Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2018, 07:27:14 PM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 145365 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 1003


View Profile
November 22, 2017, 07:27:16 AM
 #1081

Often when a stick goes Zombie, I've needed to pull it out of the USB hub and press it back in. A restart doesn't fix it for me.

This devices turns off the USB HUB and makes the ASIC power off. Why wouldn't what I say work? It is like unplugging and plugging back in.
im not going to say it wont work, but the reason it might not work is because the computer still thinks its attached, there for turning off the hub and back on wont give it a new device id.. and in linux it will say the usb is already being used.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537471634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537471634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537471634
Reply with quote  #2

1537471634
Report to moderator
1537471634
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537471634

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537471634
Reply with quote  #2

1537471634
Report to moderator
sunk818
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 110



View Profile
November 22, 2017, 07:33:57 AM
 #1082

im not going to say it wont work, but the reason it might not work is because the computer still thinks its attached, there for turning off the hub and back on wont give it a new device id.. and in linux it will say the usb is already being used.

I'll give it a try and let you know in a few weeks. I'm pretty sure when I turned off the USB HUB manually, the MacBook Pro lost connection with the ASiC and cgminer went silent.
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 110


View Profile
November 22, 2017, 02:11:13 PM
 #1083

Often when a stick goes Zombie, I've needed to pull it out of the USB hub and press it back in. A restart doesn't fix it for me.

This devices turns off the USB HUB and makes the ASIC power off. Why wouldn't what I say work? It is like unplugging and plugging back in.

If you read back a few pages, Sidehack says the sticks have a regulator on them. If that is tripped, the only thing you can do is unplug it to reset it. Now turning off the USB hub might also do that (try it), but if you just restart the controller (the Pi), it definitely won't reset them.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 22, 2017, 02:35:10 PM
 #1084

Turning off the USB hub is electrically equivalent to unplugging and replugging.

The biggest issue causing zombies is due to the two ASICs being powered in series. If they get too unbalanced (which could happen due to semiconductor spec, heat differentials, an uneven distribution of work or bad timing) one chip will get starved for power and lock up the whole works. This is less of a problem with wider strings because they'll tend to average out, but since this is one chip wide there's nothing to buffer except the node-level capacitors. When that happens, the options are to manually reset the string (which is difficult since there's no reset pad on this version) or unplug/replug (which is to say, power-cycle).

Any reasonably well-made OS will quickly realize a USB device has been disconnected when that USB device has all power cut off. If you can unplug an active device and your computer thinks it's still attached, you might consider hitting your computer with a bat.

RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1002


View Profile
November 22, 2017, 10:02:47 PM
 #1085

I get "failed usb_init" for 2 devices. Reinstalled drivers, unplugged - same message. The ones that give me this message are hot. Are they dead?


Edit: running cgminer.exe -n shows me all devices. What now?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
KILLInUrSQUAD
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 03:57:40 AM
 #1086

ok. so got my first 2pac stick. using a sabrent 4 port 3.0 hub with power supply .
i had the miner working  and it was never at the hash rate of 15gh/s always below and very sparatic like 40mh/s to 3-9gh/s only hit 9 gh/s a few times. my computer had done an update over night while it was mining... well long story short it quit working... did i do some thing on my end? is my hub not strong enough or maybe its over powered? now cgminer displays gsd 0: found 7:3
gsd 0: tx:4 00 00 11
gsd 0: rx bytes(0):
device serial gs- 10016325 not responding
any helpful tips or did i break it lol
Oh just for the record.... on slushpool mining with the single 2pac i found 161k shares... have not seen anyone above or near that... what you think? lol
windows 7 ck built cgminer
no idea how to write code
so come to find out that device had an issue and was not in working condition Cry
The good news is i have recieved my replacement and finally got it working... come to find out i was having hub issues as others had posted. thank you all for the information and hub refferal i plan to buy one of the 7 port hubs that was listed... but my next question comes to setting freq to 200...
i currently run an artic usb fan... pretty nifty little thing i do say so
i am using ckolivas already compiled cgminer.exe i have tryed to write a couple different config files to no avail
after i write the config file it makes cgminer not respond and must be closed...any helpful tips on what i am doing wrong would be greatly appreciated
Noooby85
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 11:10:28 AM
 #1087

Hello Friends, im new here.

Can anyone help me please.
I need Gekko 2pac config with 150mhz for "cgminer.conf" i will start only with Command ->>> ./cgminer

i use RasPi 3 with respbian strech.
DKirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 01:42:48 PM
 #1088

Hello Friends, im new here.

Can anyone help me please.
I need Gekko 2pac config with 150mhz for "cgminer.conf" i will start only with Command ->>> ./cgminer

i use RasPi 3 with respbian strech.

Put (--gekko-2pac-freq 150) at the end of the command prompt when you start cgminer. You can do 175/200 etc if your USB hub can handle it. Hopefully that answered your question.

Make sure you have a fan on the 2pac when overclocking they get hot.



