Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:08:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322216 times)
viperman2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 02:16:47 PM
 #441

Sorry, typo, GTX 1070
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:/$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I'm in the process of re-imaging my flash drive to eliminate any possibility of that being an issue and will update accordingly.


Hello I have same problem like UberDaemon with Asus Z270-P a few empty rows and no overclocking active for my cards (1060s) i have tested v0015 the result is the same.
I even built my own ubuntu and installed CUDA+driver the result is the same.
nvidia-smi is returning information that for that GPU there is no other supported clocks than base ones. Which is not true because on windows i had overclock them a lot.

P.S when i edit the xorg.conf with coolbits option i don't see "Edittable Performance" section on Powermizer on nvidia-settings.

Please if anyone knows something about that issue respond Smiley I doubt that this is an image issue because it's happening on another linux installation as well.
More like drivers/settings in my opinion.

I have one of these motherboards, but it is boxed.  I will get it out tonight and try to replicate what is happening myself.  In order to replicate the situation as closely as possible: what CPU are each of you using?


On rig G3930 , but i'm doing some settings of the image on another PC so there i have i3 2120 no luck there also.
1510996091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996091
Reply with quote  #2

1510996091
Report to moderator
1510996091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996091
Reply with quote  #2

1510996091
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996091
Reply with quote  #2

1510996091
Report to moderator
1510996091
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996091

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996091
Reply with quote  #2

1510996091
Report to moderator
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 02:55:57 PM
 #442

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!


I haven't tested that mobo; I would expect a bios flash and a few bios setting changes would be needed.  I recommend getting one of the z270 chipset mobo's I have tested: see the OP.

IMO spending ~$20 more on a G4560 to "know" I will not have any CPU related problems is worth it.  Also if you plan on mining longterm, slightly better XMR hashrates with around the same power draw will pay for the difference, and then the entire CPU cost eventually.

Fullzero, based around your software

What is the best bang for buck rig setup you'd recommend?
Cards? Board? CPU? Psu? Etc

As my favorite card: Zotac 1070 minis are now 400+

If I had the power space to build another rig right now; this is what I would buy:

$1680  7x 1060 AMP (regular amp only!) https://www.amazon.com/ZOTAC-GeForce-ZT-P10600B-10M-Compact-Graphics/dp/B01I5O5AP2

$152 ASUS PRIME Z270-A https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132936

$6  molex adapter https://www.amazon.com/CGTime-Express-Molex-Power-Cable/dp/B01MXDXAKZ

$8 Lexar-JumpDrive-16GB USB key

$67  Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR4 ram

$75  G4560 CPU https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIABB75KW6577

$3  ATX power switch

$122 EVGA GQ-1000 psu

$65 or less pcie powered risers 7x pack pm hawkfish007

$100 or less make your own frame out of wood or using 8020.net parts

total $2278

expected hashrate using OC of +150cc and +900mc:

~2240+ sol/s  for ~815 watts-at-the-wall @ 105 pl

1.02 $/hash (hash in sol/s)


Why the $6 molex  adapter?

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
viperman2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 05:50:06 PM
 #443

Hello,
I found solution for the overclocking.
My driver version is NVIDIA 381.22

Use these two commands reboot and OC is not a myth anymore Smiley

command1:
nvidia-xconfig -s -a --allow-empty-initial-configuration \
--cool-bits=12 --registry-dwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222" \
--no-sli --connected-monitor="DFP-0" -o /etc/X11/xorg.conf

command2:
sed -i '/Driver/a Option "Interactive" "False"' /etc/X11/xorg.conf
SealTx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 10:26:34 PM
 #444

Well, I put 5 1070's (6 wouldn't work?) on an ASRock z97x mobo and cranked up the miner, but I get a grub error at startup:

--> cannot find boot/grub/i386/pc/normal.mod

Seems like its a partition configuration issue, but since that is out of my control, maybe its the motherboard or the bios? Is the z97x a compatible board?

