Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2019, 12:30:07 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 [306] 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256101 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 11:04:06 AM
 #6101

I thought Spondoolies was supposed to be shipping some SP30s today?  Did that also go bust?  Isn't the GroupBuy supposed to be shipping at the 'end' of this week?  That means tomorrow Friday - which is a holy day in Israel and nothing can ship then. 
It seems like Israel has 364 days of holidays.

I wish )

Indonesia has a few more than Israel I think. 5 official religions 5 cross over holidays. Love that calendar except usually based on the LUNAR calendar.

Didn't you just have a vacation Zvisha... get back to work! LOL. Grin

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
1563625807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563625807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563625807
Reply with quote  #2

1563625807
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563625807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563625807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563625807
Reply with quote  #2

1563625807
Report to moderator
1563625807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563625807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563625807
Reply with quote  #2

1563625807
Report to moderator
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 11:09:14 AM
 #6102

Regarding the various claims done by GB customers:

- We're shipping according to queue.
- We'll meet the August shipping timeframe.
- We'll compensate for the missing GHs

I understand your anxiety due to the raising difficulty.
BitFury doesn't open a new 20MW DC every month.
Both BitFury and Bitmaintech are at extremely low margins with their current tech.

We got very few requests to switch orders owners (and the compensation) and we'll honour them.

Guy

Waiting patiently for delivery.

Assumed some date between the 22nd-25th August would be my date given the numbers and suggestions as posted in the GB originally by RoadStress. August was promised but nothing more concrete than that. Although I wish there were better dates given as we know that SPTech is quite good at timetables and production scheduling we should expect something more precise for customers in future n'est pas?

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 12:46:44 PM
 #6103

I thought Spondoolies was supposed to be shipping some SP30s today?  Did that also go bust?  Isn't the GroupBuy supposed to be shipping at the 'end' of this week?  That means tomorrow Friday - which is a holy day in Israel and nothing can ship then.  
It seems like Israel has 364 days of holidays.

I wish )

Indonesia has a few more than Israel I think. 5 official religions 5 cross over holidays. Love that calendar except usually based on the LUNAR calendar.

Didn't you just have a vacation Zvisha... get back to work! LOL. Grin

3 days in Amsterdam, most of it on weekend, and the coffeeshop near my airBnB had Internet Smiley
That is not a vacation.
dplusf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:03:01 PM
 #6104

I thought Spondoolies was supposed to be shipping some SP30s today?  Did that also go bust?  Isn't the GroupBuy supposed to be shipping at the 'end' of this week?  That means tomorrow Friday - which is a holy day in Israel and nothing can ship then.  
It seems like Israel has 364 days of holidays.

I wish )

Indonesia has a few more than Israel I think. 5 official religions 5 cross over holidays. Love that calendar except usually based on the LUNAR calendar.

Didn't you just have a vacation Zvisha... get back to work! LOL. Grin

3 days in Amsterdam, most of it on weekend, and the coffeeshop near my airBnB had Internet Smiley
That is not a vacation.

Amsterdam?
Didnt have you in Israel also Cannabis?
But also for medical reasons ;-)
psahx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:10:00 PM
 #6105

3 days in Amsterdam, most of it on weekend, and the coffeeshop near my airBnB had Internet Smiley
That is not a vacation.
Amsterdam?
Didnt have you in Israel also Cannabis?
But also for medical reasons ;-)

No more marihuana tourism in Amsterdam, my friend. They implemented a law back in 2010, if I recall correctly, prohibiting citizens of other countries buying marihuana in Holland.

So, no. I guess Zvi went to the red light district instead  Grin Grin Grin
dplusf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:12:59 PM
 #6106

3 days in Amsterdam, most of it on weekend, and the coffeeshop near my airBnB had Internet Smiley
That is not a vacation.
Amsterdam?
Didnt have you in Israel also Cannabis?
But also for medical reasons ;-)

No more marihuana tourism in Amsterdam, my friend. They implemented a law back in 2010, if I recall correctly, prohibiting citizens of other countries buying marihuana in Holland.

So, no. I guess Zvi went to the red light district instead  Grin Grin Grin

so Zvi went surely high to the red light district Cheesy

but as far as i know they cancelled the law in the last minute.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1252



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:23:29 PM
 #6107

3 days in Amsterdam, most of it on weekend, and the coffeeshop near my airBnB had Internet Smiley
That is not a vacation.
Amsterdam?
Didnt have you in Israel also Cannabis?
But also for medical reasons ;-)

No more marihuana tourism in Amsterdam, my friend. They implemented a law back in 2010, if I recall correctly, prohibiting citizens of other countries buying marihuana in Holland.