Noooby85
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 23, 2017, 02:08:52 PM
 #1089

i know with  (--gekko-2pac-freq 150)

But i will start automatic only with the command ./cgminer
not with ...../cgminer -o stratum+tcp://bch.viabtc.com:3333 -u XXXXXXX -p x  --gekko-2pac-freq 150



OK, done. I managed it myself.

edit.. -> cgminer.conf



{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://bch.viabtc.com:3333",
      "user" : "yourname",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
]
,
"api-listen" : true,
"api-port" : "4028",
"api-allow" : "W:0/0",
"expiry" : "120",
"failover-only" : true,
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "2",
"scan-time" : "60",
"worktime" : true,
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin",
"icarus-options" : "115200:1:1",
"gekko-2pac-freq" : "150"
}
der_wasi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2017, 04:15:40 PM
 #1090

plan to buy one of the 7 port hubs that was listed... but my next question comes to setting freq to 200...
i currently run an artic usb fan... pretty nifty little thing i do say so
i am using ckolivas already compiled cgminer.exe i have tryed to write a couple different config files to no avail
after i write the config file it makes cgminer not respond and must be closed...any helpful tips on what i am doing wrong would be greatly appreciated
Arctic USB fan is fine. You just need to adjust it so that it blows through the heat sink from the top.
I´m working on linux but doesn´t the cgminer.exe use the same options as the linux version?
Try starting it with the command cgminer.exe --gekko-2pac-freq 200

sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 03:20:55 PM
 #1091

If by "ckolivas already compiled cgminer.exe" you mean stock cgminer, not the one linked in the first post of this thread which has drivers for this device, it's no wonder you can't get stuff to work.

Because the answer to almost every question is "read the first post".

Read the first post

Read the first post.

Dadbodfiesta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 05:46:39 PM
 #1092

I've tried unplugging my 2pac after it failed to be detected. P it worked once last night where it hadn't been mining Nd the hotplug detected it.  It just started mining but my hub fell over after I'd tried redirecting the output to a file for a project I'm doing on it and now it recognizes that the 2pac is plugged in in the usb management section, but leaves it inactive.  I don't know where I went wrong here or why it no longer detects the chips.  Any tips?
Dadbodfiesta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 09:00:08 PM
 #1093

My readout:
'5s):0.000 (1m):0.000 (5m):0.000 (15m):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s
 A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 Connected to us-east.stratum.slushpool.com diff 128 with stratum as user chiefk
 Block: 57d74115...  Diff:1.35T  Started: [20:51:02.247]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 SB management [P]ool management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2017-11-24 20:44:01.846] No devices detected!
 [2017-11-24 20:44:01.846] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2017-11-24 20:44:01.847] Probing for an alive pool
 [2017-11-24 20:44:01.919] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2048
 [2017-11-24 20:44:02.848] Network diff set to 1.35T
 [2017-11-24 20:44:34.456] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 409
 [2017-11-24 20:44:34.457] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2017-11-24 20:45:04.611] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 128
 [2017-11-24 20:45:04.612] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2017-11-24 20:46:03.025] GekkoScience detect (1:11) failed to initialise (inco
rrect device?), resetting
 [2017-11-24 20:46:03.025] failed usb_init
 [2017-11-24 20:51:02.247] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block at height 4959
40'

Cgminer wont recognize my 2pac and I've followed the q&a!

 '[2017-11-24 20:46:03.025] GekkoScience detect (1:11) failed to initialise (inco
rrect device?), resetting
 [2017-11-24 20:46:03.025] failed usb_init'
This was me unplugging the inactive 2pac.
 Plugging it back in did nothing.  
 
Any clues here?
hercthx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:06:32 PM
 #1094

Did you try re-booting your computer, and power cycling your hub? Are your Hub USB ports metering out correctly, are they providing enough voltage, and amperage to satisfy the requirements laid out in the chart? Tried a different USB port? Are the stick voltage and clock speed set to within the chart specs? Did you try re-initialising the stick at lower values 100hmz @ lowest voltage setting? Do you get a system detect on the stick? Did you try re-installing drivers with Zadig? These seem to be the usual suspects with trouble-shooting these puppies!

Your hub fell over!?! That must have been one hell of a file transfer!!!!
Dadbodfiesta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 11:35:02 PM
 #1095

Did you try re-booting your computer, and power cycling your hub? Are your Hub USB ports metering out correctly, are they providing enough voltage, and amperage to satisfy the requirements laid out in the chart? Tried a different USB port? Are the stick voltage and clock speed set to within the chart specs? Did you try re-initialising the stick at lower values 100hmz @ lowest voltage setting? Do you get a system detect on the stick? Did you try re-installing drivers with Zadig? These seem to be the usual suspects with trouble-shooting these puppies!

Your hub fell over!?! That must have been one hell of a file transfer!!!!

Lol, the fall was spectacular. its a relatively cheap 2.0 usb amazon basics hub.  kinda light weight to begin with.  
BUT
I rebooted and power cycled,  not sure about metering, voltage, amperage though. Ive tried different ports, the cgminer.conf is set to the basic example.conf layout i didnt change anything but the user, url and pass I tried --gekko-2pac-freq 100 and I was just trying to figure out the usbtest.py script.  I was going to run autogen.sh again but havent yet.  Thanks for the helpful qs!

