Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:07:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 284 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining v0019-1.4  (Read 322196 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 03:43:47 PM
 #421

Thank you for the updates Fullzero!

Quick question, the v15 notes state that openssh server is installed but disabled. How do we enable it?

Look at the top of oneBash for instructions.

After removing the # which comments the start cmd in the ssh.conf file logout and login.

1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
1510996051
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510996051

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510996051
Reply with quote  #2

1510996051
Report to moderator
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 04:07:31 PM
 #422


I use i5 6400t.

I will check to see what else I am running 4 of them at the moment.

I think I have 9 of them some are at the solar array.

running in the garage 

3x  i5 6400t
1x  i3 6100t

Ok, I'll let you know how it goes when I get the mobo in.

Sounds good

With nvOC_v0015 this mobo will support 6x GPUs if you use the first 6 pcie slots closest to the CPU and make the following bios changes before attaching the USB key:


Set the max TOLUD to 3.5 gb

Set Security Device Support to: Disable



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 04:13:36 PM
 #423

Could the b250 gaming 3 support a 5th card with the m.2 adapter? Or does this chipset not work like that.

I tested this last night and it didn't work.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 04:14:46 PM
 #424

Thanks for answering! Installed openssh-server for now. Is running apt a good idea, to upgrade packages?

Will a MSI Z270-A Pro also be able to use the M.2?

Please consider a console version, would be very useful especially offsite. Chances are that a mixed AMD / GeForce image will be easier to create in a console version.

Last night I tested and confirmed: the MSI Z270-A Pro can OC 7x cards with the nvOC_v0015 image and an m2 adapter.

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 04:19:07 PM
 #425

Hi fullzero

For the MSI Gaming M5 mobo....

CPU needs to be SkyLake to work on your build.

are Pentium G4560 and i3-7100 compatible?

Both CPU runs the mobo just fine but been reading up and this Skylake and Kaby Lake..... are they from the same lake - pun is intended :-)

thanks

PS... If I haven't said it already, great work with this project. Let me know where to send BTC donation.
I have put your link at my sig - good things like nvoc needs to shared around :-)

Thanks for adding nvOC to your signature; that is better than a BTC donation.  Smiley

I don't want to accept donations until mining platform is more developed.

When I was testing the z170 Gaming 5 I did swap out the CPU before updating the bios so it is possible that a G4560 ot i3-7100 will work. 

I will add this to my list and get back to you after testing. 

I tested this last night: the MSI z170 Gaming 5 does work with 7x GPUs using a G4560 or i3-7100 CPU and the nvOC_v0015 image.  Still needs bios changes.

mraug
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
June 07, 2017, 05:20:54 PM
 #426

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 07, 2017, 07:45:38 PM
 #427

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!


I haven't tested that mobo; I would expect a bios flash and a few bios setting changes would be needed.  I recommend getting one of the z270 chipset mobo's I have tested: see the OP.

IMO spending ~$20 more on a G4560 to "know" I will not have any CPU related problems is worth it.  Also if you plan on mining longterm, slightly better XMR hashrates with around the same power draw will pay for the difference, and then the entire CPU cost eventually.


VoskCoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 08, 2017, 03:36:13 AM
 #428

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!


I haven't tested that mobo; I would expect a bios flash and a few bios setting changes would be needed.  I recommend getting one of the z270 chipset mobo's I have tested: see the OP.

IMO spending ~$20 more on a G4560 to "know" I will not have any CPU related problems is worth it.  Also if you plan on mining longterm, slightly better XMR hashrates with around the same power draw will pay for the difference, and then the entire CPU cost eventually.



Fullzero, based around your software

What is the best bang for buck rig setup you'd recommend?
Cards? Board? CPU? Psu? Etc

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 04:09:23 AM
 #429

OP, first off thanks for your hard work.  I was very happy to stumble across your project.  

I am not able to OC or manually set fan speed for some reason.  I am running v0015 on an Asus Prime Z270-A with Gigabyte GTX 1720 (edit: 1070) Founder's Edition GPUs - currently only one GPU while I wait on risers and a new PSU.