So, no. I guess Zvi went to the red light district instead  Grin Grin Grin

no, to diamond district...  Wink
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 02:10:42 PM
Last edit: August 22, 2014, 02:52:38 PM by zvisha
 #6108

To the black bitcoin miners market district trading SP30s for crack )
RawDog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1020



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 03:18:30 PM
 #6109

To the black bitcoin miners market district trading SP30s for crack )
Did you get the crack or the SP30?

*Image Removed* *Expletive Removed*  *Obsenity Removed*
What's going on - Slavetards?!!!
Watch my videos: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oE43M1Z8Iew  1FuckYouc6zrtHbnqcHdhrSVhcxgpJgfds
cyberwarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 07:13:39 PM
 #6110

Ok so this may be the wrong forum for this question if so I apologize.

If I order 20 SP30's for my 40U cabinet what size circuit will I need to power these machines, the sales guy at my data center is telling me I will need a 208V 30Amp 3 phase circuit.
Is this correct or is this guy out of his mind?

Thanks
bobsag3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500

Owner, Minersource.net


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 07:15:42 PM
 #6111

Ok so this may be the wrong forum for this question if so I apologize.

If I order 20 SP30's for my 40U cabinet what size circuit will I need to power these machines, the sales guy at my data center is telling me I will need a 208V 30Amp 3 phase circuit.
Is this correct or is this guy out of his mind?

Thanks

Your going to need about 60KW of power for those, a hell of alot more than 1 208V 30A can give.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 07:16:02 PM
 #6112

BitFury doesn't open a new 20MW DC every month.
Both BitFury and Bitmaintech are at extremely low margins with their current tech.

Correct, they don't build one every month. They build one every two months.

Do you have any idea how low Bitfury's margins are? Any idea how many more of these monsters can we expect? Are they going to stop building them when they expect the marginal profit to be negative, or do they have another agenda?

Calculating the break-even point for Bitfury is tricky. First order approximation: if an entity pays about $0.05/kWh in Iceland with 0.78 kJ/TH, and if their rent and labor costs are negligible, then they'd be operating at break-even at a difficulty of 270B at current BTC prices. However, if that entity already owns 30% of the network, then their effective marginal revenue for adding each TH/s is 30% lower, and they'd reach breakeven at a a difficulty of 189B. If their rent and labor costs are 50% of their electricity costs, then they reach breakeven at a difficulty of 126B. Current difficulty is a little under 24B.

However, they might want to stop at the point where they can no longer make 100% ROI, rather than just the point at which they no longer have positive net income from each miner. Let's just say they are able to manufacture and install machines for $750/TH/s, including the datacenter, and they want to ROI before the block reward halves around June 2016. Let's say their critical DC goes online in January 2015, giving them 15 months to make ROI. Each TH/s would therefore need to net $50/month. Adding in labor and electricity, that might mean a gross per TH/s of $92. After compensating for losses in their other machines from increased difficulty, and they'd need to gross $131.6 from each machine to ROI. That corresponds to a difficulty of around 60B.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 07:22:59 PM
 #6113

BitFury doesn't open a new 20MW DC every month.
Both BitFury and Bitmaintech are at extremely low margins with their current tech.

Correct, they don't build one every month. They build one every two months.

What makes you say that? They've only built one 20MW DC afaik.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 07:28:29 PM
 #6114

If I order 20 SP30's for my 40U cabinet what size circuit will I need to power these machines, the sales guy at my data center is telling me I will need a 208V 30Amp 3 phase circuit.
Is this correct or is this guy out of his mind?

Thanks

He's out of his mind. 208V 30A 3 phase is at most 208•30•sqrt(3)•80% = 8 kW, which is enough to run two SP30s (or maybe three if you're willing to risk a breaker nuisance tripping on occasion).

My DC is cheaper, by the way. Much, much cheaper -- as low as $210 per SP30 per month. We're also used to SP30s, since that's most of what we host. We've got enough capacity for 20 SP30s easily. You should host with us instead.

http://toom.im

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
cyberwarrior
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 07:36:19 PM
 #6115

Well putting it in your data center would have been better but I still have 1 1/2 years left on my 2 year lease so I am basically screwed.
wh00per
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 08:02:51 PM
Last edit: August 22, 2014, 08:14:48 PM by wh00per
 #6116

if you have only one unit, put it there .. Smiley Host everything you have above that one unit with jtoomim.

