Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 09:11:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Sixth alt coin thread I forgot to mod last thread.  (Read 69319 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 10:48:09 PM
 #1981

MY buddy has a power supply kit selling right now for a reasonable price; so I thought Id share with you guys:

The kit has a 2250W 12V capability;  and are ~$155 shipped.

They are in the form of 3x server modular PSU with breakout boards and 6 pin PCIE pigtails.... He has them arranged for use in antminers, avalons, etc....

https://www.ebay.com/itm/282378575981

LMK what you guys think  about the price and product....   Ive seen his stock;  he bought cases of the PSUs (they all look brand new), the PCIE cables are brand new (not cheap flimsy ones), and the breakout board is professionally made (in china).

Presently hes having them make breakouts for the other 1600w+ PSU's he has been looking into sourcing for similar kits.

I have also given him the heads up about GPU miners on how they need to have 8 pin plugs, and he should consider adding support for the 8 pin plugs, not just 6 pin.

Im not sure what his margins are on these power supplies, but maybe I can do bulk discounts for you or something.... need to check with him if there's interest from one of you guys.

not sure  if they run separately or he has them linked  some how.

if they are running as 1 psu  they are better for the big boards.

and  some 8 pin to 6 pin cables would be nice.


btc is over 8250  and we had about a 1.5% drop  very nice.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1513026711
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513026711

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513026711
Reply with quote  #2

1513026711
Report to moderator
1513026711
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513026711

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513026711
Reply with quote  #2

1513026711
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
martyroz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
November 24, 2017, 10:58:10 PM
 #1982


I live in Australia, Malaysia is close (relatively). Do you have to be a dual citizen to rent a building and set up electricity accounts?

What could I get set up with 50-70k USD? Enough to be worth it?

Sorry to ask but I kind of want to expand in this way. Do you consider partnerships? 😉

You can just walk(fly) in East Malaysia and find a place to rent. Foreigners can rent. Landlord can apply for electricity in his name, later you just pay online when the bill comes.
With your investment, you'd want an industrial unit, RM2-3K per month. Plenty of space for expansion.

As for partnership, for veterans it's much more profit if you self mine.  Cheesy

I host for a few relatives and charge 30% commission after electricity. They don't know crypto or computers well, but like the ROI numbers. They just ship me equipment. I mine to their exchange account and end of every month money is withdrew from exchange to their bank.

Thanks for sharing your setup. I am quite keen to investigate myself. I'm guessing you can do a fair bit of research online with regards to rentals. Does the landlord pay for internet as well?
Are you in KL or further east near SG? Is there any reason why you didn't choose Thailand?
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 798


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 12:10:27 AM
 #1983

MY buddy has a power supply kit selling right now for a reasonable price; so I thought Id share with you guys:

The kit has a 2250W 12V capability;  and are ~$155 shipped.
...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/282378575981


not sure  if they run separately or he has them linked  some how.

if they are running as 1 psu  they are better for the big boards.

and  some 8 pin to 6 pin cables would be nice.


btc is over 8250  and we had about a 1.5% drop  very nice.

1 separate IEC cable per 750w PSU... so 3x IEC plugs.  The psu's card edge just has one large bank of +12V, or was it two;  I should have gotten a photo of the label.

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 01:31:02 AM
 #1984

MY buddy has a power supply kit selling right now for a reasonable price; so I thought Id share with you guys:

The kit has a 2250W 12V capability;  and are ~$155 shipped.
...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/282378575981


not sure  if they run separately or he has them linked  some how.

if they are running as 1 psu  they are better for the big boards.

and  some 8 pin to 6 pin cables would be nice.


btc is over 8250  and we had about a 1.5% drop  very nice.

1 separate IEC cable per 750w PSU... so 3x IEC plugs.  The psu's card edge just has one large bank of +12V, or was it two;  I should have gotten a photo of the label.

they are  a nice price

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Storx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2017, 02:24:39 AM
 #1985

Pcpartpicker has the 450w evga PSU's for $9.95 on B&H just FYI decent price for a 3 Molex 4 sata PSU

Earn up to 40% ROI on your BTC, Signup under me and message me and ill verify and send you BCC for investing under me.
Join My Team @  https://bitconnect.co/?ref=BccStorx
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 798


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 02:35:20 AM
 #1986

MY buddy has a power supply kit selling right now for a reasonable price; so I thought Id share with you guys:

The kit has a 2250W 12V capability;  and are ~$155 shipped.
...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/282378575981


not sure  if they run separately or he has them linked  some how.

if they are running as 1 psu  they are better for the big boards.

and  some 8 pin to 6 pin cables would be nice.


btc is over 8250  and we had about a 1.5% drop  very nice.

