Bitcoin Forum
July 13, 2020, 06:52:11 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 419 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining  (Read 416833 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:52:06 PM
 #1101

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.



I understand no worries I imagine you're swamped xD

they are all v15  . . I just now realized v16 is out. I seem to have fixed the issue for now by unplugging, adjusting settings, one rig has power limit and individual power limit on, and individual power limit is registering, the other is just individual power and it's registering after a couple restarts and cards being unplugged / replugged

Is it possible for me to edit the master file, so that when I burn a USB it will automatically have say the pool I want, my wallet, power settings etc? If so how can I do this?

The easiest way to do this is to image a usb normally, edit the oneBash to be the way you want; verify it is working as you want: then attach it to a windows computer and use hddrawcopy to make an image of the usb (rather than imaging to the usb).

You can then image subsequent USB keys with your modified image (I would recommend changing worker names in oneBash).

1594666331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594666331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594666331
Reply with quote  #2

1594666331
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
VoskCoin
Copper Member
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176
Merit: 452


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2017, 06:40:22 PM
 #1102

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.



I understand no worries I imagine you're swamped xD

they are all v15  . . I just now realized v16 is out. I seem to have fixed the issue for now by unplugging, adjusting settings, one rig has power limit and individual power limit on, and individual power limit is registering, the other is just individual power and it's registering after a couple restarts and cards being unplugged / replugged

Is it possible for me to edit the master file, so that when I burn a USB it will automatically have say the pool I want, my wallet, power settings etc? If so how can I do this?

The easiest way to do this is to image a usb normally, edit the oneBash to be the way you want; verify it is working as you want: then attach it to a windows computer and use hddrawcopy to make an image of the usb (rather than imaging to the usb).

You can then image subsequent USB keys with your modified image (I would recommend changing worker names in oneBash).

Seems simple enough I will try that, thank you

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 07:31:12 PM
 #1103

This is quite odd, but after about 20 hours I received this error on the new ver16. Thinking it maybe a bad OC, I lowered it slightly however after 14 more hours it crashed again.

When it happens, I have to hard reset the miner to come back online.

To me this makes no sense since buffer for DAG errors should only be for 2GB cards and I have 6x 1070 on this rig :/

GPU 0, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 5, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 1, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 3, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 2, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 4, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG

GPUmienr cu_k01 failed 6 the launch timed out and was terminted

I also get the failed message for all 6 GPUs on this rig.

For the time being I have rolled this rig back to ver15.
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 07:45:14 PM
 #1104

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
UberDaemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:18:07 PM
 #1105

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...

What are your temps like on those 1070s?
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:21:52 PM
 #1106

Average temp of them are 50C and one in the center hottest it gets to is 58C.
pixelizedchaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:23:48 PM
 #1107

Hello! I ran into a problem with my Msi Z270-A motherboard, so I am using 6 Asus dual 1070 OC graphics cards, and only 5 of them are being picked up. The second pci-e riser doesn't seem to be working. I tested the port, it does work and I have tested the riser cables, they all seem to be working. I am a little bit of a loss for words on what I should do to fix this problem.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:54:59 PM
 #1108

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
I've had these errors once too, but it was OC. Your temps are nice so that's not the issue. Lower both OC and MC with 100, see if it is stable then. If so, go up with 50, MC first.
UberDaemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:00:48 PM
 #1109

Average temp of them are 50C and one in the center hottest it gets to is 58C.

Ok, just checking. 

I'm having a problem with one of my 1070s (Gigabyte Founders Ed.) that was running at 62C.  It lights up at POST, but then after about 30 seconds the light goes out (though the fan stays on) and it's not recognized by claymore.  I pulled it for further testing.  Pretty sure it's failed based on first attempt to get it to start in another machine on my test bench (same behavior; it lights up and then after 30 secs the light goes out and I don't get video).  I'm thinking maybe it was heat, but even 62C isn't outrageous.

Anyone else managed to kill a 1070? 
newmz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 372
Merit: 250


The road of excess leads to the palace of wisdom


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:16:06 PM
 #1110

I've tried three different versions of nvOC now and I still just CAN'T GET THE OVERCLOCKS TO WORK!

I've tried individual and whole system and I even see the overclocks apply when onebash starts - but they aren't sticking.

I'm mining eth and in Windows with Afterburner I set all 5 cards (2 1070s and 3 1060s) to core +75 and mem +800 and I get 132mh/s

Using nvOC and trying to set the same overclocks, I get 120mh/s.

It's really frustrating. I just don't understand. Does Claymore set everything to factory clocks when it starts or something?

Anyone else mining ETH and managing to ue overclocking?

Crypto currency enthusiast and miner since 2015. Mined approx 200 ETH during 2016 and 2017 and sold it at approximately $US40 each. Then I watched it reach $1000+ each. If anyone bothers to read this stuff pay attention to this: HODL HODL HODL HODL HODL HODL

I started mining with 1 AMD 7950 and 1 R9-280X. Then I gradually built my AMD operation into 12 R9-290s. Awesome ETH hash but ridiculous power consumption and heat. Over the last year I defected to the Nvidia team. I now use GTX 1070s. They were expensive to buy (probably a bargain now) but awesome hash rate vs. power consumption. blah blah blah blah
UberDaemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:26:48 PM
 #1111

I've tried three different versions of nvOC now and I still just CAN'T GET THE OVERCLOCKS TO WORK!

