Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 06:54:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Sixth alt coin thread I forgot to mod last thread.  (Read 69732 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
GabryRox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 12:53:02 AM
 #2161


I don't know why  you won't use coinbase  but if you have never used coinbase and don't have an account setup  thats a reason.


Very simple actually - I had a fully verified account in 2013 they froze for no reason. Fought them for months on it and basically ripped off a very large chunk of coin from me. During that time and even now there have been hundreds upon hundreds of people they've done this to.

To each their own, if you're comfortable using them by all means, I'm just more comfortable handling large sums of cash in person.

Thanks Phil... I have a bit of confusion on the Coinbase/IRS ruling coming from the wording, but I will address that below. First, thanks for the tip about not using ebay for BTC sales (I assume this is valid even through LocalBitcoins?).  I personally really like the functionality and capabilities of Coinbase but my hesitation is continuing to use them to cash out BTC to fiat is indeed based in this IRS issue.  since I have my mining registered as a business and file the taxes accordingly, I certainly plan on paying whatever tax I owe for this year when it comes time to file. However, I simply was looking to avoid and extra layer of scrutiny that could be caused by the IRS getting my transnational info from CB.  I am keeping good records and have a good understanding about how crypto taxes are treated under current law, but due to the high complexity of multi-coin trading and how that effects your actual basis when you sell, I have do desire to have my math 2nd guessed by the IRS.

So, with that said, there are 2 statements coming from this article (and others) that could be construed as having completely different meanings in regard to the $20k rule.  Now granted, I know this is only from 2013-2015, when i didn't trade any BTC, but I am going under the assumption that the same materiality threshold will be put in place for this and subsequent years, which is what has me concerned.

http://fortune.com/2017/07/10/bitcoin-irs-coinbase/

- excerpt #1: "...only for those accounts that engaged in transactions worth $20,000 or more."
to me, this verbiage indicates the $20k threshold refers to a single transaction. Meaning, like you explain, if you have say 15 sells of BTC to USD for $2k each and spread out over time, you would have $30k total but would not be part of the record forwarding since all single transactions were well under that $20k amount.

- excerpt #2: "to users with “at least the equivalent of $20,000 in any one transaction type (buy, sell, send, or receive) in any one year during the 2013-15 period.”
To me, this could mean that if you sold a SUM TOTAL of $20k+ of BTC for fiat through CB, you would be subject to the record forwarding.

So, to me it comes down to the difference between "transaction", which clearly indicates a single action... vs "transaction type", which really seems like it could mean a sum total of that transaction type. 

It is also a bit strange that they include buy send and receive because none of those inherently indicate a tax liability. Typically, one would only incur a potential liability if they sold BTC to fiat at a gain over their basis in that BTC.  Now of course it's different if you are actually mining BTC because all of that would be subject to taxed, but that's gotta be a minor # of people compared to overall users of BTC.

Anyone have further insight on this?  I suppose I could write to CB support for further clarification.


1513061666
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513061666

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513061666
Reply with quote  #2

1513061666
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
GabryRox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 12:55:20 AM
 #2162

Isn't the new Coinbase/IRS deal that they have to report any user that does $20,000.00 in transactions in a single year?  If it's $20k in a single transaction then I doubt we will ever have that ourselves. Since we make records of everything anyways we will be paying taxes either way, but it would actually be nice to receive tax forms from Coinbase rather then doubling our paperwork that we have by doing it all manually.

I hear ya about getting a form from CB to tie out to, but the vast majority of heavy lifting tax wise is calculating your basis, something which CB will have no way to provide... so little help in my mind.
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1396

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 01:34:06 AM
 #2163


Never never never never sell btc  for paypal.

The buyer has  6 months to scam you  no matter what you do.

I don't know why  you won't use coinbase  but if you have never used coinbase and don't have an account setup  thats a reason.

With coinbase sells  sell  under 1000 usd two or three days in a row.  You will be fine.

Never do a big  coinbase sale send receive or pruchase.  The ruling handed down  this month for IRS access to coinbase is simple:

 any 20000 dollar move of any kind

a sale for fiat
a purchase for fiat
a send
a receive and Coinbase has to send all your records  to the IRS  from 2013 to 2015  not sure about  2016 or 2017.