1 separate IEC cable per 750w PSU... so 3x IEC plugs.  The psu's card edge just has one large bank of +12V, or was it two;  I should have gotten a photo of the label.

they are  a nice price

I gave him a heads up about the thread and the benefits of a 6->8 pin connector.  He may come here and reply =)

KaydenC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Developer of EscrowMyEther dApp


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2017, 02:48:29 AM
 #1987


I live in Australia, Malaysia is close (relatively). Do you have to be a dual citizen to rent a building and set up electricity accounts?

What could I get set up with 50-70k USD? Enough to be worth it?

Sorry to ask but I kind of want to expand in this way. Do you consider partnerships? 😉

You can just walk(fly) in East Malaysia and find a place to rent. Foreigners can rent. Landlord can apply for electricity in his name, later you just pay online when the bill comes.
With your investment, you'd want an industrial unit, RM2-3K per month. Plenty of space for expansion.

As for partnership, for veterans it's much more profit if you self mine.  Cheesy

I host for a few relatives and charge 30% commission after electricity. They don't know crypto or computers well, but like the ROI numbers. They just ship me equipment. I mine to their exchange account and end of every month money is withdrew from exchange to their bank.

Thanks for sharing your setup. I am quite keen to investigate myself. I'm guessing you can do a fair bit of research online with regards to rentals. Does the landlord pay for internet as well?
Are you in KL or further east near SG? Is there any reason why you didn't choose Thailand?

Rent and electricity cost were lowest in Sarawak. The publicly available rates were higher in Thailand. I'm not in west malaysia btw, not connected to KL. Landlord can do anything for you if he agrees.  Wink

Check out EscrowMyEther, a secure and convenient platform to transact in Eth with escrow protection. http://escrowmyether.com/
I offer escrow services for 1.25%  fee: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2221107
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 03:58:21 AM
 #1988

Hey everyone... happy Black Friday!

Was wondering if someone could provide some insight that is currently (or recently) mining ETH with RX 400 series GPUs.  I had my 4 6x 470 rigs mostly on cryptonote for the last few months but am now looking to switch back to ETH+DCR.  However, I am still on the 16.10 drivers and know that with those I will only get about 75% of max capacity, so need to update my drivers and possibly other apps.

As far as drivers go, I know AMD published Blockchain drivers that apparently fixed the reduced hashrates but caused other issues with power management etc.  I think these are here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-Edition-Beta-for-Blockchain-Compute-Release-Notes.aspx

but this says beta version not to be updated. so, is the best driver to use for 470s currently? or is there a better one out there?

Also, I believe that I am at least 1 version behind on Afterburner. I've read that the newer drivers also require newer AB, so if someone could also elaborate on that it would be appreciated.

Finally, is there anything else that I need to be aware of when updating to a more current driver?  For instance, will watt-tool still work? I use that for my master under-volting settings and manage over-clocking in AB.  Can this still be achieved with the newer drivers?


 The "hashrate reduction" is overstated, though real - more like 10-12% in the testing on real mining I've done in the last week for the RX470 (still almost NO change to my R9 290s though) not 25%.
 It would appear that the "future DAG testing" method has some serious flaw to it that badly overstated the issue.

 The 17.30 blockchain drivers for Windows ONLY work with 10, I've tried to get them to work with 7 on 3 separate occasions now and they just flat out don't work at all even though AMD claims they support 7.
 They are buggy as heck as well even under 10.
 I think I remember seeing somewhere that the latest "standard" drivers also incorporate the "blockchain" fixes, but some mining software looks specifically for the blockchain version (XMR-Stak and Cast for XMR definitely do).

 The LINUX 17.40 blockchain drivers STILL doesn't work with Vega, haven't messed with it for my 470 cards as those are not mining ETH.
 To be fair, it seems that NO Linux driver is working correctly to date with the RX Vega - as usual, AMD cares very  about getting their LINUX drivers working, and that got a TON worse when they decided to go to the "AMD-GPU PRO" garbage.

 Afterburner 4.4 is the most recent version, and DOES work with the blockchain drivers and recent non-blockchain driver versions.

 When you do a driver upgrade, always to a clean uninstall/clean install - and you WILL have to "fix" your settings if you use that wattman junk (iffy in Afterburner, if it's not running when you fix the drivers it MIGHT save your setttings, or it might not).

BogdanCo
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 507


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 11:55:51 AM
 #1989

Hey everyone... happy Black Friday!

