Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:08:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322214 times)
ijduncan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 06:24:46 AM
 #621

So I was trying to run 7 Zotac 1070 Minis with Asus Z270F using Z270A image, the most it could detect is 6 Zotacs. Someone here said that Z270F runs 7 GPUs out of the box, but not in my case. I need to try windows to verify that. Do you have Z270F and planning to post an image? Running 6 Zotacs with TB85 for now, but Minis are so tiny that 8 could fit in Rosewill easily.

Thanks.

I just got one of these mobos in yesterday.  I can get 7x cards to be detected by the system, but there is a conflict with x and the driver.  I can manually OC the first 6 cards, but the 7th has no response to OC commands.  

There is also what appears to be a TPM / Secureboot problem preventing subsequent boots into the same install.  Initially changing the bios setting for enabling above 4gb encoding is required to get 7 cards to work.  There are also some TPM / Secureboot bios changes that are needed, but I still need to isolate which.  I started with the MSI z270-A PRO image.

I will work on this more tonight.



First of all this is an awesome project. Thanks for doing this.  I will mine to your wallets or something to give monetary thanks.

Did you ever get any further on this Z270F mobo.  I can only see 6 cards. I would love to get 9 going.

cheers ever so much.

With v0015 you can use 7x GPUs with that mobo; 9x if you have 2x m2 adapters.

Edit: ensure that you make the bios changes listed for that mobo on the OP.

I followed those instructions and I am using v0015. 

Obviously it works then but I must be missing something.

It might be a hardware problem: what kind of risers are you using, and how are they powered?

What GPUs, and PSU?

7 x https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N3UVJHM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
7 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-14-487-261
2 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-17-438-092
1 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-19-117-745
1 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-20-156-103

I dont have the m2 adapters yet.

only 6 cards show up in the bios which supports a hardware issue.  I have another mobo which i can test.  I tried a different riser

I have 4GPUs on one PSU and 7 on the other plus Mobo
1510996088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996088
Reply with quote  #2

1510996088
Report to moderator
1510996088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996088
Reply with quote  #2

1510996088
Report to moderator
1510996088
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996088

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996088
Reply with quote  #2

1510996088
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 13, 2017, 06:46:24 AM
 #622

So I was trying to run 7 Zotac 1070 Minis with Asus Z270F using Z270A image, the most it could detect is 6 Zotacs. Someone here said that Z270F runs 7 GPUs out of the box, but not in my case. I need to try windows to verify that. Do you have Z270F and planning to post an image? Running 6 Zotacs with TB85 for now, but Minis are so tiny that 8 could fit in Rosewill easily.

Thanks.

I just got one of these mobos in yesterday.  I can get 7x cards to be detected by the system, but there is a conflict with x and the driver.  I can manually OC the first 6 cards, but the 7th has no response to OC commands.  

There is also what appears to be a TPM / Secureboot problem preventing subsequent boots into the same install.  Initially changing the bios setting for enabling above 4gb encoding is required to get 7 cards to work.  There are also some TPM / Secureboot bios changes that are needed, but I still need to isolate which.  I started with the MSI z270-A PRO image.

I will work on this more tonight.



First of all this is an awesome project. Thanks for doing this.  I will mine to your wallets or something to give monetary thanks.

Did you ever get any further on this Z270F mobo.  I can only see 6 cards. I would love to get 9 going.

cheers ever so much.

With v0015 you can use 7x GPUs with that mobo; 9x if you have 2x m2 adapters.

Edit: ensure that you make the bios changes listed for that mobo on the OP.

I followed those instructions and I am using v0015. 

Obviously it works then but I must be missing something.

It might be a hardware problem: what kind of risers are you using, and how are they powered?

What GPUs, and PSU?

7 x https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N3UVJHM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
7 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-14-487-261
2 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-17-438-092
1 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-19-117-745
1 x https://www.neweggbusiness.com/product/product.aspx?item=9b-20-156-103

I dont have the m2 adapters yet.

only 6 cards show up in the bios which supports a hardware issue.  I have another mobo which i can test.  I tried a different riser

I have 4GPUs on one PSU and 7 on the other plus Mobo

Sometimes the gpu that isn't working; isn't the one you expect it to be. 

To ensure you know which one isn't working; mine for a little while, at least 10 mins. 

Feel the heatsink of each GPU until you find the one that isn't hot. 