So to be safe  do under 0.75 coins  in a move  and don't do    3 moves of 0.75  close to each other.

sales of 1000 usd  are not close to the ruling.

i give my accountant my coinbase records every year anyway for tax purposes so i cant see the point of trying to stay under any particular amount in any given transaction or time frame (well aside from wanting to stay in a particular tax bracket). and how else can you easily cash out a large sum whenever there is a good price you want to lock in. legally i mean Smiley



Mashy81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:26:29 AM
 #2164

I have been running the onda d1800 this weekend.
I had some trouble at first now running 4 vega 56 at 7600hs stable.
I just kept reinstalling windows until it worked. Installed 1 gpu installed blockchain driver. Set virtual memory to 32g. Turned off install all other gpus and turn back and away we went.
Have also had it running steady with 3 rx570 and 3 vega56.
The chinese supplier i got it from said nothing needed to be changed in the bios so I didn't touch it.
Also I run the monitor on the onboard graphics
chiwalfrm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 08:32:38 AM
 #2165

I noticed there are now several mining motherboards where you don't need to use risers, but I noticed many of them still need a CPU 4-pin or 8-pin power cable, so that means you still need an ATX power supply or a Pico kit.  Is there a mining motherboard that can be entirely powered from PCIE power (server PSU)?  In the case of the Onda, it even requires three SATA power connections, so the server PSU is definitely out.



BogdanCo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 507


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 09:36:48 AM
 #2166

Thanks to all show have posted good info on Nvidia GPUs. I still hope to build that GTX rig in the near future but think I will build a Vega 56 rig first since I already have 3 of them sitting here that I luckily got for about $430 each (avg cost). Was really trying to find a 4th but they are completely gone from OEMs and retailers and now even used ones on ebay are going for ~$600!  Sorry, but i refuse to pay at least 50% mark-up from the $400 retail on these things, even if it means going with a 3x rig for now.  

My question for those who are running Vega's... are there any different components needed to support them, as per say, vs am Rx-470 rig?  I'm assuming my ASRock BTC R2 mobo will suffice, but what about the CPU & RAM?  I just ordered a couple G3260's to fit that 1150 socket (previously used G3258s but those are pretty much gone)... assuming this should work with Vega right?  but what about RAM?  I've heard some saying that you need higher rated/speed RAM to fully utilize the HBM2 in those Vega's but does anyone know if this is true?  My rx470 rigs are all using 2x4GB DDR3 1600. Will that be sufficient to run these Vega's?

I'm running a rig of 8 Vega's 64 Sapphire. It has 4 Gb Corsair ram and a Skylake Pentium G4400 processor. I've tried also on a Celeron G3930 Kaby Lake and it's working. Just remember to set at least 8Gb virtual memory / GPU in Windows.
Hash ~1860/GPU and power consumption 1240W at wall, running stable since days.

Thanks for the info Bogdan... can I ask what specs your RAM is on that rig?  DDR3, DDR4?  1600Mhz or faster?  Trying to make sure that DDR3-1600 will be sufficient as that is the best my Mobo can take. Thanks also for the power numbers... this tells me I should easily be able to get 4 Vega 56's running on my EVGA 1KW PSU with plenty of headroom to spare.

I'm using this RAM: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-CMV4GX4M1A2400C16-Select-Desktop-Memory/dp/B072LRMXGN/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1512293273&sr=8-1&keywords=corsair+value+select+ddr4
From my experience with Vega, I would say speed it's not important. Just make sure you have at least 4 Gb Ram.
With your 1KW PSU you can run 6 Vega, you should have ~950W at the wall after tweaking and undervolting.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 10:11:59 AM
 #2167

I noticed there are now several mining motherboards where you don't need to use risers, but I noticed many of them still need a CPU 4-pin or 8-pin power cable, so that means you still need an ATX power supply or a Pico kit.  Is there a mining motherboard that can be entirely powered from PCIE power (server PSU)?  In the case of the Onda, it even requires three SATA power connections, so the server PSU is definitely out.




In addition to the D1800 Onda board for my older Nanos and R9-390s

I am testing 3 boards with full server PSU powered.

Generic 9slot with compute PCI blade, Generic K17 (8slots) and Colorful B250 (8slots) motherboards.

Generic 9slot with PCI compute: 1070ti x 8 - Production



Colorful: 1070ti x 8 testing - moving to Vega64




K17: R7-370 x 8 testing - moving to RX470/480




Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 12:36:54 PM
 #2168

I have a board works  8 slots  server a delta.
Got it at alibaba.
I felt seller was sleazy
and the board that came was a little different then to board that was pictured.

This made me not  want to order 10 more.

I also cost  30 more then the  Onda.

