Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2019, 01:46:38 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience NewPac Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 9900 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 510


View Profile
February 05, 2019, 10:12:30 PM
Last edit: February 06, 2019, 12:09:45 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (3), 419mining (1)
 #301

So finally received my order from 419mining after getting held up in Chicago, because of the insane weather you guys are having over there. All set up and all five sticks running 450mhz at stock voltage and pulling 70w exactly from the wall through a 460w Platinum HP PSU with sidehack breakout board. Finally managed to reset my first two sticks to the “factory setting” after I was a twat and mucked around with them too soon.

Couple of pictures of my little desktop disco:-



Massive praise for your work sidehack, been mining since 2016 and your gear is by far the most professional. Also a shout out to 419mining for the excellent service and the addition of the 92mm fan adaptor. Nice touch on the clips to hold the adaptor in the 120mm holes  Wink

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550886398
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550886398

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550886398
Reply with quote  #2

1550886398
Report to moderator
1550886398
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550886398

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550886398
Reply with quote  #2

1550886398
Report to moderator
1550886398
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550886398

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550886398
Reply with quote  #2

1550886398
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1332

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 06, 2019, 12:01:23 AM
 #302

419's fan kit for those hubs is definitely some pretty slick work. He's done a lot to make my gear more accessible.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2019, 12:03:01 AM
 #303

That looks great, @419 what are the specs on the fan?

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 510


View Profile
February 06, 2019, 02:21:33 PM
 #304

That looks great, @419 what are the specs on the fan?

The fan itself I already had, it's a Noctua NF-B9 Redux 1600. Very quiet and sits perfectly over 5 sticks.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 18


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2019, 02:30:03 PM
Last edit: February 07, 2019, 08:29:04 AM by frodocooper
 #305

our current "fan kit" available on our website runs a dual 70mm fan set. I will post the stands gt_addict used tonight, it will support a 120mm fan or a 92mm fan (if you use the resizer ring).  I also just finished modeling a retaining kit for a 40mm fans that directly connects to a single newpac/2pac stick, for those that are looking to run a single stick instead of a hub.

*** The NEW GekkoScience NewPac USB Stick Miner  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411
Merit: 281


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2019, 05:41:47 PM
Last edit: February 08, 2019, 01:20:46 AM by frodocooper
Merited by vapourminer (1), frodocooper (1)
 #306

That stand does look VERY nice @419mining! In fact, I could definitely use x2 of them myself (one for each of my two hubs). Anyway, you really did a great job on that stand and fan setup for cooling!  Wink

Here's my little setup:



- click to enlarge -


♠ The NEW 100Gh/s+ GekkoScience NewPac USB Stick Miner ♠
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2019, 05:48:02 PM
 #307

Yea, that all i'm doing with my fan is setting them on top. Not a bright idea in general but then they're not OC'd as far others and still cool to the touch.

https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-industrialppc-24v-3000-q100-ip67-pwm/specification

This is the fan I have, not to noisy for the CFM it pushes. Used to have it on an underclocked s7

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 510


View Profile
February 07, 2019, 05:50:22 PM
 #308

24v? So runs at half speed?

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
minefarmbuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 88

We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2019, 06:00:19 PM
 #309

It's full speed, I have the demo hub that didn't have fan connect yet. There's another version for the same fan available at 12v

https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-industrialppc-3000-pwm/specification

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 18


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2019, 06:18:55 PM
 #310

The one we selected to add to our offerings is the ARCTIC Pro with built in temperature sensor, it will be offered in 92mm and 120mm.

The 92mm puts out 43 CFM, which we found was enough to keep the Newpac's cool.

https://www.arctic.ac/us_en/arctic-f9-pro-tc.html

or you can buy the generic one now from ARCTIC without the sensor.
https://www.arctic.ac/us_en/arctic-f9-pro.html

they offer other options without the protective cover, but the cost is negligible.

*** The NEW GekkoScience NewPac USB Stick Miner  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
Filax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 07, 2019, 07:30:23 PM
Last edit: February 08, 2019, 01:22:42 AM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #311

Hi Smiley

Got mine working to 500/550 Mhz now => 750 gh/s, those keys are really funny to exploit Smiley

rockmoney:

For your fan problem, here is a cheap solution, you just need to round pieces of metal with a hole, unscrew the hub lateral screws.

Place the pieces of metal, and put the screw, after it, just put a point of glue to the exterior of the metal pieces, and stuck the fans Smiley Smiley

Like mine :

https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/06/4/1549567613-20190207-202136.jpg

https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/06/4/1549567619-20190207-202154.jpg

https://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/2019/06/4/1549567614-20190207-202213.jpg

Yeah my keys, give me DigiByte Smiley !
rockmoney
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411
Merit: 281


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2019, 02:24:40 AM
 #312

Yea, that all i'm doing with my fan is setting them on top. Not a bright idea in general but then they're not OC'd as far others and still cool to the touch.

https://noctua.at/en/nf-f12-industrialppc-24v-3000-q100-ip67-pwm/specification

This is the fan I have, not to noisy for the CFM it pushes. Used to have it on an underclocked s7

That's why the stand from 419mining is PERFECT!

