Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:07:52 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322204 times)
pixelizedchaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18

You only die when you are forgotten.


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 05:25:00 AM
 #1141

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

Do you have the monitor connected directly to the mobo?

This is the most likely reason I can think of that the xorg would corrupt every boot.

If you have been connecting the monitor directly to the mobo, move it to the primary GPU (the one connected to the 16x pcie slot closest to the CPU) and boot, it should display the message you have been seeing once, then work normally on the second boot.

Let me know if this is not the case.


I have HDMI cable connected to primary x16 PCIE port. But thanks for your prompt answers, fullzero!

Ok try this as well and let me know:

so lets see what happens if you remove the xorg check:

in oneBash:

the first implementation line: under the settings division:

#########################################################################

Code:
XORG="FAIL"


change this to:


Code:
XORG="OK"


and save

and start the mining process

tell me if you see OC messages at the beginning of the mining process after the ifconfig output.




Yeah so, I have the HDMI connected to the first PCI-E x16 slot, unfortunately it seems like it is still only registering GPU (0-4) so only 5.

To clarify, its the "Second" PCI-E x16 slot that seems like it's not working, have tested it solo, it works, its just that slot that's not showing any of the GPU's during the mining process. Perhaps its a power to that pci-e x16 slot issue? 

So I tried the xorg="OK" and it doesn't seem to be working either, still showing me 5 of the 6 GPU.

MSI Z270-A Pro & 6 ASUS Dual OC 1070. Smiley

If you enter the following in the guake terminal (f12), what does it output?

Code:
lspci | grep VGA


still getting
1:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
3:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
6:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
7:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
8:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
9:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I use [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining <3
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996072
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996072

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996072
Reply with quote  #2

1510996072
Report to moderator
pixelizedchaos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18

You only die when you are forgotten.


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 05:38:41 AM
 #1142

Also getting a ton of " An internal driver error occurred." and a handful of argument errors.

I use [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining <3
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 07:40:38 AM
 #1143

I just got around to test v16.

Same error messages like below.

Getting infinite loop.

LCD connected to mobo graphics (like always in v15 and BIOS set to on board graphics not PCI)

Will test on PCI graphics later thi PM - hopefully no more infinite loops - will post results later.

Much better boot-up speed, this time can use USB3 port fully compatible with build?

I just added 5 more 20A circuits in my warehouse - fun times begins!

I can't seem to get v16 to work on tb-250.

It boots up then terminal pops up and says:

Quote
dos2unix: converting file /media/m1/1263-A96E/onebash to unix format

xorg problem detected

restarting xorg

rebooting in 5

Have tried different USB's and also booting with only one card but still have the same problem.

Anyone know what the problem might be?

Have you waited for the second boot?

If you are using one GPU it is expected that oneBash will need to rebuild the xorg file and reboot before OC will work as intended.

It should work without rebooting on the second boot; unless you have connected the monitor directly to the motherboard (always connect a monitor to the primary GPU).

I have had one member report that their rig is caught in an infinite loop of reboots; so I would like to know if this is happening to you as well.


Hi, you should NOT connect your monitor to the onboard graphics! That wil ruin the xorg.conf, so please move it to the primary PCI card. The new V0016 is checking your xorg.conf, correcting these issues, so after moving to the PCI card, you will have one more reboot and after that it should work.
Alquemista
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 09:01:22 AM
 #1144

Hi there,
I just built my first mining rig, well, trying to, still awaiting for the risers, so I installed v16 and it's not mounting the oneBash partition automatically, also I set up an account with suprnova and updated my LBC details in the oneBash file I keep getting a Stratum Authentication Error, my worker is name.BLA and I set the password as 'x' as seen below in the oneBash source, nothing at all. Anyone have the same problem?

If you are using an ssd see the links on the OP for setting up auto launch.

With supernova you use your login as the address and the worker name is just the second portion;

BLA

if I am interpreting your post correctly.


Thank you, working perfectly now. Sorry english isn't my first language, thanks for your help and for this great distro.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 09:36:18 AM
 #1145

Quote from: 7abazlam
So I imaged the USB properly and replaced oneBash with my own configured one. Trying to boot however seems to suffer from repeated reboots (5+ so far).