One unit has 2 power supplies, drawing 7A each from the wall. That is 14A maxed out .. but for sustained load, this would represent 80% of the circuit size (i.e. the circuit should be at least 17.5 Amps).

So .. as the breakers go .. a 20 Amps circuit will host you one unit. A 30 Amps circuit will host you 1 1/2 units Cheesy

If you get all three phases independently at the rack level, triple that. I guess the sales guy was telling you what you paid for, not what you need.

CSA/cUL Certified Power Distribution Panels - Basic, Switched, Metered. 1-3 phases. Up to 600V. NMC:N4F9qvHz11BHcc4nh1LCJFsrZhA1EWgVwj
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 08:12:00 PM
 #6117

BitFury doesn't open a new 20MW DC every month.
Both BitFury and Bitmaintech are at extremely low margins with their current tech.

Correct, they don't build one every month. They build one every two months.

What makes you say that? They've only built one 20MW DC afaik.
There seems to have been a pattern of datacenter deployment, the previous one was in georgia (I believe) and the last one in Iceland.

Estimations suggest Bitfury will approach an internal cost similar to just buying miners very soon, unless they get going on a higher fab node quickly.
(and by that I mean receive chips, but apparently that won´t be the case)

This might lead to a slow-down of bitfury hardware being deployed.
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 08:29:18 PM
 #6118

BitFury doesn't open a new 20MW DC every month.
Both BitFury and Bitmaintech are at extremely low margins with their current tech.

Correct, they don't build one every month. They build one every two months.

What makes you say that? They've only built one 20MW DC afaik.
There seems to have been a pattern of datacenter deployment, the previous one was in georgia (I believe) and the last one in Iceland.

What pattern you are talking about? Do you know the size of the Iceland DC? Or the size of their previous DCs?
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1252



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 08:45:56 PM
 #6119

If I order 20 SP30's for my 40U cabinet what size circuit will I need to power these machines, the sales guy at my data center is telling me I will need a 208V 30Amp 3 phase circuit.
Is this correct or is this guy out of his mind?

Thanks

He's out of his mind. 208V 30A 3 phase is at most 208•30•sqrt(3)•80% = 8 kW, which is enough to run two SP30s (or maybe three if you're willing to risk a breaker nuisance tripping on occasion).

My DC is cheaper, by the way. Much, much cheaper -- as low as $210 per SP30 per month. We're also used to SP30s, since that's most of what we host. We've got enough capacity for 20 SP30s easily. You should host with us instead.

http://toom.im

You will be getting and installing at least 30 of your own miners next week plus from others here. How long do you think for this frantic gb activity to settle down?
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 819
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 08:49:21 PM
Last edit: August 22, 2014, 08:59:38 PM by jtoomim
 #6120

if you have only one unit, put it there .. Smiley Host everything you have above that one unit with jtoomim.

One unit has 2 power supplies, drawing 7A each from the wall. That is 14A maxed out .. but for sustained load, this would represent 80% of the circuit size (i.e. the circuit should be at least 17.5 Amps).

So .. as the breakers go .. a 20 Amps circuit will host you one unit. A 30 Amps circuit will host you 1 1/2 units Cheesy

If you get all three phases independently at the rack level, triple that. I guess the sales guy was telling you what you paid for, not what you need.

Actually, it's trickier than that. You don't get 208V as an independent phase-to-neutral voltage. You have to wire up to two phases to get that (hot-to-hot). A three phase 208V PDU has 1/3 of the sockets wired up between phase A and phase B, 1/3 wired between B and C, and 1/3 wired between C and A. This means if you put 7 amps on one plug (AB), that's 7 amps on phase A and 7 amps on phase B. If you put 3 plugs on AB, that would be 21 amps on A and 21 amps on B. Then you couldn't plug anything into phase C. If instead you put one on AB, one on BC, and one on CA, then you get 14 amps on each phase. You could then stick another plug on AB, and you'd get 21 amps on A and B, but only 14 amps on C. That's four plugs total, or two SP30s. Any additional plugs you put on BC or CA would bring B or A up to 28 amps, which exceeds the 80% limit for safe utilization. If you found that you could get away with that, or if you had the ability to boost voltage to 230 or 240V (or underclock your SP30s), you might be able to add one plug on BC and another on CA, putting all three phases at around 28A, with six plugs and three SP30s.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Pages: « 1 ... 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 [306] 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!