Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:08:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322212 times)
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:40:48 AM
 #641

Added on to the rig a bit today.  Went from 5 GPUs to 7.  All Gigabyte Founders Ed. cards, on an Asus Prime Z270-A, a Celeron 3930, and a Corsair HX1200i.

220 MH/sec ETH (31.42 MH/sec avg per GPU)

Core OC: 200
Mem OC: 1600

power: 120W cap per GPU, pulling 945W at the wall.



I'll begin building a 2nd rig in a couple of days.  First parts rolled in today (4 EVGA 1070s).  Mobo will be another Z270-A, and I have another HX1200i.  The idea will be to have another 7-GPU rig that pulls 950W.  

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
1510996084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996084
Reply with quote  #2

1510996084
Report to moderator
1510996084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996084
Reply with quote  #2

1510996084
Report to moderator
1510996084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996084
Reply with quote  #2

1510996084
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996084
Reply with quote  #2

1510996084
Report to moderator
1510996084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996084
Reply with quote  #2

1510996084
Report to moderator
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:41:52 AM
 #642

Hi Fullzero

I dont see any of that when I scroll up, and yes I did initially boot with one GPU ( just wanted to make sure it all worked before powering up the rig )

Sounds like this is my issue!!  How do I resolve?  Smiley

look at this post:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19449945#msg19449945


Let me know if this works.

Cheers mate.  So if my xorg file is blank I need to find the one it backed up and copy and paste that onto the current zorg file.

I have the same mainboard as that user as well so that makes sense!

use the command from that post: it will do it for you

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:43:06 AM
 #643

Added on to the rig a bit today.  Went from 5 GPUs to 7.  All Gigabyte Founders Ed. cards, on an Asus Prime Z270-A, a Celeron 3930, and a Corsair HX1200i.

220 MH/sec ETH (31.42 MH/sec avg per GPU)

Core OC: 200
Mem OC: 1700

power: 120W cap per GPU, pulling 945W at the wall.



I'll begin building a 2nd rig in a couple of days.  First parts rolled in today (4 EVGA 1070s).  Mobo will be another Z270-A, and I have another HX1200i.  The idea will be to have another 7-GPU rig that pulls 950W.  

This is awesome; I need to try these settings.   Smiley

slackert
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:43:51 AM
 #644

Quote
I like nanopool and slushpool.

https://zec.nanopool.org/help

https://slushpool.com/help/get-started/getting_started_zcash


Nanopool you don't need an account for and their stats page is useful.

Slush Pool you need an account; but you get a lot of advanced features without any special effort on your part.

I noticed Nanopool charges 1% and Slush Pool 2%. Does using EWBF's CUDA through nvOC add an additional 2% to these pools?
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 03:52:16 AM
 #645

Quote
I like nanopool and slushpool.

https://zec.nanopool.org/help

https://slushpool.com/help/get-started/getting_started_zcash


Nanopool you don't need an account for and their stats page is useful.

Slush Pool you need an account; but you get a lot of advanced features without any special effort on your part.

I noticed Nanopool charges 1% and Slush Pool 2%. Does using EWBF's CUDA through nvOC add an additional 2% to these pools?

You can choose the EWBF donation percent; it defaults to 0.

slackert
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 04:08:06 AM
 #646

Thanks for the reply. Is the SOL/s rate the same on both pools or does this fluctuate? I guess I'm asking if there is an advantage besides stats for one pool over the other.

Also, I had a question about using Nvidia X Server settings window to change GPU core and mem. It seems to work for everything but the fan. Not sure this is the way to adjust settings on the fly. Maybe SSH is a better solution?
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 04:47:10 AM
 #647

Thanks for the reply. Is the SOL/s rate the same on both pools or does this fluctuate? I guess I'm asking if there is an advantage besides stats for one pool over the other.

Also, I had a question about using Nvidia X Server settings window to change GPU core and mem. It seems to work for everything but the fan. Not sure this is the way to adjust settings on the fly. Maybe SSH is a better solution?

This may seem strange at first but the reported hashrate at a pool is less important than the pools reward type. 

Most of the time a pool gives higher reported hashrates; it is only because of how they are calculating your shares (ultimately their reward type).

There are many ways of choosing a pool.

IMO most miners don't have a logical explanation for why they use the pool they do.  They tried it and were satisfied. 

There is a lot you need to learn before you can make an informed decision. 

To start I would look at this webpage on mining pool reward types:https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Comparison_of_mining_pools

I know it is for Bitcoin and most of these pools no longer exist. 