This was the output I was getting prior to updating BIOS from 0222 0906:
Code:
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo ldconfig /usr/local/cuda/lib64
[sudo] password for m1: ^Aspawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24
[sudo] password for m1:







ERROR: Error assigning value 75 to attribute 'GPUTargetFanSpeed'
       (m1-desktop:0[fan:0]) as specified in assignment
       '[fan:0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75' (Unknown Error).


/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64: /usr/local/cuda/lib64/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by /home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64)

����������������������������������������������������������������ͻ
�      Claymore's Dual ETH + DCR/SC/LBC/PASC GPU Miner v9.0      �
����������������������������������������������������������������ͼ

ETH: 1 pool is specified
Main Ethereum pool is eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
AMD OpenCL platform not found

Driver 368.81 is recommended for best performance and compatibility
Be careful with overclocking, use default clocks for first tests
Press "s" for current statistics, "0".."9" to turn on/off cards, "r" to reload pools
CUDA initializing...

NVIDIA Cards available: 1
CUDA Driver Version/Runtime Version: 8.0/8.0
GPU #0: GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB available, 15 compute units, capability: 6.1

Total cards: 1


After the BIOS update + resetting BIOS to optimized defaults + enabling the 3 settings you specify in the instructions I get this:
Code:
spawn sudo dos2unix /media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo ldconfig /usr/local/cuda/lib64
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24
[sudo] password for m1:





/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64: /usr/local/cuda/lib64/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by /home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64)

                                                                ͻ
       Claymore's Dual ETH + DCR/SC/LBC/PASC GPU Miner v9.0      
                                                                ͼ

ETH: 1 pool is specified
Main Ethereum pool is eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
AMD OpenCL platform not found

Driver 368.81 is recommended for best performance and compatibility
Be careful with overclocking, use default clocks for first tests
Press "s" for current statistics, "0".."9" to turn on/off cards, "r" to reload pools
CUDA initializing...

NVIDIA Cards available: 1
CUDA Driver Version/Runtime Version: 8.0/8.0
GPU #0: GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB available, 15 compute units, capability: 6.1

Total cards: 1
ETH: Stratum - connecting to 'eth-us-east1.nanopool.org' <158.69.86.187> port 9999
ETH: Stratum - Connected (eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999)
ETHEREUM-ONLY MINING MODE ENABLED (-mode 1)
ETH: eth-proxy stratum mode
Watchdog enabled
Remote management (READ-ONLY MODE) is enabled on port 3333

ETH: Authorized
Setting DAG epoch #127...
Setting DAG epoch #127 for GPU #0
Create GPU buffer for GPU #0
GPU 0 DAG creation time - 6500 ms
Setting DAG epoch #127 for GPU #0 done
ETH: 06/07/17-23:34:42 - New job from eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
ETH - Total Speed: 25.858 Mh/s, Total Shares: 0, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:00
ETH: GPU0 25.858 Mh/s
ETH: 06/07/17-23:34:58 - New job from eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
ETH - Total Speed: 25.826 Mh/s, Total Shares: 0, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:00
ETH: GPU0 25.826 Mh/s
GPU0 t=52C fan=32%

any ideas on what the problem might be?  I'm hoping to be up and running on 5 GPUs in a few days, so with a little luck I can find a solution by then.  TIA

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 04:24:02 AM
 #430

Hey guys

would "MSI z170a gaming pro carbon" + "Intel Celeron G3900" work with 6 x GTX 1080Ti ?

I noticed some people are putting quiet "beefy" CPUs into their rigs, can someone explain why? Does it have something to do with PCIE support?

Also @fullzero, thanks for all the work you put into this!


I haven't tested that mobo; I would expect a bios flash and a few bios setting changes would be needed.  I recommend getting one of the z270 chipset mobo's I have tested: see the OP.

IMO spending ~$20 more on a G4560 to "know" I will not have any CPU related problems is worth it.  Also if you plan on mining longterm, slightly better XMR hashrates with around the same power draw will pay for the difference, and then the entire CPU cost eventually.