Thanks!
TheCoinMine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 10:28:09 PM
 #445

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!
min3333r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:08:44 PM
 #446

Hello, i'm getting the following error: https://pastebin.com/raw/y71QELyk

Using Z97X MBO and GTX1060 that aren't plugged in yet but getting some system errors about nvidia-smi command doesn't exist and nvidia-ml library doesn't exist. Moved oneBash to desktop and changed 2unix to correct paths. The system is run from SSD. Tried reimaging the disk a couple of times but same errors appear. Currently using onboard graphics for video over VGA and waiting for GPU delivery in the morning.

Reading the complete topic now to see if the error has been resolved somewhere.

Thanks
TheCoinMine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:17:47 PM
 #447

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!


noob question, but does it matter which slot the ram goes into on the motherboard?
min3333r
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:35:45 PM
 #448

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!
http://i.imgur.com/3UBjM7N.jpg

noob question, but does it matter which slot the ram goes into on the motherboard?

Matters. You should read more about RAM memory channels.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:44:20 PM
 #449

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!

noob question, but does it matter which slot the ram goes into on the motherboard?

Matters. You should read more about RAM memory channels.

If you are only using 1 dimm it really doesn't matter.  If you are using 2 dimms then you need to read the motherboard manual and see which 2 slots to use. 

When using only one dimm on a z270 chipset; I use the second slot counting from the CPU side.

TheCoinMine
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:46:47 PM
 #450

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!

noob question, but does it matter which slot the ram goes into on the motherboard?

Matters. You should read more about RAM memory channels.

If you are only using 1 dimm it really doesn't matter.  If you are using 2 dimms then you need to read the motherboard manual and see which 2 slots to use. 

When using only one dimm on a z270 chipset; I use the second slot counting from the CPU side.

Yeah I am only using one, Thanks for the info!
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:47:06 PM
 #451

Hello, i'm getting the following error: https://pastebin.com/raw/y71QELyk

Using Z97X MBO and GTX1060 that aren't plugged in yet but getting some system errors about nvidia-smi command doesn't exist and nvidia-ml library doesn't exist. Moved oneBash to desktop and changed 2unix to correct paths. The system is run from SSD. Tried reimaging the disk a couple of times but same errors appear. Currently using onboard graphics for video over VGA and waiting for GPU delivery in the morning.

Reading the complete topic now to see if the error has been resolved somewhere.

Thanks

Your rig is somehow not assigning a GPU 0.  Are all the pcie slots populated starting closest to the mobo CPU and then moving to the right (open slots if any on the right side)?

If not, powerdown your rig and rearrange the pcie slots and reboot.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:49:00 PM
 #452

Well, I put 5 1070's (6 wouldn't work?) on an ASRock z97x mobo and cranked up the miner, but I get a grub error at startup:

--> cannot find boot/grub/i386/pc/normal.mod

Seems like its a partition configuration issue, but since that is out of my control, maybe its the motherboard or the bios? Is the z97x a compatible board?

Thanks!

This sounds like a TPM or Secureboot problem ( has to be changed in the bios).  If there is an option for secureboot; disable it, likewise if there is an option to disable TPM do that as well.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 11:53:00 PM
 #453

Hello,
I found solution for the overclocking.
My driver version is NVIDIA 381.22

Use these two commands reboot and OC is not a myth anymore Smiley

command1:
nvidia-xconfig -s -a --allow-empty-initial-configuration \
--cool-bits=12 --registry-dwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222" \
--no-sli --connected-monitor="DFP-0" -o /etc/X11/xorg.conf

command2:
sed -i '/Driver/a Option "Interactive" "False"' /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Glad you figured out some linux. 

I just setup this mobo and booted v0015.  For some reason this mobo uses very abnormal pcie addressing.  This is also causing the xorg.conf to revert to a blank xorg and placing the actual xorg.cong into the backup. 

I will make the v0015 image compatible with this addressing scheme and upload a new image that will support this mobo. Later tonight.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 12:02:35 AM
 #454

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!