Power down the rig, turn off the PSU.

Either remove that GPU and test it on another motherboard;

or remove all the other GPUs and try booting with just the problem GPU directly in the primary slot in the mobo.

This should tell you if that GPU is INOP or not.

Let me know what the result is. 

Going to sleep now.

bibyfok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 07:17:35 AM
 #623

Maybe a stupid question: how do you determine what card is what number? Are the PCI slot order from top to bottom GPU1/GPU2/GPU3 etc?
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 08:31:59 AM
 #624

Maybe a stupid question: how do you determine what card is what number? Are the PCI slot order from top to bottom GPU1/GPU2/GPU3 etc?
That can be quite difficult at times. Generally the 16x PCI-E slot on the motherboard is GPU0. After that one the one closest to the CPU will be GPU1, and then further down.
But the method of disabling a GPU in the miner and touch the GPU's after 10 minutes will make sure you have the numbering okay..
I personally switch the riser cable after that so it's in the right order in the rig in case of future issues.
cvitanihc0011
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 02:17:58 PM
 #625

Have 2 miners on this and they seem to work fine for a few hours and then crash :

09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   watchdog - fminer thread hangs
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   em hbt: 0, fm hbt: 130832,
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   Miner thread hangs, need to restart miner!

Too much OC ?
Also ... the USB seems hot ... doesn't it get damaged in time ?
cvitanihc0011
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 03:09:17 PM
 #626

Would it help to use a ssd instead of usb ? For me it lags each time i open something..click something ..
Even if the miner is closed. I see there are links for ssd connection
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 13, 2017, 04:41:23 PM
 #627

Have 2 miners on this and they seem to work fine for a few hours and then crash :

09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   watchdog - fminer thread hangs
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   em hbt: 0, fm hbt: 130832,
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   Miner thread hangs, need to restart miner!

Too much OC ?
Also ... the USB seems hot ... doesn't it get damaged in time ?

What GPUs and OC settings are you using; also what is the ambient tempature near the rig?

Also what kind of USB key are you using?

Would it help to use a ssd instead of usb ? For me it lags each time i open something..click something ..
Even if the miner is closed. I see there are links for ssd connection

You can use an ssd if you want; see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19300078#msg19300078


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19328385#msg19328385


In my experience a fast USB is reasonably responsive.  The lexar ones I recommend are fast and cheap.

If they aren't fast enough for you: these are faster HQ very high speed USB keys are around $22:

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Flash-Drive-SDCZ80-032G-GAM46/dp/B00KT7DXIU

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00S6DBGLK



Brucelats
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 182

AltCom: AUfCdByVmzQSbk4kH9MG85g3hWCLaChwey


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 08:21:57 PM
 #628

Great thread!

I seen some thread about runing Ubuntu 14.04 server, instaling nvidia CUDA8 drivers etc but thread is old, and not rly well explained. I was struggling to install stuff etc.

Here is the link https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/7780/gtx1070-linux-installation-and-mining-clue-goodbye-amd-welcome-nvidia-for-miners/p1


But anyway ! I droped guide from this link and i'll try to set up my mining rig based on ur thread.


I have few questions - is your nvOC also using cuda8 drivers? I heard/read that using them can make mining more effective, combined with genoil Cuda miner, what you think about that?



Second - i have this motherboard - https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z270-P/   will that one work?

And i use this GPU-s: https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/DUAL-GTX1070-O8G/


If you could give some insights/feedback/opinion on what i asked would be greatly apreciated! Cheers!

jmooney5115
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 08:31:20 PM
 #629

I have few questions - is your nvOC also using cuda8 drivers? I heard/read that using them can make mining more effective, combined with genoil Cuda miner, what you think about that?

Second - i have this motherboard - https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z270-P/   will that one work?

Third - i use this GPU-s: https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/DUAL-GTX1070-O8G/


If you could give some insights/feedback/opinion on what i asked would be greatly apreciated! Cheers!


This OS is definitely easier than that guide. I spent >4 hours playing with Windows before I found a 16GB flash drive to try this out. It booted up and started mining in minutes.

I can give you some insight on the hardware.

Second - I suspect that motherboard will work. This OS works with the PRIME-Z270-A. The Z270-P should work in my mind.

Third - That GPU will work. Currently I have 4x EVGA 1070 on a GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 5.