And my 90mm fans are throttled down using a voltage/fan speed controller, because they would literally take off at full speed! One is 90mm x25mm, and the other is 90mm x 38mm.

Both are high performance fans made by Bgears, and are capable of producing hurricane force winds! Not the cheapest fans, but worth the extra money for certain imo!  Wink

They can keep x12 sticks (x6 sticks in two hubs) all running at 600Mhz, and all at/or under 100°F temps. I will post pics of me taking ASIC temps with my "temperature gun" in a few minutes..


♠ The NEW 100Gh/s+ GekkoScience NewPac USB Stick Miner ♠
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1580
Merit: 1006



View Profile WWW
February 12, 2019, 02:12:37 AM
 #313

Personally i would just nip them up. They dont need to be too tight i imagine.
Or
Are there 3mm screws available with spring washer like cpu coolers used to have that didnt allow you to overtighten them?

THE CPU COOLER SIMPLY REPLACES THE ALUMINUM-FINNED BLOCK--

I have been thinking of your response for a while.  You may be able to find 3mm spring clips, but they would prevent flat contact of the CPU cooler with the ASIC chip.  The existing bolts would tighten the old (smaller) CPU cooler into contact with the ASIC chip.  The bolts would need to be no tighter than when installed with the finned heat block supplied with the assembled 2Pac or NewPac.

I am not currently considering purchasing more than 1 NewPac.  From the recent reports, a fan mount is enough to cool several sticks on a hub.  The setup for a single stick in my case should allow for a high degree of overclocking, as there is more aluminum mass and a larger surface area on the CPU cooler fins.  This will allow for greater heat dissipation.

I have two 2pac sticks, and one old CPU cooler on hand.  The sticks run at 100MHz for weeks with no errors and only passive cooling.  When I get around to it, one of them will receive the CPU cooler.  After that, I will experiment.  The sticks are in USB 3.0 ports on a GPU mining rig.  The rig mines with GPU, CPU, and the two 2pacs.  The 2pacs solo-mine on a local wallet, playing the digital lottery for 12.5 BTC at about 2 cents a day.

If the experiments are successful, I may use a hub.  I have a few left over from the Gridseed days.  And, some Gridseeds, too.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          ETH - 0x8a42dfAE53612E98daf8614bFA402f3DcD0546Fa    LTC - MKUHfUmRrJUQvELxzajhVaLE5uTPxU2bRK
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
zalam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 12, 2019, 02:46:07 AM
 #314

Can someone explain what the missing nonces mean?

Feb 11 21:37:17 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: missing nonces
Feb 11 21:37:17 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
Feb 11 21:37:18 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: setting frequency to 600.00MHz

I am getting this on one of the Newpac.  I have three running on a powered hub with fan.  The other two does how have this issue.

Also, can I set different frequency for one of the newpac's?
cekolaw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 11


View Profile
February 12, 2019, 08:39:38 AM
Last edit: February 12, 2019, 10:03:34 AM by cekolaw
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #315

Hi NewPac folks,

Like to thank all whom had contributed in the forum into optimizing the Gekko Sticks, and I have achieved my milestone getting about 100+ Gh/s for my 10 Gekko sticks after readings the threads experts have advise.

Now, I am getting above 1 TH/s for my little disco platform all the nights not just Saturday... dance away, John!
Hehe ...  Grin

Thank you.

https://imgur.com/bB8Gtfu

Cheers   Cheesy



Can someone explain what the missing nonces mean?

Feb 11 21:37:17 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: missing nonces
Feb 11 21:37:17 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: Toggling ASIC nRST to reset
Feb 11 21:37:18 raspsvr1 cgminer[8850]: GSH 1: setting frequency to 600.00MHz

I am getting this on one of the Newpac.  I have three running on a powered hub with fan.  The other two does how have this issue.

Also, can I set different frequency for one of the newpac's?

Read the thread owner's 1st Post on how to get different frequencies for different types of Gekko Sticks, but not sure how it can be done on same type Gekko Sticks different frequency each.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.0

1st, take a step at a time from 100 to 125 to 150 to 175 to 200 to 225 to 250 ... then finally 450 MHz (my case) and check the hashes along the way... confessed that I did go 500 once skipping 400, some when zombie and disabled, some resetting... they were too hot using normal DC 12v FAN.

From what I understand, the sticks are running too... high frequency and getting very hot. Use a thermal IR gun to check the temp. and I normally point the beam red dot at the middle screw at the back of PCBA getting 39 to 45 degC.

Now, I am using a 12V PWM 3.9A with temp. control Fan to cool it, quite similar to those Innosilicon, Bitmain miner has and also the hashing Bitcoin whining $ound to my ear$...  Grin

Also, you need to know each sticks has its own unique character and need to be tweaked or re-calibrated in order to suit its environment.