Fullzero, based around your software

What is the best bang for buck rig setup you'd recommend?
Cards? Board? CPU? Psu? Etc

As my favorite card: Zotac 1070 minis are now 400+

If I had the power space to build another rig right now; this is what I would buy:

$1680  7x 1060 AMP (regular amp only!) https://www.amazon.com/ZOTAC-GeForce-ZT-P10600B-10M-Compact-Graphics/dp/B01I5O5AP2

$152 ASUS PRIME Z270-A https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132936

$6  molex adapter https://www.amazon.com/CGTime-Express-Molex-Power-Cable/dp/B01MXDXAKZ

$8 Lexar-JumpDrive-16GB USB key

$67  Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR4 ram

$75  G4560 CPU https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIABB75KW6577

$3  ATX power switch

$122 EVGA GQ-1000 psu

$65 or less pcie powered risers 7x pack pm hawkfish007

$100 or less make your own frame out of wood or using 8020.net parts

total $2278

expected hashrate using OC of +150cc and +900mc:

~2240+ sol/s  for ~815 watts-at-the-wall @ 105 pl

1.02 $/hash (hash in sol/s)




fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 04:31:23 AM
 #431

OP, first off thanks for your hard work.  I was very happy to stumble across your project. 

I am not able to OC or manually set fan speed for some reason.  I am running v0015 on an Asus Prime Z270-A with Gigabyte GTX 1720 Founder's Edition GPUs - currently only one GPU while I wait on risers and a new PSU.

This was the output I was getting prior to updating BIOS from 0222 0906:
Code:
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo ldconfig /usr/local/cuda/lib64
[sudo] password for m1: ^Aspawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24
[sudo] password for m1:

ERROR: Error assigning value 75 to attribute 'GPUTargetFanSpeed'
       (m1-desktop:0[fan:0]) as specified in assignment
       '[fan:0]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=75' (Unknown Error).


/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64: /usr/local/cuda/lib64/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by /home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64)

����������������������������������������������������������������ͻ
�      Claymore's Dual ETH + DCR/SC/LBC/PASC GPU Miner v9.0      �
����������������������������������������������������������������ͼ

ETH: 1 pool is specified
Main Ethereum pool is eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
AMD OpenCL platform not found

Driver 368.81 is recommended for best performance and compatibility
Be careful with overclocking, use default clocks for first tests
Press "s" for current statistics, "0".."9" to turn on/off cards, "r" to reload pools
CUDA initializing...

NVIDIA Cards available: 1
CUDA Driver Version/Runtime Version: 8.0/8.0
GPU #0: GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB available, 15 compute units, capability: 6.1

Total cards: 1


After the BIOS update + resetting BIOS to optimized defaults + enabling the 3 settings you specify in the instructions I get this:
Code:
spawn sudo dos2unix /media/m1/1263-A96E/oneBash
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo ldconfig /usr/local/cuda/lib64
[sudo] password for m1: spawn sudo nvidia-xconfig --cool-bits=24
[sudo] password for m1:





/home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64: /usr/local/cuda/lib64/libOpenCL.so.1: no version information available (required by /home/m1/9.0/ethdcrminer64)

                                                                ͻ
       Claymore's Dual ETH + DCR/SC/LBC/PASC GPU Miner v9.0       
                                                                ͼ

ETH: 1 pool is specified
Main Ethereum pool is eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
AMD OpenCL platform not found

Driver 368.81 is recommended for best performance and compatibility
Be careful with overclocking, use default clocks for first tests
Press "s" for current statistics, "0".."9" to turn on/off cards, "r" to reload pools
CUDA initializing...

NVIDIA Cards available: 1
CUDA Driver Version/Runtime Version: 8.0/8.0
GPU #0: GeForce GTX 1070, 8113 MB available, 15 compute units, capability: 6.1

Total cards: 1
ETH: Stratum - connecting to 'eth-us-east1.nanopool.org' <158.69.86.187> port 9999
ETH: Stratum - Connected (eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999)
ETHEREUM-ONLY MINING MODE ENABLED (-mode 1)
ETH: eth-proxy stratum mode
Watchdog enabled
Remote management (READ-ONLY MODE) is enabled on port 3333

ETH: Authorized
Setting DAG epoch #127...
Setting DAG epoch #127 for GPU #0
Create GPU buffer for GPU #0
GPU 0 DAG creation time - 6500 ms
Setting DAG epoch #127 for GPU #0 done
ETH: 06/07/17-23:34:42 - New job from eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
ETH - Total Speed: 25.858 Mh/s, Total Shares: 0, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:00
ETH: GPU0 25.858 Mh/s
ETH: 06/07/17-23:34:58 - New job from eth-us-east1.nanopool.org:9999
ETH - Total Speed: 25.826 Mh/s, Total Shares: 0, Rejected: 0, Time: 00:00
ETH: GPU0 25.826 Mh/s
GPU0 t=52C fan=32%

any ideas on what the problem might be?  I'm hoping to be up and running on 5 GPUs in a few days, so with a little luck I can find a solution by then.  TIA

I am not familiar with this GPU:   GTX 1720

Is this a Maxwell GPU?