BTC: 16tbBnNsdxVpwf8ZuUXehv3PG5TEEHn5wV
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 10:02:22 PM
 #630

Have 2 miners on this and they seem to work fine for a few hours and then crash :

09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   watchdog - fminer thread hangs
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   em hbt: 0, fm hbt: 130832,
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   Miner thread hangs, need to restart miner!

Too much OC ?
Also ... the USB seems hot ... doesn't it get damaged in time ?

What GPUs and OC settings are you using; also what is the ambient tempature near the rig?

Also what kind of USB key are you using?

Would it help to use a ssd instead of usb ? For me it lags each time i open something..click something ..
Even if the miner is closed. I see there are links for ssd connection

You can use an ssd if you want; see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19300078#msg19300078


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19328385#msg19328385


In my experience a fast USB is reasonably responsive.  The lexar ones I recommend are fast and cheap.

If they aren't fast enough for you: these are faster HQ very high speed USB keys are around $22:

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Flash-Drive-SDCZ80-032G-GAM46/dp/B00KT7DXIU

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00S6DBGLK




I have several of these, they work very well.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B015CH1JIW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Bitrated user: nexillus.
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 10:55:51 PM
 #631

Would it help to use a ssd instead of usb ? For me it lags each time i open something..click something ..
Even if the miner is closed. I see there are links for ssd connection

Yes, if your usb flash drive is slow you'll see lag.  I've noticed this not only with nvOC, but with all live OSes that run off flash memory.  Someone asked about using storage other than usb flash and OP linked a couple posts that I assume explain what you need to do to get that working.  I think it was on this page or the prior one.

or.... order/buy a faster thumb drive.  I ordered a few of the Lexars OP recommended, ETD tomorrow.   Grin

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
Brucelats
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 182

AltCom: AUfCdByVmzQSbk4kH9MG85g3hWCLaChwey


View Profile
June 13, 2017, 11:09:39 PM
 #632

I have few questions - is your nvOC also using cuda8 drivers? I heard/read that using them can make mining more effective, combined with genoil Cuda miner, what you think about that?

Second - i have this motherboard - https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z270-P/   will that one work?

Third - i use this GPU-s: https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/DUAL-GTX1070-O8G/


If you could give some insights/feedback/opinion on what i asked would be greatly apreciated! Cheers!


This OS is definitely easier than that guide. I spent >4 hours playing with Windows before I found a 16GB flash drive to try this out. It booted up and started mining in minutes.

I can give you some insight on the hardware.

Second - I suspect that motherboard will work. This OS works with the PRIME-Z270-A. The Z270-P should work in my mind.

Third - That GPU will work. Currently I have 4x EVGA 1070 on a GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 5.


Thanks man. I'll try get this working then i'll post if i run into some problems.


But i am curious what OP has to say about using Cuda8 from Nvidia for mining, maybe if he can implement it somehow it could boost the hashrate.

TheCoinMine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 12:39:38 AM
 #633

Would anyone have a ZEC pool and port combo they recommend? Almost through this build just need to figure out this part
Gaza8143
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 01:31:11 AM
 #634

Hi guys,

I still am not having much luck with tuning my 1070s

It is almost like the card is in autopilot mode and not responding to the bash file.  It is like it takes up the bash file but then the GPU overwrites the settings with auto pilot settings

For example on baseline settings cc100 and mem100 for ETH solo I receive approx 26 per card.

If I use the recomended settings in this thread of cc200 and mem 1600 the results do not change. ( I update and save onebash and then reload the terminal.

If I change to cc10 and mem10 still no change.

I tried changing the settings in both the global settings and then set individual clocks to yes and still no change.

When I look at my Nvidia Server screen it doesn't have the "enable performance level editing toggle switch" that the guides use http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?px=MTY1OTM&page=news_item

Do you have to "enable" manual mode somewhere first?

Has anyone else experienced their ASUS 1070 GTX Turbos refusing to accept manual changes in Linux?

I wonder if it is a driver issue or an ASUS specific issue.

I bet the answer is right under my nose!!  (Most likely a user error issue!! )

Note : Everything else I change in Bash file works fine, such as worker address etc, it is only commands in relation to GPU that has nil effect.

I wonder if changing miners would be better?  It seems Claymore is very AMD focused.  In the Claymore help file it mentions that GPU tuning is not possible for NVidia cards.