Here are my specs:

- Asus Prime Z270-p. It's not listed under fully supported boards. I still used the "all mobo nvOC" for it. Please let me know if I should use another specific image.
- 6 *  MSI GTX 1060
- Intel pentium 1151 processor

BIOS changes
- Above 4G: enabled
- Primary display: PCIE
- Audio controller: disabled

Please let me know if I missed something.


I don't know if this is your issue or not, but worth giving it a shot:

Quote from: fullzero

Do you have the monitor connected directly to the mobo?

This is the most likely reason I can think of that the xorg would corrupt every boot.

If you have been connecting the monitor directly to the mobo, move it to the primary GPU (the one connected to the 16x pcie slot closest to the CPU) and boot, it should display the message you have been seeing once, then work normally on the second boot.

Let me know if this is not the case.


I have HDMI cable connected to primary x16 PCIE port. But thanks for your prompt answers, fullzero!

Ok try this as well and let me know:

so lets see what happens if you remove the xorg check:

in oneBash:

the first implementation line: under the settings division:

#########################################################################

Code:
XORG="FAIL"


change this to:


Code:
XORG="OK"


and save

and start the mining process

tell me if you see OC messages at the beginning of the mining process after the ifconfig output.




Yeah so, I have the HDMI connected to the first PCI-E x16 slot, unfortunately it seems like it is still only registering GPU (0-4) so only 5.

To clarify, its the "Second" PCI-E x16 slot that seems like it's not working, have tested it solo, it works, its just that slot that's not showing any of the GPU's during the mining process. Perhaps its a power to that pci-e x16 slot issue? 

So I tried the xorg="OK" and it doesn't seem to be working either, still showing me 5 of the 6 GPU.

MSI Z270-A Pro & 6 ASUS Dual OC 1070. Smiley

If you enter the following in the guake terminal (f12), what does it output?

Code:
lspci | grep VGA


still getting
1:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
3:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
6:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
7:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
8:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
9:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Nvidia Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
Well that is 6, so the cards are there. If I understand it correctly, the mining software sees only 5 after starting up? That can be a power issue. The riser was powered you wrote, the card is powered correctly as well?
In a guake terminal (F12), what shows
Code:
nvidia-smi
?

This is how the last part looks like here (same MB, 6 1070 Gigabyte):
Code:
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Processes:                                                       GPU Memory |
|  GPU       PID  Type  Process name                               Usage      |
|=============================================================================|
|    0      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                             110MiB |
|    0      1820    G   compiz                                          33MiB |
|    0      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
|    1      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                               7MiB |
|    1      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
|    2      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                               7MiB |
|    2      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
|    3      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                               7MiB |
|    3      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
|    4      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                               7MiB |
|    4      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
|    5      1168    G   /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg                               7MiB |
|    5      2349    C   /home/m1/zec/v3_4/miner                        593MiB |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
dittie
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 09:53:58 AM
 #1146

Anyone knows if EWBF will be updated to 0.3.4b ? Any reasons to do so ? I see 2% dev fee was added though but hashrate suppose to also increase by 2%.

Thanks
You can do it yourself if you want, see some pages back. It's about 1-2% faster but dev fee is a fixed 2%. Currently the only reason I see is that you'd want the new monitoring page. Personally I keep 3.3b running.

I agree with Maxximus007; but added the ability to choose between the two with v0016 as some members want to use 3.4.

I will run some rigs on each version and will be able to give solid data on relative performance later.

Great software fullzero! Thanks!

Do you have the results for the EWBF performance? I'm still running 0.3.3 now but would like to know if its worth it to switch to 0.3.4.

If I would be getting new 1080's, would you recommend me going for the Ti version or is the performance difference with the normal 1080 small?

Get Free ONION https://deeponion.org/apply TOR Integrated Crypto
Nexillus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 12:21:01 PM
 #1147

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
I've had these errors once too, but it was OC. Your temps are nice so that's not the issue. Lower both OC and MC with 100, see if it is stable then. If so, go up with 50, MC first.

I would try Maxximus007's suggestion.

Let me know if you keep getting these errors.

It is also possible that having less free space contributes to these errors with claymore; I think I am going to increase the size of the primary partition to very close to 16gb for the next version for this reason.  

Optimally for claymore you should have up to 16gb of free space and use it as virtual memory, I am considering pushing the size to 32gb and implementing this in an alternative build for better ethash mining.



