Bitcoin Forum
March 19, 2024, 08:34:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805147 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
RvdE
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 02, 2011, 09:49:36 AM
 #1181

[..]

Compiling 1.6.1 is a different story though. I notice the configure script checks for curl_easy_init and after that does the pkg-config check for libcurl. Since it doesn't know where to look for curl yet, the former check obviously fails. Also, you use LIBCURL_CPPFLAGS, but on FreeBSD (and possibly other systems), pkg-config only returns LIBCURL_CFLAGS. Since they should be the same, could you change it to make use of CFLAGS instead of CPPFLAGS ?
libcurl.m4 defines LIBCURL_CPPFLAGS and CFLAGS would be something completely different as far as I understand it, so you're missing the m4 file from some package.

The configure script from the tarball (1.6.2) contains the following:

Code:
pkg_cv_LIBCURL_CFLAGS=`$PKG_CONFIG --cflags "libcurl >= 7.15.6" 2>/dev/null`

It doesn't set LIBCURL_CPPFLAGS anywhere (which makes pkg-config detection obsolete IMO). Also, in the Makefile.am it should be changed to LIBCURL_CFLAGS instead of LIBCURL_CPPFLAGS.
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1710837283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710837283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710837283
Reply with quote  #2

1710837283
Report to moderator
1710837283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710837283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710837283
Reply with quote  #2

1710837283
Report to moderator
1710837283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710837283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1710837283
Reply with quote  #2

1710837283
Report to moderator
zaytsev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 02, 2011, 09:52:39 AM
 #1182

Yay! It compiles with curl from RHEL5 again! CPU-only RPMs are ready: http://rpm.zaytsev.net/test/cgminer/ . I will edit the RPM post later.
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 02, 2011, 10:19:12 AM
Last edit: September 06, 2011, 05:31:37 AM by sharky112065
 #1183

If anyone is interested, thought this might be helpful to some.

If you run Cgminer on Windows 7 (should work on other versions) this startup .cmd will launch Cgminer using only one CPU core and outputs log info to a log file that has the date and time in the filename.

Open notepad.exe and put the following in (changing username and password and your servers of course):

Code:
rem del /F /Q *.bin

start /B /affinity 8 cgminer -o http://yourprimaryserver:port -u yourworkername -p your password -o http://yourbackupserver:port -u yourworkername -p yourpassword -I 9 2>"%date:~4,2%-%date:~7,2%-%date:~12,2%%time:~0,2%-%time:~3,2%-%time:~6,2%.log"

pause

This will use core number 4.

1st core = 1
2nd core = 2
3rd core = 4
4th core = 8
5th core = 10 ( hexadecimal 16 )
6th core = 20 ( hexadecimal 32 )

now if you want something to run on just one core, you pick the right number like this, just multiply by 2 until you get to the core you want.

if you want something to run on two cores, you ADD their values:

1st and 2nd core = 1 + 2 = 3
1st and 3rd core = 1 + 4 = 5
2nd and 3rd core = 2 + 4 = 6
2nd and 4th core = 2 + 8 = A

Same thing if you want more than two cores, just add each core numerical value up and use the sum as the /affinity parameter


Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 02, 2011, 10:35:51 AM
 #1184

Yay! It compiles with curl from RHEL5 again! CPU-only RPMs are ready: http://rpm.zaytsev.net/test/cgminer/ . I will edit the RPM post later.
Yes I figured out what I had broken from the old curl at last. Please note that the old curl does not have support for sockoptions that make longpoll reliable. So while it is compiling with older libcurls, it may not be as reliable with longpoll on some servers.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 956
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 02, 2011, 03:11:35 PM
 #1185

keep up the good work Smiley love the app
skEwb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 02, 2011, 07:48:26 PM
 #1186

I'm having some issues with the Windows release of 1.6.2. It will not activate 2/3 of my GPU's it fails to lock the thread on the GPU's. If I go back to 1.6.0 everything is fine. What sort of output do I need to provide for this issue to be troubleshooted? Screenshot or some sort of log?
phase
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 03, 2011, 05:18:52 PM
 #1187

I wrote a dead-simple shell script to start cgminer, and it works, but the peculiar thing is that it starts up fine from an existing terminal, but it won't start if I just double-click the script and select run in terminal, or when I add it to Ubuntu start-up applications (or try to call it from another script). It didn't work before on Linuxcoin and now I'm still having this problem with Ubuntu. I've looked around everywhere but I can't find a working fix, any hints?
The LT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 186
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
September 03, 2011, 07:18:00 PM
 #1188

I wrote a dead-simple shell script to start cgminer, and it works, but the peculiar thing is that it starts up fine from an existing terminal, but it won't start if I just double-click the script and select run in terminal, or when I add it to Ubuntu start-up applications (or try to call it from another script). It didn't work before on Linuxcoin and now I'm still having this problem with Ubuntu. I've looked around everywhere but I can't find a working fix, any hints?

Either use an option to point it to the kernels or add a cd /path/to/cgminer before the line starting the binary.

Use a wrapper utility such as start-stop-daemon, suppress all output with 'really-quiet' flag.
phase
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 03, 2011, 07:46:24 PM
 #1189

Either use an option to point it to the kernels or add a cd /path/to/cgminer before the line starting the binary.

Use a wrapper utility such as start-stop-daemon, suppress all output with 'really-quiet' flag.

