Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 09:25:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 [352] 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 833214 times)
christhegoth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 06:14:37 AM
 #7021

Hi All,

    I'm kind of new to this; so I've been playing around with optimizing my miners for about a month. I was looking for tips for settings for my Antminer S2 miners, and just the other day, I came across this:

  http://www.norgzpool.net.au/antminer.html

    I used his formula for pseudo_share calculations, and rounded it up from 1187.84 to 1188. I'm sure that most of y'all reading this are yawning by now, but after setting the maximum difficulty to 1188 for these on the Bitminter "Workers" page for "My Account", I am seeing some hashing speeds I would not have expected. I am seeing peaks of over 2.5 Th/s for my two Antminer S2 miners combined. If I look on the web interface for either miner, I sometimes see peaks of 1.5 Th/s just for a single miner.

    Before I had tried this, I was seeing peaks of about 1.15 Th/s per miner, with low spots in the mid 750 Gh/s. It was the low spots I was hoping to tweak higher.

    For you other Antminer S2 owners, I'd like to know what settings you use that you are happiest with.


Looks interesting.  In what file/config do you put this share & pseudo_share setting?
1532121921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532121921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532121921
Reply with quote  #2

1532121921
Report to moderator
1532121921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532121921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532121921
Reply with quote  #2

1532121921
Report to moderator
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532121921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532121921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532121921
Reply with quote  #2

1532121921
Report to moderator
1532121921
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532121921

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532121921
Reply with quote  #2

1532121921
Report to moderator
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 07:29:48 AM
 #7022

With power like that you'd do well to set a minimum difficulty for that worker.  For a 700GH unit I use a minimum difficulty of 256.

All this does is make sure the big units chew on the harder stuff, but it kinda stops them getting clogged up with easy stuff.  Apparently this helps with payments.

No doubt DrHaribo can clarify more.

It doesn't really help with payments. Higher difficulty means you use less bandwidth (less network traffic), but also your variance will go up. That means the daily variance in your earnings will vary more, depending on your luck in finding proofs of work, than if you had a lower difficulty.

The mining server will automatically adjust your difficulty to a level that is a good trade-off between bandwidth usage and variance. Normally it starts you on difficulty 4 (currently) and ramps up the difficulty from there. By setting a minimum difficulty you can make the first minute or two of mining smoother by starting directly at a difficulty that fits your miner. The minimum difficulty is also useful for broken mining clients (like on the Dragon ASICs) that use a difficulty from their web interface configuration and ignore the difficulty the server is telling it to use (a complete violation of the Stratum protocol). In this case make sure you set the minimum difficulty for your Bitminter worker to the same difficulty in the Dragon web interface. Otherwise you may lose most of your work and mining income. And/or ask the manufacturer to repair their software.

General advice, set your minimum difficulty to your hashrate in GH/s divided by 1.4.

Info on difficulty, work submits per minute and the easy mode perk:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3142713#msg3142713

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 10:27:25 AM
 #7023

With power like that you'd do well to set a minimum difficulty for that worker.  For a 700GH unit I use a minimum difficulty of 256.

All this does is make sure the big units chew on the harder stuff, but it kinda stops them getting clogged up with easy stuff.  Apparently this helps with payments.

No doubt DrHaribo can clarify more.

It doesn't really help with payments. Higher difficulty means you use less bandwidth (less network traffic), but also your variance will go up. That means the daily variance in your earnings will vary more, depending on your luck in finding proofs of work, than if you had a lower difficulty.

The mining server will automatically adjust your difficulty to a level that is a good trade-off between bandwidth usage and variance. Normally it starts you on difficulty 4 (currently) and ramps up the difficulty from there. By setting a minimum difficulty you can make the first minute or two of mining smoother by starting directly at a difficulty that fits your miner. The minimum difficulty is also useful for broken mining clients (like on the Dragon ASICs) that use a difficulty from their web interface configuration and ignore the difficulty the server is telling it to use (a complete violation of the Stratum protocol). In this case make sure you set the minimum difficulty for your Bitminter worker to the same difficulty in the Dragon web interface. Otherwise you may lose most of your work and mining income. And/or ask the manufacturer to repair their software.

General advice, set your minimum difficulty to your hashrate in GH/s divided by 1.4.

Info on difficulty, work submits per minute and the easy mode perk:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=27062.msg3142713#msg3142713


Ok thanks.

Right now i have to receive 2 S3(882 GH/s total), and i will buy 2 more.

So: 882 / 1.4 = 630 difficulty?? where do i have to enter that value?? On my antminer interface i suppose?
rockby11
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 11:31:57 AM
 #7024

Minersbox (formerly Minerscube) looks like a total scam. Don't give your coins to scammers.