Edit: Can the hub work one second and fail the next? I dont have time to order a better one. its supposed to be 5v/4a and I'm running one stick on a raspberry pi
Confused Coin?
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 11:26:35 PM
 #1096

Is there a way to set each frequency individually? 3rd unit gets HW at 225, but when I set it to 215, it kicks the crap out of the other 2 with 0 HW. The other 2 ran better at 225...



sidehack
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 11:43:42 PM
 #1097

I would bet that question has been asked and answered at least six times already.

Also, you could try adjusting the voltage slightly higher on the one so it can keep up. Pretty sure that sort of thing is mentioned in the first post.

Confused Coin?
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 26, 2017, 12:16:44 AM
 #1098

Went several pages deep from 1 and 55 hoping I didn't have to read all... After your reply, I started in the middle and found 2 posts quickly...

Here's an informative one if any more noobs show up with the same question. "how do I set frequency individually for each gekkoscience 2pac usb miner" Hopefully google picks this up for anyone else.



For all those that are having issues with some sticks going zombie, you should check the troubleshooting / Q&A from the OP.
If you have followed the instructions (voltage adjutment etc) and you still have the zombie issue, continue reading (Windows only).

Important
By following the instructions below, you will end up using one instance of cgminer for each stick.

[1] Create a batch file in the cgminer folder (let's call it list-devices.bat)
Code:
@echo off
TITLE 2Pac - list devices
cgminer -n
pause

[2] Run it and you should see something like this
Code:
[2017-07-11 20:00:08.577] USB all: found 13 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 4 Device 12 ID: 10c4:ea60
[...some more info here...]
.USB dev 1: Bus 4 Device 10 ID: 10c4:ea60
[...some more info here...]
.USB dev 2: Bus 4 Device 14 ID: 10c4:ea60
[...some more info here...]
 [2017-07-11 20:00:08.578] 3 known USB devices
Press any key to continue . . .

[3] Write down the bus number (in my case 4) and each device ID (in my case 10, 12 and 14)

[4] Create a batch file in the cgminer folder for the first stick with the following
Code:
@echo off
TITLE BTC - solo (ckpool) - 2Pac #1
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://de.ckpool.org:3333 -u YOUR-USERNAME -p x --gekko-2pac-freq YOUR-DESIRED-FREQ --suggest-diff YOUR-DESIRED-DIFF --usb 4:10
pause

[5] Create a batch file in the cgminer folder for the second stick with the following
Code:
@echo off
TITLE BTC - solo (ckpool) - 2Pac #2
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://de.ckpool.org:3333 -u YOUR-USERNAME -p x --gekko-2pac-freq YOUR-DESIRED-FREQ --suggest-diff YOUR-DESIRED-DIFF --usb 4:12
pause

[6] Create a batch file in the cgminer folder for the third stick with the following
Code:
@echo off
TITLE BTC - solo (ckpool) - 2Pac #3
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://de.ckpool.org:3333 -u YOUR-USERNAME -p x --gekko-2pac-freq YOUR-DESIRED-FREQ --suggest-diff YOUR-DESIRED-DIFF --usb 4:14
pause

[7] Repeat until you cover all devices

[8] Please note the --usb 4:14 added at the end of the command line which instructs cgminer to use only the device found on bus 4 with ID 14 (see step 3).

Final notes:
- my 3 sticks were running fine most of the time but every 2-3 days one of them was going zombie
- with this setup I'm running fine @ 200 Mhz since the 6th of July (0 HW errors, no zombies)
- the hub I use is the Plugable USB 2.0 version

HTH,
anorganix.

hercthx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 27, 2017, 04:29:32 AM
 #1099

Ok hive-mind, so I've been monitoring stick temps for a few days, taking a measure from the upper chip. Set to 250mhz @ 1.4v with an average workload of 27Gh/s, Temp probe on heat-sink is reading @50C/122F, and IR Thermometer on the board from 8" reading @70C/158F. Am I doing damage? Cooling is a 200MM Coolermaster fan on top, Gskill ram cooler from either side. I feel this may be too hot. Thoughts?
HagssFIN
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1161


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2017, 03:56:17 PM
 #1100

What a great little stick this is!  Smiley

I finally bought one unit from Eyeboot.

It is a 'seconds' unit, so it might not be able to run at all frequency settings,
but I'm ok with running it at low frequency setting 100Mhz in the computer USB 3.0 port.
so it fits my needs nicely.

It is really easy to setup this with zadig winusb driver and pre-compiled cgminer archive by vh. Thank you!

I pointed the 10-11Gh/s hash rate to solo.ckpool to see if I get lucky.  

Very sturdy design and I like the blinky LED lights.

I already bought a second one, since I'm planning to give one as a christmas present and keep one myself.
Eyeboot has a good deal still valid in this Cyber Monday.

Sorry if this post is kind of off topic.  Smiley


Click for a bigger picture.


Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!