I haven't tested that mobo; I would expect a bios flash and a few bios setting changes would be needed.  I recommend getting one of the z270 chipset mobo's I have tested: see the OP.

IMO spending ~$20 more on a G4560 to "know" I will not have any CPU related problems is worth it.  Also if you plan on mining longterm, slightly better XMR hashrates with around the same power draw will pay for the difference, and then the entire CPU cost eventually.

Fullzero, based around your software

What is the best bang for buck rig setup you'd recommend?
Cards? Board? CPU? Psu? Etc

As my favorite card: Zotac 1070 minis are now 400+

If I had the power space to build another rig right now; this is what I would buy:

$1680  7x 1060 AMP (regular amp only!) https://www.amazon.com/ZOTAC-GeForce-ZT-P10600B-10M-Compact-Graphics/dp/B01I5O5AP2

$152 ASUS PRIME Z270-A https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132936

$6  molex adapter https://www.amazon.com/CGTime-Express-Molex-Power-Cable/dp/B01MXDXAKZ

$8 Lexar-JumpDrive-16GB USB key

$67  Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR4 ram

$75  G4560 CPU https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIABB75KW6577

$3  ATX power switch

$122 EVGA GQ-1000 psu

$65 or less pcie powered risers 7x pack pm hawkfish007

$100 or less make your own frame out of wood or using 8020.net parts

total $2278

expected hashrate using OC of +150cc and +900mc:

~2240+ sol/s  for ~815 watts-at-the-wall @ 105 pl

1.02 $/hash (hash in sol/s)


Why the $6 molex  adapter?

Your right; was late when I came up with this.  I was thinking 1300 G2 with 2x molex cables from the PSU; to be used together to power the 7th  1060.  With this PSU (the 1000GQ); the best solution would be to power 2x 1060 off of one pcie 2x 8pin cable, one at the 1st node and the other with an extender from the 2nd node to the 7th GPU.

$9 pcie extender:

https://www.amazon.com/Cable-Matters-2-Pack-6-Pin-Extension/dp/B01DV1Z4EQ


technically you could have the cards very close together and not use an extender.

Also with 2x 1060s on one cable you don't want the power draw to go above 210 watts total; so you would NEED to ensure that a powerlimit of 105 or lower is set.

The safer solution would be to get a second PSU to power the 7th (and potentially 8th and 9th if you can find 2x m2 adapters) and use a

$22 PSU joiner:

https://www.amazon.com/Add2PSU-Multiple-Power-Supply-Adapter/dp/B009P98Q8U



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 04:25:52 AM
 #455

Sorry, typo, GTX 1070
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:/$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I'm in the process of re-imaging my flash drive to eliminate any possibility of that being an issue and will update accordingly.


Hello I have same problem like UberDaemon with Asus Z270-P a few empty rows and no overclocking active for my cards (1060s) i have tested v0015 the result is the same.
I even built my own ubuntu and installed CUDA+driver the result is the same.
nvidia-smi is returning information that for that GPU there is no other supported clocks than base ones. Which is not true because on windows i had overclock them a lot.

P.S when i edit the xorg.conf with coolbits option i don't see "Edittable Performance" section on Powermizer on nvidia-settings.

Please if anyone knows something about that issue respond Smiley I doubt that this is an image issue because it's happening on another linux installation as well.
More like drivers/settings in my opinion.

I have one of these motherboards, but it is boxed.  I will get it out tonight and try to replicate what is happening myself.  In order to replicate the situation as closely as possible: what CPU are each of you using?


On rig G3930 , but i'm doing some settings of the image on another PC so there i have i3 2120 no luck there also.

At first I thought the v0015 image had a problem with this motherboard.  I tested almost every possible configuration of cards; this is what I found.  The nvOC_v0015 image will OC even 8x GPUs on the Asus Z270-P when using 2x m2 adapters.  It will OC 6x GPUs if using 6 GPUs; the only time I had a problem is when I was using only one GPU.  Whenever I tried to use only one GPU; a blank xorg.conf is generated and the normal xorg.conf is moved to a backup file with the current date.