It should not be confused with ASICMiner Cube, which is a real product.

When you are buying mining hardware please remember that most offers are scams. Most mining hardware "companies" are scams. Not a few. Most. The safe route is to buy from companies that have delivered in the past and where the customers have been happy. If you pre-order from a company that has never delivered anything before, then you have to be very careful and do some research. Most of those are scams, remember?

If their WHOIS listing is anonymous ("privacy protect", "whois guard", etc), their website has no contact information, their machines are faster than all competitors, their machines use a fraction of the electricity of competing products, their prices are way too low, their webpage has a paypal logo but they don't actually accept paypal payments (see their FAQ), their emails to potential customers (which you can read elsewhere on bitcointalk) reveal that they don't know which proof-of-work algorithm bitcoin uses, they don't seem to understand what an ASIC is, and they give some crazy stories to explain the other suspicious aspects..... add all this up and you should realize it's a scam. Not just a scam, but a poorly presented scam by an inexperienced con man.

Even if you wanted to get scammed, there are better ASIC scams out there.


Good point of view as for the icing on the cake; form your point of view, what would be the trustworthy h/w one should buy?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1271


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 11:37:12 AM
 #7025

Did we make an instant block?  0% cdf


block number 310997


the stats on it are weird   unknown miner no time needed  it is getting confirms so it should be good.



I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Krabbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 12:00:05 PM
 #7026

How can a block be made/found by an unknown user? 
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 12:01:36 PM
 #7027

How can a block be made/found by an unknown user? 

chuck norris
squall1066
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1010


www.bitcointalk.club


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 12:07:56 PM
 #7028

Did we make an instant block?  0% cdf


block number 310997


the stats on it are weird   unknown miner no time needed  it is getting confirms so it should be good.


I watched this clock over as it happened, It was the same time the NMC block was found, I thought it was a site error, But I also see it confirming as well  Huh

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
◥◤
◢◣
.
JOIN THE CLUB !
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄

Bitrated user: squall1066.
christhegoth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 12:16:35 PM
 #7029

Minersbox (formerly Minerscube) looks like a total scam. Don't give your coins to scammers.

It should not be confused with ASICMiner Cube, which is a real product.

When you are buying mining hardware please remember that most offers are scams. Most mining hardware "companies" are scams. Not a few. Most. The safe route is to buy from companies that have delivered in the past and where the customers have been happy. If you pre-order from a company that has never delivered anything before, then you have to be very careful and do some research. Most of those are scams, remember?

If their WHOIS listing is anonymous ("privacy protect", "whois guard", etc), their website has no contact information, their machines are faster than all competitors, their machines use a fraction of the electricity of competing products, their prices are way too low, their webpage has a paypal logo but they don't actually accept paypal payments (see their FAQ), their emails to potential customers (which you can read elsewhere on bitcointalk) reveal that they don't know which proof-of-work algorithm bitcoin uses, they don't seem to understand what an ASIC is, and they give some crazy stories to explain the other suspicious aspects..... add all this up and you should realize it's a scam. Not just a scam, but a poorly presented scam by an inexperienced con man.

Even if you wanted to get scammed, there are better ASIC scams out there.


Good point of view as for the icing on the cake; form your point of view, what would be the trustworthy h/w one should buy?

The Yukon SP30 is my back-up option.
Krabbit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 12:25:31 PM
 #7030

Maybe its some funny-guy with a username of "unknown."
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 12:26:15 PM
 #7031

Some data about who made that one block is not updating properly. Will be fixed soon.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
squall1066
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1010


www.bitcointalk.club


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 12:30:13 PM
 #7032

Some data about who made that one block is not updating properly. Will be fixed soon.


The important thing is, We DID make the block.

Thanks for the info.

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
◥◤
◢◣
.
JOIN THE CLUB !
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄

Bitrated user: squall1066.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 01:24:24 PM
 #7033

Recording of some data for the block at height 310997 was delayed. It's now listed with much more work than was actually spent, meaning the calculated CDF and average hashrate for the round are also too high. The next block we find will come out with numbers too low. I'll correct the work amounts recorded on the blocks manually after that.

Note that this is only an issue for statistics. It doesn't affect payouts in any way.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
rockby11
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 01:40:44 PM
 #7034

Minersbox (formerly Minerscube) looks like a total scam. Don't give your coins to scammers.

It should not be confused with ASICMiner Cube, which is a real product.

When you are buying mining hardware please remember that most offers are scams. Most mining hardware "companies" are scams. Not a few. Most. The safe route is to buy from companies that have delivered in the past and where the customers have been happy. If you pre-order from a company that has never delivered anything before, then you have to be very careful and do some research. Most of those are scams, remember?

