Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 08:12:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 287 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 327130 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 28, 2017, 10:09:41 PM
 #201

Thank you for your help, I really appreciate that. I tried to disable the on-board VGA on the bios but it seems it does not work. The monitor is connected directly to my MOBO via hdmi cable.

For all the re-config and re-image thing, I will try to do it tomorrow since it is pretty late now in Asia and I may need some sleep after a long day trying to learn about Linux.

I really appreciate your time to support me to solve the problem, you are the hero man Cheesy

Whenever you try all this later:

To disable the onboard VGA (when you have been using it for display output, and switching to the second GPU doesn't output video) you will need to get the bios to the confirmation screen where it is asking for you to confirm yes to restoring defaults (one enter away from starting the change and rebooting) then disconnect the hdmi from the motherboard and attach it to the second gpu, then press enter. 

Let me know how it goes.

1511295158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295158
Reply with quote  #2

1511295158
Report to moderator
1511295158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295158
Reply with quote  #2

1511295158
Report to moderator
1511295158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295158
Reply with quote  #2

1511295158
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511295158
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295158

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295158
Reply with quote  #2

1511295158
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 12:41:56 AM
 #202

hi fullzero - i am repurposing my older AMD ZEC boards for nvoc.

Which image should I use compatible for the folloiwng board:

BIOSTAR RACING Z170GT7 LGA 1151 Intel Z170 HDMI USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138421


It has a 4 x 16x PCI slot motherboard meant for riserless implementation for 4 GPUs.

I intend to replace existing 4 x R9 Nanos with 4 x 1080ti

Please advise.

Thanks

Try the MSI Z170-A GAMING M5 image

Is probably the closest.  Of course I we won't know for sure until someone tries.

You may need to change the pcie addresses in the xorg.conf file before the cards will all OC:
Quote
so press f12 to open the guake terminal

If cpuminer-opt is running rightclick over the guake terminal and select new tab or press ctrl + c to stop it.

then enter:

lspci | grep VGA

this will list your gpus and their pcie addresses

then enter:

gksu gedit '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

and enter the password:

miner1

when prompted

gedit should now be open with root access to the xorg.conf file

Find the Device section and alter the

BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"

on each Device to match the addressing from lspci (only change the numbers)

save

close all mining processes if open

logout

login, and all cards (up to 6x) should now OC if you did this correctly.


I could mail one of these boards to you  with a cpu in it and ram.

you could make a build for it  and keep the board the cpu and the ram.

all i ask is send me  back a working usb stick for it. 

let me know.

as of now I am simply short time and tired.

and long on parts. 

I am in New Jersey USA.


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:45:04 AM
 #203

I could mail one of these boards to you  with a cpu in it and ram.

you could make a build for it  and keep the board the cpu and the ram.

all i ask is send me  back a working usb stick for it. 

let me know.

as of now I am simply short time and tired.

and long on parts. 

I am in New Jersey USA.

Phil,

Thanks for the generous offer.  Smiley

I already have a lot of spare ram and CPUs, so I don't need any.

I didn't realize how many members have this board.  I will order one myself from Newegg, and see what I can do with it.

If I can make a good image; send me $11 in BTC I will mail you an imaged USB Key.   Smiley

What CPUs are you using with this board?


philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 01:51:24 AM
 #204


I use i5 6400t.

I will check to see what else I am running 4 of them at the moment.

I think I have 9 of them some are at the solar array.

running in the garage 

3x  i5 6400t
1x  i3 6100t

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 02:17:54 AM
 #205


I use i5 6400t.

I will check to see what else I am running 4 of them at the moment.

I think I have 9 of them some are at the solar array.

running in the garage 

3x  i5 6400t
1x  i3 6100t

Ok, I'll let you know how it goes when I get the mobo in.


philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 03:38:14 AM
 #206


I use i5 6400t.

I will check to see what else I am running 4 of them at the moment.

I think I have 9 of them some are at the solar array.

running in the garage 

3x  i5 6400t
1x  i3 6100t

Ok, I'll let you know how it goes when I get the mobo in.



Sounds good

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 04:24:49 AM
 #207


I use i5 6400t.

I will check to see what else I am running 4 of them at the moment.

I think I have 9 of them some are at the solar array.

running in the garage  

3x  i5 6400t
1x  i3 6100t

Ok, I'll let you know how it goes when I get the mobo in.


Sounds good

Thanks Phil for sending the mobo testing for fullzero.

I have 6 of these bought same time during our "riserless" AMD project.

Although its an older Z170 board -- the mobo has one of the best full 16x slot spacing in the market.

I will use this board for the 3 x 1080ti Auros rig or 4 x if I can find a thinner 1080ti.