I have been able to run the onda with


 set 1070's at 110 watts and use some 1989 tis at 200 watts
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/ax1200i-digital-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-modular-psu-na-refurbished



set 1070's at 105 watts on smos linux
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/rmi-series-rm1000i-1000-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu-na-refurbished

I also found the onda is good with 7 cards  rather then 8

that allows me  to use the rm1000i    psu at   under 800 watts

so the psu is  149 which is now cheaper then the delta by 40
the board is 30 cheaper

so I save 70  with the onda and 7 cards

if you had 56 cards

generic  from sleazy guy    7 boards of 8 cards    so 7 x 70 =  490  more

onda   you need 8 boards  so

ram     40
cpu    100
board 170

total   310

so the onda  is cheaper  running 7 cards with the corasir

and the generic  cost more running 8 cards with the server

if you could get the deltas for 165  and not 190  the generic would cost the same
but I would still worry about the seller

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Marvell2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 12:42:31 PM
 #2169

I have a board works  8 slots  server a delta.
Got it at alibaba.
I felt seller was sleazy
and the board that came was a little different then to board that was pictured.

This made me not  want to order 10 more.

I also cost  30 more then the  Onda.

I have been able to run the onda with


 set 1070's at 110 watts and use some 1989 tis at 200 watts
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/ax1200i-digital-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-modular-psu-na-refurbished



set 1070's at 105 watts on smos linux
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/rmi-series-rm1000i-1000-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu-na-refurbished

I also found the onda is good with 7 cards  rather then 8

that allows me  to use the rm1000i    psu at   under 800 watts

so the psu is  149 which is now cheaper then the delta by 40
the board is 30 cheaper

so I save 70  with the onda and 7 cards

if you had 56 cards

generic  from sleazy guy    7 boards of 8 cards    so 7 x 70 =  490  more

onda   you need 8 boards  so

ram     40
cpu    100
board 170

total   310

so the onda  is cheaper  running 7 cards with the corasir

and the generic  cost more running 8 cards with the server

if you could get the deltas for 165  and not 190  the generic would cost the same
but I would still worry about the seller

nice analysis but id still prefer the delta or 1200 watt since with risers i could run say 10 cards
Marvell2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 12:44:35 PM
 #2170

plus one delta will power two 10 card 1070 rigs easy
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 01:34:31 PM
 #2171

plus one delta will power two 10 card 1070 rigs easy

well i don't do risers. I am riser free at this moment. on about 50 nvidia cards

and what holds me back is  the generic colorful that i run  with the delta is just that generic a knock off  I don't trust the seller.

The onda seller has been around 12 years and has been 21 of 21 with boards  all clearly marked onda.

Once buysolar and I get the second solar array going  we will not worry about a loaded loud  delta  running two boards.

For now we are running the gpus in our homes as space heaters  so quiet matters.

the asics are in his converted barn  we do not have room for gpus there.

to me if you are doing a rig on the onda  and use 7 slots with the 1000 watt corsair it is a good setup.  riser free up to 115 or 120 watts a card  it runs


Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Truthchanter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 01:51:35 PM
 #2172

I have a board works  8 slots  server a delta.
Got it at alibaba.
I felt seller was sleazy
and the board that came was a little different then to board that was pictured.

This made me not  want to order 10 more.

I also cost  30 more then the  Onda.

I have been able to run the onda with


 set 1070's at 110 watts and use some 1989 tis at 200 watts
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/ax1200i-digital-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-modular-psu-na-refurbished



set 1070's at 105 watts on smos linux
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/rmi-series-rm1000i-1000-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu-na-refurbished

I also found the onda is good with 7 cards  rather then 8

that allows me  to use the rm1000i    psu at   under 800 watts

so the psu is  149 which is now cheaper then the delta by 40
the board is 30 cheaper

so I save 70  with the onda and 7 cards

if you had 56 cards

generic  from sleazy guy    7 boards of 8 cards    so 7 x 70 =  490  more

onda   you need 8 boards  so

ram     40
cpu    100
board 170

total   310

so the onda  is cheaper  running 7 cards with the corasir

and the generic  cost more running 8 cards with the server

if you could get the deltas for 165  and not 190  the generic would cost the same
but I would still worry about the seller


Is buying from alibaba as safe as buying from ebay? saw something on that site I was interested in buying but not sure how good the buyer protection is or if theres any

Also I'm wondering about aliexpress
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 03:44:33 PM
 #2173

I have a board works  8 slots  server a delta.
Got it at alibaba.
I felt seller was sleazy
and the board that came was a little different then to board that was pictured.