If their WHOIS listing is anonymous ("privacy protect", "whois guard", etc), their website has no contact information, their machines are faster than all competitors, their machines use a fraction of the electricity of competing products, their prices are way too low, their webpage has a paypal logo but they don't actually accept paypal payments (see their FAQ), their emails to potential customers (which you can read elsewhere on bitcointalk) reveal that they don't know which proof-of-work algorithm bitcoin uses, they don't seem to understand what an ASIC is, and they give some crazy stories to explain the other suspicious aspects..... add all this up and you should realize it's a scam. Not just a scam, but a poorly presented scam by an inexperienced con man.

Even if you wanted to get scammed, there are better ASIC scams out there.


Good point of view as for the icing on the cake; form your point of view, what would be the trustworthy h/w one should buy?

The Yukon SP30 is my back-up option.

Thanks, any other backup by (good)experience h/w suggestions? 
Doc, thanks for the humour, but I rather not be scammed at all!  Your opinion?
specialed101
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 01:48:40 PM
 #7035

General advice, set your minimum difficulty to your hashrate in GH/s divided by 1.4.

    I had tried this formula before, resulting in "741", and it works great for my Dragon miner, but the Antminer S2 miners had a wider variance than the Dragon did; so that is what lead me to searching for tweaks for the S2 miners. Even with the ever increasing Bitminter Pool hashrate, using "1188" as my minimum difficulty for the S2 miners has increased my average overall score over what the S2 miners were generating using "741" previously. Sure, it's just by decimals, but this is a game of decimals, right?  Wink

"Can I be the sockpuppet General of the Underpants Gnomes?" ~ specialed101
specialed101
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2014, 02:14:45 PM
 #7036

Looks interesting.  In what file/config do you put this share & pseudo_share setting?

    On the Bitminter web-site, click on the "My Account" tab, and select "Workers" from the drop-down menu. Next to each worker's name is a cogwheel icon. Click on it, and set the minimum difficulty there.

"Can I be the sockpuppet General of the Underpants Gnomes?" ~ specialed101
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 02:48:43 PM
 #7037

Looks interesting.  In what file/config do you put this share & pseudo_share setting?

    On the Bitminter web-site, click on the "My Account" tab, and select "Workers" from the drop-down menu. Next to each worker's name is a cogwheel icon. Click on it, and set the minimum difficulty there.

how much difficulty then??? Total GH/s / 1.4 ??
AaronS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 06:37:05 PM
 #7038

Set each worker's difficulty separately: do not add them together and then divide by 1.4.  In any case, you should not need to do this unless there is something wrong with your miner since you difficulty will auto-increase to what is appropriate for your miner.
oskuro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 16, 2014, 10:09:28 PM
 #7039

Set each worker's difficulty separately: do not add them together and then divide by 1.4.  In any case, you should not need to do this unless there is something wrong with your miner since you difficulty will auto-increase to what is appropriate for your miner.

Ok thanks so much Wink
christhegoth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 17, 2014, 11:08:46 AM
 #7040

Yo Doc!

https://bitminter.com/stats/rewards

Seeing as Bitminter is having an unlucky spell I think you need to do this ( obviously correct me if my understanding is wrong ):


At present you find blocks and then pass them to the Bitminter Network to be chewed through.  You also collect payment and distribute that to your network based on who has done what.

So you're sitting at the top of a big pyramid of processing power, and you have to find the blocks yourself.

Just like a modern 1PH/s datacenter in many a way.  So...


You need to set things up so that should you have no luck with the Blocks you can piggy-back Bitminter onto another Pool as a 'datacenter'.  To keep Bitminter in the game you need to be able to take advantage of other people's luck as well as enjoy it when your own comes in.  These bad-luck spells can really harm a small pool like us.

If I was you I'd have another 3 pools on the standby for this 'datacenter mode' option.  Like Eligius, GHash.io, and some other.

Like driving a car if the lane you're in is stuffed getting into a faster lane can get the job done.  At present the Bitminter mini-bus is in the naff lane.  Can you steer us onto a better lane temporarily?

This pool is small enough to be able to do this in theory.  Jump from work-source to work-source to get the best deal for those in the pool.


Datacenter managers have to make this decision a lot.  Which pool to latch onto, or should they mine for themselves?  Luck is the clincher here.  And if Bitminter can't provide and GHash can it makes sense for you to piggy-back GHash for a bit until your luck improves again.  It's better that then watch 3 years of hard work go down the loo if you see what I mean.


I like Bitminter best ( the GUI and Support are VERY high quality ) , but I have bills to pay as well sadly.



Anyone else have an opinion?


Pages: « 1 ... 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 [352] 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!