Was wondering if someone could provide some insight that is currently (or recently) mining ETH with RX 400 series GPUs.  I had my 4 6x 470 rigs mostly on cryptonote for the last few months but am now looking to switch back to ETH+DCR.  However, I am still on the 16.10 drivers and know that with those I will only get about 75% of max capacity, so need to update my drivers and possibly other apps.

As far as drivers go, I know AMD published Blockchain drivers that apparently fixed the reduced hashrates but caused other issues with power management etc.  I think these are here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-Edition-Beta-for-Blockchain-Compute-Release-Notes.aspx

but this says beta version not to be updated. so, is the best driver to use for 470s currently? or is there a better one out there?

Also, I believe that I am at least 1 version behind on Afterburner. I've read that the newer drivers also require newer AB, so if someone could also elaborate on that it would be appreciated.

Finally, is there anything else that I need to be aware of when updating to a more current driver?  For instance, will watt-tool still work? I use that for my master under-volting settings and manage over-clocking in AB.  Can this still be achieved with the newer drivers?


 The "hashrate reduction" is overstated, though real - more like 10-12% in the testing on real mining I've done in the last week for the RX470 (still almost NO change to my R9 290s though) not 25%.
 It would appear that the "future DAG testing" method has some serious flaw to it that badly overstated the issue.

 The 17.30 blockchain drivers for Windows ONLY work with 10, I've tried to get them to work with 7 on 3 separate occasions now and they just flat out don't work at all even though AMD claims they support 7.
 They are buggy as heck as well even under 10.
 I think I remember seeing somewhere that the latest "standard" drivers also incorporate the "blockchain" fixes, but some mining software looks specifically for the blockchain version (XMR-Stak and Cast for XMR definitely do).

 The LINUX 17.40 blockchain drivers STILL doesn't work with Vega, haven't messed with it for my 470 cards as those are not mining ETH.
 To be fair, it seems that NO Linux driver is working correctly to date with the RX Vega - as usual, AMD cares very  about getting their LINUX drivers working, and that got a TON worse when they decided to go to the "AMD-GPU PRO" garbage.

 Afterburner 4.4 is the most recent version, and DOES work with the blockchain drivers and recent non-blockchain driver versions.

 When you do a driver upgrade, always to a clean uninstall/clean install - and you WILL have to "fix" your settings if you use that wattman junk (iffy in Afterburner, if it's not running when you fix the drivers it MIGHT save your setttings, or it might not).



GabryRox... just use DDU, install latest AMD display drivers for Win 10 and then change in Global settings at GPU Workload from Graphics to Compute for each card to fix the dag issue.
crazydane
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 12:36:03 PM
 #1990

for the onda b250, what are the front panel connector colors for power and reset? i could just start shorting them and find out but figured i would ask.

Green - Power LED
Red - HD LED
Blue - Reset Switch
Black - Power Switch
bk2000
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 12:43:43 PM
 #1991

Hey everyone... happy Black Friday!

Was wondering if someone could provide some insight that is currently (or recently) mining ETH with RX 400 series GPUs.  I had my 4 6x 470 rigs mostly on cryptonote for the last few months but am now looking to switch back to ETH+DCR.  However, I am still on the 16.10 drivers and know that with those I will only get about 75% of max capacity, so need to update my drivers and possibly other apps.

As far as drivers go, I know AMD published Blockchain drivers that apparently fixed the reduced hashrates but caused other issues with power management etc.  I think these are here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/Radeon-Software-Crimson-ReLive-Edition-Beta-for-[Suspicious link removed]pute-Release-Notes.aspx

but this says beta version not to be updated. so, is the best driver to use for 470s currently? or is there a better one out there?

Also, I believe that I am at least 1 version behind on Afterburner. I've read that the newer drivers also require newer AB, so if someone could also elaborate on that it would be appreciated.

Finally, is there anything else that I need to be aware of when updating to a more current driver?  For instance, will watt-tool still work? I use that for my master under-volting settings and manage over-clocking in AB.  Can this still be achieved with the newer drivers?


Speaking of black Friday, was hoping to see some GPU deals!  Guess there weren't too many or I looked in the wrong places. I found prices as usual.

rs1x
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 12:47:33 PM
 #1992

1000 Watt EVGA power supply $109

https://www.evga.com/products/product.aspx?pn=120-G2-1000-XR
Tidsdilatation
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


www.Max.Lundh.co.uk - My website


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2017, 01:08:22 PM
 #1993


I got that one already, i can recommend it. Works like a charm on 890w. Small heat and almost no sound.