In the future I recommend applying bios setting changes before attaching the USB.  I would try re imaging your USB and see if it still misidentifies the card.

If it still misidentifies the card after reimaging; please press f12 to open the guake terminal and enter the cmd:

lspci | grep VGA

and post what it shows.


UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 04:45:21 AM
 #432

Sorry, typo, GTX 1070
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:/$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I'm in the process of re-imaging my flash drive to eliminate any possibility of that being an issue and will update accordingly.

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
Dhx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 06:52:20 AM
 #433

If I had the power space to build another rig right now; this is what I would buy:

$152 ASUS PRIME Z270-A https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132936

Fullzero,

Just curious if you would recommend the Z270-A over the ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS now?  Any advantages to the extra dollars when going for a 6x or 7x rig (1070s of course in my case)?  Thanks for the help as usual.  Not much to do other than sift through details while waiting on risers.

Also, is anyone running CPU coolers (Arctic Freezer i32 or similar) on their rig or are stock heatsinks the norm even with CPU mining?  I never see them mentioned.
viperman2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 09:27:59 AM
 #434


Hello I have same problem like UberDaemon with Asus Z270-P a few empty rows and no overclocking active for my cards (1060s) i have tested v0015 the result is the same.
I even built my own ubuntu and installed CUDA+driver the result is the same.
nvidia-smi is returning information that for that GPU there is no other supported clocks than base ones. Which is not true because on windows i had overclock them a lot.

P.S when i edit the xorg.conf with coolbits option i don't see "Edittable Performance" section on Powermizer on nvidia-settings.

Please if anyone knows something about that issue respond Smiley I doubt that this is an image issue because it's happening on another linux installation as well.
More like drivers/settings in my opinion.
WarwickNZ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 12:06:05 PM
 #435

Hi,

Firstly I'd just like to say, great job I really appreciate the time you put into this and thanks for sharing.

I'm having an issue where I can't get the cards to overclock, smi reports that the powerlimit is set as wanted at 165 through OneBash but the draw wattage just doesn't move just stays stuck around 150w. Clock and memory is set as per your guidance +100 core, +600 mem.

Board is ASUS H270 Prime Plus with 6 x EVGA GTX1070 SC, dual mining ETH+SC

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated, loving the plug and play aspect of it, will really help with getting some friends going.

Thanks!
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 12:29:09 PM
 #436

Hi,

Firstly I'd just like to say, great job I really appreciate the time you put into this and thanks for sharing.

I'm having an issue where I can't get the cards to overclock, smi reports that the powerlimit is set as wanted at 165 through OneBash but the draw wattage just doesn't move just stays stuck around 150w. Clock and memory is set as per your guidance +100 core, +600 mem.

Board is ASUS H270 Prime Plus with 6 x EVGA GTX1070 SC, dual mining ETH+SC

Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated, loving the plug and play aspect of it, will really help with getting some friends going.

Thanks!

Sometimes, especially with initial boot; a powerlimit will not set as intended.  This may be due to using a slow usb, dos2unix taking longer than expected to close, or Ubuntu installing security updates.  It is also possible to set a powerlimit that is outside of the cards acceptable range for a powerlimit; in which case it will not implement any powerlimit dispite displaying the command.

To manually implement a powerlimit:

Press f12 to open the guake terminal; if cpuminer is running open another tab or press ctrl + c to stop the process and enter:

sudo nvidia-smi -pl 165

you will then be prompted for the password: miner1

this should attempt to implement the command for each card.  You will see a message for each card listing its previous powerlimit and its new one.  If you have selected a powerlimit that is outside of the acceptable range smi will indicate this.