Thanks, however the script already does that, it cd's to the cgminer dir and then ./ starts it with a config file argument, also located in the same directory. I suppose I'm asking in the wrong place, since I also have the same problem with a script that starts 4 instances of AMDOverdriveCtrl. The scripts both work fine when launched from an existing terminal (./script). It just doesn't work when I call the scripts from another script (or start-up script) or when I try to double-click it and select run in terminal. *sigh* Why is linux always such a b*tch, there ought to be a Steve Jobs for the linux community, to simplify these overly complicated, very basic tasks. Smiley

I don't know if I could use start-stop daemon, since I have to launch two instances of cgminer each with different parameters. Thanks for the heads-up though.
Ghostofkobra
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 03, 2011, 08:01:29 PM
 #1190

Linux and Unix os's are build up around a few very easy concepts which makes them quite predictable.
I almost only work with Linux in commercial environments so i do not have any experience with Ubuntu...

Nevertheless its almost impossible to answer the question w/o knowing the output of the doubleclicked .sh file
seeing your script and maybe an "ls -l" of the directory where cgminer is located.

One reason might be that the user you are logged into X with does not have the correct permissions to access cgminer.
At least that is where i could but my 2 bitcents w/o knowing more.


Best
/GoK

phase
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 03, 2011, 10:20:08 PM
Last edit: September 03, 2011, 10:33:33 PM by phase
 #1191

Thanks, I figured it out, it was missing the LD_LIBRARY_PATH which the script seems to need if you want to launch it without starting it from an existing terminal window. As for the script starting 4 instances of AMDOverdriveCtrl, I had to run that script directly instead of via a new terminal, and then apparently it works fine without terminal windows and without exiting. Some fine hours wasted nitpicking, but finally it works, time to move her to the basement and get a good (silent) night sleep. Smiley

If it can be of help to anyone, here are my scripts (modify, launch via start.sh and run 'directly', not in a new terminal):

start.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
./oca.sh &
sleep 5
gnome-terminal -x bash -c "./miner1.sh" &
gnome-terminal -x bash -c "./miner2.sh" &

oca.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 0 gpu1.ovdr &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 10 gpu2.ovdr &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 3 gpu3.ovdr &
AMDOverdriveCtrl -i 4 gpu4.ovdr &

miner1.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH":/path/to/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64/"
cgminer -d 0 -c cfg.json --submit-stale

miner2.sh
Code:
#!/bin/bash
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH":/path/to/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64/lib/x86_64/"
cgminer -d 1 -d 2 -d 3 -c cfg.json -I 8 --submit-stale
tenzor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 12:28:53 AM
 #1192

Segfault then trying to  switch from pool without LP to second pool with LP. Second pool was added manually after programm starts.
ubuntu 11.04 x32, cgminer 1.6.2, git version
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889
Merit: 1000


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2011, 01:33:09 AM
 #1193

I just wanted to say.. I moved to this mining software yesterday and noticed a huge increase.. thanks so much! Donation on its way!

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Buy this account on March-2019. New Owner here!!


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2011, 01:36:17 AM
 #1194

ive been using cgminer for awhile. I must say I absolutely love it. Favorite mining software by far. So whats new in 1.6.2?

thanks!

(mining at 3.5 g/hash exclusively with cgminer)
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4046
Merit: 1622


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2011, 10:44:49 AM
 #1195

Thanks for positive feedback.

Major feature upgrade in the works. Somewhat below the radar and invisible at the moment, but available in the new git branch adl_support till it's complete.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
zaytsev
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 02:57:43 PM
Last edit: September 04, 2011, 08:25:05 PM by zaytsev
 #1196

FYI as I migrated to 1.6.2 from 1.6.1 and 1.6.0, my U went up from 4.0 to 4.2 and 4.4 respectively. Great job ck, I am really impressed highly appreciate your efforts  (in spite of the persistent curses bug lol).

There is something I find weird in 1.6.1/2 though. Does this E indicator actually make sense? The total E indicator seems to work properly.

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: [313.7 / 313.8 Mh/s] [Q:2  A:858  R:8  HW:0  E:42900%  U:4.39/m]
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Buy this account on March-2019. New Owner here!!


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2011, 05:56:13 PM
 #1197

I upgraded all my rigs to 1.6.2, one thing I am noticing is the m/hash is fluctuating a great deal more than it was. Before it only fluctuated maybe 5-10 mhash at most

now I am seeing fluctuations on some of my cards in the 50+ range

for instance my 5830 is going down to 283 than up to 360
my 5870's dont seem to be fluctuating as much as that but are fluctuating more than usual
same with the 6870's, and 5850's

any ideas?
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000


Buy this account on March-2019. New Owner here!!


View Profile WWW
September 04, 2011, 06:25:42 PM
 #1198

never mind. That was with default settings. When I started using -I 9 I am getting steady solid speeds.

Thanks again for such an awesome piece of mining software, one donation coming your way!
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
September 04, 2011, 07:50:50 PM
 #1199

Yet another newb section topic about a problem with the miner...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=41152.0

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
September 05, 2011, 02:49:36 AM
 #1200

crashes after I run cgminer

and answer the first 4 qquestions..

After password..  hit enter..  crashes the window..

any ideas?

Im win 7 64.

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
Pages: « 1 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 [60] 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!