Thanks all in advance Smiley
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 02:44:34 AM
 #635

I have few questions - is your nvOC also using cuda8 drivers? I heard/read that using them can make mining more effective, combined with genoil Cuda miner, what you think about that?

Second - i have this motherboard - https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z270-P/   will that one work?

Third - i use this GPU-s: https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/DUAL-GTX1070-O8G/


If you could give some insights/feedback/opinion on what i asked would be greatly apreciated! Cheers!


This OS is definitely easier than that guide. I spent >4 hours playing with Windows before I found a 16GB flash drive to try this out. It booted up and started mining in minutes.

I can give you some insight on the hardware.

Second - I suspect that motherboard will work. This OS works with the PRIME-Z270-A. The Z270-P should work in my mind.

Third - That GPU will work. Currently I have 4x EVGA 1070 on a GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 5.


Thanks man. I'll try get this working then i'll post if i run into some problems.


But i am curious what OP has to say about using Cuda8 from Nvidia for mining, maybe if he can implement it somehow it could boost the hashrate.

Thanks for helping jmooney5115

Brucelats;

nvOC has the Cuda 8.0 libraries. 

In regards to using Genoil: I am not sure if it still uses the disk for the DAG; the last time I used it over a year ago it did. 

If it still does; then there isn't enough space on a 16gb USB key to fit the DAG as well. 

Maybe it now generates the DAG on the GPU memory like Claymore; and I can add it.  I will look into it.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 02:55:19 AM
 #636

Would anyone have a ZEC pool and port combo they recommend? Almost through this build just need to figure out this part

I like nanopool and slushpool.

https://zec.nanopool.org/help

https://slushpool.com/help/get-started/getting_started_zcash


Nanopool you don't need an account for and their stats page is useful.

Slush Pool you need an account; but you get a lot of advanced features without any special effort on your part.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 02:57:50 AM
 #637

Hi guys,

I still am not having much luck with tuning my 1070s

It is almost like the card is in autopilot mode and not responding to the bash file.  It is like it takes up the bash file but then the GPU overwrites the settings with auto pilot settings

For example on baseline settings cc100 and mem100 for ETH solo I receive approx 26 per card.

If I use the recomended settings in this thread of cc200 and mem 1600 the results do not change. ( I update and save onebash and then reload the terminal.

If I change to cc10 and mem10 still no change.

I tried changing the settings in both the global settings and then set individual clocks to yes and still no change.

When I look at my Nvidia Server screen it doesn't have the "enable performance level editing toggle switch" that the guides use http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?px=MTY1OTM&page=news_item

Do you have to "enable" manual mode somewhere first?

Has anyone else experienced their ASUS 1070 GTX Turbos refusing to accept manual changes in Linux?

I wonder if it is a driver issue or an ASUS specific issue.

I bet the answer is right under my nose!!  (Most likely a user error issue!! )

Note : Everything else I change in Bash file works fine, such as worker address etc, it is only commands in relation to GPU that has nil effect.

I wonder if changing miners would be better?  It seems Claymore is very AMD focused.  In the Claymore help file it mentions that GPU tuning is not possible for NVidia cards.

Thanks all in advance Smiley

When you scroll to the top of the mining process do you see messages like this?



Also is your monitor connected to the primary GPU?

At any point did you connect the monitor to the motherboard, or boot with only one GPU?

Gaza8143
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:05:45 AM
 #638

Hi Fullzero

I dont see any of that when I scroll up, and yes I did initially boot with one GPU ( just wanted to make sure it all worked before powering up the rig )

Sounds like this is my issue!!  How do I resolve?  Smiley

( and confirming monitor plugged to primary GPU )
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:21:40 AM
 #639

Hi Fullzero

I dont see any of that when I scroll up, and yes I did initially boot with one GPU ( just wanted to make sure it all worked before powering up the rig )

Sounds like this is my issue!!  How do I resolve?  Smiley

look at this post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19449945#msg19449945


Let me know if this works.

Gaza8143
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:38:41 AM
 #640

Hi Fullzero

I dont see any of that when I scroll up, and yes I did initially boot with one GPU ( just wanted to make sure it all worked before powering up the rig )

Sounds like this is my issue!!  How do I resolve?  Smiley

look at this post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19449945#msg19449945


Let me know if this works.

Cheers mate.  So if my xorg file is blank I need to find the one it backed up and copy and paste that onto the current zorg file.

I have the same mainboard as that user as well so that makes sense!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!