I've tried individual and whole system and I even see the overclocks apply when onebash starts - but they aren't sticking.

I'm mining eth and in Windows with Afterburner I set all 5 cards (2 1070s and 3 1060s) to core +75 and mem +800 and I get 132mh/s

Using nvOC and trying to set the same overclocks, I get 120mh/s.

It's really frustrating. I just don't understand. Does Claymore set everything to factory clocks when it starts or something?

Anyone else mining ETH and managing to ue overclocking?

Quote from: fullzero
Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

I am mining ETH and am overclocked (~30.9 MH/sec on 1070 Founders Ed cards and ~29.5 MH/sec on a frankenstein rig with 3 different kinds of 1070 cards).
7abazlam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:40:08 PM
 #1112

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Thank you sir! Etcher worked perfectly.

So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.
UberDaemon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:58:06 PM
 #1113

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero
7abazlam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 10:27:32 PM
 #1114

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

Thank you, UberDaemon. I've already done that but to no avail. Out of curiousity, are you usng the same asus mobo? if so, which nvOC are you using? Thanks
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 11:49:20 PM
 #1115

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
I've had these errors once too, but it was OC. Your temps are nice so that's not the issue. Lower both OC and MC with 100, see if it is stable then. If so, go up with 50, MC first.

I would try Maxximus007's suggestion.

Let me know if you keep getting these errors.

It is also possible that having less free space contributes to these errors with claymore; I think I am going to increase the size of the primary partition to very close to 16gb for the next version for this reason. 

Optimally for claymore you should have up to 16gb of free space and use it as virtual memory, I am considering pushing the size to 32gb and implementing this in an alternative build for better ethash mining.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 11:52:35 PM
 #1116

Average temp of them are 50C and one in the center hottest it gets to is 58C.

Ok, just checking. 

I'm having a problem with one of my 1070s (Gigabyte Founders Ed.) that was running at 62C.  It lights up at POST, but then after about 30 seconds the light goes out (though the fan stays on) and it's not recognized by claymore.  I pulled it for further testing.  Pretty sure it's failed based on first attempt to get it to start in another machine on my test bench (same behavior; it lights up and then after 30 secs the light goes out and I don't get video).  I'm thinking maybe it was heat, but even 62C isn't outrageous.

Anyone else managed to kill a 1070? 

I haven't lost a 1070 yet; I had one 1060 die after about 20 days of mining.  Also wasn't pushed very hard temp wise; I think the memory OC is too much for some small percentage of the cards.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 11:56:49 PM
 #1117

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

Do you have the monitor connected directly to the mobo?

This is the most likely reason I can think of that the xorg would corrupt every boot.

If you have been connecting the monitor directly to the mobo, move it to the primary GPU (the one connected to the 16x pcie slot closest to the CPU) and boot, it should display the message you have been seeing once, then work normally on the second boot.

Let me know if this is not the case.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 12:02:14 AM
 #1118

I've tried three different versions of nvOC now and I still just CAN'T GET THE OVERCLOCKS TO WORK!

I've tried individual and whole system and I even see the overclocks apply when onebash starts - but they aren't sticking.

I'm mining eth and in Windows with Afterburner I set all 5 cards (2 1070s and 3 1060s) to core +75 and mem +800 and I get 132mh/s

Using nvOC and trying to set the same overclocks, I get 120mh/s.

It's really frustrating. I just don't understand. Does Claymore set everything to factory clocks when it starts or something?

Anyone else mining ETH and managing to ue overclocking?

Quote from: fullzero
Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

I am mining ETH and am overclocked (~30.9 MH/sec on 1070 Founders Ed cards and ~29.5 MH/sec on a frankenstein rig with 3 different kinds of 1070 cards).

I recommend using v0016 if you aren't already and trying the OC settings:

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=1000

if this is stable I would try:

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=1100

then:

__CORE_OVERCLOCK=-100
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=1200

... until you get a soft crash in Claymore, then I would backtrack to the previous setting

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 12:03:08 AM
 #1119

Hello! I ran into a problem with my Msi Z270-A motherboard, so I am using 6 Asus dual 1070 OC graphics cards, and only 5 of them are being picked up. The second pci-e riser doesn't seem to be working. I tested the port, it does work and I have tested the riser cables, they all seem to be working. I am a little bit of a loss for words on what I should do to fix this problem.

What type of risers are you using, and how are they being powered?

pixelizedchaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 12:07:07 AM
 #1120

Hello! I ran into a problem with my Msi Z270-A motherboard, so I am using 6 Asus dual 1070 OC graphics cards, and only 5 of them are being picked up. The second pci-e riser doesn't seem to be working. I tested the port, it does work and I have tested the riser cables, they all seem to be working. I am a little bit of a loss for words on what I should do to fix this problem.

What type of risers are you using, and how are they being powered?

Version 006 risers, with 2 risers plugged per port on my PSU using 6 pin to sata to molex, thanks for the help!
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 419 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!