The Zotac 1070 minis will go all out at 6 x GPUs per board using the proven nvOC MSI-Z270-A image.


Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 04:52:02 AM
 #208

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:10:17 AM
 #209

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:22:22 AM
 #210

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?



It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4

Edit: also the cards are directly on the mobo no risers
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:31:59 AM
 #211

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4


I have experienced this type of problem myself when testing amd and nvidia drivers together with x.  I think this is what was happening to zer0k.  This is the first time I've seen it with only nvidia cards.

For reference, when it was working with your TV, did all 3 cards OC correctly?

If you startup in recovery mode then select: continue to boot (you will probably have to select; continue to boot a second time, before it will launch), does it allow you to login?


-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:39:36 AM
 #212

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4


I have experienced this type of problem myself when testing amd and nvidia drivers together with x.  I think this is what was happening to zer0k.  This is the first time I've seen it with only nvidia cards.

For reference, when it was working with your TV, did all 3 cards OC correctly?

If you startup in recovery mode then select: continue to boot (you will probably have to select; continue to boot a second time, before it will launch), does it allow you to login?



I didn't even attempt to do any OC with it inside the house, they were all just running I assume stock settings, I even turned manual fan to off to let the auto fan work (since it was inside the house lol)

Also I'm using a ssd hd, which during the initial boot I had to launch the file like you mentioned to another back in the post

How do I start into recovery mode?
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:45:28 AM
 #213

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4


I have experienced this type of problem myself when testing amd and nvidia drivers together with x.  I think this is what was happening to zer0k.  This is the first time I've seen it with only nvidia cards.

For reference, when it was working with your TV, did all 3 cards OC correctly?

If you startup in recovery mode then select: continue to boot (you will probably have to select; continue to boot a second time, before it will launch), does it allow you to login?



I didn't even attempt to do any OC with it inside the house, they were all just running I assume stock settings, I even turned manual fan to off to let the auto fan work (since it was inside the house lol)

Also I'm using a ssd hd, which during the initial boot I had to launch the file like you mentioned to another back in the post

How do I start into recovery mode?

Right after bios post, you should see the grub loader; hold the 'shift' key or continuously press it on your keyboard while rebooting and it should force it to show up.

then select boot in recovery mode ( or something like that, I can't remember the exact wording)

There should be several of these, just select the one closest to the top.


kopija
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:53:05 AM
 #214

Greetings fullzero and Linux aficionados,
I have been in love-hate relationship with Linux for two years, he is not perfect and I am demanding but also inexperienced  lover, therefore the hate part.
In the long run there may even be a wedding Smiley
So, to all of you having problems and thinking of giving up: persevere, be tolerant and learn! We need to emancipate ourselves from Microsoft.

Anyway, back to topic.
What is the correct procedure for adding gpus? Not on nvOC, but generally on Ubuntu?
Should I connect all of them, or one-by-one?
Because I have a problem with nvidia-settings seeing 3 cards and lspci showing all four.
Thanks.

we are nothing but a smart contracts on a cosmic blockchain
-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 05:56:04 AM
 #215

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again




I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4


I have experienced this type of problem myself when testing amd and nvidia drivers together with x.  I think this is what was happening to zer0k.  This is the first time I've seen it with only nvidia cards.

For reference, when it was working with your TV, did all 3 cards OC correctly?

If you startup in recovery mode then select: continue to boot (you will probably have to select; continue to boot a second time, before it will launch), does it allow you to login?



I didn't even attempt to do any OC with it inside the house, they were all just running I assume stock settings, I even turned manual fan to off to let the auto fan work (since it was inside the house lol)

Also I'm using a ssd hd, which during the initial boot I had to launch the file like you mentioned to another back in the post

How do I start into recovery mode?

Right after bios post, you should see the grub loader; hold the 'shift' key or continuously press it on your keyboard while rebooting and it should force it to show up.

then select boot in recovery mode ( or something like that, I can't remember the exact wording)

There should be several of these, just select the one closest to the top.



Yeah same thing, brings me to login screen and loops when trying to login

I'm going to try and reflash the ssd and Do it's initial boot from the garage and see if that works
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:02:17 AM
 #216

Pretty sure this is something really simple...but I can't get a login to the desktop Sad
I get a prompt with either m1 or Guest session and the password miner1 doesn't work for me at all.
It seems to take it but just jumps back to the login screen again


I'm having this same issue

Setup the rig via hdmi to my tv and it was running great, brought rig out to garage with monitor and display port cable and it won't login

Put in the password and it just loops back to login page, doing the console reboot doesn't help, even trying to use startx from console gives a bunch of errors "failed to set IOPL for I/O (operation not permitted) and fatal server error: (EE) no screens found)

Which image is this, and what are the components of your rig?