My Sipolar USB3.0 20 ports hub only support upto 2.10A each port, so I need to ensure that my Sticks don't go above this limit or it gets very hot and unstable. Also, don't forget when the sticks toggle to set frequency the Voltage should be as close to 4.90-5.00V but I got some that are 4.85V with 2.09-2.10A @500Mhz however are somehow a couple of stable ones.

Keep in mind, that the sticks are not the best in quality as the it bends when plugged and may touch each other because the USB connector are not soldered correctly as these affects the air flow, and may cause component short when plugged into too close ports which I had to sacrifice the ports leaving empty port in between.

https://imgur.com/VwtdSeH
https://imgur.com/SyftUaj

I use a USB plug in functional tester with the sticks pick in to read out the voltage and current as a guide so I can adjust and tweak it little tiny bit ...  Grin at my window Laptop and plug it back to my Hub.

https://imgur.com/gDHDof0

Hope this helps, Happy Exploring, Evaluating ...
Getting my S15 and T3 soon ...

Can anyone else correct me if I am wrong, thanks?
zalam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 12, 2019, 05:28:45 PM
Last edit: February 13, 2019, 12:16:25 AM by frodocooper
Merited by vapourminer (1)
 #316

Thanks for the reply, cekolaw.  Congrats on getting to 1TH.  

I am new to mining, but not to tech Smiley  I started at 100GHz (maybe lower with 1 Newpac) and gradually went up to 600 GHz when I had the right setup - an Icone hub that can provide 2.1A to each port and a fan to keep the Newpac's cool.  I placed the hardware in my basement which is 42 deg F.  At 600 Ghz I could still touch the heat sinks.  I have 3 Newpac's on the hub.  Plan to add another 5 soon, once I get things stabilized.

I think there is an issue with my GSH 1 chip.  I am trying to gauge if it is the hub or the Newpac.  When I go above 525GHz, things start to become unstable on GSH 1.  The frequencies start to fluctuate all over the place.  I think there is monitoring on the ASIC that tries to reset it and stabilize the ASIC.  I wanted to know what "missing nonces" meant from a programmers perspective.  Tried to look everywhere.  Could not find anything.  

There was another post in this forum that talked about what the power consumption were for some of the frequencies, very helpful.  At 600GHz, I am at 13.62W (without AutoBoost.  I have AutoBoost turned on).  It would be within limits of the hub.  I have throttled back to 525GHz.  That seems to work best for all 3 Newpac's on the hub.  I was trying to see if I could only set GSH 1 to 525GHz and the others to a higher frequency.

Happy mining...
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 647
Merit: 599


View Profile
February 12, 2019, 07:20:34 PM
Last edit: February 13, 2019, 12:17:00 AM by frodocooper
 #317

At 4.3GH/s, a 1 diff nonce should appear every second on average.
Scaled to your speed, if enough time passes where 20 of those appear consecutively missing from the asic, a "missing nonces" message will appear.
At that point, the software applies a quick reset on the chip to clear out any lingering issues in an attempt to revive it.
It's essentially the ZOMBIE clearing mechanism kicking in, an additional improvement over the 2Pac.

An occasional one of those at higher frequency could probably be overlooked, if all else looks normal.

If you run multiple instances of cgminer, you can target each instance to specific miners with the gekko-serial option.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg48649259#msg48649259

zalam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 12, 2019, 11:08:24 PM
Last edit: February 13, 2019, 12:17:28 AM by frodocooper
 #318

At 4.3GH/s, a 1 diff nonce should appear every second on average.
Scaled to your speed, if enough time passes where 20 of those appear consecutively missing from the asic, a "missing nonces" message will appear.
At that point, the software applies a quick reset on the chip to clear out any lingering issues in an attempt to revive it.
It's essentially the ZOMBIE clearing mechanism kicking in, an additional improvement over the 2Pac.

An occasional one of those at higher frequency could probably be overlooked, if all else looks normal.

Thanks for the explanation.  I now see says the blind man Smiley

I have not been getting too many of them.  Just wanted to understand what they were.

If you run multiple instances of cgminer, you can target each instance to specific miners with the gekko-serial option.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5053833.msg48649259#msg48649259

I had seen this message, but thought it was for Windows only.  This is working nicely.  Now need to let it run for some time and see if it is making any difference.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1332

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
February 13, 2019, 12:37:29 AM
 #319

Oh yeah, I had forgotten about the gekko-serial option. That's ridiculously handy.

"Missing nonces" condition is more likely as you reach the threshold speed for any given core voltage. If you see this repeating, and more specifically your effective hashrate starts to go down, you need to turn up the voltage a bit or reduce your frequency.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
zalam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
February 13, 2019, 03:43:41 PM
 #320

Can you mine any other coins besides BTC with the NewPac?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!