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1396

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 01:25:43 PM
 #1994

for the onda b250, what are the front panel connector colors for power and reset? i could just start shorting them and find out but figured i would ask.

Green - Power LED
Red - HD LED
Blue - Reset Switch
Black - Power Switch

thanks!

i plugged it all in yesterday (ram came a day early) and was about to start shorting pins when it fired up just by turning on the psu. guess its set to that from the factory and i didnt see any "on power loss do this" setting in a quick glance through the bios. maybe its there it was just a quick peek.

i have a fancy power/reset button on its way to do stuff the old skool way but it wont be here till next week.

today its an attempt to install win7 pro. might be interesting as i had to use a ps2 mouse and kb when i put win7 on my Z270X htpc rig. win7 doesnt support the intel 2xx chipset usb ports on the stock iso, with no ps2 ports on this mobo gotta slipstream in the drivers.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 01:59:55 PM
 #1995

Getting a demo  will keep you all posted

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2458213.msg25195405#msg25195405

https://www.autominer.at/





@ rs1x

I ordered the evga last night

@ vapourminer   

it does do auto on it is in the bios somewhere  good luck on Windows 7   Grin

diff dropp 1.5% and coins are 8600 usd !  damn
 

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Storx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2017, 06:18:28 PM
 #1996

Getting a demo  will keep you all posted

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2458213.msg25195405#msg25195405

https://www.autominer.at/





@ rs1x

I ordered the evga last night

@ vapourminer   

it does do auto on it is in the bios somewhere  good luck on Windows 7   Grin

diff dropp 1.5% and coins are 8600 usd !  damn
 

That is the case i have my new 1950x setup in... its really nice with the magnetic filters, but boy is it large and heavy...
https://www.amazon.com/Thermaltake-Stackable-Certified-Computer-CA-1D8-00F1WN-00/dp/B00TQI9BY8

Earn up to 40% ROI on your BTC, Signup under me and message me and ill verify and send you BCC for investing under me.
Join My Team @  https://bitconnect.co/?ref=BccStorx
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 08:08:07 PM
 #1997

Powerful, but not the MOST powerful - given at least one rig I've seen posted somewhere (VoskCoin perhaps) that had 19 cards on a B250 Mining Pro motherboard working away.

 Thermaltake makes some nice cases - too bad their power supplies tend to be not as good.

JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 798


★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 08:42:17 PM
 #1998

@phil;

I got a reply from my buddy about cabling for the power supplies;  he can offer a 6 pin to 2x8 pin cable with them instead of 6 pin to 6 pin....   Or would just a six pin to a single 8 pin be best?

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
November 25, 2017, 09:24:29 PM
 #1999

@phil;

I got a reply from my buddy about cabling for the power supplies;  he can offer a 6 pin to 2x8 pin cable with them instead of 6 pin to 6 pin....   Or would just a six pin to a single 8 pin be best?

each breakout board has 8 jacks

so 24 jacks is enough.

if they all are hooked up

it is about 92 watts a cable which is good.

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Storx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2017, 09:49:41 PM
 #2000

Could someone confirm this with their gear, i was messing around with the D1800 today and noticed something. In the latest version of MSI Afterburner, if you manually set the fan to 0, then crank it up to 100% that the afterburner program and miners dont report a difference in wattage being used per GPU, but my watt meter directly plugged into the server psu powering the GPU is changing and then staying stable at the higher draw....

I have watt meter on the server PSU that is powering the 1080ti's i have plugged into the board and if i go to something that is not mining related, my test was youtube with music video playing with photo still shot, basically its a country music play list with the album cover as the background of the songs. With that playing on the screen, if i set it to 0% fan manually, then ramp it up to 100%, the msi afterburner shows no change in wattage used, but the meter is seeing a 21.1-23.8watt increase in power draw from the wall on a single gigabyte 1080ti 3 fan model. I plugged in my EVGA SC 1080ti with 2 fans and it increased the meter draw 17.8-19.6 watts.

Does anyone know if this is a bug with just my setup or something or is fan draw not taken into account on wattage monitoring on both msi afterburner latest release?

I also started mining skein with the gigabyte card, turned it to 0%, then as soon as i saw a reported wattage draw tick on the screen i jacked it back up to 100% and the miner reported less than a 3 watt change, so guessing its not seeing the change either.
*above test i did with box fan blowing on gpu to prevent it from overheating on me while testing the miner report feature

Earn up to 40% ROI on your BTC, Signup under me and message me and ill verify and send you BCC for investing under me.
Join My Team @  https://bitconnect.co/?ref=BccStorx
Pages: « 1 ... 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 [100] 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!