Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 08:13:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 287 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 327152 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:25:38 PM
 #1101

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.


1511295190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511295190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511295190
Reply with quote  #2

1511295190
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
VoskCoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2017, 05:30:18 PM
 #1102

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:33:43 PM
 #1103

I can't seem to get v16 to work on tb-250.

It boots up then terminal pops up and says:

Quote
dos2unix: converting file /media/m1/1263-A96E/onebash to unix format

xorg problem detected

restarting xorg

rebooting in 5

Have tried different USB's and also booting with only one card but still have the same problem.

Anyone know what the problem might be?

Have you waited for the second boot?

If you are using one GPU it is expected that oneBash will need to rebuild the xorg file and reboot before OC will work as intended.

It should work without rebooting on the second boot; unless you have connected the monitor directly to the motherboard (always connect a monitor to the primary GPU).

I have had one member report that their rig is caught in an infinite loop of reboots; so I would like to know if this is happening to you as well.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:36:40 PM
 #1104

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.


VoskCoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2017, 05:41:11 PM
 #1105

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.



I understand no worries I imagine you're swamped xD

they are all v15  . . I just now realized v16 is out. I seem to have fixed the issue for now by unplugging, adjusting settings, one rig has power limit and individual power limit on, and individual power limit is registering, the other is just individual power and it's registering after a couple restarts and cards being unplugged / replugged

Is it possible for me to edit the master file, so that when I burn a USB it will automatically have say the pool I want, my wallet, power settings etc? If so how can I do this?

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:48:18 PM
 #1106

@fullzero, perhaps this can be of use to combat the issues with Mir, while wanting to re-run oneBash because of changes. Start the mining process with screen:
Code:
until screen -D -RR -S miner $HCD....
   do
   echo "FAILURE; reinit in 5" >&2
   sleep 5
done

After that you can remotely attach to the mining process with:
Code:
screen -x miner

Ending the current mining session, and rerun oneBash automatically (after attaching in multi screen mode as above):
Code:
Ctrl-A K

Since the screen is killed it will return in the until loop and restarts oneBash. It might have side effects, so more testing could be needed. The advantage is that there is already a screen, so you don't have to kill the mining session and restart it just to have a look at the output.

I think adding a step of entering:
Code:
export DISPLAY=:0

before calling screen will resolve the mir problem; but I haven't verified this myself yet.

I do think it is a good idea to start the mining process with screen.

I had already identified automating killing the existing mining process as an area for improvement; this might be a good solution.  In general I want to do a lot more testing before releasing in the future. 

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 23, 2017, 05:52:06 PM
 #1107

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.



I understand no worries I imagine you're swamped xD

they are all v15  . . I just now realized v16 is out. I seem to have fixed the issue for now by unplugging, adjusting settings, one rig has power limit and individual power limit on, and individual power limit is registering, the other is just individual power and it's registering after a couple restarts and cards being unplugged / replugged

Is it possible for me to edit the master file, so that when I burn a USB it will automatically have say the pool I want, my wallet, power settings etc? If so how can I do this?

The easiest way to do this is to image a usb normally, edit the oneBash to be the way you want; verify it is working as you want: then attach it to a windows computer and use hddrawcopy to make an image of the usb (rather than imaging to the usb).

You can then image subsequent USB keys with your modified image (I would recommend changing worker names in oneBash).

VoskCoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2017, 06:40:22 PM
 #1108

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Is it possible to update from 15 to 16 or will I need to burn the USB's again?

I am making an update implementation; but for now you will have to reimage the USB.  Also I saw your PM, just haven't gotten to it yet.

are the problems you are having with v0015 or v0016?

If they are with v0015; they may be fixed by v0016: so it is probably be worth trying as a potential easy solution.



I understand no worries I imagine you're swamped xD

they are all v15  . . I just now realized v16 is out. I seem to have fixed the issue for now by unplugging, adjusting settings, one rig has power limit and individual power limit on, and individual power limit is registering, the other is just individual power and it's registering after a couple restarts and cards being unplugged / replugged

Is it possible for me to edit the master file, so that when I burn a USB it will automatically have say the pool I want, my wallet, power settings etc? If so how can I do this?

The easiest way to do this is to image a usb normally, edit the oneBash to be the way you want; verify it is working as you want: then attach it to a windows computer and use hddrawcopy to make an image of the usb (rather than imaging to the usb).

You can then image subsequent USB keys with your modified image (I would recommend changing worker names in oneBash).

Seems simple enough I will try that, thank you

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 07:31:12 PM
 #1109

This is quite odd, but after about 20 hours I received this error on the new ver16. Thinking it maybe a bad OC, I lowered it slightly however after 14 more hours it crashed again.