Pool reward types vary significantly; you want to know how you are being paid.  There is no substitute for learning all this yourself.


To change fan speed without restarting the oneBash process:

press f12 to open the guake terminal and enter:

nvidia-settings -a [fan:0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75

for each gpu

if I had 3 cards and wanted a fan speed of 75% I would enter:

nvidia-settings -a [fan:0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75

then:

nvidia-settings -a [fan:1]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75

then:

nvidia-settings -a [fan:2]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 14, 2017, 04:54:08 AM
 #648

I always try to test every card type; so I got 2x 1030 SCs:








I am posting about these to warn members DO NOT BUY ANY 1030s!!.

You are much better off getting 1x 1050ti SC than 2x 1030 SCs; and you will save ~$30


Gaza8143
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 05:41:04 AM
 #649

You should run a half percent full percent commision for your nvOC.  Every other man and his dog takes a cut dor their hard work and you provide better customer service support than most very expensive software packages!
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 06:37:37 AM
 #650

You should run a half percent full percent commision for your nvOC.  Every other man and his dog takes a cut dor their hard work and you provide better customer service support than most very expensive software packages!
That has been suggested before, but as fullzero explained he wants to have it further developed (easy update, remote management) before taking donations. But IMHO it's quite simple to send some appreciation: keep the CPUminer on the default account, and/or mine a couple of hours on his accounts with your rig.
cvitanihc0011
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 06:51:16 AM
 #651

Have 2 miners on this and they seem to work fine for a few hours and then crash :

09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   watchdog - fminer thread hangs
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   em hbt: 0, fm hbt: 130832,
09:29:41:752   bf3e6740   Miner thread hangs, need to restart miner!

Too much OC ?
Also ... the USB seems hot ... doesn't it get damaged in time ?

What GPUs and OC settings are you using; also what is the ambient tempature near the rig?

Also what kind of USB key are you using?

Would it help to use a ssd instead of usb ? For me it lags each time i open something..click something ..
Even if the miner is closed. I see there are links for ssd connection

You can use an ssd if you want; see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19300078#msg19300078


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg19328385#msg19328385


In my experience a fast USB is reasonably responsive.  The lexar ones I recommend are fast and cheap.

If they aren't fast enough for you: these are faster HQ very high speed USB keys are around $22:

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Flash-Drive-SDCZ80-032G-GAM46/dp/B00KT7DXIU

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00S6DBGLK


GPUs        - GTX 1070 - MSI Gaming X - Micron Memory
Core         - +150
Mem         - +1100
PowerLimit - +125
Risers        - v07s - prob gona change them for ver 06c
USB           - Kingston Adata Traveler - 32gb USB 3.0  = > but I doubt they are because it takes ages to write the image .. like 7mbs
Reported mh on a 7GPU rig - 211mh - no idea about consumption. Cheap electric bill here Smiley

I have a bunch of SSDs prob gona use those instead

I see somebody pushed  Core OC at 200 and Mem at 1600 Grin waw .
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 07:02:22 AM
 #652

Added on to the rig a bit today.  Went from 5 GPUs to 7.  All Gigabyte Founders Ed. cards, on an Asus Prime Z270-A, a Celeron 3930, and a Corsair HX1200i.

220 MH/sec ETH (31.42 MH/sec avg per GPU)

Core OC: 200
Mem OC: 1600

power: 120W cap per GPU, pulling 945W at the wall.



I'll begin building a 2nd rig in a couple of days.  First parts rolled in today (4 EVGA 1070s).  Mobo will be another Z270-A, and I have another HX1200i.  The idea will be to have another 7-GPU rig that pulls 950W.  

200/1600/120 PL ?
at 950watts with 7 x GPU = fantastic!

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
cvitanihc0011
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 10:56:25 AM
 #653

What do you mean by "(only 6x OC)" for the z170/z270 boards? Can this OS support 7 cards with those boards?

and you say usb key only....does that mean an M.2 drive will not work? what size ssd is required?

edit: removed lazy question

I can now fully OC all cards; just need to rebuild and update the images. 

Also I just confirmed that if an ssd is imaged while connected to the build pc with a USB-to-sata adapter and then attached to a rig via the usb-to-sata adapter that it will also work fully with all the current nvOC images. 