I changed the OC by mem by 15 and it has been solid for the last 90 minutes. I just think it is very odd since it was on the OC for almost a week. I didn't know you changed the primary partition, I think many of us are using 32GB USB keys too.

You can extend the primary partition on any key, by connecting it to a computer with nvOC that has already booted and clicking the ubuntu launcher at the top left and typing

gp

then click Gparted.  Find the sdb drive select the larger partition; it it is mounted unmount it; then rightclick and select resize and set the max size.

click the green checkmark to execute the change, wait for completion and it should be ~17gb larger.

I will do this + add the cmds to enable Claymore to use 16gb VM in the next version.


This is starting to be very frustrating overall, after 8 hours it just "froze" no crash, no failure just frozen... Had to hard reset it.

Another  question is, what is people's variance on hashrate? I have my go up and down quite often between 177-180. Sometimes goes down to 175. Anyone else have variance with mining? Is this caused by dual mining?

I am starting to think a possible hardware failure somewhere with the lack of stability in the rig..

Bitrated user: nexillus.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 12:38:35 PM
 #1148

Okay I like the  software I have ordered some 32gb sticks

I am running version 15 on some 16gb sticks.

I feel like a moron  as I simply  can't burn a good copy of 16.

I am going to put up a ton of screen shots showing my issues  on burning a copy of 16.  and maybe somebody will tell me what is wrong with me


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 01:15:34 PM
 #1149

Okay I like the  software I have ordered some 32gb sticks

I am running version 15 on some 16gb sticks.

I feel like a moron  as I simply  can't burn a good copy of 16.

I am going to put up a ton of screen shots showing my issues  on burning a copy of 16.  and maybe somebody will tell me what is wrong with me




so here are unzipped downloads what do I do to fix them so they will copy onto my usb stick

extract does not work so I most likely need to do some other thing

do i use winzip or some other unzip software?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 02:48:07 PM
 #1150

Okay I like the  software I have ordered some 32gb sticks

I am running version 15 on some 16gb sticks.

I feel like a moron  as I simply  can't burn a good copy of 16.

I am going to put up a ton of screen shots showing my issues  on burning a copy of 16.  and maybe somebody will tell me what is wrong with me




so here are unzipped downloads what do I do to fix them so they will copy onto my usb stick

extract does not work so I most likely need to do some other thing

do i use winzip or some other unzip software?

Hi, that is the bash file only (in Windows speak: the batch file). What you need is the image, to be found on the OP. His is rather large, around 6,44 Gb. This ZIP file can be unpacked with the standard Windows unzip tool. After that you will have a file named nvOC_v0016.img, around 15.6 Gb large.

This is the 'image' of the bootable operating system nvOC. You can then download the image burning app to be found on: etcher.io

Install the app on your computer, after starting the app you select the nvOC_v0016.img and the USB flash drive, and click on Flash! This will take some time. When it's finished, you can find a file called oneBash on the flash drive.

Edit this file with your pool, address etc. Eject the flash drive, put it in your rig, power it up, and after a couple of minutes its mining away!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 02:57:39 PM
 #1151

Duh  thanks Grin





got two 1080 ti's working nicely

353 watts




1271 sols

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 04:23:07 PM
 #1152

Duh  thanks Grin





got two 1080 ti's working nicely
Great!
Please let us know your hashing rate and OC values (and brand).
stef_stef
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 04:56:25 PM
 #1153

Do you think it is possible to upload on MEGA next time?

In my experience it is way faster than google drive in terms of download speeds
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 05:02:45 PM
 #1154

Duh  thanks Grin





got two 1080 ti's working nicely
Great!
Please let us know your hashing rate and OC values (and brand).

both cards
power = 150 watts
core = 222
ram = 10  >>>  can I set -100 or -200 or - 300 ?

hashrate 2 1080 ti's  about 1270

they are:
msi aero 1080ti
asus       1080ti

mobo gigabyte b250m

cpu    i5 7500t

a photo


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
TheYankeesWin!
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 05:05:57 PM
 #1155

Nice Phil real nice.

Is that this asus 1080ti?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ASUS-GeForce-GTX-1080-Ti-DirectX-12-TURBO-GTX1080TI-11G-11GB-352-Bit-GDDR5X-PCI-/382034122947?