This made me not  want to order 10 more.

I also cost  30 more then the  Onda.

I have been able to run the onda with


 set 1070's at 110 watts and use some 1989 tis at 200 watts
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/ax1200i-digital-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-modular-psu-na-refurbished



set 1070's at 105 watts on smos linux
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/rmi-series-rm1000i-1000-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu-na-refurbished

I also found the onda is good with 7 cards  rather then 8

that allows me  to use the rm1000i    psu at   under 800 watts

so the psu is  149 which is now cheaper then the delta by 40
the board is 30 cheaper

so I save 70  with the onda and 7 cards

if you had 56 cards

generic  from sleazy guy    7 boards of 8 cards    so 7 x 70 =  490  more

onda   you need 8 boards  so

ram     40
cpu    100
board 170

total   310

so the onda  is cheaper  running 7 cards with the corasir

and the generic  cost more running 8 cards with the server

if you could get the deltas for 165  and not 190  the generic would cost the same
but I would still worry about the seller


Is buying from alibaba as safe as buying from ebay? saw something on that site I was interested in buying but not sure how good the buyer protection is or if theres any

Also I'm wondering about aliexpress

the sellers I used allowed me to pay with paypal  and a 5% surcharge

I have a very good relationship with paypal.

12 years plus  with 100,000's of thousands in good purchases.

So if you find an alibaba seller that takes paypal why not?

sales@letine.com

Sidonia Huang[CN]
Shenzhen Letine Technology Co., Ltd.

Is the seller  i like to use  via   alibaba




below is the seller that sold me the 8 slot server style board

allen.y.dai@armortec.net

https://armortec.en.alibaba.com/product/60717451914-804952129/8_GPU_PCIe_X16_mining_motherboard_for_bitcoin_miner_Broadwell_3215_IMB_21612.html?

https://armortec.en.alibaba.com/product/60717382344-804952129/9_PCIe_X16_mining_motherboard_for_bitcoin_miner_Broadwell_U_3215_Armortec.html?spm=a2700.8304367.rect38f22d.7.763bc51fhVS9PBspm=a2700.8304367.rect38f22d.5.763bc51fhVS9PB



i got this board from him

https://armortec.en.alibaba.com/product/60718781807-804952129/8_GPU_PCIe_X16_mining_motherboard_for_bitcoin_miner_Skylake_platform_LGA1151_supporting_RX580_RX480_GTX1070_etc.html?spm=a2700.8304367.rect38f22d.3.763bc51fhVS9PB

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
dolby
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 05:14:45 PM
 #2174

which is the limit in w10 pro nvidia gpu 8 or more?

singularity BTC  1jsmZRKZdnUWTbPP6CCuPKFAm8mY2uzcL

sinergy LTC  LNk4c3oXJfMJH55V8CCRGhi1SiaMwaqfyp
chiwalfrm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 06:23:13 PM
 #2175

I noticed there are now several mining motherboards where you don't need to use risers, but I noticed many of them still need a CPU 4-pin or 8-pin power cable, so that means you still need an ATX power supply or a Pico kit.  Is there a mining motherboard that can be entirely powered from PCIE power (server PSU)?  In the case of the Onda, it even requires three SATA power connections, so the server PSU is definitely out.




In addition to the D1800 Onda board for my older Nanos and R9-390s

I am testing 3 boards with full server PSU powered.

Generic 9slot with compute PCI blade, Generic K17 (8slots) and Colorful B250 (8slots) motherboards.

Generic 9slot with PCI compute: 1070ti x 8 - Production



Colorful: 1070ti x 8 testing - moving to Vega64




K17: R7-370 x 8 testing - moving to RX470/480





These look great.  Which one comes with CPU already and which CPU?  For the ones that don't come with CPU, what CPU socket does it use?  Also what kind of memory DDR3 or DDR4 (asking since I have spare DDR3 sticks already).  Could you send me the links to buy these three motherboards?    Thanks! 

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 07:03:39 PM
 #2176

I noticed there are now several mining motherboards where you don't need to use risers, but I noticed many of them still need a CPU 4-pin or 8-pin power cable, so that means you still need an ATX power supply or a Pico kit.  Is there a mining motherboard that can be entirely powered from PCIE power (server PSU)?  In the case of the Onda, it even requires three SATA power connections, so the server PSU is definitely out.




In addition to the D1800 Onda board for my older Nanos and R9-390s

I am testing 3 boards with full server PSU powered.