When it happens, I have to hard reset the miner to come back online.

To me this makes no sense since buffer for DAG errors should only be for 2GB cards and I have 6x 1070 on this rig :/

GPU 0, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 5, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 1, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 3, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 2, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG
GPU 4, CUDA error 6- cannot write buffer for DAG

GPUmienr cu_k01 failed 6 the launch timed out and was terminted

I also get the failed message for all 6 GPUs on this rig.

For the time being I have rolled this rig back to ver15.

Bitrated user: nexillus.
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 07:45:14 PM
 #1110

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...

Bitrated user: nexillus.
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:18:07 PM
 #1111

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...

What are your temps like on those 1070s?

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:21:52 PM
 #1112

Average temp of them are 50C and one in the center hottest it gets to is 58C.

Bitrated user: nexillus.
pixelizedchaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18

You only die when you are forgotten.


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:23:48 PM
 #1113

Hello! I ran into a problem with my Msi Z270-A motherboard, so I am using 6 Asus dual 1070 OC graphics cards, and only 5 of them are being picked up. The second pci-e riser doesn't seem to be working. I tested the port, it does work and I have tested the riser cables, they all seem to be working. I am a little bit of a loss for words on what I should do to fix this problem.

I use [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining <3
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 08:54:59 PM
 #1114

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
I've had these errors once too, but it was OC. Your temps are nice so that's not the issue. Lower both OC and MC with 100, see if it is stable then. If so, go up with 50, MC first.
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:00:48 PM
 #1115

Average temp of them are 50C and one in the center hottest it gets to is 58C.

Ok, just checking. 

I'm having a problem with one of my 1070s (Gigabyte Founders Ed.) that was running at 62C.  It lights up at POST, but then after about 30 seconds the light goes out (though the fan stays on) and it's not recognized by claymore.  I pulled it for further testing.  Pretty sure it's failed based on first attempt to get it to start in another machine on my test bench (same behavior; it lights up and then after 30 secs the light goes out and I don't get video).  I'm thinking maybe it was heat, but even 62C isn't outrageous.

Anyone else managed to kill a 1070? 

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
newmz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:16:06 PM
 #1116

I've tried three different versions of nvOC now and I still just CAN'T GET THE OVERCLOCKS TO WORK!

I've tried individual and whole system and I even see the overclocks apply when onebash starts - but they aren't sticking.

I'm mining eth and in Windows with Afterburner I set all 5 cards (2 1070s and 3 1060s) to core +75 and mem +800 and I get 132mh/s

Using nvOC and trying to set the same overclocks, I get 120mh/s.

It's really frustrating. I just don't understand. Does Claymore set everything to factory clocks when it starts or something?

Anyone else mining ETH and managing to ue overclocking?
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:26:48 PM
 #1117

I've tried three different versions of nvOC now and I still just CAN'T GET THE OVERCLOCKS TO WORK!

I've tried individual and whole system and I even see the overclocks apply when onebash starts - but they aren't sticking.

I'm mining eth and in Windows with Afterburner I set all 5 cards (2 1070s and 3 1060s) to core +75 and mem +800 and I get 132mh/s

Using nvOC and trying to set the same overclocks, I get 120mh/s.

It's really frustrating. I just don't understand. Does Claymore set everything to factory clocks when it starts or something?

Anyone else mining ETH and managing to ue overclocking?

Quote from: fullzero
Also linux OC offsets are scaled differently than windows; you will need to use higher offsets to get the same results in linux.

I am mining ETH and am overclocked (~30.9 MH/sec on 1070 Founders Ed cards and ~29.5 MH/sec on a frankenstein rig with 3 different kinds of 1070 cards).

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
7abazlam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:40:08 PM
 #1118

Has anyone managed to burn img to a USB drive and copy oneBash into it under Linux?

I clone nvOC_v0016.img to USD as follows:

Code:
sudo dd if=nvOC_v0016.img of=/dev/sdd1 bs=1M

What happens later is that I cannot mount the usb in order to copy oneBash file to it. This is not unusual though. Burning ubuntu image into a usd results in the same unmountable drive, but it still boots fine.

Thanks

I am not sure; but I believe you would need to mount and then copy each partition separately if using dd; in order for the resulting usb to work as intended. 

It is a lot easier to download https://etcher.io/ for linux and then use it to image a USB or SSD.

I have done this and can verify it works.



Thank you sir! Etcher worked perfectly.

So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 09:58:06 PM
 #1119

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
7abazlam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 23, 2017, 10:27:32 PM
 #1120

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

Thank you, UberDaemon. I've already done that but to no avail. Out of curiousity, are you usng the same asus mobo? if so, which nvOC are you using? Thanks
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 287 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!