What  is that psu?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 24, 2017, 05:42:33 PM
 #1156

Psu = EVGA 750 p2

and the asus is the one you linked to.

I think I am switching all rigs over to nvoc  

I have a lot of biostar rigs

z170's

I want to use last slot  but only 4 cards

all 1070's  I will test later.

I don't think I need tould 3.5 setting with 4 cards.

now that I can load the image easy  I will play with these cards and rigs.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 06:28:23 PM
 #1157

Anyone knows if EWBF will be updated to 0.3.4b ? Any reasons to do so ? I see 2% dev fee was added though but hashrate suppose to also increase by 2%.

Thanks
You can do it yourself if you want, see some pages back. It's about 1-2% faster but dev fee is a fixed 2%. Currently the only reason I see is that you'd want the new monitoring page. Personally I keep 3.3b running.

I agree with Maxximus007; but added the ability to choose between the two with v0016 as some members want to use 3.4.

I will run some rigs on each version and will be able to give solid data on relative performance later.

Great software fullzero! Thanks!

Do you have the results for the EWBF performance? I'm still running 0.3.3 now but would like to know if its worth it to switch to 0.3.4.

If I would be getting new 1080's, would you recommend me going for the Ti version or is the performance difference with the normal 1080 small?

So far it looks like 3,3 is better by the slightest margin (but this could easily be normal variance).  Both are very stable.

I would go with the 1080tis in case you want to mine an Ethash coin later on, plus they are more efficient.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 06:32:37 PM
 #1158

I'm really confused now, it just happened on VER15 within 15 minutes... With a different USB drive...

To my knowledge this should not be happening since these are 8GB cards and it will hit 3GB DAG file next year for ETH...
I've had these errors once too, but it was OC. Your temps are nice so that's not the issue. Lower both OC and MC with 100, see if it is stable then. If so, go up with 50, MC first.

I would try Maxximus007's suggestion.

Let me know if you keep getting these errors.

It is also possible that having less free space contributes to these errors with claymore; I think I am going to increase the size of the primary partition to very close to 16gb for the next version for this reason.  

Optimally for claymore you should have up to 16gb of free space and use it as virtual memory, I am considering pushing the size to 32gb and implementing this in an alternative build for better ethash mining.



I changed the OC by mem by 15 and it has been solid for the last 90 minutes. I just think it is very odd since it was on the OC for almost a week. I didn't know you changed the primary partition, I think many of us are using 32GB USB keys too.

You can extend the primary partition on any key, by connecting it to a computer with nvOC that has already booted and clicking the ubuntu launcher at the top left and typing

gp

then click Gparted.  Find the sdb drive select the larger partition; it it is mounted unmount it; then rightclick and select resize and set the max size.

click the green checkmark to execute the change, wait for completion and it should be ~17gb larger.

I will do this + add the cmds to enable Claymore to use 16gb VM in the next version.


This is starting to be very frustrating overall, after 8 hours it just "froze" no crash, no failure just frozen... Had to hard reset it.

Another  question is, what is people's variance on hashrate? I have my go up and down quite often between 177-180. Sometimes goes down to 175. Anyone else have variance with mining? Is this caused by dual mining?

I am starting to think a possible hardware failure somewhere with the lack of stability in the rig..

Dual mining is always less stable, especially with OC and powerlimit.  What ram, PSU, and CPU are you using?

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 06:34:19 PM
 #1159

Do you think it is possible to upload on MEGA next time?

In my experience it is way faster than google drive in terms of download speeds

Yes I will do that next time; I think you asked before and I forgot: my bad.

I will add it to the OP list so I don't forget this time.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 24, 2017, 06:40:07 PM
 #1160

Duh  thanks Grin





got two 1080 ti's working nicely
Great!
Please let us know your hashing rate and OC values (and brand).

both cards
power = 150 watts
core = 222
ram = 10  >>>  can I set -100 or -200 or - 300 ?

hashrate 2 1080 ti's  about 1270

they are:
msi aero 1080ti
asus       1080ti

mobo gigabyte b250m

cpu    i5 7500t

a photo



Phil,

you can use negative core and memory offsets; but how far you can go depends on the specific card.

Most will go to -100mc, some will go to -200mc; but I haven't seen a card that can go below -200 mc.


Pages: « 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 [58] 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!