Generally if you are having trouble with oneBash implementing a powerlimit: I recommend changing:

INDIVIDUAL_POWERLIMIT="YES"

in addition to:

POWERLIMIT="YES"

and then ensuring you enter the desired wattage for the global powerlimit and each of your cards individual powerlimits.

Even with a slow usb this should ensure the proper setting of a powerlimit.



fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 12:31:50 PM
 #437

Sorry, typo, GTX 1070
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:/$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I'm in the process of re-imaging my flash drive to eliminate any possibility of that being an issue and will update accordingly.


Hello I have same problem like UberDaemon with Asus Z270-P a few empty rows and no overclocking active for my cards (1060s) i have tested v0015 the result is the same.
I even built my own ubuntu and installed CUDA+driver the result is the same.
nvidia-smi is returning information that for that GPU there is no other supported clocks than base ones. Which is not true because on windows i had overclock them a lot.

P.S when i edit the xorg.conf with coolbits option i don't see "Edittable Performance" section on Powermizer on nvidia-settings.

Please if anyone knows something about that issue respond Smiley I doubt that this is an image issue because it's happening on another linux installation as well.
More like drivers/settings in my opinion.

I have one of these motherboards, but it is boxed.  I will get it out tonight and try to replicate what is happening myself.  In order to replicate the situation as closely as possible: what CPU are each of you using?

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 08, 2017, 12:38:33 PM
 #438

If I had the power space to build another rig right now; this is what I would buy:

$152 ASUS PRIME Z270-A https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813132936

Fullzero,

Just curious if you would recommend the Z270-A over the ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS now?  Any advantages to the extra dollars when going for a 6x or 7x rig (1070s of course in my case)?  Thanks for the help as usual.  Not much to do other than sift through details while waiting on risers.

Also, is anyone running CPU coolers (Arctic Freezer i32 or similar) on their rig or are stock heatsinks the norm even with CPU mining?  I never see them mentioned.

They are both good mobos; the main reason is that I can't find any m2 adapters in stock from any seller in the US.  Without an m2 adapter the ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS can only use 6x GPUs.

I always consider the $/hash of an entire rig.  Using more cards without needing to use a more expensive PSU lowers the $/hash of the rig.

The stock Intel heatsink should be good for the level of CPU mining you would be doing on the side with nvOC (this is nothing like full out CPU mining; and even then: the stock heatsink would probably be ok unless you are using 8+ threads at max intensity)

UberDaemon
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 12:54:56 PM
 #439

Sorry, typo, GTX 1070
Code:
m1@m1-desktop:/$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

I'm in the process of re-imaging my flash drive to eliminate any possibility of that being an issue and will update accordingly.


Hello I have same problem like UberDaemon with Asus Z270-P a few empty rows and no overclocking active for my cards (1060s) i have tested v0015 the result is the same.
I even built my own ubuntu and installed CUDA+driver the result is the same.
nvidia-smi is returning information that for that GPU there is no other supported clocks than base ones. Which is not true because on windows i had overclock them a lot.

P.S when i edit the xorg.conf with coolbits option i don't see "Edittable Performance" section on Powermizer on nvidia-settings.

Please if anyone knows something about that issue respond Smiley I doubt that this is an image issue because it's happening on another linux installation as well.
More like drivers/settings in my opinion.

I have one of these motherboards, but it is boxed.  I will get it out tonight and try to replicate what is happening myself.  In order to replicate the situation as closely as possible: what CPU are each of you using?


Reimage didn't have any effect on resolving the problem.  My CPU is a G3930 celeron.

2 rigs • 14 1070 GPUs • 428mh/s ETH [►nvOC◄ Linux]
bentcrypto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile
June 08, 2017, 01:04:56 PM
 #440

I just updated to latest bios on TB-250 and also to the latest nvOC , now my rig won't boot.

Anyone know what causes this error?

I have the mobo in miner mode and set to 3.5gb.

Should have done one thing at a time so I know what caused it.


Edit: I got it to boot by typing :
help
fsck /dev/sda2
 
Then pressing Y for every question.

I got more errors in the miner window once it booted up though so I am now doing a fresh image.

Edit 2 : Re-imaged USB and all good Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 ... 284 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!