Here are some usb-to-sata adapters:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00OJ3UJ2S

https://www.amazon.com/Sabrent-2-5-Inch-Adapter-Optimized-EC-SSHD/dp/B011M8YACM

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004A98YTG

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06WVDK9QD

https://www.amazon.com/Inateck-SATA-Adapter-Cable-Drives/dp/B01E4VHSYG

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-SATA-Drive-Adapter-Cable/dp/B00HJZJI84


Here are some usb-to-m2 adapters:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B015C5GDY4

https://www.amazon.com/Portable-External-Enclosure-Controller-Connector/dp/B01G51SATK

https://www.amazon.com/MEITK-Portable-Enclosure-Controller-Connector/dp/B01J3KJ04E


I'll image a SSD using the USB to SATA adapter and it should work

One Q I have guys if you can explain :
- i know there are m2  - > Pci adapters for extra pci slots if the board has a slot to attach this m2 adapter
This USB - > 2m gives me the option to add a m2 - > PIC adapter without a slot on MB ?
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 11:40:41 AM
 #654

I'll image a SSD using the USB to SATA adapter and it should work

One Q I have guys if you can explain :
- i know there are m2  - > Pci adapters for extra pci slots if the board has a slot to attach this m2 adapter
This USB - > 2m gives me the option to add a m2 - > PIC adapter without a slot on MB ?

Probably not, an M.2 slot is essentially a PCI-E slot. USB is not. I think the USB to M.2 emulates a PCI-E 1x (M.2) to be able to address the drive. The system recognises an USB drive.
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 11:46:21 AM
 #655

Just did a small test with the new EWBF 0.3.4B miner and it is indeed 2% faster. Not sure if dev fee is fixed now, that would make the performance gain useless. This version does have a web statuspage to view some info about the miner.
gustavdp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 12:27:50 PM
 #656

Hi,

Thanks for all your effort. Once I get everything up and running I hope there is somewhere I can donate.

I need some advice though. I'm trying to flash the image to a 16gb ADATA S102 flash drive (Capacity shows 15.81GB in HDD Raw Copy), but it fails at 99%. is there something I can do, or should I get a bigger flash?
Maxximus007
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 12:48:46 PM
 #657

Hi,

Thanks for all your effort. Once I get everything up and running I hope there is somewhere I can donate.

I need some advice though. I'm trying to flash the image to a 16gb ADATA S102 flash drive (Capacity shows 15.81GB in HDD Raw Copy), but it fails at 99%. is there something I can do, or should I get a bigger flash?

You should get a bigger one. But at times it will still work, so you can test it. If the system boots and starts mining, all is ok. Be patient, booting (depending on number of cards) can take a couple of minutes. Make sure you've read the OP, connect a monitor to GPU0 (not the internal video card) to see the booting process. All is automated, so just wait and see Wink..
cvitanihc0011
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 01:00:06 PM
 #658

Hi,

Thanks for all your effort. Once I get everything up and running I hope there is somewhere I can donate.

I need some advice though. I'm trying to flash the image to a 16gb ADATA S102 flash drive (Capacity shows 15.81GB in HDD Raw Copy), but it fails at 99%. is there something I can do, or should I get a bigger flash?

You should get a bigger one. But at times it will still work, so you can test it. If the system boots and starts mining, all is ok. Be patient, booting (depending on number of cards) can take a couple of minutes. Make sure you've read the OP, connect a monitor to GPU0 (not the internal video card) to see the booting process. All is automated, so just wait and see Wink..

The image still works if capacity is over 15.8 as shown in tool. Less..it doesn't work. Fullzero explained it a bit better a few pages ago to me
gustavdp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 01:14:39 PM
 #659

Hi,

Thanks for all your effort. Once I get everything up and running I hope there is somewhere I can donate.

I need some advice though. I'm trying to flash the image to a 16gb ADATA S102 flash drive (Capacity shows 15.81GB in HDD Raw Copy), but it fails at 99%. is there something I can do, or should I get a bigger flash?

You should get a bigger one. But at times it will still work, so you can test it. If the system boots and starts mining, all is ok. Be patient, booting (depending on number of cards) can take a couple of minutes. Make sure you've read the OP, connect a monitor to GPU0 (not the internal video card) to see the booting process. All is automated, so just wait and see Wink..

The image still works if capacity is over 15.8 as shown in tool. Less..it doesn't work. Fullzero explained it a bit better a few pages ago to me

Yea it doesn't complete the transfer and there's 1gb unallocated space. I'll just get a bigger flash.
Gaza8143
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 14, 2017, 02:08:45 PM
 #660

Thanks for the help Fullzero that fixed my issue.  My card gone from 26 to 30 now - very happy  Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 [33] 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!