Generic 9slot with compute PCI blade, Generic K17 (8slots) and Colorful B250 (8slots) motherboards.

...


These look great.  Which one comes with CPU already and which CPU?  For the ones that don't come with CPU, what CPU socket does it use?  Also what kind of memory DDR3 or DDR4 (asking since I have spare DDR3 sticks already).  Could you send me the links to buy these three motherboards?    Thanks! 

several sellers at Alibaba - pricing quite competitive - except for the 9 board because that comes with PCI compute board with integrated CPU and DDR4.

All of them are available at Armotec -- see Phil's post below.

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
tpd09
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
December 03, 2017, 07:27:38 PM
 #2177

hey philip - thinking of getting L3 for about USD 3.2k with power supply -

do you think it is still a good time to buy?
thanks

Mashy81
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 09:45:02 PM
 #2178

Getting 800hs on rx570 on xmr. Not sure if thats great or just ok but profit wise at the moment its killing eth
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
December 03, 2017, 11:20:34 PM
 #2179

hey philip - thinking of getting L3 for about USD 3.2k with power supply -

do you think it is still a good time to buy?
thanks

Does it arrive in a few days at that price.

They are earning 100 a day. If you get it soon maybe,

At the moment. Allmost every coin has difficulty too low or price too high.

The question is how does the market adjust?

And how soon.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
GabryRox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
December 04, 2017, 12:57:23 AM
 #2180

Thanks to all show have posted good info on Nvidia GPUs. I still hope to build that GTX rig in the near future but think I will build a Vega 56 rig first since I already have 3 of them sitting here that I luckily got for about $430 each (avg cost). Was really trying to find a 4th but they are completely gone from OEMs and retailers and now even used ones on ebay are going for ~$600!  Sorry, but i refuse to pay at least 50% mark-up from the $400 retail on these things, even if it means going with a 3x rig for now.  

My question for those who are running Vega's... are there any different components needed to support them, as per say, vs am Rx-470 rig?  I'm assuming my ASRock BTC R2 mobo will suffice, but what about the CPU & RAM?  I just ordered a couple G3260's to fit that 1150 socket (previously used G3258s but those are pretty much gone)... assuming this should work with Vega right?  but what about RAM?  I've heard some saying that you need higher rated/speed RAM to fully utilize the HBM2 in those Vega's but does anyone know if this is true?  My rx470 rigs are all using 2x4GB DDR3 1600. Will that be sufficient to run these Vega's?

I'm running a rig of 8 Vega's 64 Sapphire. It has 4 Gb Corsair ram and a Skylake Pentium G4400 processor. I've tried also on a Celeron G3930 Kaby Lake and it's working. Just remember to set at least 8Gb virtual memory / GPU in Windows.
Hash ~1860/GPU and power consumption 1240W at wall, running stable since days.

Thanks for the info Bogdan... can I ask what specs your RAM is on that rig?  DDR3, DDR4?  1600Mhz or faster?  Trying to make sure that DDR3-1600 will be sufficient as that is the best my Mobo can take. Thanks also for the power numbers... this tells me I should easily be able to get 4 Vega 56's running on my EVGA 1KW PSU with plenty of headroom to spare.

I'm using this RAM: https://www.amazon.com/Corsair-CMV4GX4M1A2400C16-Select-Desktop-Memory/dp/B072LRMXGN/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1512293273&sr=8-1&keywords=corsair+value+select+ddr4
From my experience with Vega, I would say speed it's not important. Just make sure you have at least 4 Gb Ram.
With your 1KW PSU you can run 6 Vega, you should have ~950W at the wall after tweaking and undervolting.


Thanks for that... i went ahead and ordered my standard 2x4GB DDR3 1600 that I have in my 4 rigs to date.  I'm not sure I will try to put 6 Vega's on this build, as 950w is a bit closer than I like to be on PSU headroom. But certainly I will strive to get 5 up, running and tweaked and see what my power draw is.  Luckily i have 3 ready to go but still need to get a hold of 2 more.  I saw some going for close to $700 on ebay which is simply insane... but that's what continually rising crypto prices will do as we saw earlier this year with the huge run on RX-400 GPUs.

I did read a couple of places recently that there are supposedly more Vega's headed for the retail market soon... both reference & custom varieties. Hopefully that will happen in the next 1-2 weeks.  Looks like it's going to be back to hourly checks of newegg and other outlets lol... in the hopes of getting 2 at close to retail $ before they sell out again.
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!