So the takeaway is this:  Use more than one GPU, with one of those GPU's being attached to the primary pcie slot, and v0015 will work as intended and OC all the cards.  If you use only one card; the system will create a blank xorg.conf and the card will not OC.  Note once you have booted the system with only one card you will either need to reimage or perform the following process before the USB will be able to OC multiple cards normally again.

If you want to use only one GPU with nvOC_v0015 you can; for now you will have to do the following before the solo GPU will be properly recognized:

look up the current date then think of it in MMDDYYYY format  that is 2 digit month, 2 digit day, 4 digit year

press f12 to open the guake terminal, if cpuminer is running press ctrl + c to close it or open a new tab and enter:

replace the MMDDYYYY in the next line with the date; for example today would be; 06082017

Code:
sudo cp '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.MMDDYYYY' '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

and enter the password: miner1 when prompted.

logout and login

Your solo GPU should now be properly recognized.  


So when I tested this earlier I entered:

Code:
sudo cp '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.06082017' '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'

and entered the password: miner1 when prompted.

logout and login, and the GPU is properly recognized.  

I will fix this problem, but as the easy fix is to simply use more than one card or enter this one liner into the guake terminal one time.  This should be ok for the time being.


Edit:  Note if the date you are looking for is the date you first booted with one GPU.  If you are unsure of the date you can do this:

Open the guake terminal:

Code:
cd /etc/X11

then:

Code:
ls

look for a file that looks like: '/etc/X11/xorg.conf.06082017'  use the date from this file in the command above.


Arek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 05:10:31 AM
 #456

Is anyone heaving issues with ZEC miner? I have 4 cards in one of my rigs: 1050ti, 1060 6G and 2x 1070 and it's running at full speed and after few minutes the mining speed drops to like 40% and after 2-3 minutes it's back to full speed and it's doing that over and over again...
I have all cards with around 70% tdp +140 clock and memory at stock.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 05:46:27 AM
 #457

About to get started with a build. Wish me luck!


noob question, but does it matter which slot the ram goes into on the motherboard?

Matters. You should read more about RAM memory channels.

Rule of thumb.

1st stick goes to slot nearest to CPU.

Then alternate slot if you use 2 sticks.

Linux rigs with 4gb is more than sufficient.

Windows minimum 4gb, ideal 8gb.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
peonv
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
June 09, 2017, 03:49:11 PM
 #458

In oneBash, the power limits should be variables.
As previously said, putting at least oneBash script on github would make modifications easy to follow and we could propose diffs.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 05:51:47 PM
 #459

Is anyone heaving issues with ZEC miner? I have 4 cards in one of my rigs: 1050ti, 1060 6G and 2x 1070 and it's running at full speed and after few minutes the mining speed drops to like 40% and after 2-3 minutes it's back to full speed and it's doing that over and over again...
I have all cards with around 70% tdp +140 clock and memory at stock.

I have tested a mixed 1070 and 1080ti rig; and a mixed 1050ti and 1060 rig.  I haven't tested a triple mixed: 1050ti, 1060, 1070.

To help isolate if this problem is EWBF related:  can you try mining a coin that doesn't use EWBF. 

Say:  DUAL_ETC_SC

(ensure you update your ETC and SC (SIA) addresses if you do this)

and tell me if you have the same problem.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 09, 2017, 05:59:55 PM
 #460

In oneBash, the power limits should be variables.
As previously said, putting at least oneBash script on github would make modifications easy to follow and we could propose diffs.

Yes this would be cleaner.  I would suggest trying out such modifications: expect and bash don't always work perfectly together. 

I will get a github up eventually; its on my list.  I have been prioritizing my time with this project on ensuring members can mine the coin of their choice, and resolving problems as they are reported.  I am almost finished with other obligations which are preventing me from going full time crypto.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!