistic max temp?

Also, I'm thinking of building up a 3D printed cowl to sit on top of the USB hub with a case fan pulling air through the cowl. Anyone done anything similar that I can "borrow" ideas from? I have nearly the same setup as Biodom with the Superbpag 7 port hub connected to a Raspberry Pi. I think it would cool to have two of the Superbpag hubs lined up side by side with a aero cowl leading up to a 80mm case fan.

How did you measure temp on the ASIC chip when they're under the heat sink? (or at least I believe that they're under the heat sink Smiley )
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1132


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 09:26:52 PM
 #193

I've been running my 2PAC on a Raspberry Pi 3 but decided to invest in a powered USB hub. I have connected a HDD to the hub (it works fine) but cgminer is unable to find my 2PAC when it's connected to the hub. When I plug the 2PAC into the Rasp's USB ports, it's OK. How do I get cgminer to find the 2PAC plugged into the hub? Thanks!

In short: only some USB 3 powered hubs can be directly linked to rasp pi (Superbpag is one such known example where it works; USB 2 powered Plugable also works directly with pi, not sure it it is enough for 2pacs).
most USB 3 hubs would not work by themselves (it includes Anker), however, don't despair, there is a simple runaround: use non-powered simple usb hub (like USB2 Sabrent for around $6), connect it to rasp pi, then connect your powered hub to Sabrent, then it should work, providing that you push the button on Sabrent to activate the slot (it should shine blue).

TL;DR either return your USB 3 hub (non-Superbpag) and get Superbpag OR get a non-powered hub like Sabrent and use it as a bridge.
lanegg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 09:56:56 PM
 #194

How did you measure temp on the ASIC chip when they're under the heat sink? (or at least I believe that they're under the heat sink Smiley )

The ASIC's are actually on the PCB side (I think). At least that was one of the takeaways I got from this post. As for the temp I just pointed a laser temp probe at (what I think are) the ASIC chips.

Interestingly, the silicon around the chips are considerably warmer than the chips themselves...  Undecided
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1039



View Profile
March 27, 2017, 10:04:15 PM
 #195

How did you measure temp on the ASIC chip when they're under the heat sink? (or at least I believe that they're under the heat sink Smiley )

The ASIC's are actually on the PCB side (I think). At least that was one of the takeaways I got from this post. As for the temp I just pointed a laser temp probe at (what I think are) the ASIC chips.

Interestingly, the silicon around the chips are considerably warmer than the chips themselves...  Undecided
Still better than some other ASIC designers' designs in terms of engineering. To my knowledge the chips are below the heatsinks, I removed the heatsink and looked at the chips and saw they were right under it. Reapplied some arctic silver afterwards, not sure of temps now but it might be a tad better than what Sidehack put on.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
Dibblah
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 10:08:03 PM
 #196

The ASIC's are actually on the PCB side (I think). At least that was one of the takeaways I got from this post. As for the temp I just pointed a laser temp probe at (what I think are) the ASIC chips.

Interestingly, the silicon around the chips are considerably warmer than the chips themselves...  Undecided

Those are the decoupling caps on the "back" side of the board. The ASICs are "underneath" the stitched thermal vias just beside those caps, under the heatsink as was stated earlier. You can measure the core voltage at that point, doesn't mean those are the ASICs Wink
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1317

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 10:09:19 PM
 #197

Also PCBs are made from fiberglass, so if there's silicon around the chips something is terribly wrong because only the chip die itself, nestled inside the IC package, is silicon.

The thermal paste is Arctic Alumina, nonconductive ceramic thermal compound.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
lanegg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 27, 2017, 10:30:15 PM
 #198

Also PCBs are made from fiberglass, so if there's silicon around the chips something is terribly wrong because only the chip die itself, nestled inside the IC package, is silicon.

The thermal paste is Arctic Alumina, nonconductive ceramic thermal compound.

I only play an engineer on TV. Thanks for keeping me honest. Cheesy
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1039



View Profile
March 28, 2017, 01:20:53 AM
 #199

Also PCBs are made from fiberglass, so if there's silicon around the chips something is terribly wrong because only the chip die itself, nestled inside the IC package, is silicon.

The thermal paste is Arctic Alumina, nonconductive ceramic thermal compound.
Yay, another designer that actually uses something that's not bulk Chinese thermal paste that comes in 1kg packages Smiley Did you use the same compound on the Gekkoscience Compacs? Been wondering for a long time what goop you put on those ASICs.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1317

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 28, 2017, 01:27:43 AM
 #200

Yeah, I bought several tubes all at once back in my PC hardware refurb days and kept using it, then just bought more when it ran out. Which I think is about to happen again, we've assembled about a thousand 2Pacs already and it goes faster with two chips.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 106 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!