It's the MSI z270 pro image

Mobo I'm using is the msi z270 SLi.. figured it was same chipset etc

3x 1080 Ti fe
Celeron 3950
4gb ddr4


I have experienced this type of problem myself when testing amd and nvidia drivers together with x.  I think this is what was happening to zer0k.  This is the first time I've seen it with only nvidia cards.

For reference, when it was working with your TV, did all 3 cards OC correctly?

If you startup in recovery mode then select: continue to boot (you will probably have to select; continue to boot a second time, before it will launch), does it allow you to login?



I didn't even attempt to do any OC with it inside the house, they were all just running I assume stock settings, I even turned manual fan to off to let the auto fan work (since it was inside the house lol)

Also I'm using a ssd hd, which during the initial boot I had to launch the file like you mentioned to another back in the post

How do I start into recovery mode?

Right after bios post, you should see the grub loader; hold the 'shift' key or continuously press it on your keyboard while rebooting and it should force it to show up.

then select boot in recovery mode ( or something like that, I can't remember the exact wording)

There should be several of these, just select the one closest to the top.



Yeah same thing, brings me to login screen and loops when trying to login

I'm going to try and reflash the ssd and Do it's initial boot from the garage and see if that works

That is what I would have suggested. 


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:06:58 AM
 #217

Greetings fullzero and Linux aficionados,
I have been in love-hate relationship with Linux for two years, he is not perfect and I am demanding but also inexperienced  lover, therefore the hate part.
In the long run there may even be a wedding Smiley
So, to all of you having problems and thinking of giving up: persevere, be tolerant and learn! We need to emancipate ourselves from Microsoft.

Anyway, back to topic.
What is the correct procedure for adding gpus? Not on nvOC, but generally on Ubuntu?
Should I connect all of them, or one-by-one?
Because I have a problem with nvidia-settings seeing 3 cards and lspci showing all four.
Thanks.

You shouldn't need to one-by-one.  If lspci sees the card the problem is most likely with your xorg.conf.  Follow these steps, and let me know how it goes:

Quote
press f12 to open the guake terminal

If cpuminer-opt is running rightclick over the guake terminal and select new tab or press ctrl + c to stop it.

then enter:

lspci | grep VGA

this will list your gpus and their pcie addresses

then enter:

gksu gedit '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

and enter the password:

miner1

when prompted

gedit should now be open with root access to the xorg.conf file

Find the Device section and alter the

BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"

on each Device to match the addressing from lspci (only change the numbers)

save

close all mining processes if open

logout

login, and all cards (up to 6x) should now OC if you did this correctly.

You will need to add the coolbits changes (one at a time before logout / login) one for headless, and one for manual fan speed if you haven't already.

Edit: you will also probably need to install gksu:

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install gksu



-droid-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 29, 2017, 06:51:39 AM
 #218

Reflash did the trick

One last thing

When setting the fan it seems to only affect gpu0? The other gpu's dont spin as fast
Arek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 07:38:31 AM
 #219

I've switched from win10 to nvOC as I was heaving issues with windows hanging from time to time and I have couple questions:

1. I have 3 1060 from different manufacturers and when I set power limit to anything from 70W to 84W it works on 2 of them but the third one, which is palit, is running always at 94W and it won't get lower, is this something limited by cards bios?
2. In windows with latest drivers I'm getting 22.5-22.8 Mhs in eth per gtx1060 using Claymores miner but in nvOS I'm getting 21Mhs with exactly same settings (core +120, memory +700, PL 84W) Is this typical for eth because of how Claymore wrote his miner for linux or simply I should look for different settings because of OS/driver differences?

kopija
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
May 29, 2017, 09:50:45 AM
 #220

I've switched from win10 to nvOC as I was heaving issues with windows hanging from time to time and I have couple questions:

1. I have 3 1060 from different manufacturers and when I set power limit to anything from 70W to 84W it works on 2 of them but the third one, which is palit, is running always at 94W and it won't get lower, is this something limited by cards bios?
2. In windows with latest drivers I'm getting 22.5-22.8 Mhs in eth per gtx1060 using Claymores miner but in nvOS I'm getting 21Mhs with exactly same settings (core +120, memory +700, PL 84W) Is this typical for eth because of how Claymore wrote his miner for linux or simply I should look for different settings because of OS/driver differences?



nvidia-smi -i 0 --query-gpu=power.min_limit,power.max_limit --format=csv
where -i "number" is the gpu you want to query
regarding second question, I am also seeing discrepancies, try higher overclock or higher PL
also, go for 378 driver!

we are nothing but a smart contracts on a cosmic blockchain
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 287 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!